Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Good win for you yesterday. You should stay up, at the very least. Looked a very young team out. Are a lot of the old heads no longer playing or have you a lot of lads to come back in. Hopefully, with us bringing some good young fellas through as well, we'll renew to rivalry properly in April."
7 of the team who played Dublin last year started. It's a marathon not a sprint .. older lads will come in near end of the league before Cavan game.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 28/01/2024 14:25:12    2522647

OHanlon deservedly getting media headlines but Lavelle, Mohan and Bannigan were the foundation of the win last night. Lavelle in particular was immense once he worked out the referee- he gives the defence a whole new solidity.

Mooney, McNulty and Woods superb off the bench too.
Another genuine midfield option in the panel is needed, that's a big priority for the league.

The craic with Dubs fans was brilliant as always, great respect between 2 very different footballing tribes.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 28/01/2024 14:32:36    2522654

Replying To thelongridge:  "Agree with your sentiments, not sure about includingv Big Tom's songs."
That's sacrilege to say that about big tom

tommyjohn (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 28/01/2024 14:55:04    2522662

Replying To cavanman47:  "Rivalry?

To be Monaghan's rivals, we'd need to hand back 5 All Irelands and about 20 Ulsters ;)"
How are you still bringing up things from 60-70 years ago it's hilarious at this stage..no comparison between Monaghan and Cavan the last 10 years , we've been on a completely different level

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 28/01/2024 15:06:35    2522667

To be Monaghan's rivals, we'd need to hand back 5 All Irelands and about 20 Ulsters ;)"
Keep your powder dry lad. Credit where its due yesterday. The auld enemy did beat the Dubs in Croker.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 15:38:03    2522683

Replying To Farney2022:  "How are you still bringing up things from 60-70 years ago it's hilarious at this stage..no comparison between Monaghan and Cavan the last 10 years , we've been on a completely different level"
I don't want to go over old ground but that's simply nonsense. Ask Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone whether surviving in division one is a measure of success and they'd laugh at you. Would Cavan love a prolonged spell in division one? Yes we would. Success wise, though, there's nothing between us. In the last 10 years, Monaghan has won one Ulster, in 2015, and Cavan has won one, in 2020. We've both played an all-Ireland semi. Other than that, neither of us have won anything at Senior level. To top this, you haven't beaten us in nearly 10 years. Well done again on yesterday but don't be losing the run of yourself.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 15:44:20    2522688

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I don't want to go over old ground but that's simply nonsense. Ask Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone whether surviving in division one is a measure of success and they'd laugh at you. Would Cavan love a prolonged spell in division one? Yes we would. Success wise, though, there's nothing between us. In the last 10 years, Monaghan has won one Ulster, in 2015, and Cavan has won one, in 2020. We've both played an all-Ireland semi. Other than that, neither of us have won anything at Senior level. To top this, you haven't beaten us in nearly 10 years. Well done again on yesterday but don't be losing the run of yourself."
Laughable comparing our last 10 years, look at the big days out monaghan supporters have had, look at the big teams and massive results we've had..all while cavan we're playing in division 3 and even division 4 yous really cannot talk about us..

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 28/01/2024 16:10:09    2522696

Replying To Farney2022:  "Laughable comparing our last 10 years, look at the big days out monaghan supporters have had, look at the big teams and massive results we've had..all while cavan we're playing in division 3 and even division 4 yous really cannot talk about us.."
Big days out, massive results, etc! I don't want to get into a tit for tat, as I've already said we'd like to experience your run in division one. My point is that you've won't nothing since 2015. Bar beating the Dubs in early round league games, you're referring to last grasp survival games in April as massive results. My point is that this doesn't equal success. You're league credentials are great but silverware is where it counts. In this regard we're both also rans. That's the cold hard truth. Also, in my opinion, the most massive results involving our counties are championship games between us. We're dominant in this regard, at the moment anyway.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 16:20:49    2522701

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I don't want to go over old ground but that's simply nonsense. Ask Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone whether surviving in division one is a measure of success and they'd laugh at you. Would Cavan love a prolonged spell in division one? Yes we would. Success wise, though, there's nothing between us. In the last 10 years, Monaghan has won one Ulster, in 2015, and Cavan has won one, in 2020. We've both played an all-Ireland semi. Other than that, neither of us have won anything at Senior level. To top this, you haven't beaten us in nearly 10 years. Well done again on yesterday but don't be losing the run of yourself."
We beat played you 4 times in the last 10 years. Won two, lost two. Maybe if you's werent in the doldrums of the league, we'd have played you more. Ask anyone in Ireland, who has the better success in the last 10 years, the majority would say Monaghan. You's aren't saying the future is blue anymore ;) The future is white and blue

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 28/01/2024 16:23:52    2522703

