Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To 1951andwaiting:  "I agree with you re AOS, crazy decision to take him off esp so early (maybe the stats man decided) he was winning ball, laying it off well and was a problem for Dublin fb line, was also coming out winning ball at midfield. lots more could have gone instead of him ie Ruane, Flynn, Mcloughlin so big mistake by McStay imo, id say Farrell was happy.

What bothered me most in the defeat was the lack of aggression, and the savage will to win a match, that Mayo showed in the 2nd half, they were bullied all over the pitch in the 2nd half. When Boyle, Higgins, SOS, Lee, Chris Barrett etc were playing, lots of things went wrong in matches but them teams always fought, gave and took bigs hits and took on the opposition,. Yesterday's team looked a bit like Mayo teams before James Horan took over, nice players but a bit soft, not interested once Dublin upped the physical stakes. Maybe they were tired after the Galway match, and just hadn't the energy, hope that was the case. Some good memories of the season though and we'ill be back on the road in 24"
You're spot on "51andwaiting". Horan brought that steel to Mayo teams that we never had before. I wouldn't judge McStay purely on yesterday but can't fall back to that

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2023 12:38:25    2491773

From a total outsider's perspective, this year and particularly the loss v. Dublin signal to me the end of an era and some of the great runs Mayo had in the last 6/8 years. I think it was inevitable that Mayo would creep back a bit and show signs of a conflicted team of lads finishing out their careers mixed with younger lads trying to pick up the mantle. The results of those mixtures are usually a year or two of unpredictability and thats what we are seeing now. The talent is still there to be very competitive, although Mayo have slipped back in the pecking order. Keep the faith.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 03/07/2023 12:48:49    2491778

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "A 19 to 21 point swing there Chief! Dont bother sending the CV into Paddy Power!"
Ooops how will I sleep tonight

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 03/07/2023 13:10:55    2491788

Replying To Cbar:  "I can only speak for myself but I'm happy with McStays first year in charge. OK I disagree with that decision but I'll hardly call for his head for that.

Yesterday was a bad day at the office but overall this wasn't a bad year for Mayo football all things considered. Mayo were never going to win an AI this year and any talk to the contrary was rubbish.

What do other Mayo people think here? McStays first year"
I thought we would get relegated being honest. So league champions and a 1/4 final appearance would be a decent enough year on paper. But losing at home to Roscommon, that Louth performance and Cork defeat after a great win in Killarney really leaves a sour taste. That 2nd half yesterday was an absolute car crash. We are a million miles away from winning an all Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 03/07/2023 13:22:16    2491797

Replying To Cbar:  "I can only speak for myself but I'm happy with McStays first year in charge. OK I disagree with that decision but I'll hardly call for his head for that.

Yesterday was a bad day at the office but overall this wasn't a bad year for Mayo football all things considered. Mayo were never going to win an AI this year and any talk to the contrary was rubbish.

What do other Mayo people think here? McStays first year"
They lost half of their 6 championship matches and beat Louth by one point. How could anyone be happy with that?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 03/07/2023 13:50:15    2491818

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Is that Dolly's young fella?

I'll get my coat?"
Hope it's a warm coat. It'll be yet another long winter in Mayo.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 03/07/2023 14:00:41    2491837

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought we would get relegated being honest. So league champions and a 1/4 final appearance would be a decent enough year on paper. But losing at home to Roscommon, that Louth performance and Cork defeat after a great win in Killarney really leaves a sour taste. That 2nd half yesterday was an absolute car crash. We are a million miles away from winning an all Ireland."
We're miles from an AI - but that's not McStays fault. And yes I suppose that's what I am focusing on - QF exit to probable finalists / possible AI winners and League champions. The win in in Salthill however lucky it was, was a big result.

But for me McStay has to have at least another year before I will start to judge him. People talk about Murphy leaving Donegal and the impact that had - we just went through a season without Keegan for the first time in 10 odd years - I might never see a player like him in a Mayo jersey again.

So all things considered, McStay has a lot of work to do but a lot to work with

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2023 14:18:46    2491845

hahahahaha

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 03/07/2023 14:30:00    2491852

Replying To endgame:  "Not much between Roscommon, Mayo and Galway but a lot between any of them and the top teams Dublin and Kerry. We might have a wait in the West for Sam to cross the Shannon. 22 years and counting."
Winning an All Ireland was always going to be a big ask but the tide turned for Connacht teams on Sunday 18th or maybe it was a case of taking our eyes off the ball. A draw for Mayo (Cork) , Galway (Armagh) and Roscommon (Kildare) would have given us a home prelim at The Hyde and I would have fancied a fresher Mayo v Tyrone and Galway v Monaghan over the week end. Chances of having a Connacht team in the semi final would have been much greater. Of the four group winners with a two week break only Armagh failed to progress , losing a penalty shoot out after extra time. Best teams like Dublin usually win their group but both Mayo and Galway were in pole position playing the third game.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 03/07/2023 15:23:45    2491878

Replying To Cbar:  "We're miles from an AI - but that's not McStays fault. And yes I suppose that's what I am focusing on - QF exit to probable finalists / possible AI winners and League champions. The win in in Salthill however lucky it was, was a big result.

But for me McStay has to have at least another year before I will start to judge him. People talk about Murphy leaving Donegal and the impact that had - we just went through a season without Keegan for the first time in 10 odd years - I might never see a player like him in a Mayo jersey again.

