Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To countyman2022:  "Is he back training? Be some additions have him and Shane back fully fit too."
He said at halftime in Birr he'd been back since the Wednesday before that. Only just back from oz.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/01/2023 15:34:52    2453242

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Aj wasn't on the subs bench was sitting beside James Lawlor's dad last weekend and he said he didn't know what was happening with aj I also asked about Rory and he also said he didn't know. Hopefully Rory looks after himself and is 100 percent for championship at the end of the day that is all that matters. Like ya all we want to find some good players because at the end of the day a lot of the current team will probably leave in the next year or two"
Think "alot " "in the next year or two" is an exaggeration. Maybe 3 or 4 max. A lad who looks after himself might play til 34 or 35. Mogie is 32. MOH is 31. Dee O Keefe just turned 31 a couple of weeks ago. Chin won't be 31 til towards the end of the year. They are the oldest outfield players by a couple of years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/01/2023 17:40:47    2453260

I'll be watching the match on the new streaming service, Clubber TV. Has anyone used it yet? I think the price, €11.99 is a bit steep for a Walsh Cup match. But I suppose, what with inflation and all...plus the deal is with Leinster GAA , so some of my cost should go back into the counties and clubs.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 20/01/2023 18:51:05    2453265

Flood is surely on the panel?cian molloy gorey, what the story with him?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 934 - 20/01/2023 20:04:24    2453269

Niall Tallis
Mikey Butler, Evan Cody, Niall Rowe
David Blanchfield, Padraig Moylan, Padraig Walsh
Paddy Deegan, Shane Murphy
Tom Phelan, Cian Kenny, Paul Cody
Gearoid Dunne, John Donnelly, Niall Brassil

Kilkenny team named. Fairly experimental too. Similar to Wexfords team I guess. Butler, Walsh, Kenny, Donnelly, Deegan, Phelan all played in Nowlan Park last year, and Blanchfield played a part against Clare and Limerick after that. They are all good players at this level. Obviously the Shamrocks lads are preparing for 2moro.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 21/01/2023 10:14:07    2453282

Niall Tallis
Mikey Butler, Evan Cody, Niall Rowe
David Blanchfield, Padraig Moylan, Padraig Walsh
Paddy Deegan, Shane Murphy
Tom Phelan, Cian Kenny, Paul Cody
Gearoid Dunne, John Donnelly, Niall Brassil

Kilkenny team named. Fairly experimental too. Similar to Wexfords team I guess. Butler, Walsh, Kenny, Donnelly, Deegan, Phelan all played in Nowlan Park last year, and Blanchfield played a part against Clare and Limerick after that. They are all good players at this level. Obviously the Shamrocks lads are preparing for 2moro.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 21/01/2023 10:14:26    2453283

Atmosphere starting to build already. I can't wait for this.

Hopefully we get a performance to match the occasion

Having said that, there are bigger days ahead this year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 21/01/2023 14:00:26    2453299

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Atmosphere starting to build already. I can't wait for this.

Hopefully we get a performance to match the occasion

Having said that, there are bigger days ahead this year."
All the days will be bigger. Its only the Walsh Cup J

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 21/01/2023 14:32:27    2453303

Replying To Viking66:  "All the days will be bigger. Its only the Walsh Cup J"
The Walsh Cup will be forgotten about once the league starts. Look at Dublin last year. They trounced us in the final. Where did it get them???
Lights and fireworks- lovely but the game is more of a challenge match with frills.
Both teams well understrenght but it'll be an opportunity to see how the new lads get on.
Let's not get carried away with this early pre season game. The kids will love the fireworks and we can experience the lights but the game doesn't really matter much.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 21/01/2023 14:59:40    2453308

Replying To Magpie2:  "The Walsh Cup will be forgotten about once the league starts. Look at Dublin last year. They trounced us in the final. Where did it get them???
Lights and fireworks- lovely but the game is more of a challenge match with frills.
Both teams well understrenght but it'll be an opportunity to see how the new lads get on.
Let's not get carried away with this early pre season game. The kids will love the fireworks and we can experience the lights but the game doesn't really matter much."
"The Walsh Cup will be forgotten about once the league starts."
And the league will be forgotten about once the Championship starts.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 21/01/2023 19:09:19    2453345

