Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To lilylanger:  "This is Meaths problem in recent times. Thinking they are better than they are. Tyrone are by some distance better than Meath."
I think that is a very salient point. I'm genuinely surprised people are so shocked by last night.

What were Meath expecting and on what basis really.

They haven't competed against Dublin in over a decade, or in the S8s last year or Div 1 this yearwith any success.

Not to be insulting or disrespectful but they just about make the yo-yo county group of Cavan, Roscommon, Armagh, Kildare and Meath. Bouncing between Div 1 and 2, but be bookies favourites for the drop.

Here we see it with Tyrone - Tyrone beat both Dublin and Kerry this year and have in the past five years competed at All Ireland and Semi level. I think the annual hype, history lessons and sabre rattling really doesn't help Meath. Humility, self awareness and realism not to be disrespectful, would really help them.

Looking at the national picture, I think they have a job of work with Mayo and Cork in Div 2 next year to win promotion. To be honest Meath have problems competing and breaking the glass ceiling not just with Dublin, but nationally and are a Div 2 team with a punchers chance.

In a lot of ways Meath are lucky they are in Leinster if they were in Ulster or Connacht they wouldn't have got a sniff of the S8s last year or a couple of provincial final. That doesn't have much to do with Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/11/2020 13:51:49    2312702

A nice touch of class from the Dublin players last night to lay a wreath in remembrance of the victims of Bloody Sunday.
Disappointing how little most posters offer anything other than negativity on this forum when it would be so easy to pay a compliment to what will surely be recognised as the greatest team to play GAA.
Everyone hates losing but it's no shame either to appreciate what this team are achieving. Kilkenny,Kerry and indeed Mayo teams of the past were great sides and they continue to challenge but this Dublin team are raising the bar. Most on here seem more eager to offer an underhanded compliment and see any reference to compliment as bowing down in order to shape it as a sign of weakness.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 22/11/2020 13:54:01    2312704

Replying To BeJasus:  "Kinda annoying when they bring the rest of Ireland's remaining teams into the equation alright.
It's disrespectful to them but nobody being fooled here.

Strength and conditioning and aggression that likes Donegal/ Mayo will bring will be on a total different stratosphere to what leinster teams provide.
They will bring the dog to the fight, and wont fear or freeze against dublin. ."
Agree there Bejaus, another post of mine replied to you instead of Hteam of Meath.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 14:06:31    2312713

Replying To Saynothing:  "I clearly didn't mention Tyrone in my post, I was questioning the fact that Meath people were righting off teams chances that were left in Championship who are miles better than Meath. No point in blaming everyone else for last nights shambles."
Your saying exactly what i've said, ...Kerry/Mayo/Donegal/Tyrone whoever..
Meath are not in this bracket , but their fans still think they are with the replies on here..

Apparently it was an "Off day" "Not like them" or the most annoying "All Ireland series is finished because they got tonked so "no hope for anybody else now ))

Its not.
The All Ireland only really begins now...
Connacht/Ulster/ Munster best teams will continue having turns trying to topple the Dubs who will have to earn the 2020 All Ireland title, just like in previous years.

Leinster is a shambles, and its irritating when you see people from the Leinster area bring the nation into the argument
to over their own teams shortcomings.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 22/11/2020 14:06:32    2312714

Replying To Crinigan:  "Tyrone aren't miles ahead of Meath at all. Generally only a kick of a ball between them. And Tyrone took their own meek hammering from Dublin not so long ago."
This is Meaths problem......deluded if you think Tyrone aren't well ahead of Meath.

Stats prove Tyrone are far better.

Maybe if Meath start realising that they aren't a good team things might get fixed

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/11/2020 14:20:00    2312729

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said. Fair play.
Total lack of respect shown to these Dublin players.
Role models but still just normal guys who have to balance so many things outside of the GAA.

Says it all when so very few mentioned the Dublin players laying that wreath after the game, in memory of those who were murdered on Bloody Sunday.

As has been said so many times before - you can throw a wad of cash into a donkey but you still won't make it into a champion thoroughbred...

These Dublin players have more than earned Respect for what they have achieved. But some people will never show it to them. It is a sad state of affairs...!

But us Dubs will be forever in their debt for what they are giving us. Legends."
Thats true, they all seem well grounded and play for each other. Gilroy rooted out the rot and Gavin wasnt one for stroking a lads ego. Anytime a player got ahead of himself he was brought back down to earth fairly quick.
That's said while its admirable how good they are, its soul crushing when they are playing your own county. There is a problem in Leinster. Its easy say it's up to other counties to catch up but it seems they are getting further apart.
I dont know what the solution is but nobody should detract from what Dublin have done and are continuing to do.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 22/11/2020 14:21:22    2312731

Replying To Htaem:  "They may not fear or freeze but when will they start winning?

