Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Dubs looking good at the minute and totally dominated a poor Meath team.
Semi will ask more questions for sure but if that level of attrition and power is reproduced Dubs have every chance of continuing this habit of winning.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/11/2020 16:51:32    2312895

Replying To Saynothing:  "All week Meath posters were saying Meath would beat Dublin, now nobody would beat them. That seems to imply Meath are 2nd best team in county. Silly stuff. Donegal will make a match of it, they won't need their own ball on pitch so they can play too."
Will they indeed Saynothing?? Haha ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 17:49:57    2312994

Replying To JoeSoap:  "RD have yous gotten away from what you were good at last year - very tigerish in defence I thought? Meath got a terrible time of it for last year's Leinster final but it was clear as day to me that you were very very competitive against the Dubs in terms of defence for a large portion of that game, but were absolutely woeful up front. Tell any team in the country that you go in at half-time against Dublin and they've only got 5 points and the reaction will be "we have a chance there". You need to be clinical with your chances up front but I thought yous were 100% on the right track defensively back then. What has happened in the past year that a Dublin forward can get the ball at his ease, turn and stroke it over the bar from 14 metres out without a Meath man within 5 metres of him.

I mentioned earlier in the thread that if you've no kickout you can forget about it as well. Your kickout relieves pressure. What happens after the Dublin goal - you need to secure your own ball immediately, take the sting out of them. That doesn't happen, the pressure piles on, score after score and no way out because you have absolutely zero strategy from the kickout as far as I could see last night. I don't want to be overly harsh because the players will be hurting today but dhia, you have to give yourselves a chance and it seemed to me yous didn't do that last night at all.

That was worse than last year in my view because at least last year you could see what Meath were trying to do but forward play really really let yous down in that first half. For example if any other Division 1 side kept Dublin to 1-17 they would be thinking they have a chance to win the game. Only Tyrone and Kerry kept Dublin to a lower score than Meath managed in last year's Leinster final. Last night was atrocious, nothing redeemable from a Meath POV in my opinion. Very disappointing, as I have mentioned on a couple of occasions I have a lot of time for Meath football and have a lot of hope for this group (still do) as I think there is talent there. But jesus yous need a kickout."
Oh no doubt it was worse than last year. The only difference this year was Jordan Morris is actually a very good forward, and will improve, but we can't have him back in fb line defending. Tbh McGill and lavin have gone back this year. Don't know if that was cause of tactical changes or both just had a off year. Missed James McEntee and harnan too this year (both out injured) So over the next couple of months these are issues we have to work on. That and the gk position

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 17:50:23    2313000

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh no doubt it was worse than last year. The only difference this year was Jordan Morris is actually a very good forward, and will improve, but we can't have him back in fb line defending. Tbh McGill and lavin have gone back this year. Don't know if that was cause of tactical changes or both just had a off year. Missed James McEntee and harnan too this year (both out injured) So over the next couple of months these are issues we have to work on. That and the gk position"
You said the same about James Conlon last year, he didnt get near the pitch last night ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/11/2020 18:07:32    2313059

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Some of you boys only have yourselves to blame for this backlash. You've been building up to what the rest of Ireland knew was a mismatch as if it was an AI final with only a kick of the ball between the sides. 20 odd pages of silly passages about the past. Attempting to somehow call it relevant to the present. Anything but look at the match in a realistic light and call it honestly.

Have a pop at other counties who've taken their beatings from Dublin if you want but at least their supporters, in the main, are realistic about their expectations and dont go off hyping up a youthful division 2 side beyond anything they'd achieved before. It was like the English media in the build up to a world cup. Always setting their average players up for a fall. Of course that type of thing is amusing. Maybe next year learn a bit of humility."
Talk about kicking a county in its lowest ebb, very classy of you saffrondon.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 22/11/2020 18:10:39    2313063

Last night was like going 12 rounds with Mike Tyson at his peak. And thats how I felt like it was like watching the game with Dublin been so brillant and just being mentally and physically been beaten up on the couch. It was hard to watch. But thats sport when you play the greatest team ever they can do this to you.

