Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To Malonemagic:  "He shouldn't be back for the semi. Until players start missing big games these melees will continue. Both teams were a disgrace today"
God forbid the his behaviour be encouraged. Imagine we will have youngsters looking at sean kelly and copying him by not engaging in fights or laying a hand on opponents off the field despite being pushed repeatedly. We can't have that

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/06/2022 18:05:00    2427679

Armagh will have to reconsider this fly-goalie nonsense. Made no appreciable difference during the game but made all the difference when it came to saving penalties and they had an out-fielder in goals.

Galway, same as the Roscommon game, lost focus and let Armagh back in. Roscommon lacked the skillset to punish them, Armagh nearly did. They won't get away with that a third time at the business end of the championship.

The difference between the sides made for a fascinating contest. Galway had lovely footballers but were soft; they ceded the middle third to Armagh in their rush to get back to defend with the end result being Armagh players where getting within shooting distance before a glove was being laid on them. That'll have to be looked at.

Armagh had decent footballer with magnificent physicality. The problem with that is there's a fine line between physical and dirty and the red card says it all. To be honest I think they were lucky to finish regular time with 14. Some lads on this forum seem determined to equate normal physicality which we saw from both teams, with flat out dirty play. That's ye're choice, but I think the majority know the difference.

A fascinating contest by two great teams. Hard luck Armagh.

Gaillimh go deo!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/06/2022 18:08:44    2427680

Replying To updwell:  "Weren't Galway doing a lot of diving though and Walsh on the ground was punching an Armagh man several times and get away with it. I know your a bit excited but you don't have to be ignorant."
Arra stop. Walsh was targeted the whole game, and while both players would normally have got a yellow for that, that would have reduced Armagh to 13 as their man was already carded, and I think the ref was giving Walsh a little latitude after been felled off the ball ten minutes earlier with no consequence to the Armagh player who took him out.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/06/2022 18:11:34    2427682

Replying To giveitlong:  "I don't recall galway being involved in too many of these incidents over the years."
I'd love to be a fly on the wall at a hearings meeting if that statement was mentioned.

"What's your defence?"

"I don't recall Galway being involved in too many of these incidents over the years."

Some disgraceful behaviour on both sides, with some incidents worse than others, especially the cowardly eye gouge. But I definitely saw a Galway man with a bib throw a right hook that Conor McGregor would have been proud of.

My guess is that the CCCC will bottle it and there will be very few sanctions on either side.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 26/06/2022 18:12:39    2427683

Replying To Peadarw:  "hes an animal of a man to be fair . .delighted for galway but gonna be cheering on derry come the semi lol definetly haveto watch the high ball in that game"
We have serious issues under the high ball

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/06/2022 18:14:27    2427685

Hard luck to armagh, I love there attacking style and physical edge to them very unlucky to lose on penos, congrats to galway they were probably the better team overall and will be hard to beat from here, the eye gauging incident was despicable and the culprit will rightfully get a long ban, overall it was a great game of football the best I've seen in quite a while.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 26/06/2022 18:18:32    2427689

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Armagh should not be singled out and blamed here. A few decisions went against them during the game and as many Galway fellas were swinging and throwing digs. There will be the usual element who will try and castigate the Ulster team."
True to form. I'm surprised that you didn't mention Spillane, RTE and or the Dublin based media.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2022 18:27:35    2427695

Congrats Galway, that was really special. Genuine hard luck to Armagh, it was a super contest.
Hope McGeaney stays on as manager.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 26/06/2022 18:28:06    2427696

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Armagh should not be singled out and blamed here. A few decisions went against them during the game and as many Galway fellas were swinging and throwing digs. There will be the usual element who will try and castigate the Ulster team."
What game were you watching are are you colour blind. Armagh were wearing orange. Did Shane Walsh just lie down because he was tired. Call a spade a spade whether it]s an Ulster team or not.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2011 - 26/06/2022 18:29:25    2427697

That's some chip on the shoulder you have there. How Coldrick didn't see fit to give Morgan a 2nd yellow only he knows.
It's obviously inconvenient for your argument, but plenty of other Ulster poeple can see what Armagh were at. Instead, here you are with your usual Southern conspiracy bs...

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 26/06/2022 18:30:58    2427698

Replying To Malonemagic:  "He shouldn't be back for the semi. Until players start missing big games these melees will continue. Both teams were a disgrace today"
He deserves to have his case looked at fairly. I think he will be cleared.
Excellent player and leader. His red card was just a formality to let the game continue.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 26/06/2022 18:31:10    2427699

Replying To Peadarw:  "could see this game turning ugly if armagh go a few points down
allready a couply of dirty tackles/pushes in the back from them some cynical stuff going on"
How right you were...you could see it coming as ref gradually lost control when Galway were 5 or 6 up

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 26/06/2022 18:55:58    2427704

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "He deserves to have his case looked at fairly. I think he will be cleared.
Excellent player and leader. His red card was just a formality to let the game continue."
Can you explain how after a free for all takes place, giving an apparently innocent man a red card was a formality to let the game continue?

