Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To togoutlads:  "Hard luck to Mayo. A great first half performance and an almost inexplicable implosion in the second half. Connacht teams' obsession with the league this year has bitten us all. Nothing to show for any of us."
Not much between Roscommon, Mayo and Galway but a lot between any of them and the top teams Dublin and Kerry. We might have a wait in the West for Sam to cross the Shannon. 22 years and counting.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 02/07/2023 21:21:27    2491571

Fairplay to Dublin, better team today and still one of the top teams along with Kerry.
Mayo were well bet but didnt help themselves. O Hora was off the pace from the start, how they started him i do not know, Ruane was poor all day, did the 2 of them miss last weekend due to illness? They should not have started today.
First half was a good contest, maybe Mayo were better team but like previous Dublin games, Mayo went in a point down.
Mayo gave away 2 bad goals, as i said already O Hora should not have started and Callinan is young and will learn but its a tough place to be learning.
Kickouts were poor again, mayo players out the field standing still calling for it, they have to be moving and go for it like they actually want the ball not half going for it.
Aidan O Shea not used properly again, a good kickout option and let high ball into the square, he will either win or break any high ball so another bad call by management.

This was this managements first year so you have to hope they are building for next year, but today they were found out, bad tactically and with subs.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 02/07/2023 21:44:06    2491579

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to the dubs…beat us all over the field. All the best going forward. We can have no complaints."
Commiserations to yourself and the Mayo lads here.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 02/07/2023 22:08:00    2491591

Replying To tommy132:  "Fairplay to Dublin, better team today and still one of the top teams along with Kerry.
Mayo were well bet but didnt help themselves. O Hora was off the pace from the start, how they started him i do not know, Ruane was poor all day, did the 2 of them miss last weekend due to illness? They should not have started today.
First half was a good contest, maybe Mayo were better team but like previous Dublin games, Mayo went in a point down.
Mayo gave away 2 bad goals, as i said already O Hora should not have started and Callinan is young and will learn but its a tough place to be learning.
Kickouts were poor again, mayo players out the field standing still calling for it, they have to be moving and go for it like they actually want the ball not half going for it.
Aidan O Shea not used properly again, a good kickout option and let high ball into the square, he will either win or break any high ball so another bad call by management.

This was this managements first year so you have to hope they are building for next year, but today they were found out, bad tactically and with subs."
I genuinely think playing Galway last week caught up with Mayo today. The second half the Dubs were upping the gears but Mayo just had nothing left to keep with them.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/07/2023 22:20:11    2491594

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "I genuinely think playing Galway last week caught up with Mayo today. The second half the Dubs were upping the gears but Mayo just had nothing left to keep with them."
I dont think so. Mayo played Dublin 4 years ago and it was an almost identical scenario, except they went in 2 points up in that game. The 2nd half was the same outcome as today. Got to hand it to the Dubs, they are almost unstoppable when they get going in the 2nd half. (with the exception of Kerry).

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/07/2023 23:16:49    2491611

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "A 19 to 21 point swing there Chief! Dont bother sending the CV into Paddy Power!"
Not sure what you mean!!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 02/07/2023 23:22:51    2491613

Let's be honest, mayo died in 2017.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 03/07/2023 01:28:23    2491626

Glad to see Mayo and Armagh beaten after the dirt they dished out to Sean Kelly in consecutive matches. Thuggery and "tough man syndrome" should never be rewarded!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 03/07/2023 08:50:30    2491642

