Donegal GAA thread

Hopefully mc Cole is not serious. Suppose better to happen now than later on in the year..very disappointed with a lot of the game yesterday. Every one knew Louth were going to be dogged but at least we finished well. 3 more competitive games till c ship .jim will be hoping that a few of the long term absentees return soon time Running out for a few of them..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/03/2024 09:11:27    2529616

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hopefully mc Cole is not serious. Suppose better to happen now than later on in the year..very disappointed with a lot of the game yesterday. Every one knew Louth were going to be dogged but at least we finished well. 3 more competitive games till c ship .jim will be hoping that a few of the long term absentees return soon time Running out for a few of them.."
After the optimism following the Armagh game yesterdays performance was very poor in a lot of respects.The handling and passing was poor and they don't seem to be able to retain possession in any contact situation.You can't always avoid contact and we need to develop the skills to protect the ball in tight situations.We are very poor in that regard.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 04/03/2024 10:52:46    2529644

I thought we laboured to the win yesterday but we finished out the game well. I was very impressed with Louth. They kept fighting until the end and got some great scores, hopefully they stay up. The goal was a turning point and by all accounts it was lucky to stand, I haven't seen a replay of it.

Paddy McBrearty was outstanding again and Gallen came good in the second half. Peadar Mogan was phenomenal and overall the defence did well but we were letting runner come from deep too easily. Ciaran Moore and Mark Curran did really well. What happnened with Stephen McMenamin, did something happen him in the warm up? It was strange he came on near the end if he had an injury.

Overall we have to very happy with the way things are going but the injury list is frustrating. It is less the 7 weeks until the Derry game and time is running out for those players who haven't featured so far this season. Maybe the All-Ireland qualifier group stages in June is a more realistic target for some of them. It surely is time to give Aaron Doherty a chance, he looks bright when he comes on.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 04/03/2024 10:54:15    2529645

Replying To ballboy101:  "Milford might have a claim, seeing as he lives in their parish....."
Pretty sure St Michaels don't try to claim the messiah ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 10:57:03    2529647

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "The club is Naomh Conaill, please have some respect. They are our county champions and they've set the bench mark for us all currently."
Can we stop been so sensitive please.

I don't hear anyone calling out Brian Mc Eniff when he calls them glenties or us letterkenny. ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 10:58:39    2529649

Replying To greenfan:  "I don't think anyone disappears... they probably just have a life outside of Hogan stand and aren't on here daily posting messages in an anonymous forum"
This is true.

Not all of us are in school and have the time to be constantly checking forums etc

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 10:59:36    2529650

Replying To greenfan:  "You go to every game, everyone gets it, no need to keep on about it. Go to the game and watch the game, forget about how many other people are there. The constant criticism of people who don't go to every game is tiresome."
+1

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:00:07    2529651

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah jeez lads how old are we here?

Look we get it.

- rorysboys goes to all county matches
- eunans4ever loves winding anyone from Naomh Conaill up

But it's getting pretty old now. Any chance we could just concentrate on actual Donegal GAA matters?"
I don't wind them up at all?

I do agree tho the other one - it's very very hard work.

I wouldn't buy into the claim of going to every game either - lot of high stool talk goes on IMO.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:02:02    2529652

Replying To Lockjaw:  ""I'm a very humble lad. And may I say very knowledgeable on gaa."

Do you know what paradox means?

You're good craic anyway! Enjoy the function!"
You'd think that would be taught in school??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:02:59    2529653

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "True for you Lockjaw, roryboy claims he goes to every game, who cares where he goes or if he goes at all,
eunans4ever has a problem with Naomh Conaill as you say. it's childish muck and I'm sick reading it even though I try to skim past it.
At the end of the day we are all Donegal fans and want the best for the team and supporters, we have enough people who are anti GAA in the county without bickering among ourselves.
Hope we get the win against Louth as easy as everyone on the predictions thread is thinking. Giving a good bright day on Sunday should be a good day for football."
I don't have a problem with anyone ?

The last post I made lavished praise on glenties/fintowns greatest son.

I've huge admiration for Glenties/fintown - they are a fantastic club and have completely changed the culture there since coming on the scene V what it used to be.

