Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great attacking display from both teams and brilliant to see that Roscommon team rising to the occassion instead of crumbling under pressure when Galway got their noses in front near the end..which could easily have happened in Croke Park. Along with the forwards Ultan Harney was just brilliant.

Defensively loose at times which needs addressing. I would worry about the kick outs. If we do meet Galway again or Mayo that needs to be sorted out. A lot of Galways scores seemed to come from pressure on the kick outs, in the first half at least. Second half we went longer more often, which is probably preferable than short one's going wrong but Galway started to dominate midfield until Doyle came on."
Doyle made a difference at midfield when he came on. He 's a good fielder. I got jumped on here for saying that I don't think Nolan's the answer at midfield. Another option there is Shane Cunnane who I think was a sub yesterday.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 04/04/2022 12:08:44    2409487

Replying To endgame:  "Doyle made a difference at midfield when he came on. He 's a good fielder. I got jumped on here for saying that I don't think Nolan's the answer at midfield. Another option there is Shane Cunnane who I think was a sub yesterday."
He also got involved in some great attacking play and probably just lacked a small bit of confidence not take a score earlier himself. That will all come to him with more game time. I don't know a whole lot about Shane Cunnane but great to have options. There seems to a few lads now in around the team and panel that were on that minor/u-17 all Ireland team that lost to Tyrone a few years back.

I thought after last weeks game David Murray hadn't been at his best but I thought he was much improved yesterday. The defence was by no means perfect but he got a crucial hand in a few times along with assisting on the attacking front.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 04/04/2022 12:44:31    2409497

I thought we did ok in midfield yesterday against opposition that are very strong in that area. We won more of our own kick outs than Galway did and we lost 7 of our kick outs while won 8 of theirs. I thought by 50th minute the 4 games in 4 weeks was showing in the legs and it wasn't by chance that Galway with a fresher team had they best period in the game then to go in front 0-18 to 0-17 what changed then was our lad rolling up the sleeves and the impact off the bench in Keith Doyle and Diarmuid Murtagh to produce a deserved win.

We now have a good and reliable midfield pairing and both Harney and Nolan had superb league campaigns and hopefully (touch wood) they can remain injury for all of the championship. Cunnane,Doyle are two midfielders for the future and very good options to bring off the bench as of now.

Defensively we clearly have problems that need to be fixed if we are to have a successful championship. We are still making too many unforced errors and not applying the pressure on players who take shots at the posts, Paul Conroy whom played mostly at centre half forward yesterday I bet couldn't believe the time and shape he was give to shoot.

I think we have a lot of good individual defenders, a special mention to Eoin McCormack a fine league campaign in his debut season but I we still need to work on the structure of our defence. Our tackling still needs to be worked on also.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 04/04/2022 14:01:09    2409528

Great to be in Croke Park yesterday to see Roscommon lift silverware. Our forwards now appear to be more direct in their approach after years of passing around in circuls and that's good news as they have the ability to score from long distances. It was a good team effort and it would be unfair to single anyone out but D. Murtagh showed the type of aggression and drive for the goal that modern defences don't like and are not used to. Hope this is the beginning of a great year for the team. Congratulations to all concerned

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 84 - 04/04/2022 14:26:46    2409541

The women sshould also get a mention great win up to division 2 now which will put them in good sted for championship

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/04/2022 16:34:14    2409592

Agree, 22 points is a lot to give up, think we conceded lot of scores in the 4 quarter, so maybe should have brought Doyle and Murtagh on sooner. Anyone know if Mullooly is gone for championship? see Kerry play cross field ball in on top of Clifford, such a game plan might suit someone like Glennon if we needed to mix it up

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 04/04/2022 19:33:55    2409648

A lot of people with egg on their face in this thread after yesterday's game. Ciarain murtagh superb, kicked 3 scores and set up many more. Diarmuid murtagh scoring 1.1 off the bench, when galway were starting to put on pressure to win the game. D murtagh had the same impact as Shane walsh coming on for galway. Defence a worry for roscommon, mccormack way off man marking wise along with a few more, which will be fine against sligo but it'll get caught out badly against good opposition. Think the Nolan Harney partnership is good, again not sure if they are the best man markers but good to see a good pairing in midfield for roscommon again. Connaught wiĺ be interesting this year when we see the mayo v galway result in 2 weeks