I absolutely accept we have to get our house in order, no excuses for Meath, but there seems to be some back slapping going on here among counties who haven't had any success beating the Dubs either.

Moral victories are still defeats no matter what way they're painted!"
Yeah and some are from counties we beat in more ways than one particularly 96. I wonder are they still sore over Peter the average?? Rumours have it he is still sore too :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 14:24:31    2312736

Replying To Saynothing:  "Hope Donegal, just because of playing Dubs next."
They do look good in fairness and I hope they do win to. Nothing against Cavan but I think Donegal are better equipped to challenge Dublin.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 14:31:02    2312740

Replying To catch22:  "A nice touch of class from the Dublin players last night to lay a wreath in remembrance of the victims of Bloody Sunday.
Disappointing how little most posters offer anything other than negativity on this forum when it would be so easy to pay a compliment to what will surely be recognised as the greatest team to play GAA.
Everyone hates losing but it's no shame either to appreciate what this team are achieving. Kilkenny,Kerry and indeed Mayo teams of the past were great sides and they continue to challenge but this Dublin team are raising the bar. Most on here seem more eager to offer an underhanded compliment and see any reference to compliment as bowing down in order to shape it as a sign of weakness."
+1

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 22/11/2020 14:43:51    2312748

Its funny to listen to the Dubs about giving respect. What respect did the rest of the 32 counties get when your county received unfair resources to introduce a higher level of coaching. Other counties cant reproduce this without the same number of full time coaches providing county wide standards. Everything is well oiled due to this county standard. Are you saying Kerry, Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone players dont train as much? Or arent conditioned as much? No The Dubs have an unfair advantage as they have now 15 years of improved training standards due to the money given to them. A lot of the skills are second nature now so training now is on tactics and positioning. Isnt it such a coincidence that no county could win back to back for 15 plus years as the all ireland was so competitive until Kerry did it in 2006. Since then Dublin has had won 5 in a row since in such a competitive era. I wonder why? The players might not be professional. The set up behind it certainly is. I wonder if Cork or Antrim will get 20 million over the next few years to do the same?

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 22/11/2020 15:03:34    2312760

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Its funny to listen to the Dubs about giving respect. What respect did the rest of the 32 counties get when your county received unfair resources to introduce a higher level of coaching. Other counties cant reproduce this without the same number of full time coaches providing county wide standards. Everything is well oiled due to this county standard. Are you saying Kerry, Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone players dont train as much? Or arent conditioned as much? No The Dubs have an unfair advantage as they have now 15 years of improved training standards due to the money given to them. A lot of the skills are second nature now so training now is on tactics and positioning. Isnt it such a coincidence that no county could win back to back for 15 plus years as the all ireland was so competitive until Kerry did it in 2006. Since then Dublin has had won 5 in a row since in such a competitive era. I wonder why? The players might not be professional. The set up behind it certainly is. I wonder if Cork or Antrim will get 20 million over the next few years to do the same?"
Clubs in Dublin are professional?

Because that's what is behind it

And those same clubs are paying 50% of it all

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/11/2020 15:19:35    2312788

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "People need to calm down. We put up massive scores in leinster games in the 00's when we were not even winning all irelands.

Dublin were magnificent today. A joy to watch. But Meath were equally abysmal. They never layed a glove on us. It was quite literally a stroll in the park. They rolled over and completely bottled it.

People saying the all Ireland series is the same as leinster. Give me a break. Of the seven all irelands we won in the last decade - four of those titles were 1 point wins. Two of those titles it took replays for us to get over the line. Our dominance is not even close to the dominance that kilkenny hurlers had for 15 years. In one of their all Ireland finals they beat Waterford by a record 23 points. They were literally massacring everyone, and not just leinster teams. I Remember thinking these lads will never be beat, Cody seemed to be able to add a couple of players evey year that just added to their already all conquering squad. But... Look what happened? That great kk team eventually came to an end.

And that's what will happen to this Dublin team. Maybe not this year, maybe not next year, but trust me it will happen. And then all the doomsday merchants can shut up.

