Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To supersub15:  "CTGAA10 (Limerick) You say you watch rugby, full stop, You are correct when you say you are not an expert, in fact I would guess you know nothing about the game, an anonymous key board warrior. As for togoutlads (Galway) I wont go into his bla bla bla utterance I wouldn't waste ink on his type of elevated rubbish. you know as much about the game as a gold fish knows about roller skates.

We are very proud of this squad who put themselves out ther not only to entertain but to give people who know nothing about the game a opportunity to reticule them.

The same critics were saying we were depending on 3 or more non Irish born men to strengthen the team.

For the benefit of the uneducated Population of Ireland 4,88 million

Population of France 67.3 million.

The game was not as one sided as the score suggest, and Sam wont loose any sleep over nonsensical comments"
Did our population help us when previous Grand Slams? The game was way more one sided than the score suggests. A tough day for the young fly-half . Hopefully he'll learn from it. But he has a long long way to go before he can mentioned in the same breath as Johnny Sexton.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7815 - 09/03/2025 00:39:22    2595481

Replying To togoutlads:  "No, Sam won't lose sleep but Crowley might. He's getting repeatedly overlooked for the starting 10 jersey to a player who is patently not yet ready for the role ar this level. And re your baseless disparaging comments, I'll wager that I and my family have forgotten more about the game of rugby than you'll ever know. I'm entitled to comment and will. What I'm saying is certainly not nonsensical and the pro-Leinster disparity at all levels and IRFU over-support of same (to try and buy your province's way to a European title that still won't be won), is being talked about at grassroots level, at clubs up and down the country, one of which I was volunteering at, at 9am this morning, my Carlow keyboard friend!"
Ye are both talking guff. Ireland in Brian odriscoll words were lucky to lose by 15. The French lads were already contemplating pints and let Ireland walk in 2 tries at end to skew scorline.

But this lenister nonsense been favoured is because they are producing 95% of our best players and can you tell me who missing out on central contract who deserves one.

They are also changing it next season which will not be good for Ireland I feel.

Look at Connacht our best Irish born players in recent years are Prendergast Oliver young Murphy this season all Leinster produced.

His brother plays for ulster too. If we stifle what Leinster schools are doing it will prob be other 3 provinces most screwed.

If Max deegan Scott penny we're playing for other provinces there be complaints if they were not selected for Ireland

I'd also say omahony getting the long goodbye was just as wrong as preserving with Prendergast but that's ok as he's not a leinsterman.

He got caught out badly with his antics today hard man falling on his backside when barely touched

Izzachuku at ulster should have been given a go at 6 before his injury

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1384 - 09/03/2025 07:37:08    2595488

Replying To Bon:  "Well said. It's awful guff."
Irelands call and that Cranberries rubbish go hand in hand.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2259 - 09/03/2025 09:54:16    2595501

A rugby lesson for the chaps… Unless you're from Leinster or the Southern Hemisphere you have not much of a chance of getting on this supposedly Irish team…. The cocky fans won't be as quick to make fun of the opposition now like they did with the Welsh..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3554 - 09/03/2025 10:33:26    2595507

I didn't get to see the France-Ireland rugby match, but the gloating online comments from English rugby fans under the BBC's match report were full of, well, hate. It's a strong sort of hatred that has English blokes cheering on France over Ireland. It's not that long ago that yer average English fan would have been "cheering on the Paddies over the bloody Frogs". But, at least in rugby matters, Ireland now is seen as more arrogant than even the French. Traditionally, in soccer, English people have often ruefully wondered out loud why Scots and Irish will support anyone else against England, but some of the stuff I read yesterday stayed well beyond traditional sporting rivalry. "Anyone but Ireland" was the attitude; and it's so obvious how much of an increase there has bene in English xenophobia since 2016. Traditionally, the Brits were so over-confident that it made them pretty easy to live with socially (I lived in England for 15 years). They never saw us as a threat in anything, and had a condescending but friendly attitude. That's largely gone now, and they now sound as petty and as bad-tempered as any other losers. All of that hatred drivel comes from a sense of inferiority of course; and, overall, I would view that as a positive; so long as outsiders resent a team, it's still in reasonable shape.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 289 - 09/03/2025 10:41:54    2595509

Replying To Saynothing:  "Irelands call and that Cranberries rubbish go hand in hand."
And that Team Of Us carry on too...

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2183 - 09/03/2025 11:07:14    2595511

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "I didn't get to see the France-Ireland rugby match, but the gloating online comments from English rugby fans under the BBC's match report were full of, well, hate. It's a strong sort of hatred that has English blokes cheering on France over Ireland. It's not that long ago that yer average English fan would have been "cheering on the Paddies over the bloody Frogs". But, at least in rugby matters, Ireland now is seen as more arrogant than even the French. Traditionally, in soccer, English people have often ruefully wondered out loud why Scots and Irish will support anyone else against England, but some of the stuff I read yesterday stayed well beyond traditional sporting rivalry. "Anyone but Ireland" was the attitude; and it's so obvious how much of an increase there has bene in English xenophobia since 2016. Traditionally, the Brits were so over-confident that it made them pretty easy to live with socially (I lived in England for 15 years). They never saw us as a threat in anything, and had a condescending but friendly attitude. That's largely gone now, and they now sound as petty and as bad-tempered as any other losers. All of that hatred drivel comes from a sense of inferiority of course; and, overall, I would view that as a positive; so long as outsiders resent a team, it's still in reasonable shape."
There's a long tradition of 'neutrals' rooting for teams to get their Grand Slam busted, in fairness. No one wants the neighbours winning the lotto etc.

