All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For?

Replying To preddan:  "i didnt realise that....that sounds unsporting"
Yeah I was pretty shocked at the time. Only our second ever minor football title and first since the 1930s.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/08/2019 14:33:46    2230706

Replying To Killarney.87:  "That's one of the reasons I am shouting for Dublin, their fans are very hard to take. I remember a game in Thurles where in a sequence of play two hits were put in on Tipp players that looked like blatant fouls were let go by the referee, Kerry turned over possession, after that one of our boys put in a hit that was nowhere near as bad. The screams that came from the Kerry fans for a free would have woken the dead. It was pure tunnel vision to conveniently ignore what had gone before and feel aggrieved by any infringement on their player.

The worst was 2011 All Ireland final, I was 50/50 for who I would cheer for in the senior game but after the minor game I never I was going to be cheering for Dublin. After Tipp pickpocketed Dublin in the minor not one Kerry fan offer congratulations and they didn't even get behind Tipp during the game. The Kerry fans around me didn't even seem all that bothered by the minor match, too busy reading the match programme. All the Dublin fans around me congratulated me including a guy in front of me who must have been sick of listening to my hysteria after our third goal right through to the final whistle.

I always find Dublin fans to be good craic before, during, and after games. Before I go, speaking of Cork, I find their fans to be extremely sporting too and good fun to hang out with. Tipp and Cork hate losing to each other but that is parked to one side as soon as the final whistle goes. There must be something in the air or water of successful counties beginning with K."
I don't know what section you were in in 2011 but me and a couple of hundred Kerry supporters in section 304 lower cusack that day were all shouting for tipp, did you not hear the big roar when ye scored yer late goal and at the final whistle? Did you think that it was a couple of hundred tipp fans that made that noise? Or was it the dubs shouting for ye ? We also all stood up and clapped yer minors when they were doing their lap of honor but you must have been too busy watching the few Kerry lads reading their programs .

Il always shout for a Munster team if they're not playing our own and il be shouting for the young Cork lads the next day as well.

As for Kerry lads screaming blue murder when one of our players had been taken out of it well what do you expect?
Do you go to many matches because that happens at all of them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2019 14:41:14    2230710

Nobody. My interest level in this final is close to zero

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 30/08/2019 14:42:06    2230711

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know what section you were in in 2011 but me and a couple of hundred Kerry supporters in section 304 lower cusack that day were all shouting for tipp, did you not hear the big roar when ye scored yer late goal and at the final whistle? Did you think that it was a couple of hundred tipp fans that made that noise? Or was it the dubs shouting for ye ? We also all stood up and clapped yer minors when they were doing their lap of honor but you must have been too busy watching the few Kerry lads reading their programs .

Il always shout for a Munster team if they're not playing our own and il be shouting for the young Cork lads the next day as well.

As for Kerry lads screaming blue murder when one of our players had been taken out of it well what do you expect?
Do you go to many matches because that happens at all of them."
I was in 705 and I didn't hear ye :) I don't doubt that you were and thanks for your support. Maybe I was unlucky with the Kerry fans near me.

The small band of Tipp fans further up the hogan stand closer to the Davin were very vocal.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/08/2019 16:55:53    2230762

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I was in 705 and I didn't hear ye :) I don't doubt that you were and thanks for your support. Maybe I was unlucky with the Kerry fans near me.

The small band of Tipp fans further up the hogan stand closer to the Davin were very vocal."
They were loud all right, that was one of the best comebacks Iv ever seen by any team and I cannot understand how anyone would be reading a program while that was going on, ye had a couple serious young football teams back then and ye more than handed our arses to us on more than one occasion.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2019 18:03:19    2230776

The one thing I dont want is a narrow Dublin v victory. It would be insufferable after. Hope Dublin win by more than 10, that or a miracle Kerry win.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 30/08/2019 18:32:33    2230783

Replying To Killarney.87:  "That's one of the reasons I am shouting for Dublin, their fans are very hard to take. I remember a game in Thurles where in a sequence of play two hits were put in on Tipp players that looked like blatant fouls were let go by the referee, Kerry turned over possession, after that one of our boys put in a hit that was nowhere near as bad. The screams that came from the Kerry fans for a free would have woken the dead. It was pure tunnel vision to conveniently ignore what had gone before and feel aggrieved by any infringement on their player.

The worst was 2011 All Ireland final, I was 50/50 for who I would cheer for in the senior game but after the minor game I never I was going to be cheering for Dublin. After Tipp pickpocketed Dublin in the minor not one Kerry fan offer congratulations and they didn't even get behind Tipp during the game. The Kerry fans around me didn't even seem all that bothered by the minor match, too busy reading the match programme. All the Dublin fans around me congratulated me including a guy in front of me who must have been sick of listening to my hysteria after our third goal right through to the final whistle.

