Anti GAA Agenda

Replying To Saynothing:  "By your going all fouls are a form of cheating. Biggest cheats are the free takers who steal yards when taking frees. Now that's cheating."
On that, take the frees off the ground. Sort out the men from the boys.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 08/05/2023 01:52:21    2476585

Replying To Galway9801:  "I'd hope they wouldn't. Cheating is wrong."
Except when it involves playing an extra man on the goal line defending the last free in. That's OK, of course.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 08/05/2023 01:58:45    2476586

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Donal Óg preaching the truth."
Fair play to him, he was 100% right.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 08/05/2023 07:00:14    2476590

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "GAAGO is part of RTÉ which makes the whole paywall thing and not showing games like the Tipp/Cork one look pretty cynical.

If they claim to be a national broadcaster then they do have an obligation to cover things that are of mass public interest. Like the Munster hurling championship, not minority sports attended by derisory amounts of people.

As Tom Dempsey of Wexford pointed out, if they could show every match in the soccer world cup, then they ought to be able to show our own games."
GAA GO is owned by both RTE and the GAA, they are the shareholders.

It is a cynical move, completely cynical pushed as much by the GAA as it is RTE, dont forget its the GAA decision to go down this route not RTE.

When your esteemed president comes out with quotes such as this "It's a pay model but we learned over Covid that people are quite willing to pay and the resistance to paying and having stuff behind a paywall diminished significantly" you know exactly what their intention is!

In other words we seen in Covid (completely different times by the way) that we could find a different way to fleece people so said lets give that a go!

In my own opinion the decision thats been made in regards to how our games are being covered (chiefly pushed by our own organisation leaders btw) is one that should actually be investigated.

A nice little side deal to exclude other interested parties so as to fleece the general public colluded by 2 of the biggest organisations in the state is essentially what it is, dont forget SKY wanted to show more games than they were showing but now we face less.

No point in shouting about anti GAA agendas when our own organisation are the very ones inhibiting the growth, broadcast and promotion of the games themselves.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 08/05/2023 09:06:15    2476607

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Galwayford,all 4 quarter finals of urc comp were shown on free to air as well as a league of Ireland game..surely the Gaa should be trying to compete with these for live coverage..it's a real pity that hurling coverage seems to be suffering..the 2 football today wouldn't inspire many to watch,apart from Louth supporters next week will many watch Leinster final??ive said already Clare behind paywall for 3rd game next weekend..it's a pity it's happening but I've a feeling it's going to happen a lot more..2 weeks time lim/tipp and Clare/cork are on same weekend as galwaytyrone and Kerry/Mayo in football..we will have 10/12 matches all competing for supporters..also what's story with the Saturday game highlights,thought RTÉ put this forward as really happening but it seems not every weekend.."
It might come as a surprise to you but not everyone is interested in hurling. No matter how much "hurling people" keep trying to ram it down people's throats.

Explain to us how games like Galway and Westmeath inspire people to watch hurling?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 08/05/2023 09:22:25    2476609

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Donal Óg preaching the truth."
Slightly undermined by then spending only about 30 seconds discussing the Dublin/Wexford game before moving swiftly on, gotta make sure there's enough time to have a rant and discuss the real hurling counties.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/05/2023 10:24:39    2476638

Replying To oneoff:  "It might come as a surprise to you but not everyone is interested in hurling. No matter how much "hurling people" keep trying to ram it down people's throats.

Explain to us how games like Galway and Westmeath inspire people to watch hurling?"
Well Galway vs Westmeath wasnt on any any tv channel,RTE or GAA Go , (and rightly so) so think you picked a bad example there!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 08/05/2023 10:25:50    2476639

Replying To tearintom:  "GAA GO is owned by both RTE and the GAA, they are the shareholders.

It is a cynical move, completely cynical pushed as much by the GAA as it is RTE, dont forget its the GAA decision to go down this route not RTE.

