Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To seanie08:  "My daddy is bigger than your daddy. Seriously through fair play on victory to kildare. We were blessed to beat them in the summer so good result and galliigan off to good start in competitive division. My two pence worth is we are in a period of transition and showed huge character and grit last night and to stay up last season and make an all ireland semi final where we more than competed. This was after three years of nothing playing constipated football under banty. Staying in div 1 during that period was over celebrated as we did nothing those summers apart from ulster final on back of armagh defensive meltdown. That match we lost to ye in 2020 still annoys as we were a joke tactically that day and handed ye the game. That said cavan in 19/20 in championship had bit between their teeth and were our superiors. The same way were over ye 13-17. We had a really good side then most now gone and arguably should won more trophies. Match in April is 50 50 as always is when we meet ye under no illusions. Good luck in div 2 till then. Always felt cavan underachieved the last decade with the underage teams ye had so maybe galligan like Corey is right man."
Very diplomatic of ya, Cavan's Ulster was Banty and Bonners legacy, tactical ineptitude of a scale probably never to be seen again, and don't forget the Monaghan man involved, the brains behind the operation. Let's be honest here the match in April is Cavan's all Ireland not ours

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/01/2024 19:12:22    2522805

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Very diplomatic of ya, Cavan's Ulster was Banty and Bonners legacy, tactical ineptitude of a scale probably never to be seen again, and don't forget the Monaghan man involved, the brains behind the operation. Let's be honest here the match in April is Cavan's all Ireland not ours"
Ha trying to be humble tonight. Always wary after monaghan having a good win like last night. Usually get the big performances when written off and the opposite when written up.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 28/01/2024 20:04:04    2522824

Replying To seanie08:  "Ha trying to be humble tonight. Always wary after monaghan having a good win like last night. Usually get the big performances when written off and the opposite when written up."
Exactly my thinking but there was something about the whole thing last night that bodes well for the young lads, I think Dublin are fast going from probable AI winners to possible AI winners opening up future opportunity for other teams. Blooding players and playing in Division 1 is the place to be
We dare to dream (of the future that is not the past like some who have never actually witnessed it)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/01/2024 20:35:35    2522837

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Yeah, forgot about 2019. The draw was 2017. It was a turgid affair that was easily forgotten. Anyway, we'll end this pointless to and fro. I am an admirer of your current generation. I look forward to our battles in the future. Good luck in division one."
Oh yeah that was Blaney that in 8 all shocking game . Same to cavan

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 21:29:30    2522853

Poor Cavan didn't even get a showing on the Sunday game tonight haha

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 28/01/2024 22:13:57    2522866

A new era ... could be a bumpy few seasons but there's talent there.

conjack76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 84 - 29/01/2024 08:46:33    2522899

Brave brave brave performance by a group of mixed experience. Lavelle, Duffy, Wylie, Bannigan and O Hanlon really stood up and were counted for. They lead these young lads to war in Croke Park Saturday. Brilliant to see.

Missing Ward, McCarthy, D Hughes, McManus, Jones, McAnespie (most the game) and Beggan this was a big uphill battle but the young lads showed some fire in their bellies. Hard running, attacking in packs, brilliant defense and over turning of the Dubs in crucial areas of the field.

Massive credit to Mooney and McNulty, they both combined for McNulty's goal and point. Mooney wisely took the best option and made the passes off to McNulty. McNulty plays with such confidence, for a lad who was making his league debut it was unreal. Put his goal away brilliantly and then saw the opportunity when Monaghan broke from defense to get up with Mooney to take the ball off him for the winning score. You could see in the wide view when Mooney received the ball how far McNulty was away. He made serious ground and had the energy and confidence to cut back in and slot it over the bar. Brilliant. Notable mention to Irwin, Wilson, Woods and Hamill they were all brilliant too. Wilson was a massive surprise to start but what a job he completed. Great athleticism brought to mid field by him.

As for McDonnell, first minutes in Croke park, goal conceded in first few minutes I thought it was going to be a long night but after that he was exceptional. Pulled off a serious save after Dublin attacked from deep, pulled a massive high ball out of the air shortly after that, missed a scorable kick but had the stones to come up and kick a massive point when we were 3 down and then what topped it off for me in the last 5 mins was him getting those important kickouts away and not just driving them out 50/50 while the Dubs had the squeeze on. Deserve all the credit he gets and hopefully keeps it up.

V Corey getting the best out of these guys with an amount of experience to come back in. Great to see O Connell getting a run. Be a hard team to pick when all fit. Expect a massive crowd in Clones next weekend especially with the bank holiday and all.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 29/01/2024 08:52:22    2522900

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Oh yeah that was Blaney that in 8 all shocking game . Same to cavan"
It was awful, it was also freezing. At half time I remember questioning my life choices as to how I ended up getting hypothermia at a National league game in February rather than doing something more productive with my weekends.

