Limerick Hurling thread 2024

Replying To katser:  "Ah come on did you ever hear the way "they" talk?
The way I spell it is the way "they" pronounce it!!
It's a bit mumbled....no more than the southeast lad!"
As many All Irelands won in six years as Galway have in One Hundred and Twenty Five.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4454 - 07/07/2024 23:58:23    2557574

What a game of hurling in display today. Hard luck to Limerick, as much as I wanted to see them go do the 5 in a row i'm delighted to see Cork and Patrick Horgan get a chance at an all ireland again. This Limerick team will be back again next year no doubt but what an unbelievable team they've been over the last few years and proper champions. A well deserved rest and reset is needed to go back at it again for next year. They've set the bar so high with standards it has taken this long for everyone else to catch up to them. Exceptional, dedicated and committed team and management. As close to. professional team as you'll find

SillySimonsOpinion (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 08/07/2024 00:00:18    2557575

The idiot who said bye bye limrik is in a minority of one.
What wonderful champions, Ye have given all hurling fans so much pleasure over the past 7 years and I have no doubt Limerick wont be away for long.And let me add like the great champions gracious in defeat.
A wonderful game Cork magnificent and a great final to look forward to

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1544 - 08/07/2024 00:52:07    2557585

Gutted but proud.
Uncharacteristic off day shooting in second half. Won the world of ball but didn't execute. Congrats to cork. Showed incredible hunger. I think theyare getting that rub of the green perhaps limerick got in 18. I wish both clare and cork well in the final. Sport needs competitive elite competition to thrive and hurt can be a powerful thing.

Limerick will be back in 25

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 08/07/2024 00:52:22    2557586

Replying To JahTribe:  "I think its likely Cork will struggle in Croke Park. The pressure on them to perform must be immense given they beat ye in Munster. The day Limerick bang over all the shots ye take some team will take a hammering and I just feel that Cork may be that team."
Really??

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 08/07/2024 02:48:06    2557590

Commiserations to Limerick. Absolutely magnificent champions who've raised the bar in our game to a point almost nobody can reach.

It will be good for hurling to have new champions, but I've no doubt Limerick will be a different monster altogether next year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 08/07/2024 07:37:10    2557596

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm wondering were the scenes of kiely and all the players staying around a sign that maybe some changes are on the way..he met jp and joe mc before going to dressing room,maybe I'm reading to much into it..I take it there might be a couple who will move aside,I know they are not old but some amount done in last 8 years..also Nicky,Dan,deccie and Graeme Mul are around since 2013 if I'm right..I hope I'm wrong.."
I can't see too many retirements . Probably less even than if they had won it this year again. 2 of the 4 lads you mentioned are only 31, one is a goalkeeper who tend to have more longevity.
Hopefully they will get their rest over the Winter and come back as good as ever.
This Limerick team has set new standards, standards that Cork, Clare and Kilkenny are starting to emulate , and fair play to them.
In Galway we can only look at them in awe. Its arguable that Galway have not regressed too much since 2017 in absolute terms , but we are a million miles away now.
Is this Limerick team the greatest team of all time? Possibly yes, definitely one of them. One thing I am absolutely certain of .is that anyone of the 4 semi finalists this year would beat any of the other great teams touted as being the greatest of all time. Its just evolution , standards keep getting higher and higher. Players are bigger, stronger , faster, fitter , now than they used to be. Every sport that can be measured by distance ,time or weight , the records keep getting broken ,so we would be naive to think that a sport that cannot be measured in this manner, would be any different.
Whether Cork or Clare wins the AI this year they will probably not be favourites to retain it, and that is good for the sport.
Looking forward i seeing Limerick again in 2025,

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 08/07/2024 09:07:12    2557613

Watching from a distance since 2018, I will say this Limerick hurling team are the finest team I've ever watched in either code in Hurling or Football. Not writing their obituary yet by any means, but if they did nothing else, to me they have been absolutely exceptional. Power, pace, skill level, scoring ability, fielding ability, athleticism, and probably more than anything and as a result of the aforementioned, the ability to crucify teams in big games. Many of their final performances in particular have been devastating and ruthless. In full flow they have been almost the perfect team. I say this as a predominantly Football man with an appreciative eye for Hurling any chance I get.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1378 - 08/07/2024 10:49:01    2557640

I predict some of these Limerick players will get 10 All Ireland's. Age is on their side.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 399 - 08/07/2024 15:59:57    2557740

Replying To anotheralias:  "I can't see too many retirements . Probably less even than if they had won it this year again. 2 of the 4 lads you mentioned are only 31, one is a goalkeeper who tend to have more longevity.
Hopefully they will get their rest over the Winter and come back as good as ever.
This Limerick team has set new standards, standards that Cork, Clare and Kilkenny are starting to emulate , and fair play to them.
In Galway we can only look at them in awe. Its arguable that Galway have not regressed too much since 2017 in absolute terms , but we are a million miles away now.
Is this Limerick team the greatest team of all time? Possibly yes, definitely one of them. One thing I am absolutely certain of .is that anyone of the 4 semi finalists this year would beat any of the other great teams touted as being the greatest of all time. Its just evolution , standards keep getting higher and higher. Players are bigger, stronger , faster, fitter , now than they used to be. Every sport that can be measured by distance ,time or weight , the records keep getting broken ,so we would be naive to think that a sport that cannot be measured in this manner, would be any different.
Whether Cork or Clare wins the AI this year they will probably not be favourites to retain it, and that is good for the sport.
Looking forward i seeing Limerick again in 2025,"
If players are bigger and stronger now than in 2017, and clearly Galway are now fielding quite a few smaller weaker players than they did in 2017, it is difficult for one to agree with your theory that Galway have not regressed much since 2017 in absolute or indeed any other sort of terms.

