Galway V Limerick

Replying To galwayford:  "This was Galway's third match in a row. Matches against Kilkenny, Tipp and the powerful Limerick. No shame in losing. I hope Joe C is ok. But overall good signs for the future. Well done Limerick. But Galway will be back. Gaillimh abú"
What do you mean "third game in a row"? It was also Limerick's "third game in a row".

munsterdevil (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 29/11/2020 19:27:05    2316612

Replying To tiobraid:  "Good summary. Your goalkeeper is also not capable of playing the game that is being asked of him and it's evident throughout the championship.
I don't think anyone needed today to see that limerick are beatable. They're being almost totally judged on two hammerings of tipp. I think they are most certainly beatable and Galway could have won today if it wasn't for a tonne of mistakes that lead to scores.
Also why can't Galway go for goals against anyone else apart from Tipp?!!"
Simply because the Limerick kept them out and Galway took their points. As a point of interest how come Tipp conceded three goals to Limerick also, when we got no goal against Clare, Waterford or Galway, although our boys did force a number saves from young Murphy, while Quaid had hardly a shot in anger to deal with. Our boys should have taken those easy point chances and they would have won more comfortably.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 29/11/2020 19:34:59    2316614

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Agree with most of your post. I dont think it's as much a case of not turning up but that we put a limit on what we could achieve by sticking too long with the sweeper. From the 2nd quarter on until the last 10 mins we played the game on Limericks terms. We made far too many unforced defensive errors, particularly on our puck outs. For most of the game our inside forwards were living off scraps. Whelan and Concannon showed what might have been had they got decent ball played to them in an orthodox set up and not have to beat 2 opponents every time the ball came their way.
One thing that can be taken from today is that Limerick are beatable, especially if you dont give them too much respect like we seemed to do. On last nights display Waterford are well equipped to do it but you'd also expect Limerick to play better in the final."
I fully agree. Before the game I thought Galway had a good chance of beating Limerick, but figured they would need at least one goal to win. Indeed any team with aspirations to beat Limerick will have to score goals. Whelan and Concannon are top class inside forwards but for much of the game they were too far from goal to threaten Nicky Quaid. I'm sure they were playing to intructions but I found it hard to understand. Hope Joe is OK - his sideline pucks alone make him a very special player and that's only one aspect of his game.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 29/11/2020 19:35:11    2316616

Limerick fully deserved it today, Galway always needed the goal. Galway sweeper system is daft and unnecessary. Galway players did well overall but must go back to a traditional plan. Hope Joe is ok. Best of luck in final.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 29/11/2020 19:45:11    2316621

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Pathetic. I hope you are never walking away from someone and they then hit you in the back with a hurley. Don't forget Gullane is 6ft+ and probably 14 stone of muscle. So while u think it is a tip we cannot alway be as tough as you"
It was a tap on the back..and he threw himself onto the ground. Iv got a few proper whacks on the back but I didn't throw myself down in a heap. Look it was stupid from Gillane ...and the goalie was trying to bring attention to it but it was silly to go to ground. Hegarty gave away so many stupid frees ...and then Galway got about 4 soft ones ..But overall the refs have been poor in the semis
On the match itself ..Galway were worse than 2018s final and when Joe Canning and Mannion left the field that was the leaders gone. So many wides in that game. Some sinfull shooting by Limerick but Conor Whelans and Adrian Touhys wides in injury time were killers. And then finally Tom Morrissey took the game by the scruf of the neck but was helped by terrible out balls from Galway.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/11/2020 19:53:36    2316630

Here's my 5 cents and maybe that is all it is worth you will probably say. There is too much inconsistency. Not advocating for cards because many are ridiculous but most if not all times that would be a card of some form. We have seen that and referred to as in control of your stick. Hogan and to a lesser extent Barrett can testify to that. Can we agree on that? The Galway keeper should have been dealt with for bringing the game in to disrepute as he got no more than a friendly tap. Acting like he was speared. He needed to be more focused on where he hits the ball out as he caused Galway to lose the game. He is a great stopper but in too games we saw he is a lose cannon and cost Galway both finals.
The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 29/11/2020 19:54:20    2316633

