Donegal GAA thread

Replying To himachechy:  "I did the math on this and whether you do it by club in total (the way they did it) or by GAA clubs + LGFA +Camogie (LGFA proposal) makes very little difference to the vast majority of clubs. 37 clubs who offer GAA + LGFA would actually get little over a thousand euro more each. But that would be at the expense of 4 clubs who only offer one sport club - 2 mens football only clubs, setanta hurling club and the camogie club (closely aligned with setanta but different (as I understand it). Those clubs would get half what they are getting under the system the county board used. I think it would be poor form to financially penalize the hurling and camogie clubs as well as 2 football clubs who maybe only don't have a LGFA team due to low population or whatever. A lot of club expense are pretty fixed, no matter how many teams you have.

Remember the LGFA were not including hurling in their argument. They were lumping hurling and football together under 'GAA club'.

As I under stand it, the LGFA proposal would mean for the 37 dual clubs (based on the one club model where LGFA are a sub committee) the LGFA sub committee would get half the funding, and the other half would have to cover the rest of the club (football, hurling, score, handball- whatever else). If I was on the executive in that situation, first thing I would do is put a levi on the LGFA sub committee for contribution to pitch / clubhouse whatever other expenses I could think of.

LGFA should think more about working with the GAA clubs they are affiliated to rather than against them"
Yes, 4 clubs would get half of what they are getting currently. Setanta and Marciewicz are 2 of these. Would hazard a guess that the other two are N. Brid and Na Rossa who's ladies play with Pettigo and Dungloe respectively (not sure if there's an official amalgamation standing, but at least their ladies can put some of those funds to use by funding some small % of Pettigo and Dungloe ladies expenditure).

In Cork it was split even further out than this, and the likes of Red Hughes (again sorry to pick on Crossroads) would get 2 tranches, and Marciewicz and Setanta would get 1 each. That still means that the three clubs in Killygordon (covering 1 men's football and hurling team, one LGFA team, one Camogie team) would get the same funding in total as the likes of Burt, Carndonagh, Eunan's and Dungloe.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 420 - 02/02/2024 19:35:17    2523922

We weren't on tune at all today. Maybe it was because Christy The Piper wasn't even there today. We didn't bring the same intensity today.

Apart from a 10 minute spell in the middle of the second half when we really dug deep, we were off the pace for the majority of the rest of the game. But, on the brightside, we dug deep, and got the victory.

And a fantastic display by Farah.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 647 - 04/02/2024 19:13:51    2524309

Just back from Cavan - very different performance to last week.

We just about seen it out - wasn't the same level of intensity or press as last week..

Oisin G and Ryan were fantastic and just about got us over the line.

Anyone know what Caolan black card was for - difficult to see at the game ??

Hopefully Eoin Ban injury isn't too bad as he's a crucial asset for us…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 04/02/2024 20:24:56    2524351

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Just back from Cavan - very different performance to last week.

We just about seen it out - wasn't the same level of intensity or press as last week..

Hopefully Eoin Ban injury isn't too bad as he's a crucial asset for us…"
Great to have you back eunans forever great that you have your love for football back. I met a few strange faces today who were absent this while.. there's room for everyone. We have to keep farah fit

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 04/02/2024 21:14:45    2524367

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Just back from Cavan - very different performance to last week.

Black card for taking Faulkner out off the ball in the build up to when we got a yellow

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2423 - 04/02/2024 21:26:52    2524372

Replying To rorysboys:  "Great to have you back eunans forever great that you have your love for football back. I met a few strange faces today who were absent this while.. there's room for everyone. We have to keep farah fit"
Great to have me back where ???

I never miss a game nor never will while I can.

I'll never judge those that don't though, they have their reasons and don't deserve judgement from the likes of you.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 04/02/2024 22:08:13    2524390

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "We weren't on tune at all today. Maybe it was because Christy The Piper wasn't even there today. We didn't bring the same intensity today.

Apart from a 10 minute spell in the middle of the second half when we really dug deep, we were off the pace for the majority of the rest of the game. But, on the brightside, we dug deep, and got the victory.

And a fantastic display by Farah."
I thought we started well. The black card came at a bad time and knock us out of our stride. When Ceelan came back on again we finished the half strongly. Oisin was excellent and always a threat. Jim will have learned a lot today and a few more players got game time.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 04/02/2024 22:39:35    2524407

I think Cavan's physicality caught a few of our players by surprise, a good learning curve for some of the newer players. Patton's long kick out midway through the second half when the Cavan players pressed up was super. Jamie fisted a point but it should have resulted in a goal.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 04/02/2024 22:56:48    2524416

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Great to have me back where ???

I never miss a game nor never will while I can.