Watching a team's grand slam dreams go up in smoke is one of the joys of 5/6 nations, for a lot of 'neutral' fans. It gets all teams back on a more even keel, in supporters heads at least, which can be a comfort of sorts.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3998 - 09/03/2025 11:11:36    2595512

Replying To Bon:  "And that Team Of Us carry on too..."
And the words cross pollination good grief

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1384 - 09/03/2025 11:32:20    2595514

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "I didn't get to see the France-Ireland rugby match, but the gloating online comments from English rugby fans under the BBC's match report were full of, well, hate. It's a strong sort of hatred that has English blokes cheering on France over Ireland. It's not that long ago that yer average English fan would have been "cheering on the Paddies over the bloody Frogs". But, at least in rugby matters, Ireland now is seen as more arrogant than even the French. Traditionally, in soccer, English people have often ruefully wondered out loud why Scots and Irish will support anyone else against England, but some of the stuff I read yesterday stayed well beyond traditional sporting rivalry. "Anyone but Ireland" was the attitude; and it's so obvious how much of an increase there has bene in English xenophobia since 2016. Traditionally, the Brits were so over-confident that it made them pretty easy to live with socially (I lived in England for 15 years). They never saw us as a threat in anything, and had a condescending but friendly attitude. That's largely gone now, and they now sound as petty and as bad-tempered as any other losers. All of that hatred drivel comes from a sense of inferiority of course; and, overall, I would view that as a positive; so long as outsiders resent a team, it's still in reasonable shape."
I wouldn't lose any sleep worrying what the English think of us.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 372 - 09/03/2025 11:38:33    2595515

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A rugby lesson for the chaps… Unless you're from Leinster or the Southern Hemisphere you have not much of a chance of getting on this supposedly Irish team…. The cocky fans won't be as quick to make fun of the opposition now like they did with the Welsh..!"
Who exactly is missing from selection that should be there?

More nonsense talk

Frawley got an awful raw deal who does he play for?

Look at urc Munster getting hammered at home to Edinburgh.

Leinster would beat pick of other 3 provinces 9/10. The fact kelleher ringrose furlong were out didnt help yesterday.

Omahony well past his best getting picked on sentiment (as was Healy)

It's a population and schools issue that's not going to change.

There lads who won't make Leinster 23 that would be main men for other provinces.

We don't mind Munster blowing money on foreign centres last 15 years and not producing any decent Irish ones.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1384 - 09/03/2025 11:45:43    2595516

Replying To jm25:  "Who exactly is missing from selection that should be there?

More nonsense talk

Frawley got an awful raw deal who does he play for?

Look at urc Munster getting hammered at home to Edinburgh.

Leinster would beat pick of other 3 provinces 9/10. The fact kelleher ringrose furlong were out didnt help yesterday.

Omahony well past his best getting picked on sentiment (as was Healy)

It's a population and schools issue that's not going to change.

There lads who won't make Leinster 23 that would be main men for other provinces.

We don't mind Munster blowing money on foreign centres last 15 years and not producing any decent Irish ones."
Don't forget Lowe and Hansen were missing also.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1470 - 09/03/2025 12:01:40    2595517

Replying To Freethinker:  "Don't forget Lowe and Hansen were missing also."
Two of our non Irish…..!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3554 - 09/03/2025 13:25:44    2595529

Replying To Freethinker:  "Don't forget Lowe and Hansen were missing also."
Two of our non Irish…..!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3554 - 09/03/2025 13:37:12    2595533

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Two of our non Irish…..!!!"
The far right echo.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 09/03/2025 13:48:58    2595535

Replying To peiledoir20:  "The far right echo."
Far wrong in this case Hansen is Irish as could be

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1384 - 09/03/2025 14:40:27    2595543

Replying To jm25:  "Far wrong in this case Hansen is Irish as could be"
More Irish than some of them I agree but was born and brought up in Australia…. actually represented Australia first… so hardly as Irish as could be…!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3554 - 09/03/2025 15:01:06    2595546

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "More Irish than some of them I agree but was born and brought up in Australia…. actually represented Australia first… so hardly as Irish as could be…!!!"
People can be dual and more nationalities. Vwry natural these days for people to see themselves as from 2 even more than 2 countries.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3732 - 09/03/2025 18:06:21    2595591

Replying To KillingFields:  "People can be dual and more nationalities. Vwry natural these days for people to see themselves as from 2 even more than 2 countries."
Nothing natural about it…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3554 - 09/03/2025 18:51:08    2595601