Wexford Inter County Football

Well done Wexford. All other little guys are shouting for fellow little guys - except when we are playing each other.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1004 - 04/06/2023 19:40:24    2484007

far the best team but struggled to put them away and if they had of scored the penelty who knows! are creating so many scoring chances in every game id love to know what our conversion rate is? the 2 midfielders deserve special mention, they covered some ground and caught some mighty balls, the subs made a big difference, they were all involved in game when they came on, offaly is a game to look forward to without any fear

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 04/06/2023 19:51:46    2484011

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "far the best team but struggled to put them away and if they had of scored the penelty who knows! are creating so many scoring chances in every game id love to know what our conversion rate is? the 2 midfielders deserve special mention, they covered some ground and caught some mighty balls, the subs made a big difference, they were all involved in game when they came on, offaly is a game to look forward to without any fear"
Probably in Tullamore?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12035 - 05/06/2023 13:39:00    2484163

Replying To Viking66:  "Probably in Tullamore?"
at 4 next sat in tullamore, a lovely ground

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 05/06/2023 15:57:05    2484174

Replying To Viking66:  "Probably in Tullamore?"
Yep, Tullamore on Saturday at 4pm

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 05/06/2023 16:45:25    2484188

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "far the best team but struggled to put them away and if they had of scored the penelty who knows! are creating so many scoring chances in every game id love to know what our conversion rate is? the 2 midfielders deserve special mention, they covered some ground and caught some mighty balls, the subs made a big difference, they were all involved in game when they came on, offaly is a game to look forward to without any fear"
Scoring chances 34 and 17 scores. So low % but Letrim had about the same. The concern is goals and I know teams are winning without scoring any but I feel at this level if you get the goals you will win the game. Goal chances will come on both sides as none of these teams play ultra defensive type games and therefore I think it will be down to whoever takes their goal chances.

The lads made the point after the game that its really only about a month since all the players have come back from injury and that togetherness is now beginning to work far be/er. Offaly are coming off a bad beating but I would expect them to respond to that and they will be favorites but for me it's up for grabs

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 05/06/2023 23:54:12    2484246

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "at 4 next sat in tullamore, a lovely ground"
It is!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12035 - 06/06/2023 08:07:06    2484265

we are 9/4 v offaly, thought it would have been 3/1

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 07/06/2023 18:12:09    2484819

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Brilliant win and a real sign of progress, congrats to all involved, away to Down, Offaly or Carlow next weekend I believe, couldn't make it myself due to family commitments."
surprised to see bealin is not in the mach day 26 for the offaly game!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 09/06/2023 12:06:18    2485100

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "surprised to see bealin is not in the mach day 26 for the offaly game!"
Maybe he picked up a knock? It's a strong team all the same! Looking forward to the game now hopefully the lads will get a result!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12035 - 09/06/2023 12:25:42    2485102

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe he picked up a knock? It's a strong team all the same! Looking forward to the game now hopefully the lads will get a result!"
It would be a surprise if that is the team that starts. Not that they all won't play as he will use his subs and early as I believe that they will want to play at a fast pace as they have done in the past and he will be saving something for the second half.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 09/06/2023 14:49:27    2485137

Was at the game last week but unfortunately can't make it this week good luck to everyone involved. Taught porter did a great job on beirne last week as well as Coleman. And the two hughes

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 09/06/2023 18:18:19    2485160

just looking at team and subs again i make it any of 23 could start tomorrow, fairness to him he has build a strong panel in a short space of time, surprised by liam o connors failure to get a run yet, was very impressed with him last year, him and turbitt would have been 2 lads id have had as automatic at start of the year

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 09/06/2023 18:22:40    2485161

Good look to the lads today. I like the look of the team and the subs bench is better by far than it was earlier in the year.
Hughes and Coleman form a really good midfield partnership. If only we could put away some of the goalscoring chances that we get we would almost certainly win more games.
However, we must be patient and give Hegarty time and space to develop this panel.
Beating Offaly would be huge today. They are ranked above us and will be favourites today.
If we win, great and if we lose but play with heart and passion I would be happy.
I came across a quotation in a book I'm reading at the moment and it is "Everyone has the will to win
but few have the will to prepare to win"

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 10/06/2023 11:18:04    2485236

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "just looking at team and subs again i make it any of 23 could start tomorrow, fairness to him he has build a strong panel in a short space of time, surprised by liam o connors failure to get a run yet, was very impressed with him last year, him and turbitt would have been 2 lads id have had as automatic at start of the year"
Form comes and goes I guess! In Tullamore now getting a bite to eat. looking forward to the game!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12035 - 10/06/2023 14:39:41    2485268

Replying To Magpie2:  "Good look to the lads today. I like the look of the team and the subs bench is better by far than it was earlier in the year.
Hughes and Coleman form a really good midfield partnership. If only we could put away some of the goalscoring chances that we get we would almost certainly win more games.
However, we must be patient and give Hegarty time and space to develop this panel.
Beating Offaly would be huge today. They are ranked above us and will be favourites today.
If we win, great and if we lose but play with heart and passion I would be happy.
I came across a quotation in a book I'm reading at the moment and it is "Everyone has the will to win
but few have the will to prepare to win""
Bobby Knight stole that line off Vince Lombardi! Well he paraphrased it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12035 - 10/06/2023 14:43:04    2485270

Replying To Viking66:  "Form comes and goes I guess! In Tullamore now getting a bite to eat. looking forward to the game!"
Fair play Viking yer a good man for the games enjoy and hopefully we win. Cant make it today but hopeful

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 10/06/2023 15:25:38    2485284

Replying To Viking66:  "Bobby Knight stole that line off Vince Lombardi! Well he paraphrased it."
Yes viking, it was Bobby Knight the highly successful basketball coach. 10/10 to you.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 10/06/2023 15:30:14    2485289

Great display from the lads, with the goal just before half-time the turning point. We continue to generate plenty of chances and kick good scores from play, with Nolan and Molloy prominent in that regard with 0-7 between them I think. Good to see Rossiter back to his best as well after a quiet championship to date, Dylan Furlong went very well too after his lay-off. Attacking subs all made an impact.

1-22 from play (our entire tally) is serious scoring- football would be a great product if every team played with a bit of abandon rather than the possession at all stakes tedium.

Only concern was how loose we looked in the full-back line in the first half, although we improved in that section in the second half. Great to have an extended run of meaningful games against comparable opposition though.

#WexfordRising

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 10/06/2023 17:37:10    2485311

Replying To beano:  "Great display from the lads, with the goal just before half-time the turning point. We continue to generate plenty of chances and kick good scores from play, with Nolan and Molloy prominent in that regard with 0-7 between them I think. Good to see Rossiter back to his best as well after a quiet championship to date, Dylan Furlong went very well too after his lay-off. Attacking subs all made an impact.

1-22 from play (our entire tally) is serious scoring- football would be a great product if every team played with a bit of abandon rather than the possession at all stakes tedium.

Only concern was how loose we looked in the full-back line in the first half, although we improved in that section in the second half. Great to have an extended run of meaningful games against comparable opposition though.

#WexfordRising"
Congratulations Wexford footballers, great display, great win. I certainly didn't see that one coming, few people did I'd say. Great to be prolonging the year for the county when all other (adult male) teams are gone. Wexford football abu, unless you meet Limerick, of course. I've a hunch that ye will be drawn against the mighty green and white.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1926 - 10/06/2023 17:43:56    2485314