Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To Saynothing:  "True, I think Rian moved ball in two strips of grass which is about 12 yards. Yet ref made Morgan move ball back a foot last year v Kerry and he was miles from goal. Said it before all forwards get away stealing yards wether it be yards closer to goal or opening up angle of shot closer in. Time for the shaving foam."
As I said already, linesman is Jerome Henry from Mayo, enough said. And also where was the mark taken from just after half time, he must have walked 10yds to in front of the posts.

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 29/06/2022 12:54:19    2428601

Anyone explain to me where he got 8minutes injury time from ?

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 29/06/2022 14:02:44    2428629

Replying To BLT:  "Anyone explain to me where he got 8minutes injury time from ?"
Or the 2 minutes of stoppage time at end of first half ET!?

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 29/06/2022 14:18:42    2428640

Good to see some posters and commentators highlighting the hypocrisy of some counties and fans who are no strangers to melees themselves. Thankfully some are also acknowledging that there is an element within the GAA and media who salivate and whip themselves into a frenzy over Northern counties. This can no longer be dismissed and ignored.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 29/06/2022 14:30:25    2428643

Replying To hashtag2017:  "As I said already, linesman is Jerome Henry from Mayo, enough said. And also where was the mark taken from just after half time, he must have walked 10yds to in front of the posts."
A couple of points.

1. I don't think Rian O Neill brought the ball in that much ...and in any case whatever bit he brought it in the ball easily cleared the bar by the same amount. Some kick in fairness.

2. The mark was an absolute joke. Its something that is not policed and we have seen Shane Walsh steal a few yards in recent games, but in this case the complete p*** was pulled. Having said that I would have expected that it would have been pointed anyway , even if he kicked from the correct position.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 29/06/2022 14:36:35    2428649

Replying To Breffni1969:  "TK was a big man in the incident with Comer. Now he's getting flack for it on Social media.
Well he needs to be a bigger man and take the flack and the punishment that might go with it. Whatever suspension he gets should not be allowed to appeal.
The rest of the sh@@e was handbags stuff."
Well if he is not allowed appeal then the rule book is null and void, the rule book clearly states that 1. if a penalty/suspension is proposed by the CCCC it may be accepted or rejected and appealed to the Hearings committee, 2. if a penalty is imposed by the Hearings committee then an appeal can be lodged to the Appeals Committee and 3. if a penalty is imposed by the appeals committee it can further sent for arbitration by the suspended player to the Disputes Resolution Authority.
Certainly he should not get off but not allowing an appeal would be a dangerous step simply because the GAA would be setting a precedent by ignoring their own rule book. Sure the rule book should be amended and less avenues to appeal allowed going forward but too late for this case.
I agree most of the goings-on not serious but didn't look good. However I think the one or two players that insist on shouldering opponents in the back as they leave the field and lead to flare-ups should be dealt with.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 682 - 29/06/2022 14:42:21    2428651

Replying To StopTheLights:  "It'd be great to see Gleeson take ownership of the small square and put his sportsmanship classes on hold for a few weeks!!!
Any player, (friend or foe) coming into the small square should be aware of what's in store.
Pat Comer and Martin Mac owned that small square. If you drifted in there you would suffer the consequences.
Short kickouts are stressful to watch........
Gleeson doesn't like taking them and the defenders want no part of it."
The rules have changed StopTheLights, since Mac & Comer were on the goaline. In their era, you only had players allowed in the square as the ball was breaking the plane of the square. Different ballgame entirely last Sunday, with players entering the square, and getting onto the goaline area legitimately, after the long punt was kicked, and being in exactly the same position as the keeper essentially, to make a play on the dropping ball.

Presumably nowadays, if current day 'Macs & Comers' make attacking players 'suffer the consequences' before the ball drops from the sky, they will be conceding penalties, especially if 'Jerome' is around, and there are Mountbell-yah fellas in the vicinity.

I seem to recall Mac throwing one in the goal below in Sligo some 20-25 years ago! Cost us the win on the day I recall, but won a replay. Perhaps he was so busy dishing out 'consequences' to players who dared encroach his patch as you say, that he forgot to catch the ball & dropped it behind his goaline.

When Mac was replaced by Alan Keane in 2001, Galway improved enormously under the high ball in our box. Even if Alan Keane was in Croker the last day, and went in goal in his civvies for those minutes where we conceded, you'd feel certain that he'd have kept a clean sheet. He was that solid in 2001, in that key aspect of the goalkeeping game. A variation on fielding 'the man with long trousers', if you like!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 29/06/2022 14:46:00    2428653

Replying To BLT:  "Anyone explain to me where he got 8minutes injury time from ?"
Tierney injury was about 2 mins, Walsh was another 2 mins. Galway didn't make a sub until injury time, Armagh made a few subs.

There was a few other injuries but think Coldrick let play go on unless I forgot some?

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2022 15:04:24    2428659

If memory serves I was fairly certain mackin got injured in training. It was great to see him back on Sunday and hopefully he will kick on next season

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 29/06/2022 15:21:03    2428661

Replying To hashtag2017:  "As I said already, linesman is Jerome Henry from Mayo, enough said. And also where was the mark taken from just after half time, he must have walked 10yds to in front of the posts."
Was it not Devenney?

