Mattie McGleenan steps down

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Sadly if what the celt say's is true Cavan may as well sell the facilities for we will go no place fast. Sadly all that comes across to me from reading the it is that it's a rotten clique running the show and the chairman must think we are all gullible. A combination of the people mentioned will never work for all have their own agenda and aspirations."
I'm so annoyed about what is happening. Absolutely no ambition being shown by the County Board. As you said Mr Chairman must think we have all came down in the last shower. ''There is a buzz around with the county about having a Cavan man involved again'' Did you ever hear such nonsense. Unwilling to break the bank and get a top class man in. Things are never going to change in this county it seems.
We haven't had a good manager since Martin McHugh in 1997 or anything near one.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 02/08/2018 11:10:34    2128431

Have it on good authority that Jason is going to get the job.

Not as a joint manager but the outright and allowed pick his own trainer and backroom team.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 02/08/2018 11:25:53    2128435

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Have it on good authority that Jason is going to get the job.

Not as a joint manager but the outright and allowed pick his own trainer and backroom team."
I believe Peter Reilly pulled out of the race in the last day or two. Jason is the only candidate left considering they are not willing to appoint an outside man. Lunacy

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 02/08/2018 11:59:43    2128448

The funny thing is that nobody on here actually knows who is in for the job and who is not. The celt is gospel by what im reading here. You do realise that everybody who is interested does not go running to the celt to tell them there going for the job.

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 02/08/2018 12:32:11    2128454

There will be Cavan men in charge of Cavan, Longford and Leitrim...

theham (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 02/08/2018 13:08:36    2128464

Replying To theDagger1986:  "I'm so annoyed about what is happening. Absolutely no ambition being shown by the County Board. As you said Mr Chairman must think we have all came down in the last shower. ''There is a buzz around with the county about having a Cavan man involved again'' Did you ever hear such nonsense. Unwilling to break the bank and get a top class man in. Things are never going to change in this county it seems.
We haven't had a good manager since Martin McHugh in 1997 or anything near one."
Mr. Chariman - Spend / Spend Spend and God will send ???

Folks - does everyone forget the last time when we as a country went on a spending spree and did'nt give a damm about the consequences. Kildare did that - big name Manger etc. and had to go cap in hand to Croke Park to pay the bills and look where that manager brought them - ended up coming back to basics (a kildare man). If we go for a big name then fair enough - but the bill must be paid by someone. Are we all going to pay an extra 5 euro admission on the turnstiles? think that would start another debate.

Ambition is fair enough but ambition without effort is nonsense. Effort will need to come from players and supporters -

Supporter effort might be financial and realism - and are we prepared do what is required..?

TeamAdmin (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 02/08/2018 13:22:41    2128471

Jayo as number 1 with an experienced, respected number 2 like Keoghan mightn't be a bad combination.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 02/08/2018 13:53:54    2128483

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Jayo as number 1 with an experienced, respected number 2 like Keoghan mightn't be a bad combination."
If Jayo gets the job let him pick his backroom team himself.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 02/08/2018 15:02:36    2128513

Replying To TeamAdmin:  "Mr. Chariman - Spend / Spend Spend and God will send ???

Folks - does everyone forget the last time when we as a country went on a spending spree and did'nt give a damm about the consequences. Kildare did that - big name Manger etc. and had to go cap in hand to Croke Park to pay the bills and look where that manager brought them - ended up coming back to basics (a kildare man). If we go for a big name then fair enough - but the bill must be paid by someone. Are we all going to pay an extra 5 euro admission on the turnstiles? think that would start another debate.

Ambition is fair enough but ambition without effort is nonsense. Effort will need to come from players and supporters -

Supporter effort might be financial and realism - and are we prepared do what is required..?"
Team admin . Number 1 Kildare had many a good day out in Croke Park and if you remember were very unlucky to lose to Donegal in the latter stages. I'd take that any day.
There nobody within the county fit to manage our senior county team. Nobody.
Your talking about managers who have won local championships here and there . Nothing major.
There managers like that in every county but they ain't managing the Senior inter county team.
The sponshershipand fundraising that the sponsees and the supporters raise should be quiet sufficient to bear the costs supporting a Manager who would know what he's at. Something we haven't had since Martin McHugh.
The players are there , some need to be enticed back , others need to be convinced , and no Cavan man is powerful or respected enough to be able to do that.
Spend the money, put another 5 euros on the gate if it keeps you happy.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/08/2018 16:04:33    2128532

Very underwhelmed at this potential appointment.

I think it makes absolute sense to have someone like Jason, an up and coming manager at club level involved with Cavan in some capacity, but not as manager. I felt we needed a big name to entice back the players who won't commit, to capture their interest and show them that after winning 4 U21 titles for Cavan, they have an administration behind them that wants to push on to the next level.