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Big days out, massive results, etc! I don't want to get into a tit for tat, as I've already said we'd like to experience your run in division one. My point is that you've won't nothing since 2015. Bar beating the Dubs in early round league games, you're referring to last grasp survival games in April as massive results. My point is that this doesn't equal success. You're league credentials are great but silverware is where it counts. In this regard we're both also rans. That's the cold hard truth. Also, in my opinion, the most massive results involving our counties are championship games between us. We're dominant in this regard, at the moment anyway."
Probably shouldn't get involved in lover's tiff but really Monaghan have been at a different level with better players than Cavan for the last longwhile.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 28/01/2024 16:31:46    2522708

Replying To sligo joe:  "Probably shouldn't get involved in lover's tiff but really Monaghan have been at a different level with better players than Cavan for the last longwhile."
Yeah, sure we love each other really. You're still wrong, though. When it comes to Monaghan Cavan, nothing matters except the results between us. We've won the last two championship games between us and drew the last league game in Inniskeen. We lose in Clones in April and Monaghan take the bragging rights.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 16:44:33    2522722

Replying To sligo joe:  "Probably shouldn't get involved in lover's tiff but really Monaghan have been at a different level with better players than Cavan for the last longwhile."
Lovers tiff dats brilliant

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 28/01/2024 16:50:19    2522727

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Yeah, sure we love each other really. You're still wrong, though. When it comes to Monaghan Cavan, nothing matters except the results between us. We've won the last two championship games between us and drew the last league game in Inniskeen. We lose in Clones in April and Monaghan take the bragging rights."
Whatever makes you sleep at night!

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 28/01/2024 17:13:03    2522734

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Big days out, massive results, etc! I don't want to get into a tit for tat, as I've already said we'd like to experience your run in division one. My point is that you've won't nothing since 2015. Bar beating the Dubs in early round league games, you're referring to last grasp survival games in April as massive results. My point is that this doesn't equal success. You're league credentials are great but silverware is where it counts. In this regard we're both also rans. That's the cold hard truth. Also, in my opinion, the most massive results involving our counties are championship games between us. We're dominant in this regard, at the moment anyway."
Of our team of the past 10 years,at least,10 are household names all over Ireland. Can't think of one from Cavan, maybe "The Hollow" and that is due to Arva success, which by the way was celebrated all over Cavan like they had won an All Ireland to go along with the 5 that few alive can even remember.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 28/01/2024 18:28:23    2522773

We're you at many of those all Ireland finals?

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 18:33:14    2522776

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Yeah, sure we love each other really. You're still wrong, though. When it comes to Monaghan Cavan, nothing matters except the results between us. We've won the last two championship games between us and drew the last league game in Inniskeen. We lose in Clones in April and Monaghan take the bragging rights."
We beat you in 13 15 and 17 and sent you to division 2 in 19 beating you in clones, you didn't draw with us inniskeen I don't know where you're getting your information from.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 18:37:10    2522778

My daddy is bigger than your daddy. Seriously through fair play on victory to kildare. We were blessed to beat them in the summer so good result and galliigan off to good start in competitive division. My two pence worth is we are in a period of transition and showed huge character and grit last night and to stay up last season and make an all ireland semi final where we more than competed. This was after three years of nothing playing constipated football under banty. Staying in div 1 during that period was over celebrated as we did nothing those summers apart from ulster final on back of armagh defensive meltdown. That match we lost to ye in 2020 still annoys as we were a joke tactically that day and handed ye the game. That said cavan in 19/20 in championship had bit between their teeth and were our superiors. The same way were over ye 13-17. We had a really good side then most now gone and arguably should won more trophies. Match in April is 50 50 as always is when we meet ye under no illusions. Good luck in div 2 till then. Always felt cavan underachieved the last decade with the underage teams ye had so maybe galligan like Corey is right man.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 28/01/2024 18:44:22    2522784

Great win. A lot of very good preformances for the first league game against the All Ireland champions who had a strong enough team out and were clearly looking to get points on the board early too. O'Hanlon deserved his man of the match award but I thought Lavelle was immense at fullback. It's been one of the more difficult positions in football and the standard of forward play these days is very high, particularly from Dublin. Hopefully Monaghan can steer clear of injuries and get a few more points. If you can beat Dublin you should be able to give anyone in division 1 a tough game.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 28/01/2024 19:01:32    2522794

Why would you love a prolonged spell in Division 1 if it doesn't matter??

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/01/2024 19:02:09    2522796

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "We beat you in 13 15 and 17 and sent you to division 2 in 19 beating you in clones, you didn't draw with us inniskeen I don't know where you're getting your information from."
Yeah, forgot about 2019. The draw was 2017. It was a turgid affair that was easily forgotten. Anyway, we'll end this pointless to and fro. I am an admirer of your current generation. I look forward to our battles in the future. Good luck in division one.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 19:10:31    2522804