Fantastic finish to an enjoyable game. I know it's only the Walsh Cup and it would be foolish to read anything significant into it, but there are positives to take from it. Richie Lawlor is class, took his goal well and made an excellent catch at full-forward earlier in the half. I would accommodate him somewhere come championship. The much-maligned McGuckin showed excellent vision to create the goal, and his work-rate alone has him higher up the pecking order than a good few more heralded lads for me. Great for Mac to hit five from play, especially when he had a few valley periods.

Corey Byrne-Dunbar was very good when he came on and should offer something. Conor Foley looked solid too. Fair play to Ryan for putting that dreadful mistake behind him as he showed some leadership down the home straight. Not sure about Banville's overall play for this level, and thought Kevin Foley looked miles off the pace. Hearne was disappointing. Think Damien has locked down the number 6 jersey and is approaching Liam Dunne levels. That full-back line looks like the championship line too. I would have Dwyer at 11 later in the year as well- he has a direct running style that few else in the panel offer and his work-rate is under-rated.

Hopefully they wrap Chin in cotton wool now until he is 100%. The last thing we need is him carrying a knock throughout the year, and it will allow us to give more game-time to the likes of CBD, Pepper and Clancy in his absence.

The lights look fantastic.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 21/01/2023 19:46:41    2453347

Overall a great spectacle but a patchy performance.

We deserved to win. If not for a few silly decisions could have won it well.

Richie Lawlor was superb.

Mcguckian was fantastic. I couldn't believe he actually put that over. Celebrated it like a goal!

Devitt did OK, Shane Reck too, jippo stood up when we needed him.

Donohoe and carty both solid.

D Reck was class.

Dee o Keeffe great in the first half.

Hearne was good in the first half but faded a lot.

All the subs did OK.

It was great to see all the kids after.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 21/01/2023 20:10:44    2453349

Totally forgot Mikey Dwyer. Probably the best I've seen from him in wexford Jersey

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 21/01/2023 20:46:12    2453354

Great occasion and the kids loved it fair play to the board for putting it on and marketing it well! Lights are top of the range. So our young lads beat Kilkennys young lads I'm the game which doesn't mean too much in the greater scheme of things, but the last 15 minutes the game started to rise in intensity and it was nice to see us get the goal and insurance point in the last couple of minutes instead of them.
Lawlor looked solid.
Fullback line looked good mo need to mention their 2nd goal I'm sure that won't happen again! Devitt had another solid outing and must be the starter for the League, Shane Reck and Jippo were their usual hard selves.
Halfback line was solid too. Carty looked nervous at the start but grew into the game well. marking Tom Phelan in front of 12500 people will only stand to him going forward. Made a good goal saving tackle and looked good going forward in the 2nd half. Damien Reck was his usual class self. Donohue looked good also.
Lawlor put in another MOTM performance in midfield and then further forwards. Dee looked sharp also.
Hearne started very well but seemed to tire in the 2nd half. Hope Chin isn't injured but his freetaking was erratic again. Banville missed his 1st 2 this year but 1 was from miles out. Mcguckin was outstanding again. More great catches and high energy and a great point too!
Mac was back to his best. Looked trimmer when he signed the young lads hurls and played with much more energy than the last few years. Hope he keeps it going for the whole summer. Pepper was very lively. Mikey Dwyer continued where he left off last weekend he should start again the next day against Galway either next week or the week after.
All the other subs looked lively and none looked out of place. I'm sure Kevin will get up to speed he probably needs more gametime during the League. It was good to see Egan give most of them a decent run out instead of just bringing them on for the last couple of minutes. Playing in front of that crowd would have to have done them all good! A great night's entertainment!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 21/01/2023 20:56:33    2453356