Overall I am happy with this year I think we have made solid progress. Found some young talent eg Cathal Hickey, Eoin Harkin, Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris. Its a young team. The key is promotion to div 1. It will be tough. But we will be one of the contenders and hopefully we can do it. It is very important to get promoted if we dont that could end McEntees tenure and break the team. But the train will leave the station again next summer and we have young team and our aim is basically to become top 7 or 8. To achieve what Monaghan have done. Get to Monaghans level. And like kildare Armagh Tipp Cavan Cork Roscommom we all have a chance to break into top 8 and we will see who will in next 2 years. Next 2 years will tell us how good Andy is as manager and how good this Meath team is. We cannot compare ourselves to Dubs our aim is to not win Sam or beat Dublin but to become top 7 or 8 team stay in div 1 and reach Super 8s. We might not achieve that. But we have a chance. There was positives from this year. We are going in the right direction.

Regards Dubs yes I was talking my guff last week. playing Dublin brings back so many good memories for me and matters allot to me personally. And that has allot to with the respect I have for Dublin people and Dublin GAA. I did talk about old days goneby and believe and all that but to be fair to myself I did say at least 5 times I expecting an hammering when I take my emotional out of it. And if we got within 8 to 12 points we would be doing well. But we got hammered. No surprise the Dubs have done this to nearly every team they have played and we have been hammered many times before and we just have get on with it. Meath football will still keep going forward. It matters to much to many peoole for it not to.

Regards Dubs. I have allot respect for great Dublin gaa. The thing i like about Dubs win or lose they never whinge. They are tough very tough. But they have a manly code of honour going back to Heffernans team. When they are beatening they take it. They take it no whinging. My respect for Dublin was born out of my admiration for great Dublin men like Kevin Heffernan, Kevin Moran, Tommy Drum, The Late Anto O Toole, Barney Rock, Gerry Hargan, Paul Curran, keith Barr, Jason Sherlock, Colm keaney, Paddy Christie. All Dublin heroes before 2010 and of course Stephen Cluxton and the current golden generation. Since 2010 Dublin what have done is something incredible. Talk about future of leinster football is for another day. 10 leinster in a row and soon 6 in All Irelands is the greatest achivement in the history of the gaa. Up their with Italia 90 and Grand Slams as one of the great achievements in Irish sport. If you face greatness you should always recognise real greatness. And men like Cluxton Mcarthy kilkenny Callaghan Rock Fenton are greatness personified. Congratulations to the Dubs. Worthy winners. I am not in the best of health myself and neitheir are my loved one. But I hope to say in years to come that I witnessed the greatest team ever to play the game, the gaa Dublin team of 2011 to 2020. You have always have to recognise something special in sports, in culture or in life. And what this Dublin team has done is truly special. And Dublin GAA in general and Hill 16 is one of the great institutions of Irish sport. Well done again to the Dubs. The Greatest Gaelic football team of all time. GOAT.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/11/2020 18:17:28    2313074

Replying To Htaem:  "Will they indeed Saynothing?? Haha ;-)"
Hehe. Got there before me. No disrespect to Donegal as I really do like them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 18:26:07    2313091

Replying To waynoI:  "You said the same about James Conlon last year, he didnt get near the pitch last night ?"
Exactly, what about no Connolly or Jack McCaffrey for Dublin this year.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 22/11/2020 18:32:27    2313107

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Last night was like going 12 rounds with Mike Tyson at his peak. And thats how I felt like it was like watching the game with Dublin been so brillant and just being mentally and physically been beaten up on the couch. It was hard to watch. But thats sport when you play the greatest team ever they can do this to you.

Overall I am happy with this year I think we have made solid progress. Found some young talent eg Cathal Hickey, Eoin Harkin, Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris. Its a young team. The key is promotion to div 1. It will be tough. But we will be one of the contenders and hopefully we can do it. It is very important to get promoted if we dont that could end McEntees tenure and break the team. But the train will leave the station again next summer and we have young team and our aim is basically to become top 7 or 8. To achieve what Monaghan have done. Get to Monaghans level. And like kildare Armagh Tipp Cavan Cork Roscommom we all have a chance to break into top 8 and we will see who will in next 2 years. Next 2 years will tell us how good Andy is as manager and how good this Meath team is. We cannot compare ourselves to Dubs our aim is to not win Sam or beat Dublin but to become top 7 or 8 team stay in div 1 and reach Super 8s. We might not achieve that. But we have a chance. There was positives from this year. We are going in the right direction.