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 29/06/2022 15:43:08    2428677

Replying To TheBishop:  "Tierney injury was about 2 mins, Walsh was another 2 mins. Galway didn't make a sub until injury time, Armagh made a few subs.

There was a few other injuries but think Coldrick let play go on unless I forgot some?"
By the time the equalizer was kicked as well as the resulting kick-out, 10 mins injury time had elapsed!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 29/06/2022 16:06:25    2428683

Replying To galwayman2:  "Was it not Devenney?"
4th Official

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 29/06/2022 16:34:41    2428689

Replying To JP91:  "If memory serves I was fairly certain mackin got injured in training. It was great to see him back on Sunday and hopefully he will kick on next season"
That's what I thought and heard too. Few posters here saying it was during melee with Donegal which I'm only hearing for first time now. I'm not sure which is true.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 29/06/2022 17:16:49    2428693

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He has to shoulder a lot of the blame though. He could have seriously damaged Damien Comer's eye, battered his eye in effect. He was a lucky boy that Damien didn't get a hold of him. What type of melee was it in seriousness? Looked very bad because it was live on RTE and the likes of Virgin Media trying to have a trial by media last night trying to portray a culture of 'violence' in the GAA. Shame on them. Maybe Armagh lose home advantage for a league season. I respect your opinion Eoinóg but in this case losing home advantage for 3 years league and championship is an excessive punishment."
Thought it ironic hearing the presenter of TONIGHT on VM1 repeatedly stating "This kind of behaviour only happens in the GAA" .. Ex President Liam O Neill and Dick Clerkin we're too polite to remind her that her colleague in the Sports department missed out on a Lions tour after eye gouging the current Leinster coach Leo Cullen . Her spin went unchallenged and some viewers later tweeted it as fact.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 29/06/2022 18:01:20    2428709

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
Replying To WeGoAgain:  "[quote=Tom1916:  "This is incorrect - The Irish News on 27 may 2022 had an article about him missing the game with the following quote

"The 23-year-old from the Shane O'Neill's club in Camlough was sidelined after his right eye was damaged in an off-the-ball incident in the aftermath of Armagh's round seven Division One loss against Donegal in Letterkenny. A second surgery on the injury was successful but Mackin will play no further part in Armagh's Championship campaign which continues on June 5 with an All-Ireland Qualifier against Tyrone.""
Well I don't know who is right and who is wrong so. Aaron Kernan said on a podcast with Colm Parkinson that Mackin would not play in the Ballybofey game against Donegal because he was injured in training when attempting to block a ball. He clearly got this information from within the squad. The only thing he was unsure of was whether or not Mackin appealed his suspension or didn't bother because he was injured anyway."
Have you a link to that podcast? I thought I heard Kernan say something similar on the DL Debate on Highland Radio."]Sorry, I can't link that pod as it's a Patreon one. I think I remember the DL Debate you mean too as Brendan often has Aaron on it and I definitely heard that training injury story a few times.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 29/06/2022 18:29:21    2428713

Such a shame that the game of the year has been reduced to one incident of, lets face it, thuggery, by someone who didn't even play.

The lad has reached out to the Galway camp to apologize. The evidence is there for the GAA to decide disciplinary measures which I sincerely hope are measured, appropriate, and just. This trial by social media is one of the many reasons I have very little to do with any of those sites. It almost has me sorry for the Armagh lad in question who you'd swear murdered someone from the way it's being discussed.

I hope the Galway lads have moved on and switched their phones off. They have a bigger game ahead and that's where the focus should be at this stage.

My last word on this topic, fair play to many from Armagh and Galway on this forum who have shown great maturity in the discussion.

Oh, and yer man from Monaghan, we're still waiting for you to admit you got it spectacularly wrong there. Whenever you're ready....

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/06/2022 18:30:53    2428714

Replying To tommy k:  "By the time the equalizer was kicked as well as the resulting kick-out, 10 mins injury time had elapsed!"
About the same as the 2018 Hurling Final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/06/2022 19:46:22    2428728

Replying To daytona11:  "You would love that. Nothing to see here kind of stuff.

I didn't find anything offensive during the row but the gouging was a horrible act and needs to be dealt with. A proper ban with no recourse is the only way to deal with that. His club need to stop deflecting form the actions. If they aren't going to condemn the gouging say nothing at all.

The hit off the ball on Walsh was a red card all day long. We need a citing committee. Lads need to know that if they get away with it during a game they will be citied.

Thankfully football won out on Sunday in the end."
Why would i love that?

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 29/06/2022 20:58:25    2428741

Replying To BLT:  "Comer may have started it but based on the crazy rule of "contributing to a melee", he can't get any retrospective ban. A lot of Armagh lads could though. Deplorable behaviour by their subs and non togging subs. Even people involved with the team doing far too much pushing and shoving.

I think the worst piece of the weekend was the fact that Sean Cavanagh was on the Sunday Game talking about sanctions etc. This is the same chap who the GAA brought in a new rule on the back of his rugby tackle on Conor McManus."
Asking the question. Out of interest why do you think the " contributing to a melee " is a crazy rule?

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 29/06/2022 21:50:18    2428744

Replying To fielder:  "That's what I thought and heard too. Few posters here saying it was during melee with Donegal which I'm only hearing for first time now. I'm not sure which is true."
Pretty sure it had nothing to do with the pushing match in Donegal.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 29/06/2022 22:02:22    2428746