I don't think this appointment (if it happens) fulfils that requirement. I think a bigger name with Jason as his assistant would have made more sense. I recall Tipp hurlers had a system like that a few years ago. It worked for them.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/08/2018 16:15:28    2128537

Replying To theham:  "There will be Cavan men in charge of Cavan, Longford and Leitrim..."
I think you are right but I would rather the Cavan man would not be Jason as I feel it's too early for him. Also Jason is too nice and he will be one of the boy's this combination will not work. Okay at club level but not at inter county level.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/08/2018 16:39:25    2128540

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Team admin . Number 1 Kildare had many a good day out in Croke Park and if you remember were very unlucky to lose to Donegal in the latter stages. I'd take that any day.
There nobody within the county fit to manage our senior county team. Nobody.
Your talking about managers who have won local championships here and there . Nothing major.
There managers like that in every county but they ain't managing the Senior inter county team.
The sponshershipand fundraising that the sponsees and the supporters raise should be quiet sufficient to bear the costs supporting a Manager who would know what he's at. Something we haven't had since Martin McHugh.
The players are there , some need to be enticed back , others need to be convinced , and no Cavan man is powerful or respected enough to be able to do that.
Spend the money, put another 5 euros on the gate if it keeps you happy."
I fully agree, we need to spend money get a big name in and get the players back playing, no point in having brilliant facilities if we haven't a team that can compete to the level we know they can. Think about the money that will be brought in to a successful team, spend to accumulate.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 02/08/2018 16:51:30    2128541

The "inside men"mentioned on here and in Celt are talented passionate Cavan men who would Cavan their all. That is not enough to make managers of them.
We need a manager with good leadership skills, who has a vision for Cavan football and who can create a plan to fulfil that vision. He needs to be able to recognise the skills needed in a backroom team, a good coach , a good S/ C man, good stats man, good readers of players who can assess a game recognise changes that need to be made and give the right advice. He needs a man who can recognise players who can play football (not runners or basketball players!!) this is football.
Such a man would have good people skills would treat all players with respect, none of this favouritism rubbish.
Any Cavan player would not have to be asked twice to commit to the vision and energy of such a manager. It's not that difficult, there may be such a person in the county, think outside the box a bit and we can find him . We may have to look outside the county but if we do look outside that is the kind of operator we need, that is what Dublin has.
There is no point in going to the market to buy a race horse and come home with a Zebra just because it's a kind of a horse!
County Board you have to get this right.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 02/08/2018 18:26:18    2128563

Answers on a post card

- what intercounty experience did Mickey Harte have before being appointed Tyrone manager.
- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same Kevin Walsh (won nothing with sligo)
- same malachy o Rourke

Obsessed with outside men where there is very scant data to show it's worth the spend.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 02/08/2018 19:00:54    2128575

Replying To fredflint:  "Answers on a post card

- what intercounty experience did Mickey Harte have before being appointed Tyrone manager.
- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same malachy o Rourke

Obsessed with outside men where there is very scant data to show it's worth the spend."
Mickey Harte won 3 Ulster Minor titles and an All Ireland Minor title .
2 Ulster U21 titles and 2 All Ireland U21 titles

Now Fredflint I think that's fair going and he was entitled to the Senior job after bringing players through all grades.
Something nobody in Cavan managed.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/08/2018 20:38:43    2128597

- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same malachy o Rourke

Obsessed with outside men where there is very scant data to show it's worth the spend."
Fredflint . Fitzmaurice was a selector with Kerry in 2009 when they won the league and All Ireland . He also won 2 hogan Cups as manager
Add the 5 All Ireland's he has as a player to the 9 Munster championship medals so I'd say he was quite entitled to the Kerry managers job.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/08/2018 20:44:25    2128599

- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same malachy o Rourke

Fredflint Jim Galvin won 2 U21 Leicester titles and an All Ireland U21 title before he became Senior Manager . Add that to the All Ireland and National league medal he won as a player.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/08/2018 20:48:03    2128600

Answers on a post card

- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same malachy o Rourke

Obsessed with outside men where there is very scant data to show it's worth the spend.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1041 - 02/08/2018 19:00:54

Its not worth the spend and it doesn't matter who is in charge the players are not there to get to where some think we should be.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 844 - 02/08/2018 20:57:02    2128602

- same Fitzmaurice
- same jim Gavin
- same malachy o Rourke

Fredflint . Kevin walsh won 2 All Ireland's as a play . Was a selector with Connacht , won a junior All Ireland with Sligo as manager.
Since he went to Galway he's won 2 Connacht titles. And it didn't take him 5 years either.

Malachy o Rourke won championships at club level. Took Fermanagh to an Ulster final Replay against Armagh.
Managed Monaghan to Ulster titles and it didn't take him 5 years either.

Sorry but the post card wasn't big enough.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/08/2018 20:57:33    2128603

Replying To aceofspades:  "Well said cavanblueman, there needs to be a bridge from U17 level to senior/junior football to keep lads interested and playing. It's too young at 18 to have no football to play other than maybe a game or two in an U20 championship. Why not have an U20 league & championship like we have currently at U17.It would be up to the Co Board (not the minor board) to put these structures in place .If we have lads dropping out after U17 there's always the chance we could miss out on the next Conor McManus/Brian Fenton players who weren't selected for their counties at minor level but are now in the top bracket of footballers in the country, indeed in Fenton's case he only broke into the Dublin U21 team in his last year at U21."
A person told me today only one former County player is on the selection committee I find that very strange? the rest are on the CB that never played senior football for the county.
One would have thought that the chairman would have selected five neutrals or former players to chat with potential managers and then they could discuss it. But as it stands it would seem because there is only one former county player that it must be 98% sure a local person has all ready got it like Jason or a very large outside chance Banty.

cavanexile11 (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 02/08/2018 20:58:30    2128604