Regards Dubs yes I was talking my guff last week. playing Dublin brings back so many good memories for me and matters allot to me personally. And that has allot to with the respect I have for Dublin people and Dublin GAA. I did talk about old days goneby and believe and all that but to be fair to myself I did say at least 5 times I expecting an hammering when I take my emotional out of it. And if we got within 8 to 12 points we would be doing well. But we got hammered. No surprise the Dubs have done this to nearly every team they have played and we have been hammered many times before and we just have get on with it. Meath football will still keep going forward. It matters to much to many peoole for it not to.

Regards Dubs. I have allot respect for great Dublin gaa. The thing i like about Dubs win or lose they never whinge. They are tough very tough. But they have a manly code of honour going back to Heffernans team. When they are beatening they take it. They take it no whinging. My respect for Dublin was born out of my admiration for great Dublin men like Kevin Heffernan, Kevin Moran, Tommy Drum, The Late Anto O Toole, Barney Rock, Gerry Hargan, Paul Curran, keith Barr, Jason Sherlock, Colm keaney, Paddy Christie. All Dublin heroes before 2010 and of course Stephen Cluxton and the current golden generation. Since 2010 Dublin what have done is something incredible. Talk about future of leinster football is for another day. 10 leinster in a row and soon 6 in All Irelands is the greatest achivement in the history of the gaa. Up their with Italia 90 and Grand Slams as one of the great achievements in Irish sport. If you face greatness you should always recognise real greatness. And men like Cluxton Mcarthy kilkenny Callaghan Rock Fenton are greatness personified. Congratulations to the Dubs. Worthy winners. I am not in the best of health myself and neitheir are my loved one. But I hope to say in years to come that I witnessed the greatest team ever to play the game, the gaa Dublin team of 2011 to 2020. You have always have to recognise something special in sports, in culture or in life. And what this Dublin team has done is truly special. And Dublin GAA in general and Hill 16 is one of the great institutions of Irish sport. Well done again to the Dubs. The Greatest Gaelic football team of all time. GOAT."
Hope you and your family get better soon.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/11/2020 18:42:48    2313132

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Last night was like going 12 rounds with Mike Tyson at his peak. And thats how I felt like it was like watching the game with Dublin been so brillant and just being mentally and physically been beaten up on the couch. It was hard to watch. But thats sport when you play the greatest team ever they can do this to you.

Regards Dubs. I have allot respect for great Dublin gaa. The thing i like about Dubs win or lose they never whinge. They are tough very tough. But they have a manly code of honour going back to Heffernans team. When they are beatening they take it. They take it no whinging. My respect for Dublin was born out of my admiration for great Dublin men like Kevin Heffernan, Kevin Moran, Tommy Drum, The Late Anto O Toole, Barney Rock, Gerry Hargan, Paul Curran, keith Barr, Jason Sherlock, Colm keaney, Paddy Christie. All Dublin heroes before 2010 and of course Stephen Cluxton and the current golden generation. Since 2010 Dublin what have done is something incredible. Talk about future of leinster football is for another day. 10 leinster in a row and soon 6 in All Irelands is the greatest achivement in the history of the gaa. Up their with Italia 90 and Grand Slams as one of the great achievements in Irish sport. If you face greatness you should always recognise real greatness. And men like Cluxton Mcarthy kilkenny Callaghan Rock Fenton are greatness personified. Congratulations to the Dubs. Worthy winners. I am not in the best of health myself and neitheir are my loved one. But I hope to say in years to come that I witnessed the greatest team ever to play the game, the gaa Dublin team of 2011 to 2020. You have always have to recognise something special in sports, in culture or in life. And what this Dublin team has done is truly special. And Dublin GAA in general and Hill 16 is one of the great institutions of Irish sport. Well done again to the Dubs. The Greatest Gaelic football team of all time. GOAT."
Fair play Furlong.

Chin up - next year's football is just around the corner.
Sort out the goalkeeping issue and free taking and things will improve.
All a learning curve.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 22/11/2020 18:43:52    2313134

Nice post Furlong. Sorry to hear of your ill health lad.

