Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To yew_tree:  "Stolen sheep? :)"
Lamb sandwich influencer page on Insta.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 03/04/2023 14:18:43    2468556

Hope ye all got home safe and sound to Galway city last night, you will all have the bragging rights for now at work in Galway today!!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2023 14:28:27    2468558

Replying To yew_tree:  "Salty. Mayo were far from our best yesterday so we're Galway. Truth be told MAyo never looked like losing it."
What about the refereeing Yew? Any sense that ye forged a serious advantage from the official all through? Any truth in the rumour that Cawley has Mayo connection, or is that fake news I read yesterday?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 03/04/2023 14:28:29    2468559

Replying To yew_tree:  "Our forward play can be better too. Only four points from play."
Definitely. Tommy C only getting up to speed and Cillian back soon so we'll be better in a few weeks time.

We had a makeshift full back line yesterday with all the injury absentees. Paddy Durcan ended up full back after half time. Impressive to keep that Galway forward line to 11 points.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 03/04/2023 14:38:29    2468566

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "What about the refereeing Yew? Any sense that ye forged a serious advantage from the official all through? Any truth in the rumour that Cawley has Mayo connection, or is that fake news I read yesterday?"
He climbed The Reek in '09.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 03/04/2023 15:45:45    2468589

Great to have a league title won, the new players getting a game in Croke Park and lifting a cup, hopefully not the last cup the lift this year..
Game wasn't great skills wise, but it is still only the league, neither team at there best yet. Both teams were alot more defensive than i thought they would be. Mayo new full back line played very well, Coyne was very good, Callinan did well on Walsh, McBrien was a loss when he went off.
Ruane seemed to do a marking job on Conroy which kept both out of the game. O Donoghue and O Shea played well inside, Carr was quiet. So lots to improve on for Mayo, which is good to say after a win.

Great to see some of the Galway ppl complaining about the ref, thought it was just the Mayo fans that do this according to them..Joyce blaming the ref was poor form from a manager, he trying to deflect from the bad performance from his team, more so the first half.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 03/04/2023 15:52:53    2468591

Fair play to Mayo. Delighted to see them with national silverware. Long overdue

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 03/04/2023 16:17:37    2468600

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "What about the refereeing Yew? Any sense that ye forged a serious advantage from the official all through? Any truth in the rumour that Cawley has Mayo connection, or is that fake news I read yesterday?"
Didn't hear. We've had more than our fair share of bad referees down the years and we're always told to shut up and get on with it. Few soft frees but another day we won't get them. I don't think anyone can disagree the better team won yesterday. While Mayo and Galway were not at their best it will be different if we meet again in three weeks time .

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 03/04/2023 17:22:22    2468621

Replying To tommy132:  "Great to have a league title won, the new players getting a game in Croke Park and lifting a cup, hopefully not the last cup the lift this year..
Game wasn't great skills wise, but it is still only the league, neither team at there best yet. Both teams were alot more defensive than i thought they would be. Mayo new full back line played very well, Coyne was very good, Callinan did well on Walsh, McBrien was a loss when he went off.
Ruane seemed to do a marking job on Conroy which kept both out of the game. O Donoghue and O Shea played well inside, Carr was quiet. So lots to improve on for Mayo, which is good to say after a win.

Great to see some of the Galway ppl complaining about the ref, thought it was just the Mayo fans that do this according to them..Joyce blaming the ref was poor form from a manager, he trying to deflect from the bad performance from his team, more so the first half."
No. Ye now are totally concentrating on booing opposition free takers non stop...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2023 18:14:52    2468640

Ultimately the "soft frees" were the difference as Mayo from open play only got 4 scores. Dead ball accuracy was impressive, Reape great strike on ball.

Overall positive League for both teams, well done to Mayo.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 03/04/2023 18:23:06    2468643

Well done Mayo on beating Galway. And do you know? But that's not fake news.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 03/04/2023 19:07:57    2468655

Replying To Mayonman:  "Ye were the better team and deserved to win, end of story. Congrats.

Our lads were sloppy and ye were not. At the top level, and that is what Galway and Mayo are at, the difference on any given day is execution.

Yeer keeper is a beautiful striker of the ball. I was giving out at one stage when he stole a yard but shut up quick enough when he cleared the crossbar by at least 20 yards.

Best of luck next weekend!"
There was some silly passing on both sides, something that we all will have to change if we want to progress. Both goalies were outstanding with Reape the difference.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 03/04/2023 20:03:39    2468662

What about it, you on about the Galway player pulling the Mayo player to the ground off the ball and the ref only giving him a yellow card.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 03/04/2023 20:09:21    2468666

I see off the ball did a segment on the outrageous behaviour by Mayo fans at the weekend. Now been labelled as the " most annoying fans" in Gaelic games.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2023 09:55:03    2468699

Replying To Belclare:  "I see off the ball did a segment on the outrageous behaviour by Mayo fans at the weekend. Now been labelled as the " most annoying fans" in Gaelic games."
There's no place in any sport for fans booing at players. I was embarrassed in Lower Cusack to hear that booing. Not all Mayo fans I think but I can see why some see Mayo supporters as very annoying, blowing trumpets ahead of the coronation. We've won big games but, arguably, only won one big game in Croke Park in more than 72 years, haven't passed the level of reaching the '89 All Ireland. Plus we also have a scapegoat for every loss rather than fix what we can fix and improve to the point of winning All Ireland.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 04/04/2023 13:41:06    2468779

Replying To Belclare:  "I see off the ball did a segment on the outrageous behaviour by Mayo fans at the weekend. Now been labelled as the " most annoying fans" in Gaelic games."
Please keep the whining comments to the Galway thread, thanks

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 04/04/2023 16:09:28    2468831

Are we happy with Loftus at 6 or happier v Roscommon if it was a half backline of Hession or Callinan, Coen and Durcan?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 04/04/2023 16:20:53    2468835

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Are we happy with Loftus at 6 or happier v Roscommon if it was a half backline of Hession or Callinan, Coen and Durcan?"
I think they will leave him at 6, they wont take him out of there now after the whole league at 6. Its only now and last Sunday, when he will get really tested as teams will target him. He has the attributes to be a good 6 and def adds to the attacking play so hopefully he can learn quick or they tweak the system as the middle was very open at times Sunday.
Coen does a job there but id be hoping someone can come in start ahead of him and offer a bit more.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 05/04/2023 11:05:15    2468983

Roscommon goal came from a wrong sideline ball call on O Shea's blocked ball.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 09/04/2023 16:29:50    2469813

Roscommon team putting up to Mayo. Fantastic first half performance. Hopefully they can keep it going.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 09/04/2023 16:53:46    2469817