When your esteemed president comes out with quotes such as this "It's a pay model but we learned over Covid that people are quite willing to pay and the resistance to paying and having stuff behind a paywall diminished significantly" you know exactly what their intention is!

In other words we seen in Covid (completely different times by the way) that we could find a different way to fleece people so said lets give that a go!

In my own opinion the decision thats been made in regards to how our games are being covered (chiefly pushed by our own organisation leaders btw) is one that should actually be investigated.

A nice little side deal to exclude other interested parties so as to fleece the general public colluded by 2 of the biggest organisations in the state is essentially what it is, dont forget SKY wanted to show more games than they were showing but now we face less.

No point in shouting about anti GAA agendas when our own organisation are the very ones inhibiting the growth, broadcast and promotion of the games themselves."
This is a great post.

GAAGO worked in Covid times as people were forced to stay at home, were lonely and being able to see games was great for the mental health.

GAAGO works for those living abroad because it allows them to connect with home.

Where GAAGO does not work is when the best games are forced into the app, costing money and they could potentially be shown on free to air. I think the GAA have completely misread the public mood and have moved away from being a community based organisation to being a business.

Put the best hurling & football games on RTE free to air each week. Put other games on GAAGO. Make games a fiver, not 12 euro and then you might get the buy in needed to make this work.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/05/2023 10:32:19    2476643

Replying To oneoff:  "It might come as a surprise to you but not everyone is interested in hurling. No matter how much "hurling people" keep trying to ram it down people's throats.

Explain to us how games like Galway and Westmeath inspire people to watch hurling?"
There's no issue with Galway Westmeath not being on live TV. The games that thousands of TV viewers missed in recent weeks were Clare/Tipp, Clare/Limerick and Tipp/Cork. Armchair viewers would have been all over those on free to air TV, but I'd be surprised if significant numbers will pay a subscription to see them. I intend to catch up with these side's seasons next time they appear back on free to air TV.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 08/05/2023 10:49:34    2476647

Replying To slayer:  "This is a great post.

GAAGO worked in Covid times as people were forced to stay at home, were lonely and being able to see games was great for the mental health.

GAAGO works for those living abroad because it allows them to connect with home.

Where GAAGO does not work is when the best games are forced into the app, costing money and they could potentially be shown on free to air. I think the GAA have completely misread the public mood and have moved away from being a community based organisation to being a business.

Put the best hurling & football games on RTE free to air each week. Put other games on GAAGO. Make games a fiver, not 12 euro and then you might get the buy in needed to make this work."
That's why the best games are on the app. Who would pay for GAAGO if they put poor games on it and had the bigger games on RTE television? €160 per annum is not free to air either. That's the harsh reality of it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 08/05/2023 11:02:34    2476655

Replying To slayer:  "This is a great post.

Put the best hurling & football games on RTE free to air each week. Put other games on GAAGO. Make games a fiver, not 12 euro and then you might get the buy in needed to make this work."
I disagree not only every game can be on free to air.

Am I imagining that we had gal v kk and cork Waterford back to back Sunday on RTÉ

Just so happens the games on gaa go on Munster hurling have been crackers and ones on RTÉ not as good.

I see people saying there's less gaa on RTÉ now which is nonsense

I would love the games on virgin RTÉ or other free to air

But find winging re sky to now gaa go tiresome

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 08/05/2023 11:04:38    2476658

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's why the best games are on the app. Who would pay for GAAGO if they put poor games on it and had the bigger games on RTE television? €160 per annum is not free to air either. That's the harsh reality of it."
I agree with you about the license fee GreenandRed. That is not free to air.

Limerick v Clare was the bigger game the weekend before last. In my opinion that should have been free to air. Cork v Tipp was a bigger game this weekend gone by. Why not show both on RTE?

Someone made a point on one of these threads about dodgy boxes. I don't have one & don't like the idea of them. But I do think more of them will be sold as you can get GAAGO on them.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/05/2023 11:10:30    2476661

Replying To jm25:  "I disagree not only every game can be on free to air.