Replying To Viking66:  "Great occasion and the kids loved it fair play to the board for putting it on and marketing it well! Lights are top of the range. So our young lads beat Kilkennys young lads I'm the game which doesn't mean too much in the greater scheme of things, but the last 15 minutes the game started to rise in intensity and it was nice to see us get the goal and insurance point in the last couple of minutes instead of them.
Lawlor looked solid.
Fullback line looked good mo need to mention their 2nd goal I'm sure that won't happen again! Devitt had another solid outing and must be the starter for the League, Shane Reck and Jippo were their usual hard selves.
Halfback line was solid too. Carty looked nervous at the start but grew into the game well. marking Tom Phelan in front of 12500 people will only stand to him going forward. Made a good goal saving tackle and looked good going forward in the 2nd half. Damien Reck was his usual class self. Donohue looked good also.
Lawlor put in another MOTM performance in midfield and then further forwards. Dee looked sharp also.
Hearne started very well but seemed to tire in the 2nd half. Hope Chin isn't injured but his freetaking was erratic again. Banville missed his 1st 2 this year but 1 was from miles out. Mcguckin was outstanding again. More great catches and high energy and a great point too!
Mac was back to his best. Looked trimmer when he signed the young lads hurls and played with much more energy than the last few years. Hope he keeps it going for the whole summer. Pepper was very lively. Mikey Dwyer continued where he left off last weekend he should start again the next day against Galway either next week or the week after.
All the other subs looked lively and none looked out of place. I'm sure Kevin will get up to speed he probably needs more gametime during the League. It was good to see Egan give most of them a decent run out instead of just bringing them on for the last couple of minutes. Playing in front of that crowd would have to have done them all good! A great night's entertainment!"
If Laois beat Offaly tomorrow then it will be a Kilkenny Galway final next weekend. Although Laois will go through if they win by something like 20pts pts. Wexford need Offaly to win or draw.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 21/01/2023 21:45:09    2453359

Great to get the win, game probably closer in scale with the crowd, build, etc to championship than any league they'll play in the league bar a final or maybe a relegation match (which will not be a case for the later!!) I know it's Walsh cup and Kilkenny down some of the best hurlers in the country with the Ballyhale lads and we did have a stronger team out but still always great to beat them and really stay on top of them, it was nearly 20 years the other way so it's good to breed this belief by beating them regularly.
Add in Rory and Liam Og who's back training which is great news and you have nearly our champioship team I think with a few more spots up for discussion. Think this year or next year is the time to add another Leisnter title and beat a big team other than Killkenny of Munster team/Galway and gain that confidence to push on a bit. The main guys probably have another year or two left in the as top top players and they've decent young blood around them who mightnt be the same calibre as them but they know their roles and seem like good honest hurlers (not to say their not very skillful either)
Banville needs to play I think, Lee is a great hurler Andis our most important player/leader but still can never get comfortable on the frees at all. I don't think it'd be a case of just carrying Banville for the frees either, think he's very capable from general play.
But lads seemed to moving well and good cohesion with them. Decent league now with no injuries and be set for a big year, good fell good buzz around the place last night, nearly felt like a championship win. Positive signs

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 22/01/2023 09:48:11    2453366

If the championship was on the horizon, and provided there are no injuries in the interim, I would probably go for this (working on the assumption Paudie is unavailable):

J.Lawlor

S.Reck
Ryan
Devitt

Donohoe (although Carty is pushing him close)
D.Reck
O'Hanlon (championship ever-present)

O'Keeffe
R.Lawlor

Banville (on frees)
Dwyer
McGuckin

R.O'Connor
McDonald
Chin

You'd then have experienced heads like Mogie (as a swiss army knife), Kevin Foley (if he rediscovers his form), Dunbar and Jacko as impact subs mixed with lads hovering around the panel the last couple of years in Hearne, Bailey, Niall Murphy and Oisin Foley, and talented youngsters chomping at the bit like Byrne-Dunbar, Conor Foley, Pepper, Clancy, Scallan and Cian Byrne (not sure if he is around?).