Galway did draw with a team that you're looking at in awe there just 2 months ago, and so did Carlow for that matter.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 08/07/2024 16:14:41    2557748

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""...this game is pick of the 2 semifinals!"

Why? One of the teams are well odds-on favourites to win. Whereas, in the Kilkenny v Clare semi-final, there is nothing to choose between them."
He was completely right Cockney. The first half of the clare KK semi final was barely even like championship hurling. No atmosphere. it was hugely disappointing. Thankfully the second half was much better but comparing the 2 semi finals, one was like a poorly attended leinster final (ive been at enough of those between galway KK with 35-40k there) and one all Ireland final in all but name, in terms of sell out, incredible atmosphere and intensity.

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 08/07/2024 16:14:46    2557749

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Watching from a distance since 2018, I will say this Limerick hurling team are the finest team I've ever watched in either code in Hurling or Football. Not writing their obituary yet by any means, but if they did nothing else, to me they have been absolutely exceptional. Power, pace, skill level, scoring ability, fielding ability, athleticism, and probably more than anything and as a result of the aforementioned, the ability to crucify teams in big games. Many of their final performances in particular have been devastating and ruthless. In full flow they have been almost the perfect team. I say this as a predominantly Football man with an appreciative eye for Hurling any chance I get."
Appreciate heartfelt praise Fonegal man! I choose to agree with well stated assessment

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 08/07/2024 16:30:29    2557759

Well done to Cork, It was going to take a super team to beat us and Corks display yesterday was certainly that. If we were going to lose, I'm glad we went down fighting

I have to congratulate any Cork fans on here also, in previous years when we beat them they were very sporting losers and yesterday they were very magnanimous in victory, something I feel we should all applaud.

Best of Luck to Cork in the Final

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 88 - 08/07/2024 16:34:20    2557763

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm wondering were the scenes of kiely and all the players staying around a sign that maybe some changes are on the way..he met jp and joe mc before going to dressing room,maybe I'm reading to much into it..I take it there might be a couple who will move aside,I know they are not old but some amount done in last 8 years..also Nicky,Dan,deccie and Graeme Mul are around since 2013 if I'm right..I hope I'm wrong.."
You should read a few books and/ or get some fresh air, if all you can do is "wonder and speculate if change is is the said based on the manager meeting the sponsor before entering the dressing room.. what a startling revelation and insight!
Not your first off the wall musing.

Come down off the fireplace Granny, you're too old to be riding the range.

What a magnificent 7 years our Boys in Green have given us . Thank you one and all .. lots more to come from this band of brothers. Long may it continue!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 08/07/2024 16:43:46    2557770

Replying To jobber:  "The idiot who said bye bye limrik is in a minority of one.
What wonderful champions, Ye have given all hurling fans so much pleasure over the past 7 years and I have no doubt Limerick wont be away for long.And let me add like the great champions gracious in defeat.
A wonderful game Cork magnificent and a great final to look forward to"
That is the way any genuine hurling would look on the game and what Limerick has brought to the game. No doubt in my mind that they are here for the foreseeable future. Cork were brilliant on the day and Clare will be ready for them.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2844 - 08/07/2024 16:48:50    2557773

Thanks Parto but I was just making a comment..if you think that's stupid then so be it..kiely also said that there will be fellas who won't be in the dressing room next year..I'm delighted with what this group have done for the whole of limerick..I never thought I'd see days like them and I hope we will be in contention for 1 or2 all irelands every 5/6 years..it's back now to club action in next few weeks so that will keep me going for a while..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2329 - 08/07/2024 17:25:40    2557787

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye limrik"
Considering the mess and laughing stock Galway Hurling currently is your more likely to be competing for the McDonagh going forward than Liam.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 757 - 09/07/2024 01:07:43    2557904

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "Jesus some of the posts on here are very disrespectful to Cork, It's almost like they are made up posts for someone to stick on the dressing room wall to show the cork players.............. I think we should all be worried about Cork. Cork have pace skill and are more than capable of beating. Remember last year and this year there was only a score between us When they get in full flow they are awesome. They should have been way further at half time when we played them in Cork and even though we overturned an eight point deficit, they brought on subs who swung the game back into their favour. They did not have a bench when be beat them in 2018 or 2021 in Croke Park but, they do now.

Anyone going up thinking this will be a procession could be in for a shock. I'm hoping and praying we perform like we can but semi finals are for winning and I would bite your hand off for a one point win"
It's nearly like accounts were created just for the purpose.......

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 757 - 09/07/2024 01:10:06    2557905

Replying To freetaker1:  "Considering the mess and laughing stock Galway Hurling currently is your more likely to be competing for the McDonagh going forward than Liam."
He /she has plenty of leverage room to wok with..Joe McDonagh/Christy Ring/Nicky Rackard... hope springs eternal.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 09/07/2024 20:44:12    2558110

Replying To hopballref:  "I predict some of these Limerick players will get 10 All Ireland's. Age is on their side."
No not many but possibly one or two more

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4454 - 09/07/2024 23:42:30    2558137