Wexford Inter County Football

We done ok. Louth had that extra bit of class when they needed it. They created lots of goal chances while we didn't create any. 15 points was a good return. Defence looked vulnerable when they ran at us similar to Laois in the league but plenty of positives all the same. They went to the end Malone and Coleman had good games. Sean Nolan looked dangerous up front.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 14/04/2024 18:11:02    2537780

Replying To Viking66:  "I'll be travelling up more in hope than expectation. Division 2 is a fair step up. What I noticed after I got home from the Park while watching Cavan, and last year watching our game against Meath, was that the speed and timing of their runs off the shoulder, particularly when attacking the space inside the defensive perimeter 40 yards out from goal, is much faster than what we would be used to facing. Speed in transitioning also, though we have improved hugely that way ourselves over the last 5 games, particularly when going forwards. The way we have played in those games will mean Louth won't underestimate us either, which in fairness to our players and management is a right they have earned. Though maybe our chances of an upset are a little diminished as a result. We can still win this game all the same."
I didn't get the chance to go up, sick child, so I watched it on GAAGO. Turned out pretty much as I feared it would. Div2 teams attack the space inside the perimeter much faster than the teams we have been facing, with the exception of Laois. Will have been a great learning experience for our lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11976 - 14/04/2024 19:24:27    2537806

For about 55 minutes, I thought we had a great chance, particularly due to how we got back in front early in the second half after we'd conceded that first goal just before half-time. Pity about the way it worked out in the end.

I won't try claim that Louth didn't deserve the win, but I do think the seven-point margin flattered them a bit.

A good learning experience for our lads all the same, and hopefully a few big performances ahead in the Tailteann Cup.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2250 - 14/04/2024 21:01:08    2537834

Replying To Viking66:  "When would you play the club games then?"
When your team is knocked out is probably the way to go viking. Yes it means playing club games in the autumn and early winter but really it's time to lave the covid structure and get back to where it was. Not everyone would be happy but you can't please everyone.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 14/04/2024 21:02:11    2537835

Replying To Magpie2:  "When your team is knocked out is probably the way to go viking. Yes it means playing club games in the autumn and early winter but really it's time to lave the covid structure and get back to where it was. Not everyone would be happy but you can't please everyone."
But then the most important stakeholder of all the players are left in limbo like they were until the split season, players couldn't do simple things in January looking into the year ahead like book a holiday, commit to particular project in there job that requires some travel, know if they can attend family events all because they've absolutely no idea when they're club championship will be starting.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1739 - 14/04/2024 21:11:18    2537839

Replying To Magpie2:  "When your team is knocked out is probably the way to go viking. Yes it means playing club games in the autumn and early winter but really it's time to lave the covid structure and get back to where it was. Not everyone would be happy but you can't please everyone."
Also you'll have a timeline to fit in and consider regards provincial club championship, I don't think you've taught this threw.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1739 - 14/04/2024 21:15:59    2537840

When is the Tailteann cup matches does anyone know please

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 14/04/2024 21:51:11    2537849

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "But then the most important stakeholder of all the players are left in limbo like they were until the split season, players couldn't do simple things in January looking into the year ahead like book a holiday, commit to particular project in there job that requires some travel, know if they can attend family events all because they've absolutely no idea when they're club championship will be starting."
When I was a club player (first played adult championship in 95) played both hurling and football, I knew that if I didn't want to miss championship games that I shouldn't organise holidays etc in July, August or September but maybe just maybe if the county team were going well ye might be lucky but then again ye didn't want to miss County games either.

The club player now is in the same boat!, what's the difference? I don't get this argument, it's exactly the same, don't book anything for the same months it always was.

The whole limno argument never stacked up for me, particularly when you look at the amount of counties who literally still start their championships the same time they always did and the biggest inhibitor to the entire fixture calendar is the all ireland/provincial club championships which literally benefits 6 clubs only per county max including hurling and football

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1347 - 14/04/2024 22:10:18    2537855

Replying To Pikeman96:  "For about 55 minutes, I thought we had a great chance, particularly due to how we got back in front early in the second half after we'd conceded that first goal just before half-time. Pity about the way it worked out in the end.

I won't try claim that Louth didn't deserve the win, but I do think the seven-point margin flattered them a bit.

A good learning experience for our lads all the same, and hopefully a few big performances ahead in the Tailteann Cup."
Louth are bang average.

They had two very good players on the pitch today number 11 and number 25, Downey.

Whoever wins between themselves and Kildare are in for the mother of all beatings from Dublin.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 734 - 15/04/2024 00:33:26    2537878

Hard luck to wexford. They need to get urgently out of D4 to improve on yesterday

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 15/04/2024 08:09:22    2537887

Yeah Louth deserved the win, were very clinical and a bit more game savvy, guess that comes with operating at a higher level.

But the scoreline completely falttered them, the 2nd goal was a killer but still we fought back.

Very encouraging display I thought, a bit naive defensively but well in this game up until 60 odd minutes or so.