Replying To cluichethar:  "Congratulations to Dublin on an excellent win.
Now.
This game goes was a total excrement display by Mayo, Management and Players. O'Shea the only player winning any ball up front is taken off. Players taking the ball into cover and losing it. Going direct looked like an option but was used enough. Just a horrible display. 4 games in a row that our forwards underperformed unfortunately I expect when the league starts again in January the same players will be playing. At least my weekends from now on won't carry the same anxiety.
I think McStay and his back room team can now start working on having a plan B because it's obvious not f*****g up plan A isn't a good plan B.
What a horrible display to end our championship."
As a neutral looking in I felt sorry for O'Shea. He was winning ball up front and I thought playing fairly well for the team and taking him off early seemed like a bad call. You needed a goal to get back into game and I thought with O'Shea catching balls and laying them off this may have produced a goal chance. Did McStay do this just take off Mayo's mosthigh profile player just to the gallery a bit. He seems to be often made a bit of a scapegoat.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 03/07/2023 09:24:37    2491652

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "I genuinely think playing Galway last week caught up with Mayo today. The second half the Dubs were upping the gears but Mayo just had nothing left to keep with them."
Tommy132 has all valid points. I think AOS was involved in every score in the first half and was the only option for kick-outs so I couldn't fathom why he was taken off.

Mayo were never going to win an AI this year, there was hype after the league and Kerry game but i think most close followers knew this was not going to be the year - I just don't think we expected a collapse like yesterday and I can't figure out why it went so bad.

But a few things went against us yesterday. We went in a point down at HT, it could easily have been a point up or even 2. The second goal was awful to concede and the goal chance we created was fluffed. A few things like that go against you against a top team and instead of it being a 2-3 point defeat its a hammering.

As for the tiredness - I don't know. I don't want to be using any excuses and if tiredness was a factor its our own fault anyway for not finishing Cork off which would have given us the extra week. But there were similarities between the Mayo and Tyrone performances.

Back to the drawing board for McStay and Roch. CB and midfield are the 2 positions that come to mind as problems. Mattie Ruanes form has seriously dipped from the high of 2 years ago - anyone know why?

Can't see anything other than a Kerry Dublin final and assuming that happens I'll be cheering the Dubs. Best of luck to Monaghan, it would be a fairy tale story. As for Derry - good luck to them too. But I can't see the ultra defensive structure working against Kerry, forwards are too good.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2023 09:25:19    2491654

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Brave move by McStay and the selectors to make so many changes before a big game. If you can keep Con O' Callaghan to a couple of points I think ye will do it, as Kilkenny, Rock and a couple of other players are no longer the players they once were. However they are capable of rising to the occasion as they have proved in the past. You would not want to get ahead of yourselves however as Galway were very unlucky with injuries on Sunday and missed a clear goal chance. The Mayo draw will motivate Dublin and ensure that the missing Dublin supporters will reappear. It should be a great atmosphere.
Best of luck from a Rossie.
Question: If Dublin and Kerry both win, will they be kept apart for the semi final? Only asking!!!"
"If you can keep O'Callaghan to a couple of points I think ye can do it" LOL, Con just got the two yesterday but Dubs cantered home not surprised as without knowing the stats I'd say Dubs have the most different scorers in this year's championship, 9 different players from play yesterday and probably about 15 so far this year.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 03/07/2023 09:38:27    2491657

Replying To tommy k:  "Glad to see Mayo and Armagh beaten after the dirt they dished out to Sean Kelly in consecutive matches. Thuggery and "tough man syndrome" should never be rewarded!"
Ah listen, one player did that to Sean Kelly, not a whole team. Other excellent players like Tommy Conroy and many others on the Mayo team are gents. I'm sorry to see them go now but I suppose there was no doubting the result yesterday. That's a resurgent Dublin team. I heard it back in the winter that they were fully set on going for it this year and felt they could topple Kerry. Time will tell.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 03/07/2023 09:42:56    2491663

Replying To bdbuddah:  "As a neutral looking in I felt sorry for O'Shea. He was winning ball up front and I thought playing fairly well for the team and taking him off early seemed like a bad call. You needed a goal to get back into game and I thought with O'Shea catching balls and laying them off this may have produced a goal chance. Did McStay do this just take off Mayo's mosthigh profile player just to the gallery a bit. He seems to be often made a bit of a scapegoat."
We're all struggling with that decision bdbuddah. He was playing a great game. But the game was lost on that decision

