Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Crinigan:  "Not a single Meath poster (aside from one i think) on this forum said Meath were going to win. All that was said was that Meath would be competitive (for a change!) against Dublin and might put it up to them.

You should learn to listen and not just follow your spiteful agenda. Life lesson for you and off this forum I'm sure."
Loud mouth boxers always sell more tickets to their fights. The absolute satisfaction from the potential meltdown on the night is what wets the publics appetite. Theres a life lesson for you. As well as take your own advice and listen to what was said first.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/11/2020 19:33:00    2313252

Replying To daytona11:  "So a photo op for the Dubs facilitated by Croke Park and broadcast by RTE.

Yeh a level playing field all over."
Exactly.

Look I'm sure I'll be lambasted for daring to slag off Dublin for marking a sensitive occasion ... but the music, the RTÉ cameras perfectly placed, the mask wearing, the formation ... all nicely setup. I'm sure the multiple sponsors of both the team and many of the individual players will be delighted anyway as well as their commercial team. It'll keep the cheques flying in.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/11/2020 19:44:40    2313271

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Last night was like going 12 rounds with Mike Tyson at his peak. And thats how I felt like it was like watching the game with Dublin been so brillant and just being mentally and physically been beaten up on the couch. It was hard to watch. But thats sport when you play the greatest team ever they can do this to you.

Overall I am happy with this year I think we have made solid progress. Found some young talent eg Cathal Hickey, Eoin Harkin, Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris. Its a young team. The key is promotion to div 1. It will be tough. But we will be one of the contenders and hopefully we can do it. It is very important to get promoted if we dont that could end McEntees tenure and break the team. But the train will leave the station again next summer and we have young team and our aim is basically to become top 7 or 8. To achieve what Monaghan have done. Get to Monaghans level. And like kildare Armagh Tipp Cavan Cork Roscommom we all have a chance to break into top 8 and we will see who will in next 2 years. Next 2 years will tell us how good Andy is as manager and how good this Meath team is. We cannot compare ourselves to Dubs our aim is to not win Sam or beat Dublin but to become top 7 or 8 team stay in div 1 and reach Super 8s. We might not achieve that. But we have a chance. There was positives from this year. We are going in the right direction.

Regards Dubs yes I was talking my guff last week. playing Dublin brings back so many good memories for me and matters allot to me personally. And that has allot to with the respect I have for Dublin people and Dublin GAA. I did talk about old days goneby and believe and all that but to be fair to myself I did say at least 5 times I expecting an hammering when I take my emotional out of it. And if we got within 8 to 12 points we would be doing well. But we got hammered. No surprise the Dubs have done this to nearly every team they have played and we have been hammered many times before and we just have get on with it. Meath football will still keep going forward. It matters to much to many peoole for it not to.

Regards Dubs. I have allot respect for great Dublin gaa. The thing i like about Dubs win or lose they never whinge. They are tough very tough. But they have a manly code of honour going back to Heffernans team. When they are beatening they take it. They take it no whinging. My respect for Dublin was born out of my admiration for great Dublin men like Kevin Heffernan, Kevin Moran, Tommy Drum, The Late Anto O Toole, Barney Rock, Gerry Hargan, Paul Curran, keith Barr, Jason Sherlock, Colm keaney, Paddy Christie. All Dublin heroes before 2010 and of course Stephen Cluxton and the current golden generation. Since 2010 Dublin what have done is something incredible. Talk about future of leinster football is for another day. 10 leinster in a row and soon 6 in All Irelands is the greatest achivement in the history of the gaa. Up their with Italia 90 and Grand Slams as one of the great achievements in Irish sport. If you face greatness you should always recognise real greatness. And men like Cluxton Mcarthy kilkenny Callaghan Rock Fenton are greatness personified. Congratulations to the Dubs. Worthy winners. I am not in the best of health myself and neitheir are my loved one. But I hope to say in years to come that I witnessed the greatest team ever to play the game, the gaa Dublin team of 2011 to 2020. You have always have to recognise something special in sports, in culture or in life. And what this Dublin team has done is truly special. And Dublin GAA in general and Hill 16 is one of the great institutions of Irish sport. Well done again to the Dubs. The Greatest Gaelic football team of all time. GOAT."
Seriously Furlong, you want to leave current mangement in place for another two years? After four years they are no nearer solving even our basic problems. To list just a few, goalkeeper/kick outs, midfielders who cannot field a ball, no game plan.no free taker, the complete inability to read game in real time and make required changes. We were promoted from a very poor division two, where many of the teams we played were missing 6/7 first choice players,in fairness we took full advantage, however were found out badly in Div 2 final, Leinster final and super 8s, not to mention Division 1 this year. Kildare must be wondering how we beat them last week, I have no doubt they let us off the hook, but the alarms bells were ringing loudly. If we leave current management in place they will squeese the life out of these young lads who have potential, but need and deserve a good coach and manager.
I could only look on with jealousy and admiration today as Tipp and especially Cavan showed what can be achieved. I have lost what little faith I had in our current setup and hopefully they are men enough to realise what they are doing is not working. Tipp manager said today this win will insure a generation of young lads will be mad keen to pull on a Tipp football jersey, young lads in Meath have no interest and who can blame them.
I admire your loyalty to Meath football and like yourself have witnessed the good with the bad over the years, however we cannot continue on this path.
Best wishes to to and your family and all the best in the future.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 22/11/2020 20:14:27    2313339