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 26/06/2022 18:58:59    2427706

The player who threw the right hook from Galway deserves praise,it was some at eye gouger..I'd usually say he shouldn't seek revenge but right in my mind today..have to admit don't know how Kelly and Armagh 13 were singled out..looking forward to hear how this will be dealt with..it's a pity Armagh seem to get involved in this shi.. because they have decent footballers..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 26/06/2022 19:00:35    2427708

what a game. Fair play to both teams but shame on those who disgraced themselves at the end of full time. I didn't see what the 2 lads did that got red-carded. In fact I could clearly see Sean Kelly trying to be a peace-maker.
I thought a few Armagh players over-stepped the mark during the game.. James Morgan for one was lucky to be still on the pitch. Did anyone see who instigated the melee. It looked like they had it in for Comer. One Armagh guy who was not togged out attempted to gouge him. Whoever he is , he should receive a lenghty ban.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2022 19:06:11    2427712

Replying To festinog:  "Armagh will have to reconsider this fly-goalie nonsense. Made no appreciable difference during the game but made all the difference when it came to saving penalties and they had an out-fielder in goals.

Galway, same as the Roscommon game, lost focus and let Armagh back in. Roscommon lacked the skillset to punish them, Armagh nearly did. They won't get away with that a third time at the business end of the championship.

The difference between the sides made for a fascinating contest. Galway had lovely footballers but were soft; they ceded the middle third to Armagh in their rush to get back to defend with the end result being Armagh players where getting within shooting distance before a glove was being laid on them. That'll have to be looked at.

Armagh had decent footballer with magnificent physicality. The problem with that is there's a fine line between physical and dirty and the red card says it all. To be honest I think they were lucky to finish regular time with 14. Some lads on this forum seem determined to equate normal physicality which we saw from both teams, with flat out dirty play. That's ye're choice, but I think the majority know the difference.

Gaillimh go deo!"
Very well done to Galway, although ye did yer damdest to let Armagh back in. Galway have superb score takers all over the field. If Mayo had even two of yer forwards that Kerry game would have been much tighter.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 26/06/2022 19:06:12    2427713

Rubbish , im a Down and Ulster man, reguardless where the thuggery comes from it needs to be called out,

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 26/06/2022 19:06:41    2427715

Fantastic game, awful way to lose it. Both teams out on their feet and think both teams deseved another go at it, but the new calendar doesnt allow for it.
Fair play to P Joyce for his comments.

Thought we started well in the first half and should have got further ahead. Galway the better side in the 2nd half and we were fortunate with some soft goals while Rian showed nerves of steel for the leveller.

I dont mind a bit of shouldering and rough and tumble. Both teams threw a few slaps. However what one of our lads done with they eye gauge was absolutely disgusting. He could have blinded the Galway player. Hope he gets a long ban and if he is anything about him he will have looked for Comer after to apologize.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 32 - 26/06/2022 19:07:23    2427716

Replying To kingpuck71:  "I'd love to be a fly on the wall at a hearings meeting if that statement was mentioned.

"What's your defence?"

"I don't recall Galway being involved in too many of these incidents over the years."

Some disgraceful behaviour on both sides, with some incidents worse than others, especially the cowardly eye gouge. But I definitely saw a Galway man with a bib throw a right hook that Conor McGregor would have been proud of.

My guess is that the CCCC will bottle it and there will be very few sanctions on either side."
What's the defence when it's a Ulster team? Everyone is out to get us? It's never our fault?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 26/06/2022 19:12:54    2427719

Replying To festinog:  "Armagh will have to reconsider this fly-goalie nonsense. Made no appreciable difference during the game but made all the difference when it came to saving penalties and they had an out-fielder in goals.

Gaillimh go deo!"
I disagree totally with your assesment of Ethan Rafferty's role. I thought he had an excellent game and was good under the high ball (unlike the Galway keeper). He also instigated some good attacks. It wasn't his fault that 2 of his team-mates failed to hit the target from the penalty spot. The Galway keeper didn't make any penalty saves either.
I thought Galway were the better team and deserved to win.Shane Walsh immense again despite being rough-housed the whole game. Sean Kelly and Killian McDaid great too along with many others.
Hopefully it's a decent semi-final v Derry.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2022 19:13:49    2427720