I'll never judge those that don't though, they have their reasons and don't deserve judgement from the likes of you."
God man eunans 4 ever I'm only praising you . Do I believe you no. Were you happy with ref today and that Cassidy buck on line. Donegal line seemed to spend a lot of time getting on to him.. looks like Armagh our selves are hot hot favourites for promotion . League final if it happens will be great preparation for Derry.. roll on Fermanagh now

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 04/02/2024 23:17:25    2524419

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I thought we started well. The black card came at a bad time and knock us out of our stride. When Ceelan came back on again we finished the half strongly. Oisin was excellent and always a threat. Jim will have learned a lot today and a few more players got game time."
Yes, when Caolan went off we had to sit back a bit and absorb a bit of pressure. But in general our hustle today was way off where it had been previously. In previous games we had been getting pressure on the player it was played back to, but not today. Whether it was tactical or a lack of overall energy, I don't know.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 647 - 05/02/2024 09:37:43    2524464

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I think Cavan's physicality caught a few of our players by surprise, a good learning curve for some of the newer players. Patton's long kick out midway through the second half when the Cavan players pressed up was super. Jamie fisted a point but it should have resulted in a goal."
I thought this game was very much as many expected, Cavan are a serious side full of quality players and are relentless, I think first half they cleaned out out inexperienced experimental midfield, Faulkner seemed to pick up everything.

2nd half introduction of Michael Langan combined with assistance from Ciaran Thompson dropping deep seemed to address this, but I think Donegal's attack efficiency dropped in the 2nd half and we missed a lot of chances which could have allowed us to pull away. But fair play to Cavan, they never gave up and were relentless and could have easily got a draw or even a win late on.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1155 - 05/02/2024 10:20:38    2524484

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I think Cavan's physicality caught a few of our players by surprise, a good learning curve for some of the newer players. Patton's long kick out midway through the second half when the Cavan players pressed up was super. Jamie fisted a point but it should have resulted in a goal."
Possibly yes.

Shaun bombed a few unreal kicks in second half over the top of everyone against the breeze- he's a joy to watch at that..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 05/02/2024 10:41:59    2524485

Replying To rorysboys:  "God man eunans 4 ever I'm only praising you . Do I believe you no. Were you happy with ref today and that Cassidy buck on line. Donegal line seemed to spend a lot of time getting on to him.. looks like Armagh our selves are hot hot favourites for promotion . League final if it happens will be great preparation for Derry.. roll on Fermanagh now"
I tend to stay clear of the pettiness of blaming a ref or the officials - there is no sense in doing it and it's extremely childish.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 05/02/2024 10:43:36    2524486

Replying To Commodore:  "I thought this game was very much as many expected, Cavan are a serious side full of quality players and are relentless, I think first half they cleaned out out inexperienced experimental midfield, Faulkner seemed to pick up everything.

2nd half introduction of Michael Langan combined with assistance from Ciaran Thompson dropping deep seemed to address this, but I think Donegal's attack efficiency dropped in the 2nd half and we missed a lot of chances which could have allowed us to pull away. But fair play to Cavan, they never gave up and were relentless and could have easily got a draw or even a win late on."
Yes agreed - midfield is a real problem for us so far but we are finding solutions in game which is impressive - credit to the strength on the coaching ticket for that - a huge improvement on previous years…

Think we are suffering for physical presence in the middle with Caolan moving to CHB and Langan and McGee mostly injured.

Thomo dominates at club level in here but never really does the same at county level , maybe best served in half forward line.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 05/02/2024 10:47:01    2524489

Maybe with the 2 week break we might see a couple of the long termed injured back.By the way who was the boy on crutches.I couldn't make him out from where I was.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1095 - 05/02/2024 11:20:24    2524500

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yes agreed - midfield is a real problem for us so far but we are finding solutions in game which is impressive - credit to the strength on the coaching ticket for that - a huge improvement on previous years…

Think we are suffering for physical presence in the middle with Caolan moving to CHB and Langan and McGee mostly injured.

Thomo dominates at club level in here but never really does the same at county level , maybe best served in half forward line."
We're going back to the tried and trusted. Mc menamin back yesterday . By champo they'll be very few young lads starting. My big fear will still be the defence. Not being smart but mc Hugh and mogan were slated on here for being too small against powerful teams did they grow this last year. People said young players were ignored by bonner especially. Where are they now.. we're progressing but god forbid if anything happens gallen, langan mc Cole we'll be in huge trouble.. a win is a win but championship is creeping up we need to up the ante. As I said the Armagh games are the games we need. A lot of poor teams in div 2. Take Donegal Armagh out and maybe Cavan the rest are mediocre. This is not donegal s fault. But from watching div 1 there's a huge difference in standards we need to get there

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 05/02/2024 11:21:34    2524501

We were blunt in attack. Take away Gallans 4 individual points and his frees it was a poor day in that regard. Thompson hit another long range point. Jamie's point came from our own kick out. I'm sure this will be an area we will look at over time. We didn't seem to be able to get shots away in easy scoring zones. Similar to the Cork game in a way. We hit a lot of long range points. Not saying this is bad, it's great to see, but is it sustainable?