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2023 09:48:29    2491667

o'hora found out at this level, can't think of any good game hes played bar dublin game in 2021 in a big game. not sure what the story is with mcloughlin missing sitters also, not just goals but easy tap over points, seems to try and hit them as hard as possible. less pushing carry on and more concentrating on technique for him next year

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 03/07/2023 09:56:00    2491672

Replying To Cbar:  "We're all struggling with that decision bdbuddah. He was playing a great game. But the game was lost on that decision"
Ye happy with McStay now?
Will Rochford be thrown under the Bus now ala O'Donnell 2016?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 03/07/2023 10:26:03    2491695

Mayo had a bad day yesrderday but tbf the Dubs were excellent yesterday with Fenton Mccarthy and Basquel and Costello on fire. Easy to knock Mayo but that's wrong. Mayo are league champions and that s no easy feat. Very easy to kick a team when they re down. Mayo can hold their head up high.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 03/07/2023 10:28:36    2491697

Replying To togoutlads:  "Ah listen, one player did that to Sean Kelly, not a whole team. Other excellent players like Tommy Conroy and many others on the Mayo team are gents. I'm sorry to see them go now but I suppose there was no doubting the result yesterday. That's a resurgent Dublin team. I heard it back in the winter that they were fully set on going for it this year and felt they could topple Kerry. Time will tell."
Mayo have a number of players like that - Reape, the O'Connors, O'Donoghue etc. but its not helping their cause one iota!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 03/07/2023 10:38:37    2491705

Oh well lads we aren't at the level we want to be, I didn't think we were to be honest but I thought we would keep it tighter than that. The old 3rd quarter nightmare scenario can true and fair play to the dubs some of their lads really stud up to be counted saying that I don't even think we saw them at their full potential which could see them really flying should they get to the final. I think maybe they will get a sterner test in their semi final than what they got yesterday. I think the writing was on the wall in the first half the mayo back line were struggling to contain Dublin and maybe lacked the intensity needed which showed up big time second half. Plenty of lessons for the young mayo players to learn after that should show them where they need to get to if they want to be winning Sam, also some players with plenty of experience not showing their potential either will surely know they have much work to do. Naivety has creeped back into the mayo team which needs sorting out. Hopefully management and the players start working on that process for next year and we can hopefully improve our performance.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 03/07/2023 11:03:37    2491717

Replying To Cbar:  "We're all struggling with that decision bdbuddah. He was playing a great game. But the game was lost on that decision"
I agree with you re AOS, crazy decision to take him off esp so early (maybe the stats man decided) he was winning ball, laying it off well and was a problem for Dublin fb line, was also coming out winning ball at midfield. lots more could have gone instead of him ie Ruane, Flynn, Mcloughlin so big mistake by McStay imo, id say Farrell was happy.

What bothered me most in the defeat was the lack of aggression, and the savage will to win a match, that Mayo showed in the 2nd half, they were bullied all over the pitch in the 2nd half. When Boyle, Higgins, SOS, Lee, Chris Barrett etc were playing, lots of things went wrong in matches but them teams always fought, gave and took bigs hits and took on the opposition,. Yesterday's team looked a bit like Mayo teams before James Horan took over, nice players but a bit soft, not interested once Dublin upped the physical stakes. Maybe they were tired after the Galway match, and just hadn't the energy, hope that was the case. Some good memories of the season though and we'ill be back on the road in 24

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 03/07/2023 11:24:44    2491730

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Ye happy with McStay now?
Will Rochford be thrown under the Bus now ala O'Donnell 2016?"
I can only speak for myself but I'm happy with McStays first year in charge. OK I disagree with that decision but I'll hardly call for his head for that.

Yesterday was a bad day at the office but overall this wasn't a bad year for Mayo football all things considered. Mayo were never going to win an AI this year and any talk to the contrary was rubbish.

What do other Mayo people think here? McStays first year

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2023 11:49:20    2491746