Replying To Viking66:  "Carrying an injury from the football over the summer I think."
David is not the dual player -- that's Daithi! I dont quibble too much about David just being on for 35 mins but I think he would have had a better impact if he started the 2nd half rather than the first.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 29/11/2020 19:54:37    2316634

That ref, Owens, never gives Galway a break, always lose when he is in the middle. He should have allowed hawkeye, that is why we have it. Limerick were better today in fairness and they deserve to be in final without even playing well it must be said

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 29/11/2020 19:57:06    2316637

Congrats to Limerick on a deserved win. They were on top for much of the game from 20 minutes onward. We did well to stay in touch and when we got level late on, anything could have happened.
Limerick dominated most of the aerial contests and this forced us to go for a lot of short puckouts. A lot of misplaced passes came from these and led to turnovers and scores.
We have a few lads who just aren't firing at all, but the problem is the lads who've been coming in to replace them haven't been much better. Niland looked very sharp when he came in and I think we need to put a bit more faith in some of the younger options. While it was a decent year, I'd actually be a bit worried about next year. Our age profile is a bit higher than Limerick's and some players look to be a bit past their peak. We don't have the strong panel we need at this level.
It'll be an interesting final. While I'd love to see Waterford get a very deserved All-Ireland, I think Limerick will have too much for them.
They're an excellent team and I wouldn't begrudge them another title either.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 29/11/2020 20:10:38    2316642

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Simply because the Limerick kept them out and Galway took their points. As a point of interest how come Tipp conceded three goals to Limerick also, when we got no goal against Clare, Waterford or Galway, although our boys did force a number saves from young Murphy, while Quaid had hardly a shot in anger to deal with. Our boys should have taken those easy point chances and they would have won more comfortably."
But ye didnt take those easy points did ye, just like we didnt change our puck out strategy or our formation to match up with ye better. Ye won by as much as ye deserved and no more.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 29/11/2020 20:11:07    2316643

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Look lads I hope the galway posters aren't going to be sour now..yes it was a clumsy challange but I didn't think it was red,I will say if it was the limerick ref he,d have got red card..as the game went on the ref allowed more to go..I've great time for galway and canning and mansion were huge losses..I know every neutral in country will be shouting on the deise..we are there now and we,ll look forward to it..I hope joe is ok and recovers as quick as possible..see ye in the future.."
Nothing to be sour about in fairness ,too many of Galways players just didnt play well enough today for whatever reason and even though Limerick were a bit off the boil Galway were still lucky to be close to them at the end.Gearoids tackle was hardly clumsy though there was a bit of intent there for sure.Not a sending off offence by any means but he definitely got away with a fair bit of fouling today that went unpunished.Best of luck in the final it should be good

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 29/11/2020 20:19:02    2316644

Replying To tiobraid:  "On the two red card instances there's no question that hegarty didn't go to hook canning. No one attempts to hook with a swing like that but a yellow for me.
Gillane on the other hand is very lucky. It wasn't a two with the flat of the hurl like commentary made out. It was very very stupid. I'm not sure if he had seen the line that limerick could have any excuse. If the likes of Dave is mcinerney or conor Gleeson get sent off for flicks during play then is this all that much different?
I probably wouldn't have sent him off having said that but it was extremely stupid."
I'd agree and disagree .Hegarty was neither clumsy nor attempting to hook he was trying to get a belt in like lots of players do in fairness.As you mentioned earlier he got away with a good bit of fouling today
Gillane did give the goalie a clip but to me it was nothing and definitely didnt merit the reaction it got . Sure he even managed to puck out the ball first if I remember correctly. Id be far more impressed if he ran out and gave him one back

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 29/11/2020 20:28:57    2316647