So all things considered, McStay has a lot of work to do but a lot to work with"
Agreed. He's brought in some new faces and given likes of Carr and McDonagh a run. Inexperience showed yesterday but hopefully they'll learn from it. If we got to a quarter final by just persisting with older players I wouldn't call it progression. Aido, Cillian, McLoughlin might call it a day. We peaked very early in the season and can hopefully learn from that too. Hopefully.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/07/2023 16:19:58    2491903

Replying To bdbuddah:  "As a neutral looking in I felt sorry for O'Shea. He was winning ball up front and I thought playing fairly well for the team and taking him off early seemed like a bad call. You needed a goal to get back into game and I thought with O'Shea catching balls and laying them off this may have produced a goal chance. Did McStay do this just take off Mayo's mosthigh profile player just to the gallery a bit. He seems to be often made a bit of a scapegoat."
No plan B. Same 20 players all year. One good game against Kerry then bad against Louth, Cork and just scraped through against Galway. Total incompetence by management to keep going to the same players all the time no matter how they performed. McStay keeps talking about having a big squad of players then why didn't he use them. I'm hoping that he'll look hard at these games and change his ideas but I doubt it. A lot of Mayo fans saying they're happy with his first year, I'm not, back in the 70s I had a whole life to see Mayo win Sam now most of it is behind me.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 03/07/2023 16:33:11    2491909

Replying To cluichethar:  "No plan B. Same 20 players all year. One good game against Kerry then bad against Louth, Cork and just scraped through against Galway. Total incompetence by management to keep going to the same players all the time no matter how they performed. McStay keeps talking about having a big squad of players then why didn't he use them. I'm hoping that he'll look hard at these games and change his ideas but I doubt it. A lot of Mayo fans saying they're happy with his first year, I'm not, back in the 70s I had a whole life to see Mayo win Sam now most of it is behind me."
Christ Cluichethar.... when you say it like that. I don't remember the 70's or much of the '80's - a dark time for Mayo football but I'm scarred from '96 and I remember vividly walking out of the old canal end that day thinking not to worry, we'll get it next year..... I wish I was that naive today!!

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 04/07/2023 08:55:16    2492030

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "hahahahaha"
Cop on, like a good lad. The harshest comments and trolling are usually from the lads who couldn't kick snow off a rope themselves.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 04/07/2023 12:51:15    2492124

Replying To cluichethar:  "No plan B. Same 20 players all year. One good game against Kerry then bad against Louth, Cork and just scraped through against Galway. Total incompetence by management to keep going to the same players all the time no matter how they performed. McStay keeps talking about having a big squad of players then why didn't he use them. I'm hoping that he'll look hard at these games and change his ideas but I doubt it. A lot of Mayo fans saying they're happy with his first year, I'm not, back in the 70s I had a whole life to see Mayo win Sam now most of it is behind me."
It's not like me to stand up for Mayo but I think you are very harsh. There were several players introduced to the panel this year with about 4 on the team. It's only when you are in the melting pot of a really big game in Croker that you know how good or bad these new players are. There were 2 big incidents that sucked the life out of Mayo. The first one was the youngster that made the blunder for the Dublin goal. The second one was hitting the post when it seems easier to score. On another day Jordan Flynn's goal would have stood. In the eyes of the management they had the best panel of players that's in Mayo right now.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 04/07/2023 13:05:30    2492128

Lads some perspective is needed. Next year the starting Mayo team will have just one player who started the 2017 final. That is some overhaul of players in 6 years. We are behind Kerry and Dublin at the minute but it wouldn't take a huge change for us to get back to a semi final/final in the next couple of years. Up front as always is the problem.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 04/07/2023 13:48:36    2492140

Replying To togoutlads:  "Cop on, like a good lad. The harshest comments and trolling are usually from the lads who couldn't kick snow off a rope themselves."
Thanks togooutlads - that trolling is pathetic. If anyone here is on FB it's septic, prefer to keep it away from here

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 04/07/2023 13:56:20    2492142

Surely the whole problem stems from the kickouts? Cluxton is a liability, he doesn't have the length to go over the top anymore so if you take the short one away from him, he will have to go long, and that isn't long compared to the top keepers. Louth exposed him badly. But Mayo simply did not work hard enough to deny the short kickout. Dublin on the other hand, worked like dogs to take the short one off Reape. Mayo failed at the one thing that doesn't require skill and that's effort.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 04/07/2023 14:23:50    2492151

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads some perspective is needed. Next year the starting Mayo team will have just one player who started the 2017 final. That is some overhaul of players in 6 years. We are behind Kerry and Dublin at the minute but it wouldn't take a huge change for us to get back to a semi final/final in the next couple of years. Up front as always is the problem."
Your spot on there. Ye have had some great forwards over the years but just never seem to click on a constant basis. A top midfielder and a good forwards coach to gel it all together and SAM could come west

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 04/07/2023 14:29:47    2492154

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads some perspective is needed. Next year the starting Mayo team will have just one player who started the 2017 final. That is some overhaul of players in 6 years. We are behind Kerry and Dublin at the minute but it wouldn't take a huge change for us to get back to a semi final/final in the next couple of years. Up front as always is the problem."
The habit of conceding soft and totally preventable goals has been an issue for Mayo since 2012. Don't think McStay playing forwards and going with rookies over experience in defence is the answer to that issue.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 04/07/2023 15:47:20    2492203

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "The habit of conceding soft and totally preventable goals has been an issue for Mayo since 2012. Don't think McStay playing forwards and going with rookies over experience in defence is the answer to that issue."
You're right on conceding goals in finals.

But does McStay have a choice other than to go with rookies in defense? Granted playing Loftus at CB hasn't worked out and McStay should really have seen that before pulling him before the Galway game. But other than that, the age profile of Mayo back 7 is pretty young and I bodes well for the future IMO.

Bear in mind last year Keegan and Mullin were 2 of the back 6 - I think they did very well this year without them.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 04/07/2023 16:55:33    2492227