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 05/04/2022 10:15:41    2409688

Replying To Rossfan93:  "A lot of people with egg on their face in this thread after yesterday's game. Ciarain murtagh superb, kicked 3 scores and set up many more. Diarmuid murtagh scoring 1.1 off the bench, when galway were starting to put on pressure to win the game. D murtagh had the same impact as Shane walsh coming on for galway. Defence a worry for roscommon, mccormack way off man marking wise along with a few more, which will be fine against sligo but it'll get caught out badly against good opposition. Think the Nolan Harney partnership is good, again not sure if they are the best man markers but good to see a good pairing in midfield for roscommon again. Connaught wiĺ be interesting this year when we see the mayo v galway result in 2 weeks"
Both Niall Daly from Galway the first week and Conroy last week spend just as much time in the forwards as they did in Midfield. Also our tactic didn't seem to be to mark lads more filter back in front of the D. Obviously Cunningham and Co changed this at half time as we nullified Conroy second half Sunday.

Great to see Diarmuid coming back to his best. The best forward in the county when going well.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 05/04/2022 11:32:51    2409716

Replying To Rossfan93:  "A lot of people with egg on their face in this thread after yesterday's game. Ciarain murtagh superb, kicked 3 scores and set up many more. Diarmuid murtagh scoring 1.1 off the bench, when galway were starting to put on pressure to win the game. D murtagh had the same impact as Shane walsh coming on for galway. Defence a worry for roscommon, mccormack way off man marking wise along with a few more, which will be fine against sligo but it'll get caught out badly against good opposition. Think the Nolan Harney partnership is good, again not sure if they are the best man markers but good to see a good pairing in midfield for roscommon again. Connaught wiĺ be interesting this year when we see the mayo v galway result in 2 weeks"
Ya it was a good game but as you said we really need to cop on defensively if we want to be taken seriously. You just can't concede 22 points and some of the scores we conceded were so easy. Management have 4 weeks to sort that out. Again goalkeeper is massive issue and we gave away a few points from bad kick outs plus we were lucky Galway hit the post from one of them. I just can't trust him. To slow and not accurate enough with kickouts. Diarmuid Murtagh looked great when he came on. Our forward movement is very good and thought our midfield fought hard all day. Plenty of positives and plenty of negatives from Sunday.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 05/04/2022 11:47:24    2409721

Replying To roscommon1944:  "Agree, 22 points is a lot to give up, think we conceded lot of scores in the 4 quarter, so maybe should have brought Doyle and Murtagh on sooner. Anyone know if Mullooly is gone for championship? see Kerry play cross field ball in on top of Clifford, such a game plan might suit someone like Glennon if we needed to mix it up"
Seemed to be very slow to put pressure on the kicker or maybe it's a communication thing and one lad thinks the other is going to close him down. They have a nice window now to work on it.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 05/04/2022 13:47:27    2409753

Give Sligo players such as Paddy O'Connor,Sean Carrabine,Pat Hughes and Niall Murphy time and space and they will cause serious damage. Not sure why you have chosen to single out one individual when Roscommons issue defensively is a collective one.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 05/04/2022 14:24:09    2409772

Replying To dave1988:  "Ya it was a good game but as you said we really need to cop on defensively if we want to be taken seriously. You just can't concede 22 points and some of the scores we conceded were so easy. Management have 4 weeks to sort that out. Again goalkeeper is massive issue and we gave away a few points from bad kick outs plus we were lucky Galway hit the post from one of them. I just can't trust him. To slow and not accurate enough with kickouts. Diarmuid Murtagh looked great when he came on. Our forward movement is very good and thought our midfield fought hard all day. Plenty of positives and plenty of negatives from Sunday."
I think Lavin has been excellent so far this season. Granted he still needs to work on kick outs but even they have improved a lot. Last year the kickouts were terrible but I don't think Lavin was fully to blame. I believe its what he was instructed to do. In fairness when we go long we seem to deal a lot better with the kickouts. Kick outs aside Lavin has been brilliant. I've lost count of the number of brilliant saves he's pulled off this year. He has a big physical presence which in itself is great as no doubt any forward bearing down on goal gets intimidated by him. He's far from the finished article but he's certainly improving all the time. Let's hope he can continue his good form for the games ahead.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 05/04/2022 14:55:55    2409785

