Anti GAA Agenda

RTÉ appears to be showing games live on Sundays. There will be uproar if any provincial finals are placed behind a pay wall. The result is round robin games on a Saturday being on GAAGO. There seems to be an unrealistic expectation by some to have free access to all games.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 07/05/2023 12:25:07    2476329

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Only in the 6, Tom, do you have a king. Ireland has 32 counties, but Ireland is 26 counties. The other 6 are part of the United Kingdom. It's quite easy to understand actually. Of course, things could change…

…. Perhaps, Armagh might even win a second AI. The one looks very bare alone, compared to those numerous ones of Down, Cavan, Tyrone, and even Donegal's two. And perhaps Armagh might also even produce a decent rugby player to play for Ireland. Perhaps!

One never knows, does one?"
"Ireland has 32 counties, but Ireland is 26 counties"was there drink taken. By the way did you ever hear of Rory Best?

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 07/05/2023 12:32:25    2476335

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "GAAGO is part of RTÉ which makes the whole paywall thing and not showing games like the Tipp/Cork one look pretty cynical.

If they claim to be a national broadcaster then they do have an obligation to cover things that are of mass public interest. Like the Munster hurling championship, not minority sports attended by derisory amounts of people.

As Tom Dempsey of Wexford pointed out, if they could show every match in the soccer world cup, then they ought to be able to show our own games."
I agree that the Cork v Tipp match should have been on Rte free to air. Who's decision though was it to have that match behind a paywall costing €12 for a single view.I thought that would be the gaa's decision rather than rte's but maybe not. Who gets the money people paid gaago last night to watch Cork v Tipp.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 07/05/2023 12:59:34    2476346

Apart from the gaa I barely ever watch the rté.
I don't think it presents current events in a professional balanced manner, and I don't enjoy anything it has to offer in terms of TV programming, movies etc.
But
Unless I'm mistaken the gaa signed up to the sky deal in a bit of an underhand way. I think it took everyone by surprise, including the rté chiefs, and was run through very quickly at the last minute.
RTÉ and virgin media (who were phased out altogether) have probably not forgotten this, so maybe they're not willing to go too far into a professional relationship with the gaa this time round.
The fact the sky experiment failed doesn't help.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 07/05/2023 13:14:25    2476351

Replying To endgame:  "I agree that the Cork v Tipp match should have been on Rte free to air. Who's decision though was it to have that match behind a paywall costing €12 for a single view.I thought that would be the gaa's decision rather than rte's but maybe not. Who gets the money people paid gaago last night to watch Cork v Tipp."
Well obviously it is a joint arrangement. Would indeed be interesting to see how the dividends are divided.

GAA Congress is becoming a bit like party Ard Fheisanna. The members are given the impression for two days every year that they are the ones making the decisions.

Formally, they are, but it is CP that makes all these calls without any consultation. We have replaced activists with accountants it seems at the top.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 07/05/2023 14:45:11    2476376

There are going to be a hell of a lot of football on all channels for rest of year so I just don't see where Croke park or gas are going showing so much hurling behind pay walls,I can't see why a hurling match can't be shown by RTÉ or another free to air channel on a Saturday,Waterford/Clare on Gaa go next Saturday night,3rd Clare game to be shown on Gaa go..do any representatives of clubs get a chance to talk on any of this stuff anymore..then as I heard cork under 20 hurling manager say,the people in croke park don't listen to ordinary Gaa supporters anymore..what a shame..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 07/05/2023 15:04:26    2476384

Replying To legendzxix:  "RTÉ appears to be showing games live on Sundays. There will be uproar if any provincial finals are placed behind a pay wall. The result is round robin games on a Saturday being on GAAGO. There seems to be an unrealistic expectation by some to have free access to all games."
What's unrealistic about it? We all pay out television licenses. Must we be fleeced to pander to the greed of the GAA? Those are not professional games.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 07/05/2023 15:07:06    2476385

Replying To endgame:  "I agree that the Cork v Tipp match should have been on Rte free to air. Who's decision though was it to have that match behind a paywall costing €12 for a single view.I thought that would be the gaa's decision rather than rte's but maybe not. Who gets the money people paid gaago last night to watch Cork v Tipp."
Hope the dodgy sticks have the last laugh, won't be long till most GAA supporters cop on and get a stick.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 07/05/2023 15:16:16    2476390

Replying To Midleton:  "What's unrealistic about it? We all pay out television licenses. Must we be fleeced to pander to the greed of the GAA? Those are not professional games."
A TV licence is not a GAA licence.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 07/05/2023 15:22:34    2476393

Replying To legendzxix:  "A TV licence is not a GAA licence."
It's a license for women's rugby that a couple of thousand people play, if that, and no one pays in to see!

Not to mention RTÉ's other bias on other matters. Too many people in Montrose think they are there to "educate" the peasants. Mostly with utter gutter rubbish, as it happens.