Early days and very positive signs in terms of our defence albeit against no top teams as of yet. Our defensive shape is very good. Our swarm tackling has improved. We aren't fouling as much. We're breaking with pace. The jury is still out on one or two individual defenders though.

Overall two wins. A great start.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1170 - 05/02/2024 13:01:09    2524536

Replying To rorysboys:  "We're going back to the tried and trusted. Mc menamin back yesterday . By champo they'll be very few young lads starting. My big fear will still be the defence. Not being smart but mc Hugh and mogan were slated on here for being too small against powerful teams did they grow this last year. People said young players were ignored by bonner especially. Where are they now.. we're progressing but god forbid if anything happens gallen, langan mc Cole we'll be in huge trouble.. a win is a win but championship is creeping up we need to up the ante. As I said the Armagh games are the games we need. A lot of poor teams in div 2. Take Donegal Armagh out and maybe Cavan the rest are mediocre. This is not donegal s fault. But from watching div 1 there's a huge difference in standards we need to get there"
I openly said 2019 - 2022 that I thought Declan Bonner constantly using Ryan McHugh as a wing back wasn't working, we became too predictable and physically having it match up with Derry's Gareth McKindless or Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor where he was outplayed and overpowered. I also thought that playing Peadar Mogan and Ryan McHugh at the same time left us a bit lightweight at the back and I stand over all of those comments.

What has impressed me so far in 2024 about Ryan McHugh is that he is moved around, not always playing the same role. In the first two league games he has been sweeper, bit like Mark McHugh 2012, but in McKenna Cup he often played a more advanced role at right wing forward and was impressive. The current defensive system seems more robust at dealing with powerful runners, so that helps.

Peadar Mogan looks more powerful, his pace is unreal. I think when Caolan McColgan returns and if Eoghan Ban can reach full fitness without further niggles, we will be a hard to predict team with a powerful bench.

Looking forward to Niall O'Donnell coming back, should give us that added dimension upfront too.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1155 - 05/02/2024 13:41:31    2524545

Replying To TheRock2121:  "We were blunt in attack. Take away Gallans 4 individual points and his frees it was a poor day in that regard. Thompson hit another long range point. Jamie's point came from our own kick out. I'm sure this will be an area we will look at over time. We didn't seem to be able to get shots away in easy scoring zones. Similar to the Cork game in a way. We hit a lot of long range points. Not saying this is bad, it's great to see, but is it sustainable?

Early days and very positive signs in terms of our defence albeit against no top teams as of yet. Our defensive shape is very good. Our swarm tackling has improved. We aren't fouling as much. We're breaking with pace. The jury is still out on one or two individual defenders though.

Overall two wins. A great start."
I think Jamie Brennan has the potential to catch fire ahead of Championship, his confidence seems to have dipped in recent times, and Niall O'Donnell could give an added dimension in attack. I think McBrearty can still play a serious role.

This is not the Donegal of 2010-2011, a large number of these lads have back to back Ulster medals from 2018 & 2019, Division 2 title and McKenna Cup etc. I think if McGuinness can get injuries to clear up right, they might shock a few people at how quickly things have turned around.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1155 - 05/02/2024 14:26:40    2524556

Replying To Commodore:  "I openly said 2019 - 2022 that I thought Declan Bonner constantly using Ryan McHugh as a wing back wasn't working, we became too predictable and physically having it match up with Derry's Gareth McKindless or Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor where he was outplayed and overpowered. I also thought that playing Peadar Mogan and Ryan McHugh at the same time left us a bit lightweight at the back and I stand over all of those comments.

What has impressed me so far in 2024 about Ryan McHugh is that he is moved around, not always playing the same role. In the first two league games he has been sweeper, bit like Mark McHugh 2012, but in McKenna Cup he often played a more advanced role at right wing forward and was impressive. The current defensive system seems more robust at dealing with powerful runners, so that helps.

Peadar Mogan looks more powerful, his pace is unreal. I think when Caolan McColgan returns and if Eoghan Ban can reach full fitness without further niggles, we will be a hard to predict team with a powerful bench.

Looking forward to Niall O'Donnell coming back, should give us that added dimension upfront too."
I'm afraid caolan mc Colgan is out with injury too long to have any real effect this year same goes for Conor o donnell. I heard Niall o d has had a set back so time is against him too. I was hoping we would be unearthing 2 or 3 new lads that would make the c ship team this year, it's not looking likely now. I know it's early days but the way the calendar is run any muscle injuries from now on is fatal. That's where we need the squad mc Guinness alluded. to that too, I don't think squad is strong enough.. another good squad player is caolan ward but he was in London for treatment last "week so not looking good.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 05/02/2024 14:28:30    2524558