Galway Hurling thread

Replying To sligo joe:  "Yes get over it and count your blessings. Galway back in the "Leinster" championship next year while Carlow a Leinster County who are doing all the right things are excluded."
All the right things except win games in "Leinster" this year. They are back down because they weren't good enough for the level required, simple.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1594 - 28/05/2024 12:35:20    2547893

Replying To Kinvara:  "Very disappointing. It actually felt like Galway had got a few players into their right positions for once until the red card which changed the game. Full credit to Dublin though, their running game through the middle was even more effective with 14 Galway men. MD has done a good job

Shefflins time is up. On to next year with a new manager"
If Henry's time is up, who could replace him? Anthony Daly, Eamon O'Shea, Davy Fitz, Darren Gleeson or will the county board go local with Johnny Kelly or Mathie Kenny. A period of reflection is probably required in order to get the right person.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 735 - 28/05/2024 13:51:23    2547910

Replying To ahsure.:  "All the right things except win games in "Leinster" this year. They are back down because they weren't good enough for the level required, simple."
Leinster Council who run the Leinster championship should prioritise the development of the game in Leinster counties whether or not that means marginalising non-Leinster counties, very simple.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 730 - 28/05/2024 13:57:16    2547915

Replying To sligo joe:  "Leinster Council who run the Leinster championship should prioritise the development of the game in Leinster counties whether or not that means marginalising non-Leinster counties, very simple."
Oh..so that possibly explains the refereeing we see year in year out at Leinster underage games.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 28/05/2024 14:14:39    2547919

Replying To GDL:  "If Henry's time is up, who could replace him? Anthony Daly, Eamon O'Shea, Davy Fitz, Darren Gleeson or will the county board go local with Johnny Kelly or Mathie Kenny. A period of reflection is probably required in order to get the right person."
Would Mattie Kenny even be bothered with it now? I have often questioned why he wasn't given the role years ago. They don't give it to a man of Mattie's caliber, yet complaint vociferously when an outsider is appointed; funny oul' county!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2003 - 28/05/2024 14:17:38    2547920

Replying To GDL:  "If Henry's time is up, who could replace him? Anthony Daly, Eamon O'Shea, Davy Fitz, Darren Gleeson or will the county board go local with Johnny Kelly or Mathie Kenny. A period of reflection is probably required in order to get the right person."
Get a Galway man and quit with these mercenary managers. Your biggest rivalry and All_Ireland's coming out their wing wang Kilkenny, will not have any outsider now or ever or ever before. Cork the same. Limerick the same now and we know how that is going. Clare have also learned the lesson.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2714 - 28/05/2024 15:03:34    2547933

Should give it to Kenneth Burke. He is the right age, has enough experience now, knows how to win, knows the county, lads would respect him. Cannot see why not. He wouldnt have a media circus around him coming in, would just do the job and rebuild. I would think he would be very similar to Michael Donohue in a lot of ways.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 433 - 28/05/2024 15:06:17    2547935

Get a Galway man and quit with these mercenary managers. Your biggest rivalry and All_Ireland's coming out their wing wang Kilkenny, will not have any outsider now or ever or ever before. Cork the same. Limerick the same now and we know how that is going. Clare have also learned the lesson.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2714 - 28/05/2024 15:16:15    2547944

Replying To sligo joe:  "Leinster Council who run the Leinster championship should prioritise the development of the game in Leinster counties whether or not that means marginalising non-Leinster counties, very simple."
Yeah that's very smart, develop the game in Leinster by removing the stronger teams that play against. That'll work. "Very simple" fact is Leinster need Galway as much as Galway need Leinster, it's a two way relationship.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1594 - 28/05/2024 15:18:37    2547946

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Oh..so that possibly explains the refereeing we see year in year out at Leinster underage games."
I know you are only new into Leinster but this post shows you really don't understand Leinster hurling. My kids are born and brought up in Wexford. If any of them were asked to referee a Galway team against Offaly, Dublin, or Kilkenny they would definitely favour Galway. They don't seem to have the same dislike for Carlow, Laois or Westmeath though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 28/05/2024 15:31:44    2547950

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Christy ring for a few years would do that group no harm!"
Mention of Christy Ring and suspect referees. reminds me of the infamous mauling Mickey Burke got at Rings hands/hurley in the all Ireland final of 1953. A Leinster ref then named O'Connol (or O'Connor).
Yes I am that old; Then the infamous Hopper McGrath sending off by the Wexford guy Deegan?
Its not sour grapes but can anyone on here point out an occasion when any Galway team or player got off with blue murder.
I agree we must start breeding a few more Silvie Linnanes or Brendan Lynskys who can dish it out as well as take.
Galway have always been too nice. What a shame to have to say that about amateur players.
Galliamh Abu

waterside4 (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 28/05/2024 15:56:43    2547960

