Mayo GAA Thread

I would not be writing Mayo off yet. There's a long Summer ahead and they had a league final last Sunday. They now have a six week rest I believe, however I did mention on this thread that I felt Mayo had peaked very early and would find it hard to stay at that level of fitness all Summer.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/04/2023 20:08:48    2469895

Replying To martinjoe:  "With a massive wind, in home soil, on a fast pitch, scoring a point from a free in the 3rd minute and another 23 minutes later says an awful lot about where improvement is required. Anyway this may be a blessing, and when the sun is high and the groups are sorted the lads should be fully recovered and ready for a tilt at SAM"
God bless your optimism.. Ye have maybe two forwards who can score,bet out the gate at midfield, a rookie 6 shown up again.. and a very weak full back line . Plus were clueless on the line and off course big Aidan up to his old tricks , throwing himself around

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 09/04/2023 20:21:47    2469899

Well done to the Roscommon team, better team on the day.
Mayo were lacklustre today, looked tired and were slow on the ball and led to bad decision making. Need to make good use of the break now, and be fresh for the group stage.
Only advantage of winning Connacht, is that they would be in the group with Munster runner up which will be either Clare and Limerick, both relegated from Div 2, and since only the team bottom of the group gets knocked out then this would be an advantage.

Great to see the Galway fans out in force, they still not over losing the league final, mighty that Mayo are in there heads.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 09/04/2023 20:40:10    2469904

First I have to say Mayo has some wonderful footballers that will have a major say in winning all Ireland this year. But I have to say some of your supporters are a disgrace to the county, the language and bile being directed at the ref and the Roscommon team were the worst I have ever heard at a county
match, so many sore losers. Mayo will last longer in the championship than Roscommon, but the supporters need to lighten up and have some respect for your opposition.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 163 - 09/04/2023 20:45:28    2469905

Replying To GreenandRed:  "We were schooled today. Turned down enough point scoring chances to win the game. Any talk of refereeing decisions costing us the game and we should stay at home for the round robin. We'll try improving what we can work on. Plenty of work to do all over the pitch. Congratulations to Roscommon."
Very sporting as usual Greenandred. Mayo will be back and sooner than you think!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/04/2023 20:50:21    2469907

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Congrats to the Rossies and commiserations to Mayo. Rossies deserved the win today and their players were driven. Put in a real workman like performance and Murtagh and Cox kicked great points in 2nd half. Thought Rossies made it hard on themselves in 2nd half with some silly dangerous play by the keeper and backs but credit where credit is due. Would nt write Mayo off for the championship though. I think this might just suit them perfectly. Tbf I though the ref was very hard on Aidan Ó Shea especially in 2nd half. McStay showed great sportsmanship as always. Mayo still have a good summer to look forward too but today is the Rossies day. Well done!"
Absolutely agree the marginal calls went against Aido today. He is a conundrum for sure, every Mayo fan I know believe he's "the man" while I believe opposition teams fancy their chances more when Aido is playing?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 09/04/2023 20:50:28    2469908

Replying To Albara:  "So now!!? Next years league again maybe. Leave the serious stuff to the big boys for now. Roscommon only in 2nd gear today and bet ye!! Haha!!"
I don't see the need for comments like this. Those of us that follow the gaa feel bad enough when our county loses without snide comment. Win with didnity and lose with dignity. Many losing fans and managers should take a leaf out of Kevin McStay s book. Very classy in defeat!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/04/2023 20:53:24    2469911

Replying To tommy132:  "Well done to the Roscommon team, better team on the day.
Mayo were lacklustre today, looked tired and were slow on the ball and led to bad decision making. Need to make good use of the break now, and be fresh for the group stage.
Only advantage of winning Connacht, is that they would be in the group with Munster runner up which will be either Clare and Limerick, both relegated from Div 2, and since only the team bottom of the group gets knocked out then this would be an advantage.

Great to see the Galway fans out in force, they still not over losing the league final, mighty that Mayo are in there heads."
Today was a great victory for Roscommon, and Galway judging by social media reaction.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 09/04/2023 20:59:53    2469912

Replying To sligo joe:  "Absolutely agree the marginal calls went against Aido today. He is a conundrum for sure, every Mayo fan I know believe he's "the man" while I believe opposition teams fancy their chances more when Aido is playing?"
You must be joking. Aidan gets unbelievable stick from many supporters in Mayo.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 09/04/2023 21:01:29    2469915

Replying To tommy132:  "Well done to the Roscommon team, better team on the day.

