Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "They'll improve standard by laying waste to all teams in the lower league and championship. Then move on to laying waste in the upper leagues and Sam Maguire cup. Simple enough concept really.

The competition structure should make more money. The annual tiresome late May, early June, 'what'll we do about these grotesque mismatches' discussion won't be happening this year. Win win surely."
The GAA have got many things wrong in the past but this new structure is good. The weaker teams still have the opportunity to get to AI series but if they are not developed enough to be competitive there they wont get to a provincial final and , in reality , they are probably better off developing in the TC rather than getting badly beaten in 3 more games. Only minor mistake is not seeding provinces. I would only love to see sligo or leittim in the last 16, but only after they had earned it by beating a top side. As it stands they could meet in connacht semi.. winner qualifies for potentially 4 big defeats , while the loser gets more competitive action and a genuine opportunity for silverware.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 21/02/2023 12:33:15    2459570

Mayo playing great football, improving every game. Full forward is the place for O Shea and he will be very effective in there with the style Mcstay and Co are trying to implement.
The defence was very good the last night, good tackling and great covering there was always someone coming in moping up any loose ball. Loftus is going very well at 6, has pace to cover back and to break up the field and has a good boot for passing and shooting.
Hession very good, great pace. Brickenden is going well, reminds me a bit of Cafferkey, he needs to bulk up a bit but has makings of county full back. McBrien is a great player, very strong, always has been a good player for Ballagh but his issue was always staying fit so hopefully he can get a good run.
I would say Mayo might struggle for a man marker, for the likes of Clifford or Walsh.
I heard Tommy Conroy was close to being on the bench the last night so hopefully he is not too far away, he could do with getting the few league games into him.
It will be hard for Cillian and Conroy to get into the full forward line with the way the lads are playing. Carr is showing some consistency which is great to see.
Reape scored few nice long range frees, thats a great assist to have

It will be interesting against Tyrone, going by Galway game Tyrone will look to long with kickouts, also like the All Ireland final, and will be interesting to see how Mayo deal with that, cause Mayo dont really have the big strong players to match them so be a good test for them.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 21/02/2023 18:05:57    2459658

After years of holding up the play and slowing down attacked, Aiden O Shea decides to "let it in ta f#$k" last night. Who knew.

Some dummy from Hession too.

14 scores and 10 wides - they still have a lot to learn about scoring efficiency

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 26/02/2023 13:00:30    2460223

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I don't think it's idiotic. I think it's idiotic to try and push 16 counties down playing a poor standard of football with the carrot of maybe winning a poor standard championship to get into the All Ireland Championship the next year with a different team. Roscommon, Galway and ourselves are in the All Ireland series for 2023. Sligo and Leitrim will also be there. Very likely they'll be well beaten in three round robin ganes but hopefully they will learn and improve based on playing in a higher level than Tailteann Cup. The best of luck to them. As for ourselves if we're in the mentality of looking for seedings and handy draws in the long long quest for Sam we're not confidently backing ourselves and should stay at home."
It's idiotic to want competitive games in the Connacht semifinals & finals. The way it is set up now a Division 4 team will be in the Connacht final. 2 Division 1 teams will be in the back door. What good will it do the D1 team in the final winning by a landslide, what good will it do the D4 team to get destroyed twice. Getting hammered will do Sligo, Leitrim or London no good at all. It will be better to get beaten in the semifinal than have a bad training session in the final.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 26/02/2023 22:01:58    2460521

Replying To cluichethar:  "It's idiotic to want competitive games in the Connacht semifinals & finals. The way it is set up now a Division 4 team will be in the Connacht final. 2 Division 1 teams will be in the back door. What good will it do the D1 team in the final winning by a landslide, what good will it do the D4 team to get destroyed twice. Getting hammered will do Sligo, Leitrim or London no good at all. It will be better to get beaten in the semifinal than have a bad training session in the final."
All fair points Cluichethar. My only response, I know it's not a strong one, is that I can't see the standard of so-called weaker counties improving by playing even more games against teams of a simikarly poor standard. For all it's flaws the back door championship allowed Fermanagh, Tipperary and Wexford reach a semi final but they could not sustain their progress in the years after that. If not in League or Championship then hopefully they could come up with another tournament, instead of provincial leagues, where weaker counties can test themselves against stronger counties. Plenty of defeats for them for sure, but learn from defeat and slowly improve.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 27/02/2023 08:43:26    2460533

I understand your point but I also don't see the standard improving by D4 teams getting hammered in the Connacht final and then getting hammered in the next knockout stage. I think a longer run in the lower tier would help but let's be honest if you don't have the players then all the games in the world won't get you to the top. For me the biggest problem will be whoever from Galway, Roscommon & Mayo get to the final they will be done a disservice by not having a proper test. No easy answer.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 27/02/2023 15:43:51    2460721

Replying To cluichethar:  "I understand your point but I also don't see the standard improving by D4 teams getting hammered in the Connacht final and then getting hammered in the next knockout stage. I think a longer run in the lower tier would help but let's be honest if you don't have the players then all the games in the world won't get you to the top. For me the biggest problem will be whoever from Galway, Roscommon & Mayo get to the final they will be done a disservice by not having a proper test. No easy answer."
Not at all. If Mayo bate Ros and Galway, they'll be well entitled to a 'handy' Connacht Final, and will still enter the 'group stages' in fine fettle. Only 4 sides will be thrashed out of the 16 anyway, and 12 progressing to 'the playoffs', after they've turned everyone upside down to empty their loose change buying tickets to look at these 'group stage' matches that'll qualify 75% of the teams involved.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 27/02/2023 16:06:07    2460736

Is Mark Moran still involved on panel thought he was one for the future?