Does the Galway supporters need to have a look at themselves?
It is interesting to read through the comments here where it looks like a blame game with either the County Board, Management or the Players which is fair to a point. The support our hurlers has recieved for the last 3 years has been really poor until they got to the semi final stage like last year. At that stage many jumped on the bandwagon.
Credit has to be given to the like of the Wexford supporters when things looked bleak like before the Galway game did they abondon the team? No they got behind their team. When the team needed support they came out in droves.
Last Sunday there was a poor Galway crowd with no atmosphere and no push from the supporters when the need was greatest.
Its just a point but are Galway supporters big day supporters only?

1shot (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 28/05/2024 15:57:56    2547961

Replying To waterside4:  "Mention of Christy Ring and suspect referees. reminds me of the infamous mauling Mickey Burke got at Rings hands/hurley in the all Ireland final of 1953. A Leinster ref then named O'Connol (or O'Connor).
Yes I am that old; Then the infamous Hopper McGrath sending off by the Wexford guy Deegan?
Its not sour grapes but can anyone on here point out an occasion when any Galway team or player got off with blue murder.
I agree we must start breeding a few more Silvie Linnanes or Brendan Lynskys who can dish it out as well as take.
Galway have always been too nice. What a shame to have to say that about amateur players.
Galliamh Abu"
Deegan was from Laois

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 28/05/2024 16:03:07    2547964

Replying To ahsure.:  "Yeah that's very smart, develop the game in Leinster by removing the stronger teams that play against. That'll work. "Very simple" fact is Leinster need Galway as much as Galway need Leinster, it's a two way relationship."
Maybe we need Galway but maybe not. It could be near time for a reassessment of what is best for the Leinster counties and the Leinster Council must not forget that fulfilling the wishes of the Leinster counties is their "raison d'etre" and not the welfare of Galway/Antrim hurling.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 730 - 28/05/2024 16:58:48    2547979

Replying To Viking66:  "Deegan was from Laois"
Denton he ment....never to be forgotten.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2315 - 28/05/2024 17:21:43    2547983

Replying To Viking66:  "I know you are only new into Leinster but this post shows you really don't understand Leinster hurling. My kids are born and brought up in Wexford. If any of them were asked to referee a Galway team against Offaly, Dublin, or Kilkenny they would definitely favour Galway. They don't seem to have the same dislike for Carlow, Laois or Westmeath though."
Déjà vu, so I won't repeat anymore of what we already aired weeks ago.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 28/05/2024 17:52:33    2547991

Replying To 1shot:  "Does the Galway supporters need to have a look at themselves?
It is interesting to read through the comments here where it looks like a blame game with either the County Board, Management or the Players which is fair to a point. The support our hurlers has recieved for the last 3 years has been really poor until they got to the semi final stage like last year. At that stage many jumped on the bandwagon.
Credit has to be given to the like of the Wexford supporters when things looked bleak like before the Galway game did they abondon the team? No they got behind their team. When the team needed support they came out in droves.
Last Sunday there was a poor Galway crowd with no atmosphere and no push from the supporters when the need was greatest.
Its just a point but are Galway supporters big day supporters only?"
Fair play to any supporter who 'jumps on a bandwagon' before you play Limerick!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 28/05/2024 18:14:41    2547994

Replying To sligo joe:  "Maybe we need Galway but maybe not. It could be near time for a reassessment of what is best for the Leinster counties and the Leinster Council must not forget that fulfilling the wishes of the Leinster counties is their "raison d'etre" and not the welfare of Galway/Antrim hurling."
If Galway left Leinster the current provincial system would be scrapped entirely. So, Leinster need Galway.
Congrats to Dublin, hope ye win it now. I support Galway, not Leinster.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1201 - 28/05/2024 18:54:02    2548002

I wouldn't be calling O Shea an outsider. He has lived and worked with galway hurling fir years at different levels be it with his club salthill and recently at County level.

Ge would be ideal for the job

thecut (Galway) - Posts: 334 - 28/05/2024 19:04:53    2548007

Replying To maroondiesel:  "If Galway left Leinster the current provincial system would be scrapped entirely. So, Leinster need Galway.
Congrats to Dublin, hope ye win it now. I support Galway, not Leinster."
So if Galway were relegated in Leinster the current provincial structure would be "scrapped entirely".
Maybe we'd have a preliminary Leinster final with the winners playing relegated Galway in the real final.
I don't know, reading all the whinging posts here from Galway fans about the game on Sunday maybe they'd be happier back playing with themselves in Connacht.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 730 - 28/05/2024 19:56:32    2548022