WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 485 - 01/05/2025 20:59:20 2606126 Link 0 |
Dublin will beat Antrim by 10 points
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15563 - 01/05/2025 21:19:28 2606130 Link 0 |
My suspicions are confirmed. You're on the wind up
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3546 - 01/05/2025 21:20:58 2606131 Link 0 |
I wonder will the Offaly game be a double header with the Longford tailtean cup game WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 373 - 01/05/2025 21:27:55 2606134 Link 0 |
Would have to say unlikely. Home match v Longford in Tailteann Cup is to be the weekend of May 10/11. Home match v Offaly in Senior Hurling Championship will be on May 17. Am sure you can see where I'm coming from :) Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 01/05/2025 22:45:37 2606157 Link 0 |
How is it a wind up? Antrim beat Wexford last year. Not beyond them to beat Dublin this year?
Avondhu86 (Cork) - Posts: 16 - 01/05/2025 23:49:31 2606173 Link 0 |
Yeah, young Conor Foley is more of a wing back Afinestick. I think he would be more comfortable and also more effective there. Jippo, Eoin Ryan and Shane Reck would be our best full back line. Lawlor, Damien and Molloy as the half backs. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 441 - 01/05/2025 23:57:41 2606175 Link 0 |
Dublin don't generally take their eye off the ball like we can.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15563 - 02/05/2025 07:48:41 2606180 Link 0 |
There is no conversation to be had about who is better between jack and Larry Murphy,every day all day Larry Murphy!!! Larry Murphy had it all and more importantly was a team player who in fact turned up more often than not!!! Could win his own ball also,which I think is something people are missing with Jack,for me he's the same as the other 5 forwards in that regard,if it's not on a plate he very rarely wins it!!! He a big unit but for me he's no different than the rest bar chin in winning ball, theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 02/05/2025 08:54:43 2606190 Link 0 |
Id have it as a toss up Conor Foley and Lawlor but id think id go Foley
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 559 - 02/05/2025 08:55:57 2606191 Link 0 |
Damien Reck is not a 6! Id nearly try him at midfield at this point, doesn't hold centre and gives away frees constantly when he's ran at. Foley, Molloy, Lawlor would be an inexperienced HB line but think Rossi needs to be a bit braver and go for it. All three are able to deliver the ball anyway but they will be targeted in the air for sure. Looking back at the Dubs goals, they were chronic really. McGuckian after a great catch then indecisive in possession and throws it back to nobody. But we have more than enough time to deal with the mistake. Somebody fall over the ball or at least foul outside the box. Can't stop the run yet again until Hearne fouls. Second one, long puck out all our defenders drawn into the middle. Our defensive organization from puck outs was really poor throughout. Foley ball watching again but that's an easy pass through for a one on one. Nowhere near good enough. Third, Shane Reck beaten in air again but from that once again we can't block the runners. Foley is left with two lads to mark to be fair. Their 12 (Power?) had a field day in the second half. The ref did do us, no doubt about it. But we have no chance defending like that. Weak in the air, can't stop runs and lads getting drawn to the ball like u12/u14. A lot to fix ahead of Galway. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 391 - 02/05/2025 09:22:09 2606197 Link 0 |
I should have said Foley, Damien and Molloy as half backs. Big call to leave Lawlor out but I think Molloy might be more physical and forceful. Neither of them were on song against the Dubs. Maybe moving Richie to midfield with Hearne and have Dooley in the corner at the expensive of Eoin Ryan. Hard to say really. I'm sure Rossie knows his first 15 at this stage. With Jippo, Jacko and Conor Mac back it will strengthen the team hugely. Of course it all depends on whether the two lads have 70+ minutes in them. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 441 - 02/05/2025 10:33:48 2606219 Link 0 |
I'd expect Conor Mac to come off the bench. Hopefully Jippo is fit enough to start
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 559 - 02/05/2025 11:25:58 2606232 Link 0 |
If we didn't have Reck at 6 we would be giving away 6 or 7 goals a game. Very hard to stop a lad running through, and bottle him up so as not to let him offload it. We concede very few scores from his area, and most of the frees he gives away there are preventing goal chances. Fanning just isn't accurate enough or quick enough with short puckouts, he gives away too many points and sidelines. Agree our defensive set up at the back was under pressure, but they were put under alot of that pressure because the forwards apart from Chin and Foley, in the 1st half especially, did very little to stop the Dublin backs playing/running it out. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15563 - 02/05/2025 12:32:04 2606262 Link 0 |
They drew with Antrim in Belfast two years ago. Obviously they hammered Antrim in Parnell last year. Hard to know where Antrim are at, league form and results to date would suggest they sadly aren't at much currently. Very little at underage too. Hopefully they crack into the Dubs anyway and see where it takes them. Offaly must have been very disappointed with their showing against Galway. Two goals they conceded were shocking for this level. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 391 - 02/05/2025 12:55:55 2606266 Link 0 |
Jacks timing under a high ball is terrible, it's shocking with all the coaching over the years it is still not perfected. A man with his height and strength playing on a county team at wing forward should be winning all round him on our puck outs. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 916 - 02/05/2025 12:59:10 2606268 Link 1 |
There is always a result in Corrigan Park in Antrim, more worried about it than Galway in The Nell
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1334 - 02/05/2025 13:18:14 2606275 Link 0 |
Dublin unlike others never underestimate Antrim even when seemingly poor. Be very surprised at anything other than 5/6 point minimum. Lyng was very kind to them. Terrible in second half after two sloppy early goals conceded by Cats. Fancy Offaly to beat them and survive. Davy will throw kitchen si k at it early next week but will surely be concentrating on finding himself managing McDonagh team. Assuming they keep him and they have little reason to. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3476 - 02/05/2025 13:50:31 2606291 Link 0 |
Can't agree my man. Teams target running down our middle as he isn't forceful enough there and will foul. Refs are much sharper at spotting those spare hand pulls and he is constantly at it. Forwards don't work hard enough for sure but that's a different issue. Those goals don't come about from sharp deliveries from deep from half backs under no pressure. Puckouts into the centre right down the middle, our lads getting drawn to the ball leaving huge spaces in front of our goal. McGuckian shouldn't be even in that position for that catch, that's where our number 6 should be. You can't blame the forwards for those. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 391 - 02/05/2025 15:37:56 2606314 Link 0 |