Good luck to Louth.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1347 - 15/04/2024 08:09:58    2537888

Replying To tearintom:  "When I was a club player (first played adult championship in 95) played both hurling and football, I knew that if I didn't want to miss championship games that I shouldn't organise holidays etc in July, August or September but maybe just maybe if the county team were going well ye might be lucky but then again ye didn't want to miss County games either.

The club player now is in the same boat!, what's the difference? I don't get this argument, it's exactly the same, don't book anything for the same months it always was.

The whole limno argument never stacked up for me, particularly when you look at the amount of counties who literally still start their championships the same time they always did and the biggest inhibitor to the entire fixture calendar is the all ireland/provincial club championships which literally benefits 6 clubs only per county max including hurling and football"
But you didn't know that. In '96, for example, you could have had a holiday any time in June, July, August or the first half of September, without missing a club championship match. Even if you'd wanted to be here to go to the Wexford matches, there was at least two weeks between each of them, so for example, you could have gone on the Monday of one week and come back any time up to the Saturday of the following week.

And anyone who chose not to go on holiday that year in the expectation of having club championship matches sometime in late July or August could have been sitting around at the end of August, thinking 'feck's sake, I could have gone on holidays after all'.

Back then, you didn't even know if you could go in June. If Wexford lost first round matches in hurling and football by the start of June, there'd probably have been club championship matches two weeks later.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2250 - 15/04/2024 10:25:15    2537939

Couldn't fault the effort yesterday and never threw in the towel, taught Malone, Coleman and Sean Nolan were the standouts, we'll be disappointed particularly with Louth's 2nd goal McEvoy ran in on goal from the 45 without a hand laid on him, the way Louth opened us up for the goal chances showed the gulf from mid range Divison 2 to lower end Division 3/ Division 4.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1739 - 15/04/2024 10:57:30    2537950

Louth left another goal or two behind them yesterday. I would agree with a poster above, I don't think they are any great shakes either. Our management in my opinion, are doing are great job,when you consider the standard of players they have to work with. It will be hard to fill the void when Ben, Kevin and the like of Glenn and greame retire but we are going in the right direction and anyone can see the team is far better this year then they were last year.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 943 - 15/04/2024 11:13:19    2537958

Will the county lads be allowed back to their clubs now for a week or two? Tailteann Cup doesn't start until the middle of May I think.

SunnySouthEast (Wexford) - Posts: 13 - 15/04/2024 11:22:07    2537963

Replying To gahfan:  "When is the Tailteann cup matches does anyone know please"
Starts May 11/12, other group games weekends of May 18/19 and June 1/2

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1739 - 15/04/2024 11:57:37    2537982

Replying To SunnySouthEast:  "Will the county lads be allowed back to their clubs now for a week or two? Tailteann Cup doesn't start until the middle of May I think."
May 11th. That's less than 4 weeks away.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11976 - 15/04/2024 12:02:59    2537987

Replying To Viking66:  "I didn't get the chance to go up, sick child, so I watched it on GAAGO. Turned out pretty much as I feared it would. Div2 teams attack the space inside the perimeter much faster than the teams we have been facing, with the exception of Laois. Will have been a great learning experience for our lads."
I don't want to seem negative but we have been taught the same lesson a few times now and we are not learning it. Everyone is trying to man mark and we end up leaving the space down the center. We need to work on always having a player mark that space so we don't leave ourselves open. Perhaps that is Furlong and he does less going forward. We get away with it against the weaker teams as we score more often and do not get turned over. The team plays good attractive football but its to take it forward now they may need help on their defensive structure.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 15/04/2024 14:46:30    2538096

Replying To zinny:  "I don't want to seem negative but we have been taught the same lesson a few times now and we are not learning it. Everyone is trying to man mark and we end up leaving the space down the center. We need to work on always having a player mark that space so we don't leave ourselves open. Perhaps that is Furlong and he does less going forward. We get away with it against the weaker teams as we score more often and do not get turned over. The team plays good attractive football but its to take it forward now they may need help on their defensive structure."
In fairness to Furlong himself play Malone play wing back with Pauric Hughes centre back.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1739 - 15/04/2024 14:53:34    2538101

Replying To zinny:  "I don't want to seem negative but we have been taught the same lesson a few times now and we are not learning it. Everyone is trying to man mark and we end up leaving the space down the center. We need to work on always having a player mark that space so we don't leave ourselves open. Perhaps that is Furlong and he does less going forward. We get away with it against the weaker teams as we score more often and do not get turned over. The team plays good attractive football but its to take it forward now they may need help on their defensive structure."
Agree we need to do something. A year or 2 back I suggested a sitting centre forward, and thought Glen Malone would be the man for the job. I now think himself and Furlong offer too much going forwards, so maybe someone else to sit between our 45 and their 65 in case of turnovers. This lad could drop into that space inside our defensive perimeter when our opponents are attacking. And be no further up the pitch than their 65 when we are attacking so he can get back in the event of us being turned over.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11976 - 15/04/2024 15:07:51    2538105