The issue this Meath team now face is trying to kick on when really not having a chance of winning Leinster in the long term due to multiple factors, some outside of their control.

You only have to look to the North or Munster to see what teams on our ability level can achieve by not having to face the Dubs.

It's not the Dubs fault btw but the GAA have questions to answer in terms of finances etc.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/11/2020 18:45:32    2313140

I concur with that Furlong hope you and family get well soon and we keep seeing your posts on here. Take care and by the way you sound like a real sportsman.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 22/11/2020 18:59:31    2313168

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Talk about kicking a county in its lowest ebb, very classy of you saffrondon."
I didnt kick the county at all. My comments were a summary of the delusional tripe thats been spoken on here. If you're not one of those posters then it wasn't aimed at you. If you were, then perhaps man up a bit and accept that arrogance has its pros AND cons.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/11/2020 19:01:47    2313174

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh no doubt it was worse than last year. The only difference this year was Jordan Morris is actually a very good forward, and will improve, but we can't have him back in fb line defending. Tbh McGill and lavin have gone back this year. Don't know if that was cause of tactical changes or both just had a off year. Missed James McEntee and harnan too this year (both out injured) So over the next couple of months these are issues we have to work on. That and the gk position"
Mannion, o callaghan , rock, small, Costello have no problem defending on fb line?

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 22/11/2020 19:05:51    2313181

On an unrelated matter to football i thought it was distasteful and poor form that Meath didnt get to take part in the wreath laying ceremony. Was it a Dublin decision to lay the wreath or a GAA orgainsed thing?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/11/2020 19:11:13    2313196

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I didnt kick the county at all. My comments were a summary of the delusional tripe thats been spoken on here. If you're not one of those posters then it wasn't aimed at you. If you were, then perhaps man up a bit and accept that arrogance has its pros AND cons."
Not a single Meath poster (aside from one i think) on this forum said Meath were going to win. All that was said was that Meath would be competitive (for a change!) against Dublin and might put it up to them.

You should learn to listen and not just follow your spiteful agenda. Life lesson for you and off this forum I'm sure.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/11/2020 19:13:57    2313204

Replying To daytona11:  "On an unrelated matter to football i thought it was distasteful and poor form that Meath didnt get to take part in the wreath laying ceremony. Was it a Dublin decision to lay the wreath or a GAA orgainsed thing?"
Dublin decision. Meath didn't know anything about it. They even had the music set up etc for their wreath laying/corporate cynicism (whatever way you want to look at it). It's their home pitch and Dublin were playing on Bloody Sunday. Presumably that's why Meath weren't invited to do so. Also, I'm sure Dublin's commercial manager didn't want their perfectly choreographed display to be ruined by Meath jerseys.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/11/2020 19:20:06    2313218

Whatever about football, at the end of the day it's something that we get very worked up about but it is only when you don't have your health you truly know it's value and how everything else comes after.
Sport is wonderful, and this year , although we cannot be there as normal it has been a great distraction and escape from what would otherwise be a long old winter.
As a Dub, it is fantastic to have been able to witness this special team and their record breaking achievements. There is however always next year and hope and that's not that far away. Having witnessed Tipperary's and Cavan's great success today is proof that with the right management and dedication along with the right attitude and application there can be good days ahead.
Best of luck and hope you and your loved ones fare alright over Christmas and the new year and can look forward to what will hopefully be a better year for all of us.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/11/2020 19:24:01    2313226

Replying To Crinigan:  "Dublin decision. Meath didn't know anything about it. They even had the music set up etc for their wreath laying/corporate cynicism (whatever way you want to look at it). It's their home pitch and Dublin were playing on Bloody Sunday. Presumably that's why Meath weren't invited to do so. Also, I'm sure Dublin's commercial manager didn't want their perfectly choreographed display to be ruined by Meath jerseys."
So a photo op for the Dubs facilitated by Croke Park and broadcast by RTE.

Yeh a level playing field all over.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/11/2020 19:24:16    2313227

Great post Furlong, sorry to hear you and your family are not in great health, my sincere best wishes to you and yours.

Hopefully next year will bring better health and better fortune.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 19:24:18    2313228