Replying To ComainRos:  "I think Lavin has been excellent so far this season. Granted he still needs to work on kick outs but even they have improved a lot. Last year the kickouts were terrible but I don't think Lavin was fully to blame. I believe its what he was instructed to do. In fairness when we go long we seem to deal a lot better with the kickouts. Kick outs aside Lavin has been brilliant. I've lost count of the number of brilliant saves he's pulled off this year. He has a big physical presence which in itself is great as no doubt any forward bearing down on goal gets intimidated by him. He's far from the finished article but he's certainly improving all the time. Let's hope he can continue his good form for the games ahead."
Fully agree. Could not believe criticism of a keeper who conceded one goal in the entire league (a screamer v Galway which is goal of the year already). Our most improved player of the league imo.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 06/04/2022 09:26:34    2409883

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Fully agree. Could not believe criticism of a keeper who conceded one goal in the entire league (a screamer v Galway which is goal of the year already). Our most improved player of the league imo."
Goal of the year???? You must have missed Diarmuid's at the weekend.

Lavin is an excellent shot stopper i don't think anyone here would disagree with that. What lets his done on occasion is his kick outs when the pressure comes on. Although I believe they have improved in the last year. Firstly they can hang which gives opposition players time to break the ball and secondly he can be too slow and ponderous(Lack of options at times doesn't help him)
Still our best option at the moment but room to improve more.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 06/04/2022 09:44:23    2409888

I agree as well that he has improved from a few years ago but the wayward kick outs and delaying too long will be punished by the top teams. Just needs tweaking. A few times Niall Daly had made himself available on the wing on Sunday but he just didn't see him. I think AC had a few choice words for him but seemed to improve after that.

Does anyone know who's on the extended panel outside of the bench the other day?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 06/04/2022 09:59:00    2409894

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Fully agree. Could not believe criticism of a keeper who conceded one goal in the entire league (a screamer v Galway which is goal of the year already). Our most improved player of the league imo."
He's a big lad and a good shot stopper but kickouts are so important and if people think his kickouts are good enough then they are in for a shock in championship when teams are going to target him and that's a fact. The only thing that's saving him is we have a midfield that will compete with majority of teams right now. As I said look back at the first 20 mins against Galway. Conceded two points from bad kickouts and nearly conceded a goal and Galway weren't even pressing our kickouts

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 06/04/2022 11:25:54    2409927

Replying To dave1988:  "He's a big lad and a good shot stopper but kickouts are so important and if people think his kickouts are good enough then they are in for a shock in championship when teams are going to target him and that's a fact. The only thing that's saving him is we have a midfield that will compete with majority of teams right now. As I said look back at the first 20 mins against Galway. Conceded two points from bad kickouts and nearly conceded a goal and Galway weren't even pressing our kickouts"
That goal chance for Galway was as much about the poor defending as the kick out. The lack of structure to the Roscommon defence when a kick out is lost or turnover happens is a big issue that needs fixing before the championship

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 06/04/2022 13:18:25    2409960

Great win by the Rosie's on Sunday. Whole team performed well. Noted issues with goalkeeper, but I think that can be ironed out before the Championship.
Attended match , Bridget's v St Faithleachs. Solid display by St Bridget's. Was very impressed with the Faithleachs goal keeper Michael O Donnell. Impressive display, with two excellent penalty saves. The margin would have been greater only for him. I think he played under 20 for the Rossies.
Summerfan

Summerman (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 06/04/2022 19:20:35    2410031

Replying To Yondu:  "That goal chance for Galway was as much about the poor defending as the kick out. The lack of structure to the Roscommon defence when a kick out is lost or turnover happens is a big issue that needs fixing before the championship"
Who is Roscommon's defensive coach.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 06/04/2022 20:55:24    2410047

Markievicz Park 6:30pm throw in for our Connacht U20 semi final against Sligo next Wednesday. Last nights Mayo v Galway match totally ruined by the weather and not helped by staging the game on the most exposed venue in Connacht and weren't allowed to hold it indoors in the Dome.

The winners of our semi final are due a home final against Mayo (They will overcome Leitrim) and Connacht GAA are planning to host the final in their centre outdoors again, I'd hope our or the Sligo county board stand up and get that final in Markievicz Park or Hyde PArk as it should be.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 07/04/2022 15:12:04    2410160