DefenceWinsChampionships (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 02/03/2023 10:32:09    2461356

In reality the game was over after 20 minutes but still not happy how we seem to always let madness consume us and start doing silly stuff instead of killing the clock from a long way out. But overall happy and we are building a really strong 1-20 which is something we never had before.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 05/03/2023 19:40:00    2462078

Replying To TheFlaker:  "In reality the game was over after 20 minutes but still not happy how we seem to always let madness consume us and start doing silly stuff instead of killing the clock from a long way out. But overall happy and we are building a really strong 1-20 which is something we never had before."
Some real silly play in the last 15 minutes. A few players that came on need to up their game. They've got a few runs now and haven't proven their worth yet. I hope A few different players will get a run in the last 2 rounds.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 05/03/2023 20:17:18    2462098

Replying To cluichethar:  "Some real silly play in the last 15 minutes. A few players that came on need to up their game. They've got a few runs now and haven't proven their worth yet. I hope A few different players will get a run in the last 2 rounds."
Who do you feel hasn't proved their worth yet? Still one or 2 places up for grabs.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 05/03/2023 20:21:14    2462104

We should have put that game to bed first half but it's only a league game so two points and move on. It's all about championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 06/03/2023 07:31:42    2462168

Mayo very impressive yesterday again. The multiple runners in the final third of the field make for great attacking football and for the first time in a long time ye are not reliant on one or two good forwards. Most forwards now pitching in with a score. No more than ourselves I think yesterday confirmed that the goalies who had played all the previous league games seem to be the better options.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 06/03/2023 11:52:49    2462227

Will any action be taken against Roscommon player who stamped Ruane on the ground. Should have been Red.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 06/03/2023 14:09:10    2462299

Hard to know if its a advantage or disadvantage getting to a league final, with first round of championship following week.
I know alot of people saying to ease off and not make a league final, provincial is only bragging rights.
For the players, I think its better to go out and try and win every game, you cant start picking and choosing games, you want to win games and keep the winning mentality and there's nothing better than competitive games.

Another topic is that Mayo are flying fit, and fitter than other teams, but I dont think they are. there is a few players who are in great shape and are playing great, but every game so far Mayo have died for a period of the game. they have gotten off to great starts , like against Roscommon, but haven't been able to keep that going and get tired and start making mistakes, even the last day there was alot of bad passing in the last period of first half cause lads were tired.

I hope after the Roscommon game that they will see Aidan O Shea if of no benefit in being back in defense, he used to be ok back there but now he is far too slow and is a weak link. Stay up top and he can have a big impact on the game.
Loftus was pulled around the place and left the middle open so hopefully he can learn from it and learn the positioning needed for center back.
Good to see Jack Carney play well, I was having my doubts about him, but that game should give him more confidence and he can push on. Tommy Conroy did well, he was gassed towards end of the first half but kept at it, great to see him back, maybe the tiredness effected his attempt for the goal chance, he should be scoring that.

Mayo are building a nice panel, new lads are fitting in well, McBrien and Coyne good additions to the full back line, Mayo need more cover here though, O Hora will be back but they still need another body or 2.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 09/03/2023 14:43:53    2462995

Yeah I dunno…that's banded about a lot as an excuse for Mayo playing well that we are fitter and further down the road than other teams. Few games our fitness and concentration has actually dropped in the 2nd half (Roscommon game) or last 10mins (Armagh game). Now every team will have good and bad spells in games.

I've seen a lot of commentary from other counties and rarely is is said we actually have good footballers. It's always ah they have great energy, intensity, full of running etc etc.

Intercounty teams are well conditioned these days. It's not as of lads are coming back having to lose a stone or two after a mad Christmas. It's a 12 months lifestyle while your playing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 10/03/2023 11:26:25    2463145

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yeah I dunno…that's banded about a lot as an excuse for Mayo playing well that we are fitter and further down the road than other teams. Few games our fitness and concentration has actually dropped in the 2nd half (Roscommon game) or last 10mins (Armagh game). Now every team will have good and bad spells in games.

I've seen a lot of commentary from other counties and rarely is is said we actually have good footballers. It's always ah they have great energy, intensity, full of running etc etc.

Intercounty teams are well conditioned these days. It's not as of lads are coming back having to lose a stone or two after a mad Christmas. It's a 12 months lifestyle while your playing."
Last year we were one of the last teams back training, had a terrible run of injuries yet still made a league final.

We were always very likely to be near the top of division 1 this year. There are very few strong teams out there at the moment. In reality, two of them are in division 2 as well.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 13/03/2023 11:30:18    2463675

Replying To MayoDan:  "Last year we were one of the last teams back training, had a terrible run of injuries yet still made a league final.

We were always very likely to be near the top of division 1 this year. There are very few strong teams out there at the moment. In reality, two of them are in division 2 as well."
Wait and see Dan when the pitches are drier and harder how the form lines look. Would love to have insider info on what counties are targeting, league survival/success, provincial win, All-Ireland semi final minimum. How they plan and run their injury prevention, training and S&C for the season. The only scheduled games are the seven rounds of the league and provincial first round.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 13/03/2023 14:19:16    2463728

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Wait and see Dan when the pitches are drier and harder how the form lines look. Would love to have insider info on what counties are targeting, league survival/success, provincial win, All-Ireland semi final minimum. How they plan and run their injury prevention, training and S&C for the season. The only scheduled games are the seven rounds of the league and provincial first round."
Well you can be sure the Mayo squad are planning to peak for the latter stages of the championship anyway. Pretty much the whole panel have connacht medals already, and a good portion won the NFL in 2019.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 13/03/2023 15:37:02    2463744

A target for Mayo, make League Final and invite Mayo man President of USA Joe Biden to the Final.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 14/03/2023 10:06:47    2463833