Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Yellow:  "I have absolutely no interest in winning the Walsh Cup or even making the final.

I want us to go hell for leather to beat Kilkenny which leaves only Laois and Offaly games to try new lads out and give them game time.

For the league I would like us to get one win under our belt quickly to avoid relegation then use the other matches for experimentation

Look at Limerick last year who lost every league game.

The only concern this season should be the round robin and having all our players fit with 22 players fighting for 15 starting places and genuine competition for championship starts"
I think that is the lesson everyone is going to take from last year, Hard to credit now, but there were people almost writing Limerick off after a few league games last year. Kiely just used it as way of casting eye over prospects and giving a bit of game time to lads coming back or whose training form was maybe not what it was.

Worked a treat. Others including yourselves. ourselves and Waterford had very little really to add to what we had even in Walsh from Dublin perspective.

The condensed season turns all pre championship into preparation for the big one. No more than glorified challenge games in some cases or as with Wexford and Cats, or ourselves and Galway maybe a chance to throw a shape for later on!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 09/01/2023 12:42:27    2451692

Replying To gaapundit13:  "I enjoy these forums but rarely post but county man you are a nuisance. Posting negatively on the football last night and hurling tonight and you probably weren't in Mullingar or Mountrath."
I was at both, stayed in the Heritage with family for the night. What does it matter if I went or not? Posting the obvious shouldn't worry you.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 640 - 09/01/2023 13:15:03    2451700

Lord lads... We can't have it every way.

We had 2 regular starters out.

I wouldnt be a bit worried.

Never looked like winning? We had a goal chance in the last minute.

If we'd started dee, chin, Rory or mac we'd have won.

Who cares anyway?

Lawlor was perfect. Devitt, Ryan, Reck each very good.

Clarke and carty did enough for me to start the next day.

Conal Clancy also strong but must learn to shoot.

Lawlor was grand.

We'll learn a lot more from that than starting our best team and winning by double scores.

Nobody will be talking about this in August.

Egan said he's taking a totally different approach to planning the Calander so trust him.

Banville lead the charge.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2625 - 09/01/2023 13:20:56    2451702

Replying To TheHogues:  "Wouldnt read too much into yesterdays result at all.

Sure the vast majority of our hurlers havent had a noteworthy game of hurling in ages at this stage, i mean its coming up on almost half a year since the majority of our hurlers have hurled any game of note club or county..... but hey apparently shoehorning all our club hurling in to 1 x 6 week period out of 52 weeks in the year is great and bound to be of benefit going forward!"
Nail on the head.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 640 - 09/01/2023 13:25:42    2451704

Full back line; Donohue Ryan S Reck ( genuine contender for place = Devitt, AJ Redmond at the moment hopefully one or two more will be discovered )

Half back ( Paudie, D Reck, Hanlon. Possible subs Flood, Carthy, Scallan, Cian Molloy)

Midfield: Dee Kevin Foley. Subs: Dunbar

Half Forwards; Oisin Foley Jack O Connor and then I feel there is one slot open here for any of Tucker Kinsella, Mc Guckian, Richie Lalor, Banville, Connal Clancy, Cian Byrne

Full forwards; Chin Mac Rory O Connor Subs: Mikey Dwyer, Oisin Pepper, Corey Byrne Dunbar

I know some of the positions are interchangeable- eg Dunbar could play in the forwards etc

I think there is a starting forward position up for grabs and the 5 sub spots will probably go to versatile players such as Devitt and Dunbar that can play in multiple positions so impact sub ositions are wide open now with Morris Harry Kehoe etc gone

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 09/01/2023 13:46:50    2451709

Replying To Yellow:  "Full back line; Donohue Ryan S Reck ( genuine contender for place = Devitt, AJ Redmond at the moment hopefully one or two more will be discovered )

Half back ( Paudie, D Reck, Hanlon. Possible subs Flood, Carthy, Scallan, Cian Molloy)

Half Forwards; Oisin Foley Jack O Connor and then I feel there is one slot open here for any of Tucker Kinsella, Mc Guckian, Richie Lalor, Banville, Connal Clancy, Cian Byrne

Full forwards; Chin Mac Rory O Connor Subs: Mikey Dwyer, Oisin Pepper, Corey Byrne Dunbar

I know some of the positions are interchangeable- eg Dunbar could play in the forwards etc

I think there is a starting forward position up for grabs and the 5 sub spots will probably go to versatile players such as Devitt and Dunbar that can play in multiple positions so impact sub ositions are wide open now with Morris Harry Kehoe etc gone"
Hopefully in a few weeks some more lads other than Devitt will be getting themselves into the "genuine contender for place" bracket. Which he genuinely is I believe. We need another 5 or 6 lads in that category by the end of the League. Maybe 7 as I don't believe Jacko is a certain championship starter at the minute and Paudie might not be back. Hopefully Mogie will give it 1 more go. Excellent last year for county and then club.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 09/01/2023 14:31:32    2451719

