Dublin SFC Final

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I watched most of the games played on the weekend and was highly impressed by the standard of the refereeing in the Dublin final. In my opinion it was the best job I've seen in a number of years."
Ya the reff had a good game, the way he rightly used his umpires to over turn the penalty was spot on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/11/2021 16:11:29    2390355

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's nothing to do with country lads playing with clubs where they live or even the odd fella playing with club he might have been introduced to by a work mate.

Your own countyman with Cuala is a good example.

I'd say there's not a club in the county doesn't have country lads on that basis. As only 25% full breed I certainly don't advocate DNA checks!

The worst case scenario was 20 years ago when UCD won three counties in 5 years with not a Dub on any of the teams as far as I can recall. Every one a county minor or 21 mostly from Kilkenny and Wexford. And managed by a chap who had nothing but contempt for Dublin hurling for reasons best known to himself.

It was only when they almost beat the great Ballyhale - possibly unfortunately due to a bad call some would say - that GAA overall saw where Dublin clubs were coming from in relation to putting them out of the SHC.

It would be like Tralee IT entering a team in Kerry full of Tipp and Limerick county players. It no good for any county."
Ah fair enough Barney , like I say I don't know a whole lot about the dublin club scene, only going by what iv read here.

UCC enter the Cork football championship, not sure about the hurling though, I wouldn't mind the Tralee IT entering the county championship as most of the lads are local anyway and would be playing for their clubs or divisional teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/11/2021 16:16:06    2390358

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Dublin is the capital so people gravitate towards there ré college and work and many end up settling there and their kids end up playing for Dublin clubs and possibly county. Most of the Dublin team have parents and grandparents that came up to Dublin in this manner. Also it happens in other counties too with players working and living in big towns and end up transferring to to nearest club ré less travel. I understand its tough on the local lads that lose out but nearly every club in Dublin does it to some degree even inter County swapping. Work colleagues tell me that James Mccarthy should have played for Na Fianna. Déan Rock for Ashbourne. Senan Connell should have played for St Brigids. The biggest problem for me is Parnells who coaxed players in to lokk after them financially. If the "imports" produce offspring"that win all Irelands with Dublin in 20 years I'm sure the supporters won't have a problem then. That's where the Brian Fenton Cian Ó Sullivan Diarmuid Connolly Con Ó Callaghan came from. However I do agree that its hard on the local talent. St Vincent's had Dublin only policy for years but when they stopped competing they changed and won a club all ireland with Kerry and Mayo men blending in with the Dubs."
Is Connolly from country stock as well Mick?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/11/2021 16:17:21    2390359

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I knew one of the main people who set up Judes. He played with my uncles. Was never a member of Faughs but moved to area and would have been happy to have supported them had they been interested in forming a juvenile section for a new young area which Judes to their eternal credit tapped into.

Faughs only followed them much later when they realised that an adult only club of mostly country lads was no longer viable. Is that not true, and did not people leave Faughs for Judes? It's history now. Faughs are also brilliant club, no doubt and a fantastic history.

As for being anti country kingdom chaps, 3 of my grandparents were non Dubs. My Tipp grandad hurled for Dublin. Nothing whatsoever to do with disliking country lads. Played with many myself.

As Fionn said, there's a difference between clubs reacting to natural "migration" and tearing the bottom out of it by recruiting as he said half a team of former top class club and county lads!

The ref yesterday was from a club whose proud standing and even community basis was severely dented by their unsuccessful attempt to win a Dublin championship that way."
You have been misinformed about the origins of Judes. I could name most of the founding committee and if anything it was heavily biased towards football. The real impetus towards hurling in the club came from teachers in Bishop Galvin.
Comparisons between this Judes team and Parnells are disingenuous. There are no high profile signings on the Judes team and attempts to suggest they are comparable to Parnells suggests you have an agenda.
Judes have always welcomed country lads. The team that went senior in 1993 had four starting players from the country and three on the bench. You can draw a line from the country lads on that team through to the current setup. In fact the Kerry connection came directly from that team.
Judes currently have an excellent setup at underage level. These youngsters have excellent role models in the senior squad. Nine semi finals out of ten tells its own story. They will inspire the younger players to further success for the club. However Judes will always welcome country players despite the begrudgery.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 22/11/2021 16:20:23    2390360

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is Connolly from country stock as well Mick?"
Parents from Clare and Kilkenny. Look it happens in lots of counties but obviously with Dublin being the capital then it happens most there. Even in Kerry Donaghy Dad Tyrone. Ogie Moran and Ger Powerss Dad's both Limerick.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/11/2021 17:34:30    2390371

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's nothing to do with country lads playing with clubs where they live or even the odd fella playing with club he might have been introduced to by a work mate.