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's my 5 cents and maybe that is all it is worth you will probably say. There is too much inconsistency. Not advocating for cards because many are ridiculous but most if not all times that would be a card of some form. We have seen that and referred to as in control of your stick. Hogan and to a lesser extent Barrett can testify to that. Can we agree on that? The Galway keeper should have been dealt with for bringing the game in to disrepute as he got no more than a friendly tap. Acting like he was speared. He needed to be more focused on where he hits the ball out as he caused Galway to lose the game. He is a great stopper but in too games we saw he is a lose cannon and cost Galway both finals.
The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play."
I'd give you a dollar Canuck because you more or less right on all counts

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 29/11/2020 20:35:21    2316652

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "David is not the dual player -- that's Daithi! I dont quibble too much about David just being on for 35 mins but I think he would have had a better impact if he started the 2nd half rather than the first."
Sorry my mistake but wasnt he carrying an injury the time you beat us out the gate?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 29/11/2020 20:37:59    2316654

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Pathetic. I hope you are never walking away from someone and they then hit you in the back with a hurley. Don't forget Gullane is 6ft+ and probably 14 stone of muscle. So while u think it is a tip we cannot alway be as tough as you"
Will you go away out of that it was no more than a tap and if players are going to react like that then God help us

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 29/11/2020 20:39:22    2316657

Hegarty deserved a yellow but he did get punished for his tackling. Galway scored 4 frees from it. What more do you want. The Gillane incident with Kamikaze Goalie...well that should have been a yellow ...for the goalie for bringing the game into disrepute with his dive. Hard luck Galway. I think you need freshening up but no one wants to draw ye anytime.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/11/2020 20:51:19    2316660

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "I'd agree and disagree .Hegarty was neither clumsy nor attempting to hook he was trying to get a belt in like lots of players do in fairness.As you mentioned earlier he got away with a good bit of fouling today
Gillane did give the goalie a clip but to me it was nothing and definitely didnt merit the reaction it got . Sure he even managed to puck out the ball first if I remember correctly. Id be far more impressed if he ran out and gave him one back"
The most striking thing about the Gillane incident, besides how much of a meal of it was made by Murphy, was the utter stupidity of Gillane. He was very lucky that it wasn't seen, once you give a ref a desicion to make these days and involves use of the hurl, your prospects aren't good.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 29/11/2020 20:57:53    2316662

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's my 5 cents and maybe that is all it is worth you will probably say. There is too much inconsistency. Not advocating for cards because many are ridiculous but most if not all times that would be a card of some form. We have seen that and referred to as in control of your stick. Hogan and to a lesser extent Barrett can testify to that. Can we agree on that? The Galway keeper should have been dealt with for bringing the game in to disrepute as he got no more than a friendly tap. Acting like he was speared. He needed to be more focused on where he hits the ball out as he caused Galway to lose the game. He is a great stopper but in too games we saw he is a lose cannon and cost Galway both finals.
The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play."
"The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play"

Once Willie Barrett et al decided to crack down on high tackles (i am far from convinced about exactly how much of an issue they were in the first place, lots of talk about potential for injury but not a lot of actual injuries that i am aware of) when they felt like it, this was the inevitable end result. Players will exploit what they can unfortunately

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 29/11/2020 21:03:41    2316665

The amount of frees for guys ducking their head into tackles is shocking. It needs to be stamped out. And there's guys jumping into and out if tackles aswell. It wasbt easy to ref that game today but the ref was not consistent.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/11/2020 21:14:21    2316673

Replying To Viking66:  "Sorry my mistake but wasnt he carrying an injury the time you beat us out the gate?"
No, not 100% sure but dont think David was injured going into the Wexford game. Daithi was alright -- picked up an injury playing for Corofin. David is now on the wrong side of 30...he may not have the legs to play the type of game hes known for, for a full 70 mins , but definitely he would have been someone to bring on towards the end when it was close and good use of the ball was crucial.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 29/11/2020 21:32:19    2316678