Dublin SFC Final

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think you'll find those Kerry lads were already developed at home using Kerry money before they went to dublin :-)"
Money is indeed the key to a lot of this .....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 19/11/2021 16:13:47    2390016

Replying To TheUsername:  ";D

Spillane has had a great year Mick, looking the part and looked like hes kicked on developmentally, he was MOM in the Semi for my money. Judes are a well coached side mind, every player knows their role, function and what they need to bring to the team. McGuire, not sure hes Country standard myself to be an option for yee, but a good club player.

Mackers a great lad, a real Judes man - always shows for the club and leads from the front, be lovely to see him with a County medal. Crokes look strong, though they can melt down on occasion when its put up to him. Mannion is scintillating at the moment, Rory looking strong at 6 and a very young mobile back 6 for legs around him."
Yeah Kevin a real clubman and it would be most deserved to see him win a medal but a big ask. Yeah Rory playing very well too. Spillane has surprised me tbh. He looked average as a forward but maybe Judes have found his spot at midfield.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 19/11/2021 18:14:42    2390032

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Money is indeed the key to a lot of this ....."
Absolutely.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2021 21:17:04    2390048

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yeah Kevin a real clubman and it would be most deserved to see him win a medal but a big ask. Yeah Rory playing very well too. Spillane has surprised me tbh. He looked average as a forward but maybe Judes have found his spot at midfield."
I don't think he's as athletic as his old man but a good footballer, I haven't seen him in a few years so il reserve judgement till I see him in the final.

Who'll he be up against from kilmacrud?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2021 21:21:48    2390049

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't think he's as athletic as his old man but a good footballer, I haven't seen him in a few years so il reserve judgement till I see him in the final.

Who'll he be up against from kilmacrud?"
When did he leave Templenoe, out of interest? Was he part of their team when they won the intermediate title a few years ago, or is he gone longer than that?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 20/11/2021 10:39:30    2390068

Replying To WanPintWin:  "When did he leave Templenoe, out of interest? Was he part of their team when they won the intermediate title a few years ago, or is he gone longer than that?"
2 years ago I think it was he moved and he was a sub on the Templenoe team the won was it the junior or intermediate? I'm not sure now, he came on that day and scored a point if I remember correctly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/11/2021 13:25:44    2390082

Replying To WanPintWin:  "When did he leave Templenoe, out of interest? Was he part of their team when they won the intermediate title a few years ago, or is he gone longer than that?"
He came on as a sub for them in the All Ireland intermediate semi final which was in January 2020 so he has only transferred recently.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 20/11/2021 14:01:39    2390087

Replying To Kerry15:  "He came on as a sub for them in the All Ireland intermediate semi final which was in January 2020 so he has only transferred recently."
Was it 2020? It feels a lot longer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/11/2021 16:15:29    2390099

Replying To Kerry15:  "He came on as a sub for them in the All Ireland intermediate semi final which was in January 2020 so he has only transferred recently."
Thanks. A lad I know did well off that game, as Oughterard were rank outsiders for that semi final. Templenoe were strong odds on from what I remember and had 4 Kerry seniors, which is incredible for what was an intermediate club.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 21/11/2021 09:26:43    2390137

22 minutes gone between Crokes and Jude's, no score yet! A total bore, running and hand passing to beat the band!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 21/11/2021 15:39:08    2390171

Pure rubbish so far, 23 minutes for first score and 3 in total first half. Lots of lads trying to be like Kieran kilkenny sprinting 30 yards back to deliver a hand pass a further 10 yards back.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 21/11/2021 15:56:20    2390175

Great match and the right result.

Be interesting to see how many Judes globetrotters stick around next year.....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 21/11/2021 16:53:35    2390182

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Great match and the right result.

Be interesting to see how many Judes globetrotters stick around next year....."
Great match? Just no. Very poor apart from a somewhat exciting final 10.

TheLineKing (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 21/11/2021 17:24:48    2390184

it was worse than dire, brutal stuff

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 21/11/2021 17:43:42    2390185

Cruel on Jude's, they ran out of legs and felt management made their changes to late. When you consider the great defensive performance, they were very unlucky conceding a fortuitous goal. Would have been nice to see Macker with a county medal, but at the same time they play a lot not raised on song and stories, so great seeing lads local to the area get on which the Crokes lads are. Think there were four Kerry lads on for Jude's at one stage, must be a little Kerry out Templeouge way.

Fair play to Crokes stuck at it, I thought they may melt down but showed resilience they haven't in recent years. Mannion was great despite being triple marked the whole game. Mannion looks at his peak, actually looked as fit and strong as I've seen him, keeping himself in top nick, the tease - though I wouldn't be one bit surprised on the 8th of Dec with the condition he's in. Mannion, MOM, but I thought Dan O Brien and O Connor were great, real legs and penetration, supporting the role Rory now has for Crokes, shout out for Dias to, showed up when the game was in the melting pot.

Love the Dublin Championship, as today shows to be successful in Dublin you have to be able the play the game every way, cagey, battening, expansively and creatively all int he same game, was a brilliant exciting ending, the Championship variance always bodes well for the senior team, you have to be play so many ways.

Well in Crokes, hard won and fully deserving.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/11/2021 17:48:57    2390187

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "it was worse than dire, brutal stuff"
Anyone who didn't enjoy watching that should probably have been watching Sky maybe.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 21/11/2021 18:09:32    2390191

How did Pat Spillane do?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 21/11/2021 18:33:59    2390196

Replying To TheUsername:  "Cruel on Jude's, they ran out of legs and felt management made their changes to late. When you consider the great defensive performance, they were very unlucky conceding a fortuitous goal. Would have been nice to see Macker with a county medal, but at the same time they play a lot not raised on song and stories, so great seeing lads local to the area get on which the Crokes lads are. Think there were four Kerry lads on for Jude's at one stage, must be a little Kerry out Templeouge way.

Fair play to Crokes stuck at it, I thought they may melt down but showed resilience they haven't in recent years. Mannion was great despite being triple marked the whole game. Mannion looks at his peak, actually looked as fit and strong as I've seen him, keeping himself in top nick, the tease - though I wouldn't be one bit surprised on the 8th of Dec with the condition he's in. Mannion, MOM, but I thought Dan O Brien and O Connor were great, real legs and penetration, supporting the role Rory now has for Crokes, shout out for Dias to, showed up when the game was in the melting pot.

Love the Dublin Championship, as today shows to be successful in Dublin you have to be able the play the game every way, cagey, battening, expansively and creatively all int he same game, was a brilliant exciting ending, the Championship variance always bodes well for the senior team, you have to be play so many ways.

Well in Crokes, hard won and fully deserving."
Sorry for Macker but delighted Crokes won the Double, and for Paul also.

Not sure why Judes have resorted to what Parnell's, Na Fianna and Plunketts tried in the past - but thrilled it failed for them.

ps Great to see certain kerry folk on here take such a positive interest in the Dublin SFC without moaning about money and home advantage and population etc etc etc.
Hope their scouting mission gave them all they were hoping for.... LOL ;o)

pps. Some achievement by Crokes to win the Double. Congrats.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 21/11/2021 18:37:34    2390197

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Anyone who didn't enjoy watching that should probably have been watching Sky maybe."
your easy to amuse

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 21/11/2021 18:51:21    2390202

Replying To Kerry15:  "How did Pat Spillane do?"
He played well until Crokes dug in and like the rest of the new comers faded badly when it mattered,

He might get picked up again during the transfer season :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 21/11/2021 19:44:00    2390215