Great to see the Galway fans out in force, they still not over losing the league final, mighty that Mayo are in there heads."
Not really for me anyway.
I'm well over the league final defeat.
Don't like to see the gloating by opposition fans when teams lose though. It's in bad taste & I have no intention of doing it here now.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/04/2023 21:04:32    2469916

Replying To Belclare:  "Plenty indeed.. ye have no defence, no centre back, cleaned out at midfield, and 3 points from yer forwards...
Plus o shea up to his old tricks, off the ball hits and diving... Fair play to the ref for seeing through the rubbish"
Doesn't say much for Galway only scoring 11 points in perfect conditions last weekend.

At least McStay didn't blame all around him after the game, like other managers constantly do.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 09/04/2023 21:06:19    2469917

Replying To imformed:  "First I have to say Mayo has some wonderful footballers that will have a major say in winning all Ireland this year. But I have to say some of your supporters are a disgrace to the county, the language and bile being directed at the ref and the Roscommon team were the worst I have ever heard at a county
match, so many sore losers. Mayo will last longer in the championship than Roscommon, but the supporters need to lighten up and have some respect for your opposition."
You sure you weren't just listening to other Roscommon fans.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 09/04/2023 21:10:10    2469918

Don't think Mayo will be to bothered being beaten, they've some good preseason work done in the league and will target the AI series now - may as well have the same advantage as Dublin and Kerry coming out of the provincials fresh.

Despite what seems like an upset in the provinces and an argument for, I actually think today in a death knell, I think Mayo are targeting the AI series. No disrespect to Roscommon, but another Connacht won't be teaching Mayo much.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/04/2023 21:24:31    2469920

Replying To sligo joe:  "Absolutely agree the marginal calls went against Aido today. He is a conundrum for sure, every Mayo fan I know believe he's "the man" while I believe opposition teams fancy their chances more when Aido is playing?"
Well let's face it, he got enough of them last Sunday to last a lifetime

Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 09/04/2023 21:42:36    2469927

A setback for Mayo today, but I think they'll still have a big say in this year's All-Ireland championship.
Congrats to Roscommon, they took the game to Mayo and got the crucial scores to close out the game late on.
Anyone with an ounce of cop on wouldn't be writing Mayo off. I expect they'll be right in the midst of the business end and hard to beat in Croker later in the summer.
Looking forward to the Hyde in 2 weeks, but I might have a different story by the time that game is over.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 09/04/2023 21:59:24    2469933

What waffle. He usually gets free for putting his head down and swinging his elbows. Ref saw through him today. He was correctly called for fouling on both hip balls. He was lucky to get away with pushing Daly over the end line which got Mayo a 45 and should have got the most blatant black card you will see/possible red if not.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 10/04/2023 08:58:34    2469939

Replying To WanPintWin:  "A setback for Mayo today, but I think they'll still have a big say in this year's All-Ireland championship.
Congrats to Roscommon, they took the game to Mayo and got the crucial scores to close out the game late on.
Anyone with an ounce of cop on wouldn't be writing Mayo off. I expect they'll be right in the midst of the business end and hard to beat in Croker later in the summer.
Looking forward to the Hyde in 2 weeks, but I might have a different story by the time that game is over."
Any one with an ounce of cop on would not write a Roscommon off in Connacht either but I heard a lot of Mayo people talking about a Galway rematch last Monday in work

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/04/2023 09:36:34    2469952

Replying To Saynothing:  "Turning point of game was Roscommon player Number 3 going down for no reason in the square after O Shea's point."
Frustrating but good game management. Mayo had Ross on the ropes there but I was impressed with how the Ross players showed a bit of maturity.... there must be some Tyrone men in the backroom training them on the dark arts:)

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 10/04/2023 10:25:24    2469961

Mayo won a league that no one wanted to win really. Sadly missing scorers to be anywhere near the business end of All Ireland series. Will probably get out of the group but once ROD and TC are kept quiet, forget about it.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 10/04/2023 10:40:57    2469964

Great result. You'd swear Mayo invented football but again came up short. Quarterfinal exit this year and back again next year saying it'll be your year. Rinse and repeat.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 10/04/2023 11:41:46    2469981