Mattie McGleenan steps down

Mattie is gone now who will replace him

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2018 23:25:55    2120850

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Mattie is gone now who will replace him"
I think it will be someone from within the county. Maybe Peter Reilly if he's able to commit.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/07/2018 05:13:58    2120866

Mattie gone, the best move for both parties realistically. He can walk away with his reputation relatively intact and can point to promotion this year on his CV. Genuine highlights from his tenure were few and far between but if pushed I'd suggest the following: 1) The gutsy win in Castlebar in last year's league. 2) The thrill of Conor Madden's late winner versus Tipp to seal promotion this year, blessed as we were with refereeing decisions. 3) Victory over Tyrone in his first game. It was only McKenna Cup but any form of a win over Tyrone was way overdue. Sadly, there wasn't a whiff of a highlight in championship, where it matters most.

So what now? No one should waste their time suggesting Horan, Mcguinness, Rochford or Gilroy. There is zero prospect of these guys becoming Cavan manager. Other suggestions like Tony McEntee, James Mccartan, Pete McGrath would appear more realistic. That's not to say they'd be good appointments. In an ideal world, a Cavan man would be Cavan manager. in this regard, Jason Reilly has to be the standout candidate. And, at the risk of starting WW3, I suggest that we could probably do worse than consider Mcgleenan's predecessor. The man did a good job and has nothing but love for Cavan football. He wouldn't be my priority but he'd be preferable to another awkward fit from outside like Mcgleenan.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 12/07/2018 07:08:09    2120869

I think this was the right decision . This is a big chance for us to kick on if we get the appointment right .. the only man internally I think would do a job is Jason Reilly. . I do think we should try push for a big name to rejuvenate the whole thing. . Oisin mconville would be a great shout ..

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 12/07/2018 08:08:38    2120875

Jim McGuinness is back in the country and available.

declando (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 12/07/2018 08:20:17    2120877

Here we go again..it comes around again all too soon.

I'm not sure the players are there for a manager but I suppose if all capable players were available we might have options

My problem is that the current group of players have a lot of miles on the clock already and they are in their mid twenties. Our game over the last 5-6 years has been very hard physically with players doing more work than the ball. That's tiring both physically and mentally. I suspect that's the attitude of a lot of the players who don't commit.

As regards a manager I couldn't care less, as I'm more interested in the approach. Some say we don't play as a team and I think that we do and that's our problem. We are so regimented that it's the system at all costs. Individuality needs to come back into our team and not to be afraid of it. We have to encourage players to take the game on at pace.. we all know the old saying about quick ball.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 12/07/2018 09:01:37    2120880

It will be a brave manager that will touch that job....guaranteed to oversee relegation in their first season

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 12/07/2018 09:12:00    2120881

Firstly, I want to thank Mattie for the work he did. Things didn't work out in the end, but his commitment should be acknowledged.

Secondly, I'm glad we have a vacancy, because we were on a serious backwards spiral this past 12 months.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 12/07/2018 09:59:07    2120897

I see a lot of talk on here about Jason Reilly .. would that not be a step backwards? Like he won a county title .. with the best team... he has no experience ..

Mattie had little co experience so perhaps best go for a proven inter county manager. Tony McEntee too has no experience managing at county level.

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 12/07/2018 10:00:35    2120898

Sadly there not a Man within the county capable or experienced enough to do the job.
Yes there are a few who would make great number 2s like Jason and Mickey Graham.
My top 4 picks of what's available would be McCartan, McGrath Horan or Mickey Moran. With a 2 strong cavanmen as selectors.
Was very surprised in a recent conversation with one of the above how well he knew Cavan club football.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/07/2018 10:43:14    2120915

Jason Reilly probably hasn't proven himself enough yet, with the Gaels he is doing a good job, but with the best panel in the county. Peter Reilly didn't exactly set up the u21's in a very positive fashion when he was there. Micky Graham has probably the best body of work done of the three of them, with a number of different clubs, but it might be hard for him to drop SJ.

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 12/07/2018 10:43:41    2120916

Can see Cavan ending up with someone like Paul Curran. He won a county title with us at club level and done well with Ballymun before that but one the most overrated managers i ever came across and i would stay well clear

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 12/07/2018 10:52:52    2120919

Replying To declando:  "Jim McGuinness is back in the country and available."
McGunness had the players, don't think we have them.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 12/07/2018 11:13:31    2120925

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Mattie gone, the best move for both parties realistically. He can walk away with his reputation relatively intact and can point to promotion this year on his CV. Genuine highlights from his tenure were few and far between but if pushed I'd suggest the following: 1) The gutsy win in Castlebar in last year's league. 2) The thrill of Conor Madden's late winner versus Tipp to seal promotion this year, blessed as we were with refereeing decisions. 3) Victory over Tyrone in his first game. It was only McKenna Cup but any form of a win over Tyrone was way overdue. Sadly, there wasn't a whiff of a highlight in championship, where it matters most.

So what now? No one should waste their time suggesting Horan, Mcguinness, Rochford or Gilroy. There is zero prospect of these guys becoming Cavan manager. Other suggestions like Tony McEntee, James Mccartan, Pete McGrath would appear more realistic. That's not to say they'd be good appointments. In an ideal world, a Cavan man would be Cavan manager. in this regard, Jason Reilly has to be the standout candidate. And, at the risk of starting WW3, I suggest that we could probably do worse than consider Mcgleenan's predecessor. The man did a good job and has nothing but love for Cavan football. He wouldn't be my priority but he'd be preferable to another awkward fit from outside like Mcgleenan."
Off course the players are there but the majority of the good players were not even asked in and the ones that turned down the call in were not available due to work commitment. Time the CB listened to people that are not blinkered by club loyalty and bring in the best players and not those that certain people think are the greatest thing since slice pan.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 12/07/2018 11:56:29    2120947

Fair play to Mattie McGleenan for his efforts while in the job, and his good judgement to bow out gracefully now. He was my first choice the last time round and sadly things just did not work out.