Lots other clubs could learn from that my own included

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:05:32    2529656

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "
Replying To peiledoir20:  "[quote=rorysboys:  "[quote=peiledoir20:  "Ok lad sorry for annoying yous. Doesn't matter if I go to games or not it's not the point. The point is admit when you're wrong. I'm a very humble lad. And may I say very knowledgeable on gaa. If you don't agree with that no need for a barrage of posts I haven't time today I'm at a gaa function later on so my posts might be light. Have a nice day

Is that why you're currently 53rd on the predictions league table?"
You're taking the competition serious lad. I didn't even know I was in 53 rd I don't even check my results.. so you think you know everything about gaa now because you got a couple of correct scores. It gets better lol. Statement of the week definite.ha"
Enjoy your function tonight and make sure not to be giving out any betting tips."]Was the function in Spain? Na Rossa are on their holidays."]Well played

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:06:09    2529657

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Still not over the beatings from the County Champions for the past 2 years.
You are a very sore looser....."
Why are we looking for reasons to be offended ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:07:08    2529660

Only positives from yesterday were the 2 points and the score line.

1-8 against a strong breeze in the second half was a solid return.

We are getting badly exposed in midfield which is unusual considering how many big units we have to deploy there.

Another low enough turnout from fans - similar to game in our patch.

What will it take for the fan base to return - play all games in ballybofey?

We don't do enough to promote the games internally to attract people who are holding off for championship

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/03/2024 11:11:15    2529663

Replying To gunman:  "After the optimism following the Armagh game yesterdays performance was very poor in a lot of respects.The handling and passing was poor and they don't seem to be able to retain possession in any contact situation.You can't always avoid contact and we need to develop the skills to protect the ball in tight situations.We are very poor in that regard."
It was a funny game, and not one of our best. The handling in the first half especially was very poor. We seemed to be running into traps being laid by Louth. They played very deep, they didn't come out to engage, and as a result we had great difficulty playing through them. Because they were so compact at the back, kickpassing wasn't an option. Also, on numerous occasions Paddy and Farah came out to get on ball, but found it hard to get the space to get a shot off. Mind you, Paddy was very good again today, and kicked a couple of fantastic scores. Kieran Moore, Caolan McGonagle and Peadar Mogan also carried very well.

Hopefully things are being worked on that we haven't seen yet, and won't be rolled out till later in the year.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 04/03/2024 11:20:14    2529665

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why are we looking for reasons to be offended ?"
You still didn't answer my question about Patton. I'm very offended

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/03/2024 11:46:33    2529672

McBrearty is turning in to a great play maker and is brilliant as always with the frees.The fact that all the frees were from his side helped his scoring stats.Fara didn't get an opportunity from frees to up his tally but 0-4 from play wasn't bad despite people saying that he wasn't great on the day.McBrearty only got 0-1 from play.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 04/03/2024 11:50:36    2529675

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hopefully mc Cole is not serious. Suppose better to happen now than later on in the year..very disappointed with a lot of the game yesterday. Every one knew Louth were going to be dogged but at least we finished well. 3 more competitive games till c ship .jim will be hoping that a few of the long term absentees return soon time Running out for a few of them.."
You make a valid point.

Just under 7 weeks until Derry. Not only do the injuried lads need to get back training but they need a few games to get them primed for the white heat of Celtic Park. By the time the Kildare game comes around that will be down to 5.

Ban has played two halves so far this year, NOD COD McGee McColgan haven't played anything. McCole looks to be in bother. I feel we may be well off the full hand come April 20th.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 04/03/2024 12:46:46    2529704

Didn't get to the game yesterday as I'm still slogging it out in the Donegal League for my sins.
By all accounts it was a case of job done without being all that impressive. I wouldn't be too worried about it. It's more points on the board and a step closer to promotion. We wouldn't want to be delivering top performances in the league, better to keep just trucking away without anyone taking too much notice of us.

The injury situation would be more concerning. McCole would be a huge loss if he's ruled out long term. Hopefully just a precautionary measure yesterday. It would be good if the likes of Ban and Jason McGee could get the Kildare game and potential league final in. As others have said, they're running out of road. But Ulster is only one competition, if they are not ready for that so be it. Still lots of championship action beyond the Derry game win or lose.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 04/03/2024 12:49:09    2529706

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why are we looking for reasons to be offended ?"
Absolutely not, we were discussing our County Team and you mentioned a defamatory remark re the County Champions

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 04/03/2024 13:27:05    2529718

Replying To gunman:  "McBrearty is turning in to a great play maker and is brilliant as always with the frees.The fact that all the frees were from his side helped his scoring stats.Fara didn't get an opportunity from frees to up his tally but 0-4 from play wasn't bad despite people saying that he wasn't great on the day.McBrearty only got 0-1 from play."
Totally agree, Patrick is a different player under Jim, a player maker as well a brilliant scoring forward from his super left foot. Oisin could learn a lot from Patrick, a great point taker but he needs 2 vary is game and pass the ball when the point is not on.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 04/03/2024 13:30:30    2529720