Donegal GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "That's rich coming from Donegal about pitch brawls .
He does get away with alot of stuff.
Armagh fans are far nicer then you lot and they say hard luck after a loss and shake your hand unlike you guys who rub it in their faces after you did to us the last day and you did to Armagh in Ulster final..
They actually have respect for opposite teams and fans unlike some !"
I seen bad loosers in my time but you take the biscuit? Get over it. I was chatting to lots of Mayo supporters after Sunday's match and the banter was good.
Move on, under new Management and with a few new additions, especially forwards you will be back strong next year.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 590 - 19/06/2025 12:32:53    2619203

Mol an Oige agus tiocfaidh siad, I have backed Donegal to pull this off.

Scantermediate69 (Australia) - Posts: 4 - 19/06/2025 12:53:25    2619209

Armagh fans are far nicer then you lot and they say hard luck after a loss and shake your hand unlike you guys who rub it in their faces after you did to us the last day and you did to Armagh in Ulster final..
What goes around comes around.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 685 - 19/06/2025 13:04:44    2619214

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There are a couple of accounts in particular who have a real bee in their bonnets about Michael's return & subsequent displays.

Their gripe would appear to be that Murphy is a golden boy of the GAA and gets away with murder on the pitch. Admittedly he mistimes tackles on occasion.

Also they appear to rsent the fact that Murphy picks up so many MOTM awards, and last month's POTM. Bizarre, when anyone with a set of functioning eyes and rudimentary football knowledge could hardly disagree that Murphy has been absolutely superb. And all this after a 2 year hiatus.."
That has to be Trolls, no way genuinely Armagh fans would be online b***hing/touting about Murphy being a little bit physical.

There is a troll poster with a number of accounts on here, who for years has been pretending to be from Mayo or Antrim or Limerick and probably even Donegal etc depending on what pot they are stirring, and that particular poster was then on the Carlow forum discussing Carlow club matches, which gives a strong hint to where is actually from.

I spotted the matching typing style, there was very small unique detail a poster used, searched around HS, noted that person must have had at least 5 or 6 accounts. I later called it out and the common feature soon was removed from all future posts, but it clearly is one person. Some of those accounts are prominent profiles, so sometimes we should ignore the listed County.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1392 - 19/06/2025 13:21:28    2619220

She's back!!! Well Galway fans are much nicer than you lot, so there! (Only joking by the way because I'm not twelve years old). Also, you know nothing about armagh fans, you don't play in the ulster championship and I don't think you've met them in the all ireland recently so you have no room to talk. Most armagh fans are grand, as are most Mayo fans and donegal fans. Funny that eh. There were some Mayo fans who acted appallingly after knocking us out of the championship in 2013 and 2019 in particular so you'll forgive us for having the last laugh on Sunday. It surely must be concerning that you were outnumbered massively on your own doorstep. Changed times for sure. Anyway, good luck next season, Mayo are still a very good side, just lacking a bit of consistency and ruthlessness at times.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 19/06/2025 13:25:58    2619224

Here lad will you cop on. Not even sure are you from Mayo but if you are get a grip. We lost to Cavan that's why we ended up where we are. I don't give a **** about Murphy at the final whistle or anything else. These things happen at club and county level. If we are beat fair and square which we were we need to suck it up. End of story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8450 - 19/06/2025 13:43:23    2619234

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There are a couple of accounts in particular who have a real bee in their bonnets about Michael's return & subsequent displays.

Their gripe would appear to be that Murphy is a golden boy of the GAA and gets away with murder on the pitch. Admittedly he mistimes tackles on occasion.

Also they appear to rsent the fact that Murphy picks up so many MOTM awards, and last month's POTM. Bizarre, when anyone with a set of functioning eyes and rudimentary football knowledge could hardly disagree that Murphy has been absolutely superb. And all this after a 2 year hiatus.."
I think all of the greats get different treatment from rival fans. Murphy has been immense since coming back as you say after 2 years away. I was listening to OTBAM on the way to work this morning and they actually spoke about him and the tactical element of how Donegal have performed this season so far. The question posed mainly centred around Murphy shouldering so much responsibility and as a result you're not seeing the same performance levels from others - Gallen is a case in point. All start forward, previous free taker and now with Murphy back he has been pretty underwhelming and definitely in the shadows. Everyone else from what I've seen have done well in first and bursts only i.e. O'Baoill.

They posed the question of how management can get Murphy plus the 3 or 4 main men all hitting the heights together. I think Murphy is similar to Con for us. We were miles off it when he was injured and I'd wonder how Donegal would function without Murphy such is the key man dependency. I know for certain last weekend if he wasn't there then Mayo would have won the game no doubt. From your perspective you of course hope he stays injury free all season and see where it takes ye. That's the challenge now for McGuinness and I'm sure one he's well aware of but as the championship gets into the latter stages opposition are going to plan for Murphy and don't be surprised if some try to take him out early on.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 275 - 19/06/2025 14:00:20    2619240

Does anyone know what the story is with Niall O'donnell? He won the ulster final for us and then hasn't been seen since. Is he injured? You would think he would be first sub on when our forwards are misfiring.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 19/06/2025 16:29:42    2619294

Replying To High_and_wide:  "Does anyone know what the story is with Niall O'donnell? He won the ulster final for us and then hasn't been seen since. Is he injured? You would think he would be first sub on when our forwards are misfiring."
He's injured.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 685 - 19/06/2025 16:41:22    2619297

Ticketmaster now has tickets on general sale for the stand. Sections B,C,D,G,H

Goldengreen (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 19/06/2025 16:58:06    2619305

Replying To Goldengreen:  "Ticketmaster now has tickets on general sale for the stand. Sections B,C,D,G,H"
That news is doing nothing for my humour on how the season tickets work....

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 869 - 19/06/2025 17:54:56    2619321

Replying To greenfan:  "He's injured."
Which is a shame because he should be starting games now considering our other forwards have been hit or miss.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 169 - 19/06/2025 18:15:02    2619325

Replying To rorysboys:  "Rules are different now lad. It's a complete new game plus murphy is a few years older. My gripe was this forum was slating previous managers
for utilising murphy too far away from goals . Both gallagher and bonner are experienced managers and both felt that was murphys best position . For mayo s goal last Sunday murphy was bursting a gut to get back and help his defenders. Typical of the man. I feel managers let him decide what he does because in fairness he is just a huge leader who doesn't need to be sat down and told what to do.. hope he gets a wee rest Sunday. Croke park the following weekend will be crucial up against a meath or monaghan team on the up. That's not being disrespectful to louth who have done fantastic this year but I still feel with home advantage well have too much."
Gallagher and Bonner had Murphy in his prime and didn't utilize him or capitalize on having one of the greatest of all times. They wasted him by using him to play sideways balls. We are getting much more out of him now and when Jim was there last time.

As for him bursting a gut for Mayos goal,what do you expect? He lost the ball which was the cause of it, of course you would expect him, or any other player for that matter to bust a gut and try and rectify their mistakes.

You are being disrespectful to Louth as well, they are Leinster champions and have improved since we met them in the QFs last year. They have some terrific players. Yes, we are favourites, but if you start to look ahead it will cost you. Similar to 2020 when Bonner took his eye off Cavan in the Ulster final expecting it to be an easy win. You were probably looking ahead to the semi final against Dublin as well that time. But it cost us massively. Hopefully lessons learned from that about getting over confident. I don't think Jim would allow the players to think like that anyway.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 271 - 19/06/2025 19:18:15    2619331