Replying To seadog54:  "Seriously Furlong, you want to leave current mangement in place for another two years? After four years they are no nearer solving even our basic problems. To list just a few, goalkeeper/kick outs, midfielders who cannot field a ball, no game plan.no free taker, the complete inability to read game in real time and make required changes. We were promoted from a very poor division two, where many of the teams we played were missing 6/7 first choice players,in fairness we took full advantage, however were found out badly in Div 2 final, Leinster final and super 8s, not to mention Division 1 this year. Kildare must be wondering how we beat them last week, I have no doubt they let us off the hook, but the alarms bells were ringing loudly. If we leave current management in place they will squeese the life out of these young lads who have potential, but need and deserve a good coach and manager.
I could only look on with jealousy and admiration today as Tipp and especially Cavan showed what can be achieved. I have lost what little faith I had in our current setup and hopefully they are men enough to realise what they are doing is not working. Tipp manager said today this win will insure a generation of young lads will be mad keen to pull on a Tipp football jersey, young lads in Meath have no interest and who can blame them.
I admire your loyalty to Meath football and like yourself have witnessed the good with the bad over the years, however we cannot continue on this path.
Best wishes to to and your family and all the best in the future."
I would leave Andy in place. Reality is he is the only Meath manager in a long time to get us to Division 1. He also got us to super 8's last year.
Last night was terrible but remember Dublin were brilliant.
The big black mark against Andy is the kickouts, it was this which ultimately led to it being such a disaster, but I think he has earned a shot at sorting this out.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 22/11/2020 20:54:17    2313409

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I didnt kick the county at all. My comments were a summary of the delusional tripe thats been spoken on here. If you're not one of those posters then it wasn't aimed at you. If you were, then perhaps man up a bit and accept that arrogance has its pros AND cons."
I don't remember Meath people thinking Meath would win. People thought, based on the 2 league games played in the league since it resumed (4 point loss to Dublin and a draw with Monaghan) that we could be competitive. Pat Spillane thought we could be competitive based on what he saw of Meath in league being competitive in most matches in division 1. He said playing in division 1 is normally good preparation for the championship. It's very easy for you to be smart in hindsight.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 22/11/2020 21:12:46    2313442

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh no doubt it was worse than last year. The only difference this year was Jordan Morris is actually a very good forward, and will improve, but we can't have him back in fb line defending. Tbh McGill and lavin have gone back this year. Don't know if that was cause of tactical changes or both just had a off year. Missed James McEntee and harnan too this year (both out injured) So over the next couple of months these are issues we have to work on. That and the gk position"
If Jordan Morris is going to be any use to Meath then he is going to have to be able to do the hard work back the pitch too.

If the opposition know that Morris, or any Meath forward, isn't able to track back then they'll stick one of their flyers on him and attack yous all day long.

No team, Dublin included, can be carrying lads who can't work anymore.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/11/2020 21:21:41    2313466

Replying To Crinigan:  "Dublin decision. Meath didn't know anything about it. They even had the music set up etc for their wreath laying/corporate cynicism (whatever way you want to look at it). It's their home pitch and Dublin were playing on Bloody Sunday. Presumably that's why Meath weren't invited to do so. Also, I'm sure Dublin's commercial manager didn't want their perfectly choreographed display to be ruined by Meath jerseys."
Ewww...couldn't have that lurid green and yellow spoiling the aesthetic of the occasion.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/11/2020 21:27:00    2313476

The narrative before the game was that Meath were a coming team on an upward curve.

However following their awful first season back in Division 1, as well as their pummellings in their Super 8 games last year, meant that their was always the chance that this Meath team had actually already peaked and were on their way back down.

Last night would add more weight to that second narrative really. I was shocked at just how far off the pace they were physically and mentally as well as how tactically inept they were.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/11/2020 21:29:37    2313478

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Last night was like going 12 rounds with Mike Tyson at his peak. And thats how I felt like it was like watching the game with Dublin been so brillant and just being mentally and physically been beaten up on the couch. It was hard to watch. But thats sport when you play the greatest team ever they can do this to you.