I no longer contribute so really ought not be lecturing them :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 07/05/2023 15:53:22    2476417

Replying To legendzxix:  "RTÉ appears to be showing games live on Sundays. There will be uproar if any provincial finals are placed behind a pay wall. The result is round robin games on a Saturday being on GAAGO. There seems to be an unrealistic expectation by some to have free access to all games."
It isn't free if there's a legal requirement to pay €160 for the licence.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 07/05/2023 15:54:59    2476421

I agree that Croke park Hq is a bit out of touch. Since Covid especially. They seem to think they are an elite, untouchable, who are here to educate the locals on business practices.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 07/05/2023 19:59:15    2476517

I also think it is not easy for GAA to have to compete with 2 massive international worldwide sports- Football and Rugby.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 07/05/2023 20:00:15    2476520

Galwayford,all 4 quarter finals of urc comp were shown on free to air as well as a league of Ireland game..surely the Gaa should be trying to compete with these for live coverage..it's a real pity that hurling coverage seems to be suffering..the 2 football today wouldn't inspire many to watch,apart from Louth supporters next week will many watch Leinster final??ive said already Clare behind paywall for 3rd game next weekend..it's a pity it's happening but I've a feeling it's going to happen a lot more..2 weeks time lim/tipp and Clare/cork are on same weekend as galwaytyrone and Kerry/Mayo in football..we will have 10/12 matches all competing for supporters..also what's story with the Saturday game highlights,thought RTÉ put this forward as really happening but it seems not every weekend..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 07/05/2023 21:16:11    2476543

Donal Óg preaching the truth.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 07/05/2023 22:33:22    2476561

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Galwayford,all 4 quarter finals of urc comp were shown on free to air as well as a league of Ireland game..surely the Gaa should be trying to compete with these for live coverage..it's a real pity that hurling coverage seems to be suffering..the 2 football today wouldn't inspire many to watch,apart from Louth supporters next week will many watch Leinster final??ive said already Clare behind paywall for 3rd game next weekend..it's a pity it's happening but I've a feeling it's going to happen a lot more..2 weeks time lim/tipp and Clare/cork are on same weekend as galwaytyrone and Kerry/Mayo in football..we will have 10/12 matches all competing for supporters..also what's story with the Saturday game highlights,thought RTÉ put this forward as really happening but it seems not every weekend.."
Jacqui Hurley promoting rugby on a hurling programme

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 07/05/2023 22:38:52    2476563

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Donal Óg preaching the truth."
What did he say

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 07/05/2023 23:01:05    2476566

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Donal Óg preaching the truth."
Delighted that Donal Og and Jackie Tyrell spoke out tonight.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/05/2023 23:01:17    2476567

Donal Óg preaching the truth.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 07/05/2023 23:01:22    2476568

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Galwayford,all 4 quarter finals of urc comp were shown on free to air as well as a league of Ireland game..surely the Gaa should be trying to compete with these for live coverage..it's a real pity that hurling coverage seems to be suffering..the 2 football today wouldn't inspire many to watch,apart from Louth supporters next week will many watch Leinster final??ive said already Clare behind paywall for 3rd game next weekend..it's a pity it's happening but I've a feeling it's going to happen a lot more..2 weeks time lim/tipp and Clare/cork are on same weekend as galwaytyrone and Kerry/Mayo in football..we will have 10/12 matches all competing for supporters..also what's story with the Saturday game highlights,thought RTÉ put this forward as really happening but it seems not every weekend.."
As a royalist I think its great to see the former British colonies all joined together for this interesting united rugby colonies competition. By George its great to see them fighting it out.

Of course it should be shown on TV along with King Charles and Queen Kamila!!

Great to see your Bank of Ireland(and by extension the state cause let's face it,your state bailed it out) sponsoring your best teams. Jolly good!!

I hear both RTE and Newstalk had the same Leinster rugby game playing on the radio. Fantastic to see that level of interest.

Only messing!!

On a serious note, I think there is room for everything and RTE should do like the BBC and have the red button. Have a spend for rugby and soccer but don't show stuff that nobody cares about then don't show games people want to see. Show LGFA games if you show Irish ladies rugby for example. There used to be basketball on TV years ago. Athletics, cycling, rallies.

Speaking of RTE, There are too many Dublin panelist on the Sunday game. Noelle Healy, great. Ciaran Wheelan, grand. Paul Flynn, Are you having a laugh? That team who gave interviews to RTE that boardered on insulting. He might be grand but 2 Dublin pundits is enough lads. Durin football slot he mentioned about scrapping provincial championships last week. Unless you're from Ulster or Connaught, you should voice your opinions like a man during the abortion referendum. Sit down, keep stum or maybe talk about something else... like about ballanced funding for gaa coaches in all Leinster counties.

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 07/05/2023 23:39:00    2476578