Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Crinigan:  "Tyrone aren't miles ahead of Meath at all. Generally only a kick of a ball between them. And Tyrone took their own meek hammering from Dublin not so long ago."
Believe what you want, Tyrone still miles ahead of Meath. Starting to wonder what planet some Meath people are on, not all of them. Middle of road Div 2 team as last night showed.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 12:44:35    2312646

Replying To Joxer:  "Con was stunning in that first half, unmarkable. That set piece to split the middle and have Con come through to field was superb. A great baller in great condition."
Unmarkable. No he just was not marked

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 22/11/2020 12:52:23    2312648

Replying To Crinigan:  "Tyrone aren't miles ahead of Meath at all. Generally only a kick of a ball between them. And Tyrone took their own meek hammering from Dublin not so long ago."
This is Meaths problem in recent times. Thinking they are better than they are. Tyrone are by some distance better than Meath.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/11/2020 12:53:12    2312649

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh totally. We weren't at the races. The naivety we showed was unbelievable we didn't tackle at all at the level we needed. I don't know if it was inexperience or not been coached properly. But it does raise questions. Very serious ones."
RD have yous gotten away from what you were good at last year - very tigerish in defence I thought? Meath got a terrible time of it for last year's Leinster final but it was clear as day to me that you were very very competitive against the Dubs in terms of defence for a large portion of that game, but were absolutely woeful up front. Tell any team in the country that you go in at half-time against Dublin and they've only got 5 points and the reaction will be "we have a chance there". You need to be clinical with your chances up front but I thought yous were 100% on the right track defensively back then. What has happened in the past year that a Dublin forward can get the ball at his ease, turn and stroke it over the bar from 14 metres out without a Meath man within 5 metres of him.

I mentioned earlier in the thread that if you've no kickout you can forget about it as well. Your kickout relieves pressure. What happens after the Dublin goal - you need to secure your own ball immediately, take the sting out of them. That doesn't happen, the pressure piles on, score after score and no way out because you have absolutely zero strategy from the kickout as far as I could see last night. I don't want to be overly harsh because the players will be hurting today but dhia, you have to give yourselves a chance and it seemed to me yous didn't do that last night at all.

That was worse than last year in my view because at least last year you could see what Meath were trying to do but forward play really really let yous down in that first half. For example if any other Division 1 side kept Dublin to 1-17 they would be thinking they have a chance to win the game. Only Tyrone and Kerry kept Dublin to a lower score than Meath managed in last year's Leinster final. Last night was atrocious, nothing redeemable from a Meath POV in my opinion. Very disappointing, as I have mentioned on a couple of occasions I have a lot of time for Meath football and have a lot of hope for this group (still do) as I think there is talent there. But jesus yous need a kickout.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/11/2020 12:53:45    2312651

Replying To BeJasus:  "Kinda annoying when they bring the rest of Ireland's remaining teams into the equation alright.
It's disrespectful to them but nobody being fooled here.

Strength and conditioning and aggression that likes Donegal/ Mayo will bring will be on a total different stratosphere to what leinster teams provide.
They will bring the dog to the fight, and wont fear or freeze against dublin. ."
I clearly didn't mention Tyrone in my post, I was questioning the fact that Meath people were righting off teams chances that were left in Championship who are miles better than Meath. No point in blaming everyone else for last nights shambles.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 12:55:26    2312653

Replying To BeJasus:  "Kinda annoying when they bring the rest of Ireland's remaining teams into the equation alright.
It's disrespectful to them but nobody being fooled here.

Strength and conditioning and aggression that likes Donegal/ Mayo will bring will be on a total different stratosphere to what leinster teams provide.
They will bring the dog to the fight, and wont fear or freeze against dublin. ."
They may not fear or freeze but when will they start winning?

I absolutely accept we have to get our house in order, no excuses for Meath, but there seems to be some back slapping going on here among counties who haven't had any success beating the Dubs either.

Moral victories are still defeats no matter what way they're painted!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 12:56:16    2312654

Replying To Joxer:  "Con was stunning in that first half, unmarkable. That set piece to split the middle and have Con come through to field was superb. A great baller in great condition."
Joxer the young fella is absolutely majestic. His fielding is incredible. The Dubs can hurt you in so many ways but I really think you have to shut him down because he could run riot in ways I think very few players can in the game. Him and Kilkenny in my view are the key forwards, and you need someone just to try and live with Fenton. If you manage those matchups you give yourself a sniff of a chance in my view, but as I say there are so many great weapons in your side.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/11/2020 12:56:47    2312655

Replying To Htaem:  "We get it saynothing, you hate Meath, you're devasted Dublin didn't beat us by the record score yesterday and you're enjoying having a go because you have little else to do since Tyrone went packing.

I thought it was the other crowd up north who make all the noise beating their drums and such, apparently it's not just them!

