Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Should be a good game. Gowna fairly romped to victory yesterday I see. Who would be Gowna's main men?"
Tiernan Madden is an excellent player. Glides around the pitch. His brother Cian Madden a good player also and Conor Madden a cousin. Conor Casey a good half forward. They have a lot of good young players. Ryan Donahoe at midfield and Ryan Brady. Conor Brady went off yesterday and probably out of Ulster.

NC are very seasoned and more experienced in Ulster. It will be a step up for Gowna but maybe the big pitch in Breffni will suit them. They found it tough last year in Enniskillen

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2839 - 23/10/2023 16:12:23    2509909

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Should be a good game. Gowna fairly romped to victory yesterday I see. Who would be Gowna's main men?"
Gowna a very young team with alot of U21's in their starting team.

Main men would be The Madden's, the Brady's and Ryan Donohoe. Old stalwart Cavan Mark Mckeever still coming off the bench for them.

They are likely to dominate Cavan football over the next few years given their age profile unless Crosserlough can get over their inability to beat them in championship.

Might be a year too early for them in Ulster but Glenties would need to be wary of them.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 331 - 23/10/2023 16:12:43    2509910

Replying To peiledoir20:  "That's what's wrong with young ones nowadays - too engrossed in technology and what other people think. Put away the phone and enjoy the moment."
Young?? Ha ha, I wish. Not very often I get off work on a Monday but believe me, I'm totally enjoying every second of this lad.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 23/10/2023 16:13:48    2509911

Ahh Monday after a championship win. The Sunday homecoming is great and all, but those first few beers after the fry-up where it's just yourself, the team and management are hard to beat. I'd say there's good craic about Glenties today.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9535 - 23/10/2023 16:32:46    2509918

Replying To AhhSure:  "What we are dealing with here is simply a matter of fact versus fiction . As someone who has witnessed both incidents I believe I can bring a few issues to light. The fact is ,the Convoy player was assaulted and his assailant was found guilty and punished by the courts. The fictional part is that the Robert Emmetts player was struck in the face . He was involved in ****housery at it's finest and was trying to get a player removed from the field by cheating. Lukily for all involved the referee confirmed with his linesman that no player had been struck in the face as suggested. In regards to the Comments from our close neighbour , I'll draw your attention to the all Ireland Junior final this year and would love to hear your fair and balanced option on that encounter and what should have happened there ?"
Well done on your win AhhSure. The ****thousery and yapping on here didn't do them much good in the end. You'd think a Convoy black card and losing one of your best forwards would have helped but alas no the senior team still couldn't beat the reserve team.

No wonder their best young prospect transfered to St. Mary's.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 23/10/2023 16:38:15    2509923

Replying To tidytownman:  "I actually wish I was able to put a picture up here from Roddys bar to show how much we care today."
Any Ballybofey or Eunans men there......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 23/10/2023 16:58:20    2509928

Replying To tidytownman:  "Young?? Ha ha, I wish. Not very often I get off work on a Monday but believe me, I'm totally enjoying every second of this lad."
Enjoy lad no question yous deserve it. I mightn be flavour of the month but I do know a talented team when I see one. Good luck in Ulster

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2579 - 23/10/2023 17:00:03    2509929

Replying To SignTheContract:  "What a performance from Naomh Conaill yesterday. Blew Gaoth Dobhair out of the water. Over after 20 mins.
Just a note though on the shenanigans from behind the town end…..that should have need stopped earlier than it was."
Gaoth Dobhair were absolutely terrible in all fairness

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 118 - 23/10/2023 17:11:53    2509932

Replying To peiledoir20:  "At least they never dropped out of the competition they were supposed to be in after the draw was made because they didn't want to put the work in.

Turns out the handy cup wasn't so handy after all.

Well done Convoy, on maintaining the integrity of the competition while another club tried to take it away."
I couldn't care less who won the junior B championship as my clubs interest in the junior A was over before it began. I went to the finals as I'm not that far from either club who were playing. I don't know the situation with Robert Emmets but I saw them at the end of the league against my own club and like my own club they looked very young and the two times I saw them in the junior B finals they were the same team as in the league, very young and they were very light physically.

