Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To zinny:  "Well fair play to you Doyler, not letting the side down. If Wexford were as consistent on the pitch as you are with your optimism on the year ahead we would be all set."
Sure look, maybe I'm fooling myself but if you can't be optimistic in October why bother?

Really the goal that wasn't in Parnell park ended our season like we knew it would. We had opportunities to recover and didn't. We just can't allow that to happen next year. Being at home to both Dublin and Galway is a big help.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4000 - 29/10/2025 11:44:47    2642121

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's the thing isn't it? There's nothing in our recent for that says we should be winning trophies but on the other hand Leinster looks very winnable if a few things go right. Dublin are good but beatable. Kilkenny are Kilkenny. They'll just keep going but by their own standards they're in a bit of a crisis. Offaly will have closed the gap a bit and Galway are a bit like is in terms of high ceiling and low floor, although they're better equipped than we are to put a run togetherness.

In terms of ambition for 26 here's what I'd like to see:

1. A clear tactical plan. We had it in 24, but looked a bit lost last year.

2. More conviction on the line. Rossiter seems to be aware of this and is trying to fix it.

3. A settled team.

If we get those things right I think we should be in the mix for promotion in the league and top 3 in Leinster for sure.

It's going to be a hectic season though. We'll need to hit the ground running and will need results early.

If I had to choose this year, I think we really need to get back to 1A, considering our current group should peak in 2-3 years."
I agree getting back to 1A is huge for next season. Also would give us momemtum going into championship . Will be difficult though with likes of Dublin and Clare the favourites to be promoted.
Then I agree top 3 minimum has to be the aim in Leinster .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 738 - 29/10/2025 14:26:21    2642146

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Sure look, maybe I'm fooling myself but if you can't be optimistic in October why bother?

Really the goal that wasn't in Parnell park ended our season like we knew it would. We had opportunities to recover and didn't. We just can't allow that to happen next year. Being at home to both Dublin and Galway is a big help."
I agree but the away game with Offaly will be a really tough game for us too. Dont forget they will be hurling in 1A next year.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 738 - 29/10/2025 14:28:48    2642148

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree getting back to 1A is huge for next season. Also would give us momemtum going into championship . Will be difficult though with likes of Dublin and Clare the favourites to be promoted.
Then I agree top 3 minimum has to be the aim in Leinster ."
I think the aim every year at this stage before the lads are even back together has to be to win Leinster. If making the final becomes mathematically impossible then aiming to finish 3rd is obviously the goal.
As I'm not involved with management I don't know how they were planning strategically for this year just gone, but much like 2023 it looked from our body language and team selection up there that we were conceding the game in Salthill before throw in even.
Margins are very small in Leinster, and in top level club and county hurling in general, and I don't think you stand much chance of achieving any goals unless you go flat out to win every game and see where that brings you.
Not wanting to diminish the League but I think the only real advantage for the next championship campaign of getting promoted back to 1a is that we will have a little momentum going into the championship. If we win 4 or 5 games and somehow don't get promoted I don't think that would be the end of the world for next year.
It obviously firstly, and mainly, would be useful from a player development point of view in 2027 to be in 1a, and secondly financially as regards sponsorship etc, but Id rather see us developing/giving gametime to as many different lads as possible, especially in the early rounds even if they are against Clare or Dublin, and see who are in good form, who are adapting fastest, and looking likeliest to step up come Championship, rather than picking a 15 or 18 or 20 too early just in order to get promoted.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17340 - 29/10/2025 18:08:18    2642176

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree getting back to 1A is huge for next season. Also would give us momemtum going into championship . Will be difficult though with likes of Dublin and Clare the favourites to be promoted.
Then I agree top 3 minimum has to be the aim in Leinster ."
I think the aim every year at this stage before the lads are even back together has to be to win Leinster. If making the final becomes mathematically impossible then aiming to finish 3rd is obviously the goal.
As I'm not involved with management I don't know how they were planning strategically for this year just gone, but much like 2023 it looked from our body language and team selection up there that we were conceding the game in Salthill before throw in even.
Margins are very small in Leinster, and in top level club and county hurling in general, and I don't think you stand much chance of achieving any goals unless you go flat out to win every game and see where that brings you.
Not wanting to diminish the League but I think the only real advantage for the next championship campaign of getting promoted back to 1a is that we will have a little momentum going into the championship. If we win 4 or 5 games and somehow don't get promoted I don't think that would be the end of the world for next year.
It obviously firstly, and mainly, would be useful from a player development point of view in 2027 to be in 1a, and secondly financially as regards sponsorship etc, but Id rather see us developing/giving gametime to as many different lads as possible, especially in the early rounds even if they are against Clare or Dublin, and see who are in good form, who are adapting fastest, and looking likeliest to step up come Championship, rather than picking a 15 or 18 or 20 too early just in order to get promoted.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17340 - 29/10/2025 18:09:52    2642177

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree but the away game with Offaly will be a really tough game for us too. Dont forget they will be hurling in 1A next year."
No easy Senior championship games for us against Offaly, or really anyone else, we are the low hanging fruit they are all targeting. A reputation we have earned on merit over recent years. Why would next year be any different?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17340 - 29/10/2025 18:20:22    2642178

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree but the away game with Offaly will be a really tough game for us too. Dont forget they will be hurling in 1A next year."
Any team who gets promoted from 1B to 1A, not just Offaly, gets the same benefits of hurling at a higher standard but they also have to deal with the same risks e.g. going on a losing run. You have to bring in new players in the league if you're looking to develop but it's hard to do that and win at the same time if you're just promoted. Happened to us this year really; this year wasn't actually the worst as at least we won twice (Albeit one was a dead rubber game) and I'd rather risk getting relegated having blooded in young players as going gung-ho in the league is counter-productive in the Championship

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 681 - 30/10/2025 10:25:21    2642217