But look after your own county first, Tyrone haven't handed Dublin a championship defeat since 2008, Meath since 2010 and anybody since 2014."
PS, plenty to do watching another Ulster Championship, unlike some, football doesn't end when your teams beat. Enjoy a closer match today and keep dreaming.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 13:00:33    2312658

Replying To waynoI:  "Bored of excuses and people saying football is dead. Dublin have been extremely lucky in certain contests in their 5 in a row run so far. Even before that going back as far as 2011 and the free against Kildare, Weve come out of close games against Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, proper nail biters, gruelling hard encounters. The fact is Meath are just muck and arent getting basics right.

I dont buy that the All Ireland is wrapped up at all I reckon Donegal and Mayo are both capable of beating us and if they do, they simply wont be like that Meath team last night.

As everyone knows I live in Meath and in the last 10 years I've never seen such confidence that meath would give us a game from fans I met in work etc. I said Dublin would win by double digits yesterday and one person scoffed and said "no way, 3-4 pts, were mad for goals" .. mad for goals against Wicklow (D4) and Kildare (who were makers of their own downfall there)? This Meath team played in division one, theyve been competitive but when push comes to shove when it really matters, they were predictably inept and offered nothing.

I've read so much in the lead up about the past games and teams. Its 10 years since Meath beat Dublin and weve dished out some serious punishment in the time since then and none of those players will have played a competitive game against us. It's not the 90s anymore. The reality is Dublin are miles ahead and were always going to run amuck yesterday"
Best opening line ever!! "Dublin have been extremely lucky". Yes, 14 out of 15 Leinster titles in a row and 7 out of 9 All Irelands (soon to be 8 out of 10) just screams of a team that is so, so lucky!,

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 22/11/2020 13:07:23    2312663

I don't think its a population issue. Meath have a massive population also. Dublin had the population thing in the 1990's and only won once and I think zero between 2000-2010. Ciaran Kilkenny is a machine. Rock is the best free taker ever. This is why they are the best. These variable will change over time.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 22/11/2020 13:09:10    2312665

As jimmy mcgee said when maradonna scored against England, Different Class!
Along with 7 sams in the last decade, they've also picked 4U20/21, lost 2 finals and are in the final again this year, so we're just gonna have to get used to this for the foreseeable future.
As whelan said, teams are beat before a ball is kicked.
We're totally clueless when it comes to defending against teams that run at us, lots of bodies but hardly a decent tackle in sight, everyone chasing around after the ball, end result is free dubs all over the place and they make it look soo easy.
Fair play to them with developing this system and an outstanding panel of players.
Sickened to be honest!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 22/11/2020 13:11:09    2312667

Replying To sligo joe:  "Two take aways from last night,1. the Dubs played really well, probably as faultless a performance as they have given, but 2. This performance was aided and abetted by a Meath team that never came close to reaching even their own limited potential on the night. This notion that dismantaling the Dubs will solve the likes of Meath's problems is just that, a lazy notion. Meath would just get hammered by a Mayo Kerry or an Ulster team like Donegal. Kerry and Mayo have come as close as can be to stopping Dublin's All Ireland run, the way it should be stopped, on the field, let Meath get their act together and do the same."
Will the gaa fund us to the same tune though ???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 13:17:10    2312677

Stop the cheap shots against Meath. Nobody can beat this Dublin team, they are the best. Rock is the best free taker ever and Ciaran Kilkenny is unmarkable. etc etc.
Meath would have done well against any other team so no need for the Royals to be down. Congrats to the Dubs.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 22/11/2020 13:21:23    2312678

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Good post agree with it all. From a Meath point of view the root of why things got so bad to such an extent last night was the kickouts, it left us under constant pressure. It's something that can be rehearsed so no excuse why they were so bad and has not been sorted in recent years. It's a pity because in some aspects McEntee has improved Meath (despite last night's disaster). He is the first Meath manager to get us to division 1 for many years we also got to the super 8's last year.
It sounds a funny thing to say after last night's disaster but if Meath can get the kickouts sorted a bit we have a great chance of getting back to division 1 next year."
I agree with you, I don't think it's a funny thing to say at all. The modern game is all all about possession, retention of your own ball etc. If you can't secure your own kickout, or punish the opposition for pushing up on you, then you're done, end of. You need options for going short, medium and long. And if you go long, your keeper has to be able to ping them in a way that it doesn't hang in the air and allow the opposition to break it and get numbers around the break.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/11/2020 13:21:25    2312679

Replying To JoeSoap:  "RD have yous gotten away from what you were good at last year - very tigerish in defence I thought? Meath got a terrible time of it for last year's Leinster final but it was clear as day to me that you were very very competitive against the Dubs in terms of defence for a large portion of that game, but were absolutely woeful up front. Tell any team in the country that you go in at half-time against Dublin and they've only got 5 points and the reaction will be "we have a chance there". You need to be clinical with your chances up front but I thought yous were 100% on the right track defensively back then. What has happened in the past year that a Dublin forward can get the ball at his ease, turn and stroke it over the bar from 14 metres out without a Meath man within 5 metres of him.