Originally I was just pointing out what I saw as double standards by one of your players in the way he acted in the first game.

If you are looking at integrity of competitions are you saying that Pettigo took away the integrity of the Junior C championship or the Division 4 league as they definitely didn't take away from these competitions in fact looking at the Pettigo support on Saturday their bing competitive allowed their club to come back to life again and from talking to Castlefinn people on Saturday their club wasn't looking to win a handy championship it was just looking at being in a competition where they could be competitive and isn't that what the GAA is about, looking after all the clubs not having the clubs that are stronger dishing out hammering to the weakest clubs. Those type of games only serve to see small clubs go out of existence.

If we are realistic the three division format doesn't look like it's fit for purpose as there is too big a gap between the top teams in each division and the bottom teams. The championship structure is similar. If you take the Junior A championship the bottom teams only get hammered. Realistically do N Colmcille, Urris, N Pádraig Lifford, Robert Emmets, Pettigo, N Ultan stand any chance of winning or really competing in the Junior A championship.
Did the beating N Pádraig Lifford got from Na Rossa help them.

If those clubs were sensible they would all have went into the Junior B championship as that would have meant they were all competitive in the premier competition for their level which is what the GAA should be about.

It is no good looking at this from a short term your own club point of view. Yes Convoy are strong at the minute but that may not always be the case and the big picture of keeping as many clubs involved and competitive is what we all should be looking for.

Whateveryourhavingyourself (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 23/10/2023 17:30:45    2509934

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Massive congrats to Glenties/Fintown - worthy champions.

The ballybofey Doherty's along with Ethan and Ciaran Thomo were simply fantastic.

Great to see them actually go all out yesterday - difficult to understand why they don't do it more regular as they are well capable.

One big factor that stood out for me yesterday was their level of conditioning, sharpness along with unreal fitness levels - massive compliment to the st Eunans fitness coach in the camp.

Best of luck in ulster.."
The irony of this, over the years Letterkenny spent their time in with the county executive getting transfers in, Rushe, Kilcoyne, Devenney to mention a few, imagine if we all had a Army and Garda Barracks, a big Social Welfare Department, Secondary schools and two hospitals giving us access to players from the other 31 counties and every town in Donegal. The number of players and families you've got from this is unbelievable, you should be embarrassed with your roll of honour.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 23/10/2023 17:41:41    2509938

Replying To Whateveryourhavingyourself:  "Is that the same Convoy who were Intermediate reserve champions last year.

Bit of a step down now the be crowing about being Junior champions.

What did Robert Emmets do on you to rattle your cage BeardedBorderGael."
Yes that is the same Convoy, it's simple really. The Convoy senior team lost the Intermediate relegation playoff last season so of course both their teams then have to play in the Junior championships the following year. Convoy didn't voluntarily drop themselves down to Junior B like R.Emmets. Emmets have never done anything to me, my cage remains intact. I simply congratulated Convoy's reserves on their win over Emmets seniors, which is correct. If you call that "crowing" then we'll have to disagree on that. Well done to all the teams on their championships wins over the weekend.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 23/10/2023 18:13:47    2509942

Replying To peiledoir20:  "That's what's wrong with young ones nowadays - too engrossed in technology and what other people think. Put away the phone and enjoy the moment."
No harm in checking what the outside world are thinking....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 23/10/2023 18:14:02    2509943

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Massive congrats to Glenties/Fintown - worthy champions.

The ballybofey Doherty's along with Ethan and Ciaran Thomo were simply fantastic.

Great to see them actually go all out yesterday - difficult to understand why they don't do it more regular as they are well capable.

One big factor that stood out for me yesterday was their level of conditioning, sharpness along with unreal fitness levels - massive compliment to the st Eunans fitness coach in the camp.

Best of luck in ulster.."
Just imagine how good we would be with the glenties O'Donnell's in our side, but there with Eunans now, lol.

Great to be County champions again, and sicken a certain two posters on here.