Your own countyman with Cuala is a good example.

I'd say there's not a club in the county doesn't have country lads on that basis. As only 25% full breed I certainly don't advocate DNA checks!

The worst case scenario was 20 years ago when UCD won three counties in 5 years with not a Dub on any of the teams as far as I can recall. Every one a county minor or 21 mostly from Kilkenny and Wexford. And managed by a chap who had nothing but contempt for Dublin hurling for reasons best known to himself.

It was only when they almost beat the great Ballyhale - possibly unfortunately due to a bad call some would say - that GAA overall saw where Dublin clubs were coming from in relation to putting them out of the SHC.

It would be like Tralee IT entering a team in Kerry full of Tipp and Limerick county players. It no good for any county."
Funny you say that.I recall UCC having 13 Kerrymen on their starting 15 at one stage coached by Billy Morgan. They were nicknamed UCK. I have no problem if like Daragh Ó Connell they are working or living in close proximity to the club but I don't agree with players playing with clubs they have no ties with. Its up to the Dublin County board to stop it. In Kerry players can only transfer if they working or living in the parish of another club to my knowledge.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/11/2021 17:40:33    2390372

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Parents from Clare and Kilkenny. Look it happens in lots of counties but obviously with Dublin being the capital then it happens most there. Even in Kerry Donaghy Dad Tyrone. Ogie Moran and Ger Powerss Dad's both Limerick."
I never knew that, Im surprised he didn't hurl instead of going with the football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/11/2021 11:00:08    2390415

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I never knew that, Im surprised he didn't hurl instead of going with the football."
I never . saw Connolly hurl live but he was a very good hurler by all accounts

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 23/11/2021 11:14:09    2390419

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I never knew that, Im surprised he didn't hurl instead of going with the football."
That was his first choice. Was on the Dublin schools team that won All Ireland, won Leinster minor, under 21 and was on beaten team against Galway in 2008 AI 21s final.

A really good hurler and a much bigger loss than Kilkenny or Costello or Callaghan for not coming through to senior. Often wonder had his clubman not taken over the footballers in 2020 might he have gone with the small ball. Vinnies of course were very good at time too.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 23/11/2021 11:26:21    2390423

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "That was his first choice. Was on the Dublin schools team that won All Ireland, won Leinster minor, under 21 and was on beaten team against Galway in 2008 AI 21s final.

A really good hurler and a much bigger loss than Kilkenny or Costello or Callaghan for not coming through to senior. Often wonder had his clubman not taken over the footballers in 2020 might he have gone with the small ball. Vinnies of course were very good at time too."
A loss to the dublin hurlers so, and when you think how close they came to beating Cork in the 2013 allireland semi he could have been the grain of rice that topped the scale that day.

Would he have been worth 5 points to dublin that day I suppose we'll never know.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/11/2021 14:47:44    2390460

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A loss to the dublin hurlers so, and when you think how close they came to beating Cork in the 2013 allireland semi he could have been the grain of rice that topped the scale that day.

Would he have been worth 5 points to dublin that day I suppose we'll never know."
It's impossible to know. Cork could reel off a list including around from the same team of players who would have been good county men in either.

It's very rare now even at top senior club level to see dual players.

Dublin has always had that problem. After 1961 defeat to Tipp, Heffo who was no slouch himself persuaded most of the Vinnies lads to stick to county football and they won All Ireland a bit unexpectedly in 1963.

Lar Foley was among those who - as far as i know - never hurled seriously again for Dublin after 1961 whereas his brother Des played into later 60s. And won two Railways with Leinster on same day.

So Connolly joins a long list of imponderables!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 23/11/2021 15:53:29    2390470

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's impossible to know. Cork could reel off a list including around from the same team of players who would have been good county men in either.

Dublin has always had that problem. After 1961 defeat to Tipp, Heffo who was no slouch himself persuaded most of the Vinnies lads to stick to county football and they won All Ireland a bit unexpectedly in 1963.

Lar Foley was among those who - as far as i know - never hurled seriously again for Dublin after 1961 whereas his brother Des played into later 60s. And won two Railways with Leinster on same day.