26 Wexford lads on the declared panels for the Fitzgibbon. Well maybe 25 as Cian Byrne from Rosslare is declared for Mary Immaculate and DCU according to the official GAA pdf. Unless Cian from Fethard is playing for 1 of them. Good luck to all the lads involved, especially Cathal Doyle, it will be good experience for them. And hopefully they get through it without injury.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 09/01/2023 16:47:53    2451752

Let's chill the beans regarding our performance against Laois. As many on here have said, very early days, middle of winter, lots of new lads been given a run, resting our regular players and losing to a side that will not be in the running for leinster honours later on doesn't really mean much.
The important thing now is to strengthen the panel for the next two games and during the league.
There are green shoots emerging. Lads like Carty, Banville, the two Lawlors,Hearne and with guys such as Corey Byrne Dunbar. Kyle scallan. JACK and AJ Redmond the future looks bright. Better not to peak too soon and if it means just surving in the top flight of the league and then throwing everything at the round Robin and see where it takes us. There will be no easy games but I believe we can compete with all the leinster teams and just maybe we might collect silverware in the summer.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 09/01/2023 16:59:50    2451755

U20s played Antrim in Bray yesterday. Won 9-30 to 1-15

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 09/01/2023 17:14:16    2451761

Replying To Viking66:  "26 Wexford lads on the declared panels for the Fitzgibbon. Well maybe 25 as Cian Byrne from Rosslare is declared for Mary Immaculate and DCU according to the official GAA pdf. Unless Cian from Fethard is playing for 1 of them. Good luck to all the lads involved, especially Cathal Doyle, it will be good experience for them. And hopefully they get through it without injury."
Rosslare's Cian Byrne was goal for DCU freshers last year so I'd imagine his Fethard namesake is with Mary I.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 09/01/2023 17:28:29    2451763

Replying To Yellow:  "Full back line; Donohue Ryan S Reck ( genuine contender for place = Devitt, AJ Redmond at the moment hopefully one or two more will be discovered )

I think there is a starting forward position up for grabs and the 5 sub spots will probably go to versatile players such as Devitt and Dunbar that can play in multiple positions so impact sub ositions are wide open now with Morris Harry Kehoe etc gone"
Hopefully we have Gavin Bailey and Liam Og to add to this list . I think we should let Liam Og return mid February if he wants and let him go hell for leather then for what could be his final season.
Is Paudie likely to be in the squad? From what ive heard he wont be back this year

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 10/01/2023 10:23:04    2451811

Replying To Afinestick:  "Hopefully we have Gavin Bailey and Liam Og to add to this list . I think we should let Liam Og return mid February if he wants and let him go hell for leather then for what could be his final season.
Is Paudie likely to be in the squad? From what ive heard he wont be back this year"
I was told Paudie won't be back as things stand but he's not fully ruled out if that makes sense.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 10/01/2023 10:52:12    2451817

Can I ask re season tickets do you get a ticket for the club finals. You normally do or have for the previous seasons

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 10/01/2023 11:10:25    2451821

The difference between Wexford and Kilkenny is apparent in this example.

We want Liam Og to stay so we are prepared to offer him a month or two off training. When DJ Carey was getting on in years he used to train for an hour individually before each Kilkenny training session to get himself into contention.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 10/01/2023 12:30:24    2451842

Replying To Yellow:  "The difference between Wexford and Kilkenny is apparent in this example.

We want Liam Og to stay so we are prepared to offer him a month or two off training. When DJ Carey was getting on in years he used to train for an hour individually before each Kilkenny training session to get himself into contention."
Diarmuid Byrnes is in Dubai til the middle of February, it isn't a 1 size fits all approach.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 10/01/2023 13:00:04    2451851

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I was told Paudie won't be back as things stand but he's not fully ruled out if that makes sense."
That's what I heard too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 10/01/2023 13:01:50    2451853

Replying To Yellow:  "The difference between Wexford and Kilkenny is apparent in this example.

We want Liam Og to stay so we are prepared to offer him a month or two off training. When DJ Carey was getting on in years he used to train for an hour individually before each Kilkenny training session to get himself into contention."
TJ Reid didn't rejoin Kilkennys panel til after February last year. Different players returned to Kilkennys squads at different times all through the noughties and teens depending on what training they needed and longterm injuries they had to manage. Richie Hogan more recently again. Not sure what point you are trying to make there.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 10/01/2023 13:05:46    2451854

Replying To Viking66:  "TJ Reid didn't rejoin Kilkennys panel til after February last year. Different players returned to Kilkennys squads at different times all through the noughties and teens depending on what training they needed and longterm injuries they had to manage. Richie Hogan more recently again. Not sure what point you are trying to make there."
He wasn't back til March, went on his honeymoon after the club AI final which was mid feb last year.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 10/01/2023 13:14:10    2451858

Replying To Mileythedog:  "U20s played Antrim in Bray yesterday. Won 9-30 to 1-15"
Thanks, figured they had a game alright as no u20s were involved in the Walsh Cup game, Jack Doran missed out on the Laois game due to a broken finger which was a pity.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 10/01/2023 13:27:02    2451859

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Can I ask re season tickets do you get a ticket for the club finals. You normally do or have for the previous seasons"
Yep, includes entry to all Ireland club finals for chosen code

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 110 - 10/01/2023 13:44:11    2451868