Overall I am happy with this year I think we have made solid progress. Found some young talent eg Cathal Hickey, Eoin Harkin, Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris. Its a young team. The key is promotion to div 1. It will be tough. But we will be one of the contenders and hopefully we can do it. It is very important to get promoted if we dont that could end McEntees tenure and break the team. But the train will leave the station again next summer and we have young team and our aim is basically to become top 7 or 8. To achieve what Monaghan have done. Get to Monaghans level. And like kildare Armagh Tipp Cavan Cork Roscommom we all have a chance to break into top 8 and we will see who will in next 2 years. Next 2 years will tell us how good Andy is as manager and how good this Meath team is. We cannot compare ourselves to Dubs our aim is to not win Sam or beat Dublin but to become top 7 or 8 team stay in div 1 and reach Super 8s. We might not achieve that. But we have a chance. There was positives from this year. We are going in the right direction.

Regards Dubs yes I was talking my guff last week. playing Dublin brings back so many good memories for me and matters allot to me personally. And that has allot to with the respect I have for Dublin people and Dublin GAA. I did talk about old days goneby and believe and all that but to be fair to myself I did say at least 5 times I expecting an hammering when I take my emotional out of it. And if we got within 8 to 12 points we would be doing well. But we got hammered. No surprise the Dubs have done this to nearly every team they have played and we have been hammered many times before and we just have get on with it. Meath football will still keep going forward. It matters to much to many peoole for it not to.

Regards Dubs. I have allot respect for great Dublin gaa. The thing i like about Dubs win or lose they never whinge. They are tough very tough. But they have a manly code of honour going back to Heffernans team. When they are beatening they take it. They take it no whinging. My respect for Dublin was born out of my admiration for great Dublin men like Kevin Heffernan, Kevin Moran, Tommy Drum, The Late Anto O Toole, Barney Rock, Gerry Hargan, Paul Curran, keith Barr, Jason Sherlock, Colm keaney, Paddy Christie. All Dublin heroes before 2010 and of course Stephen Cluxton and the current golden generation. Since 2010 Dublin what have done is something incredible. Talk about future of leinster football is for another day. 10 leinster in a row and soon 6 in All Irelands is the greatest achivement in the history of the gaa. Up their with Italia 90 and Grand Slams as one of the great achievements in Irish sport. If you face greatness you should always recognise real greatness. And men like Cluxton Mcarthy kilkenny Callaghan Rock Fenton are greatness personified. Congratulations to the Dubs. Worthy winners. I am not in the best of health myself and neitheir are my loved one. But I hope to say in years to come that I witnessed the greatest team ever to play the game, the gaa Dublin team of 2011 to 2020. You have always have to recognise something special in sports, in culture or in life. And what this Dublin team has done is truly special. And Dublin GAA in general and Hill 16 is one of the great institutions of Irish sport. Well done again to the Dubs. The Greatest Gaelic football team of all time. GOAT."
Best wishes furlong to you and yours.
But please keep posting over the next couple of months. Ur posts are exceptional. Please keep it up. It's good for the mental health. And I'm talking about me and others who look forward to reading ur posts

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 21:50:40    2313507

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I don't remember Meath people thinking Meath would win. People thought, based on the 2 league games played in the league since it resumed (4 point loss to Dublin and a draw with Monaghan) that we could be competitive. Pat Spillane thought we could be competitive based on what he saw of Meath in league being competitive in most matches in division 1. He said playing in division 1 is normally good preparation for the championship. It's very easy for you to be smart in hindsight."
Maybe you need to look back over some earlier pages on this thread then. Plenty of examples. At one point I think a poster said they didnt care what anyone outside Meath thought about them. The same person is on today giving out at the criticism Meath are receiving LOL sorry if that's being 'smart' but his words not mine. I did also say this wasn't aimed at all Meath posters and I stand by that too.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/11/2020 21:57:02    2313513

The almost yearly beatings are hampering any massive improvement in Meath or Kildare, lads are disheartened as they know realistically they are not going to win anything. If they were placed in say Connaught or Ulster I believe after a few years we would see them improve drastically and be very competitive. Prior to the confidence draining hiding Meath got on Saturday I would give them every chance of beating the other AI semi-finalists (Mayo, Tipp, Cavan) which indicates just how disadvantaged we are being grouped with Dublin in Leinster. BTW Dublin are a savage team, unbelievable to watch and I'm not having a pop at them.