So Connolly joins a long list of imponderables!"
Ya it must be hard to serve 2 masters, I have family in west Cork who are always lamenting great young footballers going with the hurlers, I'm glad we don't have that problem or as big a problem.

Sounds like Heffo might have set hurling in dublin back a few years.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/11/2021 16:17:08    2390475

I suppose Heffo was being pragmatic although he was not popular with hurling management at time he was managing the footballers! Mick Holden,,,, ahem.

I had family involved with county hurlers at time and it was the county board rather than the football management specifically that was regarded as not being particularly helpful.

Hurlers still had the old kit - sky blue jerseys and white shorts - for at least two years as far i recall after the glamour boys got their Fancy Dan yokes :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 23/11/2021 16:37:05    2390479

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Parents from Clare and Kilkenny. Look it happens in lots of counties but obviously with Dublin being the capital then it happens most there. Even in Kerry Donaghy Dad Tyrone. Ogie Moran and Ger Powerss Dad's both Limerick."
Dermo is Leitrim stock i think Mick, his brother i think even togged out them. Remember Dermo wearing a Leitrim tracksuit before one of our games.

He has either a Leinster minor or Under 21 with the hurlers I believe.

Lowndes, Kilkenny and Costello i believe were huge losses, exceptional hurlers from those who know their stuff at hat level coming up.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/11/2021 16:37:23    2390480

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dermo is Leitrim stock i think Mick, his brother i think even togged out them. Remember Dermo wearing a Leitrim tracksuit before one of our games.

Lowndes, Kilkenny and Costello i believe were huge losses, exceptional hurlers from those who know their stuff at hat level coming up."
Sorry Username but I'm 100% certain Dermo s parents are Kilkenny and Clare. Not sure which but think his Dad is from Kilkenny and Mom from Clare but both definately Kilkenny and Clare. There might be a Leitrim connection through grandparentscalthough I don't know. His brother might have played for Leitrim under the special hurling rule which allowed weaker counties avail of some outsiders.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 24/11/2021 11:24:16    2390560

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dermo is Leitrim stock i think Mick, his brother i think even togged out them. Remember Dermo wearing a Leitrim tracksuit before one of our games.

Lowndes, Kilkenny and Costello i believe were huge losses, exceptional hurlers from those who know their stuff at hat level coming up."
Yes I just checked and Diarmuids father was from Kilkenny and mother from Clare. Dermo wore a Leitrim top at the warm up for an all ireland Username so you are correct in that and also his brother Keith captained Leitrim hurlers. Not sure the connection there but I know the gaa allow 2 or 3 players to declare for weaker hurling counties.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 24/11/2021 11:36:43    2390565

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's impossible to know. Cork could reel off a list including around from the same team of players who would have been good county men in either.

So Connolly joins a long list of imponderables!"
It's across the board in Wexford, the club that won the Senior Hurling last year won the football this year and the club that won the football last year won the Hurling this year, perhaps about 90% same players.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 24/11/2021 12:31:32    2390579

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Sorry Username but I'm 100% certain Dermo s parents are Kilkenny and Clare. Not sure which but think his Dad is from Kilkenny and Mom from Clare but both definately Kilkenny and Clare. There might be a Leitrim connection through grandparentscalthough I don't know. His brother might have played for Leitrim under the special hurling rule which allowed weaker counties avail of some outsiders."
Fair play to you Mick, good to clear that up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2021 13:55:35    2390600

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Sorry Username but I'm 100% certain Dermo s parents are Kilkenny and Clare. Not sure which but think his Dad is from Kilkenny and Mom from Clare but both definately Kilkenny and Clare. There might be a Leitrim connection through grandparentscalthough I don't know. His brother might have played for Leitrim under the special hurling rule which allowed weaker counties avail of some outsiders."
Would have lost money on that Mick, don't know why but was full sure his Ma, was Leitrim, or there was a Leitrim connection, being wrong keeps us humble eh! I know Tom togged out maybe I assumed knowing his family were country people! Mea Culpa!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/11/2021 15:59:04    2390639

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would have lost money on that Mick, don't know why but was full sure his Ma, was Leitrim, or there was a Leitrim connection, being wrong keeps us humble eh! I know Tom togged out maybe I assumed knowing his family were country people! Mea Culpa!"
Well you were correct in that the brother played for and captained Leitrim hurlers User. The Leitrim top must have come from the brother but he definately wore a Leitrim tracksuit top so you ré not fully wrong.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 24/11/2021 16:23:00    2390652