TheHunter (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 29/01/2024 09:19:48    2522907

Replying To MalsBalls:  "has monaghan played any behind closed doors games? im hearing of loads of other counties so presume we have but haven't heard anything...surely the mckenna cup lads arent our only options for saturday? greatest respect to them, we need a bit more...and then a bit more after that"
glad to say that i was wrong with this statement. we looked very good with our mckenna cup squad on saturday...some people mentioned that dubs only started 7 players from last years all ireland final...we only started 6 from our semi final so a great victory in that regard...onwards and upwards hopefully

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 29/01/2024 10:02:10    2522916

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Very diplomatic of ya, Cavan's Ulster was Banty and Bonners legacy, tactical ineptitude of a scale probably never to be seen again, and don't forget the Monaghan man involved, the brains behind the operation. Let's be honest here the match in April is Cavan's all Ireland not ours"
i hate to see posts like this - the match in April is Cavan All Ireland not ours

This is embarrassing and i hope it doesn't come back to bite us. Cavan have actual won a Ulster alot more recent then us and have 5 All Ireland's to there name,making them one of the most successful counties in Ulster,so lets have a bit of respect.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 29/01/2024 11:38:56    2522948

For the life of me, I don't see why there's so much Cavan talk (or Cavan people posting here for that matter). Save that ***** until the build up to the championship

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/01/2024 12:38:41    2522978

Replying To patmouse:  "i hate to see posts like this - the match in April is Cavan All Ireland not ours

This is embarrassing and i hope it doesn't come back to bite us. Cavan have actual won a Ulster alot more recent then us and have 5 All Ireland's to there name,making them one of the most successful counties in Ulster,so lets have a bit of respect."
That Ulster title will always have an asterisk beside it … COVID title. Unfortunate for them.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 29/01/2024 12:40:27    2522979

Replying To patmouse:  "i hate to see posts like this - the match in April is Cavan All Ireland not ours

This is embarrassing and i hope it doesn't come back to bite us. Cavan have actual won a Ulster alot more recent then us and have 5 All Ireland's to there name,making them one of the most successful counties in Ulster,so lets have a bit of respect."
Respect?
You have some Cavan lad coming on here after us beating Dublin at home trying to compare Cavan to us because they fluked an Ulster handed to them by yours truly. When did they last give a Dublin team a competitive game, never mind the best team of all time, supposedly.

I have seen ordinary Cavan teams down the years give every drop to beat Monaghan only to flop after it and not give a damn, they were happy so long as they beat us. What is embarrassing is lads trying to be virtual friends with the like of him, whether you like it or not it was sheer begrudgery to come on here to dampen the mood, we didn't do it to them, if they want to give it here they are going to get it back, if you don't like it maybe you should go join them

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/01/2024 12:43:52    2522980

Replying To TheHunter:  "It was awful, it was also freezing. At half time I remember questioning my life choices as to how I ended up getting hypothermia at a National league game in February rather than doing something more productive with my weekends."
Same as that Blaney isn't s great game for a match

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 29/01/2024 13:25:01    2522998

Replying To veterngaa:  "That Ulster title will always have an asterisk beside it … COVID title. Unfortunate for them."
For the life of me, I don't see why there's so much Cavan talk (or Cavan people posting here for that matter). Save that ***** until the build up to the championship

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 935 - 29/01/2024 12:38:41 2

I would put alot of it down to that veterngaa lad spouting crap over on the Cavan forum the past few weeks.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 29/01/2024 13:38:52    2523001

Replying To RHF:  "For the life of me, I don't see why there's so much Cavan talk (or Cavan people posting here for that matter). Save that ***** until the build up to the championship

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 935 - 29/01/2024 12:38:41 2

I would put alot of it down to that veterngaa lad spouting crap over on the Cavan forum the past few weeks."
I'm after having a very quick look at some of the other counties forums, and our Veteran is sprouting rubbish on the Cavan, Fermanagh, Roscommon, Dublin and Donegal pages. And it's not any more intelligent than the stuff he sprouts here.

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 29/01/2024 17:05:41    2523086

Some very pleasing aspects to Saturday's performance which many here have rightly highlighted.

For me the direct running combined with the awareness and willingness to make the telling pass.
How many times in recent years have we had to watch too much lateral passing that made our teeth ache ? I admit early in the first half I was fearful as we had the ball but weren't scoring. However we got some scores, we got some composure and that set up the foundation for a memorable and deserved win - amd fair play to those from Dublin, Roscommon and beyond who have sad so.

On a lighter note, it may only be week one of the League, put in some quarters (including across the ditch) there's been Championship levels of cod chat. Don't peak too early lads.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 29/01/2024 17:19:41    2523093

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Exactly my thinking but there was something about the whole thing last night that bodes well for the young lads, I think Dublin are fast going from probable AI winners to possible AI winners opening up future opportunity for other teams. Blooding players and playing in Division 1 is the place to be
We dare to dream (of the future that is not the past like some who have never actually witnessed it)"
Dublin conceded 7 goals in the league stages of Div2 last year and then when the chips were down in championship knock-out conceded just one in total in three games v Mayo Monaghan and Kerry so will they analyse and learn from last Saturday?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 29/01/2024 19:01:27    2523133

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "I'm after having a very quick look at some of the other counties forums, and our Veteran is sprouting rubbish on the Cavan, Fermanagh, Roscommon, Dublin and Donegal pages. And it's not any more intelligent than the stuff he sprouts here."
Seen that, must have serious time on his hands

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 29/01/2024 19:18:30    2523141

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "I'm after having a very quick look at some of the other counties forums, and our Veteran is sprouting rubbish on the Cavan, Fermanagh, Roscommon, Dublin and Donegal pages. And it's not any more intelligent than the stuff he sprouts here."
Can't be blaming me for the poor Cavan folk living in the 40s! All a bit of fun!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 29/01/2024 19:39:15    2523149