The general view here seems to be that were wasting our time looking for a high profile candidate. what sort of signal does it send out if the CB follows this line?! Div1 football next year has to be the selling point. The job of the next man in is to consolidate that position over 2 years.

My hunch is that CB will be trying for an internal candidate this time. Finbarr O'Reilly has the ability but the time may not be right for him. I have the height of respect for Peter Reilly but this job is not for him. Nobody else in the picture really.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 12/07/2018 11:58:26    2120949

Most Cavan supporters are like the English supporters, high expectations of their teams whilst ignoring the fact that their teams lack the ability to match the expectations.
Cavan Football is broke, it has been for a long, long time it will take a lot of fixing, it wont take 2 or 3 years either, it will take 10 or more years.

Lets start with the clubs, what feeds the clubs? a proper underage structure, and a proper underage County Board. Now whilst a lot of clubs are putting in a lot of work at underage, the competition structure is a mess, right up to u20 level. The development squads are nothing short of a joke, all they do is take away players from their clubs and the clubs suffer, because the only thing development squads players develop is a mentality that because they've made the development squad, they've no need to play with their clubs. By the time many of these lads get to 21, they're fed up and they simply quit football. On top of that, you've got John Brady and the rest telling players not to play with their clubs, that the County is more important. Cavan, along with some other Counties reduced the u18 grade to u17 , yet you now have a large number of players over 17 but under 18 who have played no football for their clubs this year, sadly, many of these will drop out, but yet could be the next stars of the future.

What feeds the County Team? the senior clubs, now how can you feed the County Team when your senior club structure is another mess, again, it has been for a long time, and despite the promise of the current chairman and previous chairmen to overhaul it, it remains a mess. As for the championship, all it is, is a rush job, crammed in over a 5/6 week period.

So if you think that a new manager will come in and do anything different that what Mattie did, think again, the fact is, whilst we have many good, hardworking players in the County, we lack any sort of quality players needed to win trophies.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 12/07/2018 12:34:28    2120968

Replying To bunnoe1:  "Jason Reilly probably hasn't proven himself enough yet, with the Gaels he is doing a good job, but with the best panel in the county. Peter Reilly didn't exactly set up the u21's in a very positive fashion when he was there. Micky Graham has probably the best body of work done of the three of them, with a number of different clubs, but it might be hard for him to drop SJ."
There ain't really that many forwards around able to replace SJ is there?
His vision , his kickpassing, his accuracy from both feet is 2nd to none within the county.
Natural ability can't be coached.
Yes his days are numbered but he still has a part to play

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/07/2018 13:42:57    2120996

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Most Cavan supporters are like the English supporters, high expectations of their teams whilst ignoring the fact that their teams lack the ability to match the expectations.
Cavan Football is broke, it has been for a long, long time it will take a lot of fixing, it wont take 2 or 3 years either, it will take 10 or more years.

Lets start with the clubs, what feeds the clubs? a proper underage structure, and a proper underage County Board. Now whilst a lot of clubs are putting in a lot of work at underage, the competition structure is a mess, right up to u20 level. The development squads are nothing short of a joke, all they do is take away players from their clubs and the clubs suffer, because the only thing development squads players develop is a mentality that because they've made the development squad, they've no need to play with their clubs. By the time many of these lads get to 21, they're fed up and they simply quit football. On top of that, you've got John Brady and the rest telling players not to play with their clubs, that the County is more important. Cavan, along with some other Counties reduced the u18 grade to u17 , yet you now have a large number of players over 17 but under 18 who have played no football for their clubs this year, sadly, many of these will drop out, but yet could be the next stars of the future.

What feeds the County Team? the senior clubs, now how can you feed the County Team when your senior club structure is another mess, again, it has been for a long time, and despite the promise of the current chairman and previous chairmen to overhaul it, it remains a mess. As for the championship, all it is, is a rush job, crammed in over a 5/6 week period.

So if you think that a new manager will come in and do anything different that what Mattie did, think again, the fact is, whilst we have many good, hardworking players in the County, we lack any sort of quality players needed to win trophies."
sobering take on things there
Although my cavan heart wants to disagree and tell you you're wrong i just can't.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 12/07/2018 14:49:30    2121024

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "There ain't really that many forwards around able to replace SJ is there?
His vision , his kickpassing, his accuracy from both feet is 2nd to none within the county.
Natural ability can't be coached.
Yes his days are numbered but he still has a part to play"
When did SJ do all what your saying he is good at. Definitely not in the Tyrone game. Great at passing over and back ways.

Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 12/07/2018 15:46:07    2121044

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Most Cavan supporters are like the English supporters, high expectations of their teams whilst ignoring the fact that their teams lack the ability to match the expectations.

So if you think that a new manager will come in and do anything different that what Mattie did, think again, the fact is, whilst we have many good, hardworking players in the County, we lack any sort of quality players needed to win trophies."
Well said cavanblueman, there needs to be a bridge from U17 level to senior/junior football to keep lads interested and playing. It's too young at 18 to have no football to play other than maybe a game or two in an U20 championship. Why not have an U20 league & championship like we have currently at U17.It would be up to the Co Board (not the minor board) to put these structures in place .If we have lads dropping out after U17 there's always the chance we could miss out on the next Conor McManus/Brian Fenton players who weren't selected for their counties at minor level but are now in the top bracket of footballers in the country, indeed in Fenton's case he only broke into the Dublin U21 team in his last year at U21.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 12/07/2018 16:16:21    2121056