Until then, just enjoy watching this magnificent team. The Greatest of all time!! I know I will :)

Up the Dubs!"
If I was a from the other All Ireland contenders I would be a bit worried for the future.
When Dublin started dominating Leinster football about 15 years ago they weren't always hammering teams. The first time they really hammered Meath was 2014.
Will the All Ireland championship go the same way?, will Dublin start move well clear of the All Ireland contenders like they did previously in Leinster?.
Interest levels could drop off with players in the other competitor counties if this happens.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 22/11/2020 15:22:10    2312794

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Its funny to listen to the Dubs about giving respect. What respect did the rest of the 32 counties get when your county received unfair resources to introduce a higher level of coaching. Other counties cant reproduce this without the same number of full time coaches providing county wide standards. Everything is well oiled due to this county standard. Are you saying Kerry, Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone players dont train as much? Or arent conditioned as much? No The Dubs have an unfair advantage as they have now 15 years of improved training standards due to the money given to them. A lot of the skills are second nature now so training now is on tactics and positioning. Isnt it such a coincidence that no county could win back to back for 15 plus years as the all ireland was so competitive until Kerry did it in 2006. Since then Dublin has had won 5 in a row since in such a competitive era. I wonder why? The players might not be professional. The set up behind it certainly is. I wonder if Cork or Antrim will get 20 million over the next few years to do the same?"
You're starting to sound like some Kerry lads on here, we have great players, they're not robots . Money does not buy natural talent, drive, ambition or dedication.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 22/11/2020 15:27:00    2312803

Replying To borisdblade:  "Thats true, they all seem well grounded and play for each other. Gilroy rooted out the rot and Gavin wasnt one for stroking a lads ego. Anytime a player got ahead of himself he was brought back down to earth fairly quick.
That's said while its admirable how good they are, its soul crushing when they are playing your own county. There is a problem in Leinster. Its easy say it's up to other counties to catch up but it seems they are getting further apart.
I dont know what the solution is but nobody should detract from what Dublin have done and are continuing to do."
Yep, you are correct - Gilroy got rid of all the nonsense that was there will Pillar.

Had to be done - no longer could it be about individual.

Team etic got them here, and as you say Pat Gilroy had a lot to do with that...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 22/11/2020 15:31:48    2312810

Replying To Htaem:  "They may not fear or freeze but when will they start winning?

I absolutely accept we have to get our house in order, no excuses for Meath, but there seems to be some back slapping going on here among counties who haven't had any success beating the Dubs either.

Moral victories are still defeats no matter what way they're painted!"
Some of you boys only have yourselves to blame for this backlash. You've been building up to what the rest of Ireland knew was a mismatch as if it was an AI final with only a kick of the ball between the sides. 20 odd pages of silly passages about the past. Attempting to somehow call it relevant to the present. Anything but look at the match in a realistic light and call it honestly.

Have a pop at other counties who've taken their beatings from Dublin if you want but at least their supporters, in the main, are realistic about their expectations and dont go off hyping up a youthful division 2 side beyond anything they'd achieved before. It was like the English media in the build up to a world cup. Always setting their average players up for a fall. Of course that type of thing is amusing. Maybe next year learn a bit of humility.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/11/2020 15:34:56    2312818

Wont make a difference unless they have the right people on the ground. You can have a hape of money and misuse it. Cork have had their fair share tbf.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/11/2020 15:37:26    2312822

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep, you are correct - Gilroy got rid of all the nonsense that was there will Pillar.

Had to be done - no longer could it be about individual.

Team etic got them here, and as you say Pat Gilroy had a lot to do with that..."
Pat had EVERYTHING to do with that, super guy!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 22/11/2020 15:51:49    2312840

I am not interested in engaging most of your thoughts on the reason for Dublins dominance, because tgey are incorrect. I have no doubt Tyrone, Mayo and Kerry spend as much on their footballers as Dublin. The one difference is Dublin spends huge on hurling, which not something Tyrone/Mayo do. Dublin raise their own money and spend it strategically and use it wisely and on the right things i.e. massively on underage. When the dust of argument settles down, man for man vs any other team they are just so much better players. It is why some teams win and most lose.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 22/11/2020 15:53:58    2312841

Replying To jimbodub:  "Clubs in Dublin are professional?

Because that's what is behind it

And those same clubs are paying 50% of it all"
How many people work in full time coaching roles within the club or at county level? Or sorry magical volunteers? Will these successes be known as the bought All Irelands? Or all other counties to be brought up to the same level?

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 22/11/2020 16:06:02    2312861

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "How many people work in full time coaching roles within the club or at county level? Or sorry magical volunteers? Will these successes be known as the bought All Irelands? Or all other counties to be brought up to the same level?"
How many?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/11/2020 16:41:29    2312883