I mentioned earlier in the thread that if you've no kickout you can forget about it as well. Your kickout relieves pressure. What happens after the Dublin goal - you need to secure your own ball immediately, take the sting out of them. That doesn't happen, the pressure piles on, score after score and no way out because you have absolutely zero strategy from the kickout as far as I could see last night. I don't want to be overly harsh because the players will be hurting today but dhia, you have to give yourselves a chance and it seemed to me yous didn't do that last night at all.

That was worse than last year in my view because at least last year you could see what Meath were trying to do but forward play really really let yous down in that first half. For example if any other Division 1 side kept Dublin to 1-17 they would be thinking they have a chance to win the game. Only Tyrone and Kerry kept Dublin to a lower score than Meath managed in last year's Leinster final. Last night was atrocious, nothing redeemable from a Meath POV in my opinion. Very disappointing, as I have mentioned on a couple of occasions I have a lot of time for Meath football and have a lot of hope for this group (still do) as I think there is talent there. But jesus yous need a kickout."
Great post. Nail on head. What happened to last years defence is right!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 22/11/2020 13:21:37    2312681

Replying To Saynothing:  "PS, plenty to do watching another Ulster Championship, unlike some, football doesn't end when your teams beat. Enjoy a closer match today and keep dreaming."
I will indeed, who do you think will win?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 13:32:23    2312690

Replying To bad.monkey:  "The disrespect being shown here to the Dublin players is really sad. Dismissing their achievements as them being somehow 'professionals' is a clear attempt to belittle their great dedication, hard work and skill. They have to balance work, family and everything else just like all other players. So called Gaels are happy to run down this fine Dublin team last night here even while they were laying a wreath to honour those murdered in Croke Park. This Dublin team are great lads and fine role models for young people in Dublin and around the country.
The provisional championships have been outed for at least 30 years. No doubt they should be scrapped. It is ONLY down to the provisional councils that they exist, who need them to still be relevant. The GAA do need to look at a new structure and also funding. But running down this Dublin team and the players is not the way to change things."
Well said. Fair play.
Total lack of respect shown to these Dublin players.
Role models but still just normal guys who have to balance so many things outside of the GAA.

Says it all when so very few mentioned the Dublin players laying that wreath after the game, in memory of those who were murdered on Bloody Sunday.

As has been said so many times before - you can throw a wad of cash into a donkey but you still won't make it into a champion thoroughbred...

These Dublin players have more than earned Respect for what they have achieved. But some people will never show it to them. It is a sad state of affairs...!

But us Dubs will be forever in their debt for what they are giving us. Legends.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 22/11/2020 13:34:11    2312692

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said. Fair play.
Total lack of respect shown to these Dublin players.
Role models but still just normal guys who have to balance so many things outside of the GAA.

Says it all when so very few mentioned the Dublin players laying that wreath after the game, in memory of those who were murdered on Bloody Sunday.

As has been said so many times before - you can throw a wad of cash into a donkey but you still won't make it into a champion thoroughbred...

These Dublin players have more than earned Respect for what they have achieved. But some people will never show it to them. It is a sad state of affairs...!

But us Dubs will be forever in their debt for what they are giving us. Legends."
Well said Fionn

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/11/2020 13:41:56    2312696

Replying To Htaem:  "I will indeed, who do you think will win?"
Hope Donegal, just because of playing Dubs next.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 13:44:16    2312697

Replying To galwayfball:  "If we got rid of the provincial championship many teams would go the way of the other teams in leinster. Very hard to get lads to commit when there is little hope of silverware. We must keep these competitions or watch many other teams go the way of meath.... very hard for managers to get lads to commit to the other leinster counties outside of Dublin when they have little chance of winning.

With the greatest of respect to Corofin the fact that they were finally beaten after 7 years is only a good thing for club football in Galway.

Dublin getting beaten would be great for the GAA but I can not see it happening in leinster any time in the foreseeable future.. .imagine the manager ringing up players in the other counties to come in to try for the county panel . .....would you like to train in the dead of winter, change your diet and give up your social life with no hopes of silverware and a good chance of being trashed for the nation to see . That's what the managers of kildare and meath are offering"
That's a good point but leaving out Dublin, there are 11 other counties in Leinster. Ok kilkenny dont really compete so there are 10 counties that compete, that's 1/3 of the country or competition. Those 10 counties have fallen off the pace when even compared to counties outside of Leinster and that's due to Dublins dominance for the last 15yrs. Meath and kildare have fallen way back but so have counties like Laois, Louth, Westmeath and Wexford who had some success and were very competitive throughout the noughties.
Corofin have dominated in galway for the last number of years but are they blitzing every other team by 20+ points? I dont know but either way that corofin team are a special group but time is catching up with them and their dominance i think will subside. Cant see that happening with Dublin, the gap is getting bigger if anything.
We have seen galway compete in Leinster in hurling so something similar should probably happen in football if provincials are to continue. Something like a draw every year to pick 4 random leinster counties to compete in connacht and munster, 2 in each. Not sure how that would work

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 22/11/2020 13:51:05    2312700