Kiwiq (Kildare) - Posts: 38 - 22/11/2020 22:12:10    2313529

Replying To royaldunne:  "Best wishes furlong to you and yours.
But please keep posting over the next couple of months. Ur posts are exceptional. Please keep it up. It's good for the mental health. And I'm talking about me and others who look forward to reading ur posts"
Hear hear.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/11/2020 22:14:56    2313531

I was actually impressed with some of the talent on show for Meath last night, Morris and Costello in particular, can't remember the lad who came on mid way through the second half and got a couple of points but he was good to, not sure Walsh myself. But I think the easy thing to do is react, if I was Meath I'd leave Andy there for another five years and reassess.

Don't be a stranger my old pal, my very best wishes and regards to you and those closest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/11/2020 22:20:36    2313535

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.

Look I'm sure I'll be lambasted for daring to slag off Dublin for marking a sensitive occasion ... but the music, the RTÉ cameras perfectly placed, the mask wearing, the formation ... all nicely setup. I'm sure the multiple sponsors of both the team and many of the individual players will be delighted anyway as well as their commercial team. It'll keep the cheques flying in."
Green eyed monsters an awful thing. Give credit to these players. They visit hospitals and numerous other places and do good deeds without making a meal of it like professional players over the water.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 22/11/2020 22:29:48    2313546

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Maybe you need to look back over some earlier pages on this thread then. Plenty of examples. At one point I think a poster said they didnt care what anyone outside Meath thought about them. The same person is on today giving out at the criticism Meath are receiving LOL sorry if that's being 'smart' but his words not mine. I did also say this wasn't aimed at all Meath posters and I stand by that too."
Actually we don't care what anyone thinks of us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 23:11:53    2313569

Open post.
I walked away from it literally in 2002 at a relatively young age in protest against the introduction of the back door system and the further damage it may do to the weaker counties, I signed up here specifically to canvas for the knock out system to be reintroduced but no such luck, however over the past couple of weeks more high profile gaa sports people including Joe Brolly today have said the knock out system is the way forward.

Personally I would have been in favor of something like the Tommy Murphy cup for us unfortunates but I was in the minority, at the mention of the Back Door system I was totally and utterly against it but I was in the minority there too, as far as I could see way back then was it was papering over the cracks, it gave a false sense of security to the so called weaker counties and another day out for more of the same.

Ciaran Whelan said to day that Leinster football was" psychologically smashed" he may have meant National football. Dublin may not be the cause of the problem, but for the moment Dublin are the problem.
When Kerry lost out to Cork, Kildare lost out to Meath and Meath lost out heavily to Dublin everyone shouted stop, enough is enough especially as they have historically valued provincial and All Ireland senior football titles, with that can I humbly ask, where is the traditional sincerity, brotherly comradery and understanding that the association is supposed to share with all those in competitive trouble, there is weaker counties in Leinster than Kildare and Meath, have they to take their place in a different Que.

The overall problem with inter county gaelic football is beyond fixing.

To keep it ticking over, revert back to the traditional knock out system, get rid of the super 8's and put in place a worthwhile program to support the very weakest of counties, the rest will fall into place.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/11/2020 23:30:21    2313581

the inest 70 min for the greatest team ever? that was as near perfection as iv ever seen

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 22/11/2020 23:33:52    2313583

Have to say as a kildare man this did not sit well with me, makes us look even more awful.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/11/2020 23:59:37    2313593

Thanks for the comments Royaldunne, TheUsername, Crinigan, Htaem, Seadog54, Dubh_linn, Ciarraimick, Daytona11, Fionn, Lilylanger. I appreciate them very much.

Great day for football yesterday. It felt like a day from the 90s with Tipp and Cavan.
Fair play to Tipp and Cavan. My own county could learn from both. They worked from the bottom up, sucess from the bottom up. Tipp won minor All Ireland and reached under 21 All Ireland final. And from that underage sucess todays sucess was built. Tipp are one of our great GAA counties. Football has had to struggle in the shadow of hurling in Tipp. But great work has been done in Tipp in football. Its great for men like Declan Browne who did so much for Tipp football. Browne was one of the modern greats.

Cavan sucess today was built on those 5 under 21 Ulster titles they won recently. Cavan is a football mad county and a great gaa county. Up to 1950s were one of the early aritocrats. And in many ways a sleeping gaint. But that sleeping giant awoke now. I was at Ulster final in 1997 when Cavan won the Ulster Title and celebrations after the match and the emotions was a sight to behold.
Well done to Cavan and Tipp. A great day for both counties.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 23/11/2020 00:50:38    2313602

Wishing you and youre family all the best
Youre posts are allways interesting
And you put a lot of thought into them
Maybe in the years ahead Galway and meath will rise to the top again

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/11/2020 02:12:14    2313612