I always find Dublin fans to be good craic before, during, and after games. Before I go, speaking of Cork, I find their fans to be extremely sporting too and good fun to hang out with. Tipp and Cork hate losing to each other but that is parked to one side as soon as the final whistle goes. There must be something in the air or water of successful counties beginning with K."
That's exactly the same experience I've had too and you're spot on.
Pure out and out happy to ignore anything they do on the field to an opponent and roaring and bawling when someone hits back.
Hard shower to stomach it's true for you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/08/2019 18:39:04    2230787

Replying To catch22:  "That's exactly the same experience I've had too and you're spot on.
Pure out and out happy to ignore anything they do on the field to an opponent and roaring and bawling when someone hits back.
Hard shower to stomach it's true for you."
Again that happens in every game from club to intercounty level, from underage to senior in every county, its nothing new and you'd know that if you went to few matches.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2019 19:24:43    2230806

Kerry.
I always kind of liked the way Kerry go about their football. Over the years their level of consistently been amazing. When they win people generally try to find a reason to downplay it but they don't let it bother them. When they lose they make a huge effort to come back stronger and usually do.
That's not the whole reason though.
In 2010 I was hoping Kilkenny would do 5 in a row as it's nice to see history.
The difference here is you feel there could be much more than 5 after it's achieved.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 30/08/2019 20:54:37    2230827

Will be cheering on Dublin for this one simply because I think they are deserved of the 5-in-a-row record - they are an amazing team!! Next year will be a different story though!! Here's to a great game and good luck to both teams!!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 30/08/2019 21:42:18    2230832

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Nobody. My interest level in this final is close to zero"
I've heard that from many Ulster Gaels and a few GAA people I know in Leinster too. There massive apathy out there that Croke Park and the media continue to ignore.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 30/08/2019 21:55:47    2230840

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Will be cheering on Dublin for this one simply because I think they are deserved of the 5-in-a-row record - they are an amazing team!! Next year will be a different story though!! Here's to a great game and good luck to both teams!!"
Fair play young lad, lovely sentiments and well put.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 31/08/2019 06:31:29    2230886

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Nobody. My interest level in this final is close to zero"
Didn't stop you from commenting on it....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 31/08/2019 08:59:30    2230897

Replying To avonali:  "IT is indeed. I think there are a couple of factors at play.
1. Most neutrals would love to see a a radical shift in the status quo. If Kerry think that the rest of the country are craving a Kerry win on the basis that change is good they are mistaken. Kerry have won 37 times and another Kerry win would just be like a routine changing of the guard. It would be like swapping seats on the Titanic. If Dublin were playing Mayo, Cork, Galway or say Down, then I think most posters would support them rather than the Dubs.
2. I really believe there was a time when Kerry were the aristocrats of football in the sense that could win matches based on skill and athleticism alone. They were tough but not 'dirty'. I think there is a perception that those in influence in Kerry football believed that in order to match the toughness of Tyrone or Donegal that they had to change this perception of themselves as a clean team. Hence the frequency with which recent Kerry teams have got themselves embroiled in brawls and the 'dark arts' in an effort to 'put it up' to other teams. I think it's unthinkable that in the 80s or 90s a Kerry player would fishhook an opponent. This may have altered our perception of them to the point where the tag 'aristocrat' no longer seems appropriate. I mean no offence when I write that it's just that is how I see the evolution of Kerry teams over the the past decade.
3. I don't think HS is representative of the feelings of the country at large. This is a place where debate can get lively and people get defensive of their own counties. Unfortunately some of us go overboard and some of the posts by Kerry posters in particular seemed quite bitter and their claims unjustifiable. As far as I know Cluxton, Jack Mcaffrey, Brian Fenton et al. went to their jobs this morning. They are not professional footballers. Fact. I think it's regrettable also that some Kerry posters believe that a Dublin win spells the end of GAA football. Would they have been saying that in 1982 had the won the five in a row. They went on to win the next three All-Irelands from 83 on. That would have been 9 in a row. Would that have been good for football? The notion that the GAA wants Dublin to keep winning for financial reasons is utter nonsense. Continued Dublin success will affect the gate receipts. If money was the bottom line surely they'd go all out to stop the Dubs
4. The Kerry attempt to raise concerns over the appointment of David Gough left a bad taste in a lot of peoples' mouths.
Kerry fans may feel they have a case but to other fans it seemed like a cynical ploy to influence Gough in advance of the final.
Sin a bhfuil.."
Go back to the 30s and 40s and ask the old people of Antrim and Laois to name a few and they won't be long telling you how dirty Kerry where in those times. Coyb .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 31/08/2019 09:39:15    2230910

Can't speak for others. But I was roaring on Tipp that day. As was every other Kerry supporter around me. There was a Family from Tipp in the row in front of us, and people were leaving their seats to congratulate them at the end.

A lesson in perspective I suppose

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 31/08/2019 09:59:45    2230918

Replying To dubarra:  "Go back to the 30s and 40s and ask the old people of Antrim and Laois to name a few and they won't be long telling you how dirty Kerry where in those times. Coyb ."
Yes, are you referring to the likes of Paddy Bawn Brosnan. Yes, they were tough teams but no more dirty than other teams.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 31/08/2019 10:09:17    2230922

Replying To preddan:  "also i can honestly say too if Dublin were in the Hurling Final playing Kilkenny with the most all irelands id probably shout for kilkenny too..."
That's quite a sad attitude you have there.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 31/08/2019 11:06:13    2230941

Kerry

I just think overall it'd be good for the game if a team actually beats Dublin.

I really hope Dublin don't hammer them.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 31/08/2019 11:17:10    2230945

Kerry
I think we need them to stop the 5 in a row just to brighten up the naysayers who cover football these days. My head say it will be Dublin's day with history but I like to have hope, only a smidgen of it though seen enough of it with my own county for it to kill me. If the dubs do it then fair play to them and this group of players it will be a great achievement for them and the work they have put in the last 10 year. No I'll shout for Kerry at this one just for they are the underdogs with a chance to snatch a piece of history, normally I'm happy for the dubs to beat them in the finals and with the few Kerry posters here saying we hate them usually helps me be happy for it. Now Kerry for the love of god don't mess it up!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 31/08/2019 17:25:55    2231024

Dublin

Great team who have lifted the standard of football. Watched back the 2011 All Ireland and the game has improved so much thanks to them.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 31/08/2019 17:33:59    2231027