Am I imagining that we had gal v kk and cork Waterford back to back Sunday on RTÉ

Just so happens the games on gaa go on Munster hurling have been crackers and ones on RTÉ not as good.

I see people saying there's less gaa on RTÉ now which is nonsense

I would love the games on virgin RTÉ or other free to air

But find winging re sky to now gaa go tiresome"
Is it whinging or discussing something that a lot of GAA folk are discussing?

Points taken jm25, there were two good games on RTE last Sunday week.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/05/2023 11:12:04    2476663

Replying To MesAmis:  "Slightly undermined by then spending only about 30 seconds discussing the Dublin/Wexford game before moving swiftly on, gotta make sure there's enough time to have a rant and discuss the real hurling counties."
Good point. They might have spend a minute or tow talking about where the weekend's results leave the play off positions. Which a lot of people are interested in, or they wouldn't be watching in the first place!

Mind you, they didn't discuss that about Munster either.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 08/05/2023 11:34:40    2476671

And what about the areas where there is poor Internet reception? I am a subscriber and I missed most of the Kilkenny Antrim game

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 08/05/2023 11:42:11    2476674

By the same token, can you explain to the greater audience here how the Kerry v Clare Munster final or the Galway v Sligo Connaught final would inspire people to watch gaelic football.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 08/05/2023 11:46:46    2476676

Replying To slayer:  "Is it whinging or discussing something that a lot of GAA folk are discussing?

Points taken jm25, there were two good games on RTE last Sunday week."
My main issue with coverage is the Saturday game we were promised has disappeared

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 08/05/2023 12:05:47    2476686

The Gaa or croke park suits are very quite on this matter..I'd love to know how the match choices are picked.I haven't heard a word from president mc Carthy or the future president..I can't figure why RTÉ can't show a Gaa match on a Saturday,it doesn't have to be on the same time as Gaa go..I don't often agree with donal og but thought he was exceient last night..of course I won't be surprised if that was his last appearance on Sunday game..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 08/05/2023 12:08:25    2476688

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Except when it involves playing an extra man on the goal line defending the last free in. That's OK, of course."
I was actually in favour of a replay.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 08/05/2023 12:12:59    2476691

Replying To OhReally:  "As a royalist I think its great to see the former British colonies all joined together for this interesting united rugby colonies competition. By George its great to see them fighting it out.

Of course it should be shown on TV along with King Charles and Queen Kamila!!

Great to see your Bank of Ireland(and by extension the state cause let's face it,your state bailed it out) sponsoring your best teams. Jolly good!!

I hear both RTE and Newstalk had the same Leinster rugby game playing on the radio. Fantastic to see that level of interest.

Only messing!!

On a serious note, I think there is room for everything and RTE should do like the BBC and have the red button. Have a spend for rugby and soccer but don't show stuff that nobody cares about then don't show games people want to see. Show LGFA games if you show Irish ladies rugby for example. There used to be basketball on TV years ago. Athletics, cycling, rallies.

Speaking of RTE, There are too many Dublin panelist on the Sunday game. Noelle Healy, great. Ciaran Wheelan, grand. Paul Flynn, Are you having a laugh? That team who gave interviews to RTE that boardered on insulting. He might be grand but 2 Dublin pundits is enough lads. Durin football slot he mentioned about scrapping provincial championships last week. Unless you're from Ulster or Connaught, you should voice your opinions like a man during the abortion referendum. Sit down, keep stum or maybe talk about something else... like about ballanced funding for gaa coaches in all Leinster counties."
BBC makes far more money than RTE and has enough output to need a red button option.
RTE does not and doesnt have the money to include that
What soccer and rugby games/content is shown that nobody cares about and that RTE are not obligated to show as part of contracts they sign to show competitions they want to show
RTE cant show LGFA games because TG4 have the contract to show LGFA games and TG4 are also a major sponsor of LGFA so RTE wont do that
There still is irish basketball shown on tv. the finals.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 08/05/2023 13:00:03    2476708