While we all want as many chaps given an opportunity as possible, and we will hopefully use the league primarily to experiment, I think if it comes down to a 50-50 call for certain positions, the more experienced body will get the nod come championship.

Some variance in options to have though!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 22/01/2023 10:30:18    2453370

Replying To beano:  "If the championship was on the horizon, and provided there are no injuries in the interim, I would probably go for this (working on the assumption Paudie is unavailable):

J.Lawlor

S.Reck
Ryan
Devitt

Donohoe (although Carty is pushing him close)
D.Reck
O'Hanlon (championship ever-present)

O'Keeffe
R.Lawlor

Banville (on frees)
Dwyer
McGuckin

R.O'Connor
McDonald
Chin

You'd then have experienced heads like Mogie (as a swiss army knife), Kevin Foley (if he rediscovers his form), Dunbar and Jacko as impact subs mixed with lads hovering around the panel the last couple of years in Hearne, Bailey, Niall Murphy and Oisin Foley, and talented youngsters chomping at the bit like Byrne-Dunbar, Conor Foley, Pepper, Clancy, Scallan and Cian Byrne (not sure if he is around?).

While we all want as many chaps given an opportunity as possible, and we will hopefully use the league primarily to experiment, I think if it comes down to a 50-50 call for certain positions, the more experienced body will get the nod come championship.

Some variance in options to have though!"
It's all positive for sure Beano and great to have more competition for places. Cian Byrne is hurling Fitzgibbon for Mary I but didn't start against SETU Carlow during the week. Oisin Foley was a regular championship starter last year and Gavin Bailey was the year before. They have done more than just hover around the panel!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 22/01/2023 12:08:37    2453381

Look, it'd be foolish to be getting carried away by Walsh Cup performances but last night was encouraging. That said, if you're struggling to hurl well in the Walsh Cup (January conditions notwithstanding), you're likely going to struggle even worse in the league. On the whole though, you'd have to be happy with the performances of some of the more inexperienced players.

The sense I get is that Egan can't really pick between Shane Reck, Devitt, and Donohoe and as there are only two corner-back spots, one of them gets shifted to wing-back (Not that they'd necessarily be complaining about that!). Shane Reck is our best man-marker so he stays in the corner and Devitt only really found success as a senior inter-county player in the corner so makes sense for now to have Donohoe on the wing.

I think Ian Carty struggled at times and was under pressure but this was only his third ever start so there's no real point taking him out of the team right now, pretty much the hurling equivalent of growing pains.

When Charlie McGuckin makes simple and quick decisions (Like he did last night), he can be very effective at this level. What really stands out about him and Richie Lawlor is their tackling in attack. Cork replaced Patrick Horgan with Alan Connolly last year simply because Connolly was a turnover-pest in attack; we need to have that same level of aggression in attack (Like Limerick). I think Mikie Dwyer is better in the full-forward line, I don't think he's really suited to the half-forward line as we struggled badly at times to win primary possession in the first half. Conor Hearne got some nice points but was a bit peripheral at times. Ross Banville wasn't really in the game and didn't quite have the same defensive impact as McGuckin/Lawlor. Pepper was bright as were Corey Byrne-Dunbar and Conor Foley when they came on. Hopefully, they've done away with that stupid U20 rule this year?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 241 - 22/01/2023 12:46:17    2453387

Good result last night. Fantastic to see the wonderful spectacle that it was.
Unlike Davy, Darragh is giving lads a great chance to stake a place on the first 15.
Many of them showed that they are well able to slot in and do a job. That's vital if we are to have any ambitions later in the year. I'm a bit worried about Chin. Looks like his injuries have not gone away. Ritchie Lawlor looks the real deal and I feel he's nailed down a place on the team.
However things will hot up considerably during the league and the championship will surely tell us where we are.
Beating Kilkenny is always sweet and we all had big smiles on our faces coming out of Wexford Park.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 22/01/2023 13:10:23    2453391