2023 County champions Naomh conail

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 23/10/2023 20:42:59    2509956

As a Gaoth Dobhair man with a parent from Glenties, I can't be too disappointed today. We were beaten by one of the best squads to play club football in Donegal's history. We just aren't currently near their level. Hopefully we have enough talent coming through to replace the lads with too many miles on the clock. It's looking positive in that regard, if they can keep the boys off the drink and that we don't get too many emigrating. I wish Naomh Conaill a long journey in the all ireland series. They've produced countless amounts of stars down the years to the intercounty scene, as well as our own Messiah. Hopefully he can convince Ethan to stick around, as he was immense yesterday. A superb talent. It would be wise to get Martin Regan in as assistant to Jim for a year or two to help him get the best grasp of intercounty management as he is the most obvious successor we have in the county when Jim rotates out.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 135 - 23/10/2023 21:04:31    2509960

Replying To The keeper:  "Just imagine how good we would be with the glenties O'Donnell's in our side, but there with Eunans now, lol.

Great to be County champions again, and sicken a certain two posters on here.

2023 County champions Naomh conail"
No doubt I'm one of the two. lol. This forum is about opinions everybody's opinions not just yours. Enjoy the celebrations you're probably a bit hungover.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2579 - 24/10/2023 12:24:03    2510026

Replying To rorysboys:  "No doubt I'm one of the two. lol. This forum is about opinions everybody's opinions not just yours. Enjoy the celebrations you're probably a bit hungover."
No harm in opinions but when some posters degrade us by not calling us by our proper club name and keep on about players that legitimately play for us we will call it out...

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 24/10/2023 13:07:20    2510048

Replying To Whateveryourhavingyourself:  "I couldn't care less who won the junior B championship as my clubs interest in the junior A was over before it began. I went to the finals as I'm not that far from either club who were playing. I don't know the situation with Robert Emmets but I saw them at the end of the league against my own club and like my own club they looked very young and the two times I saw them in the junior B finals they were the same team as in the league, very young and they were very light physically.

Originally I was just pointing out what I saw as double standards by one of your players in the way he acted in the first game.

If you are looking at integrity of competitions are you saying that Pettigo took away the integrity of the Junior C championship or the Division 4 league as they definitely didn't take away from these competitions in fact looking at the Pettigo support on Saturday their bing competitive allowed their club to come back to life again and from talking to Castlefinn people on Saturday their club wasn't looking to win a handy championship it was just looking at being in a competition where they could be competitive and isn't that what the GAA is about, looking after all the clubs not having the clubs that are stronger dishing out hammering to the weakest clubs. Those type of games only serve to see small clubs go out of existence.

If we are realistic the three division format doesn't look like it's fit for purpose as there is too big a gap between the top teams in each division and the bottom teams. The championship structure is similar. If you take the Junior A championship the bottom teams only get hammered. Realistically do N Colmcille, Urris, N Pádraig Lifford, Robert Emmets, Pettigo, N Ultan stand any chance of winning or really competing in the Junior A championship.
Did the beating N Pádraig Lifford got from Na Rossa help them.

If those clubs were sensible they would all have went into the Junior B championship as that would have meant they were all competitive in the premier competition for their level which is what the GAA should be about.

It is no good looking at this from a short term your own club point of view. Yes Convoy are strong at the minute but that may not always be the case and the big picture of keeping as many clubs involved and competitive is what we all should be looking for."
Good post. My own opinion teams like n colmcille , r emmets , and lifford are entitled to go junior b. A lot of small clubs are trying to keep their clubs afloat and Entering junior A is not going to help them. Hammerings don't help any team

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2579 - 24/10/2023 13:15:37    2510054

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "The irony of this, over the years Letterkenny spent their time in with the county executive getting transfers in, Rushe, Kilcoyne, Devenney to mention a few, imagine if we all had a Army and Garda Barracks, a big Social Welfare Department, Secondary schools and two hospitals giving us access to players from the other 31 counties and every town in Donegal. The number of players and families you've got from this is unbelievable, you should be embarrassed with your roll of honour."
I actually stated the exact same thing but my post got edited. Not to mention trying to poach a certain former county star from naomh conail over 20 years ago.

But I actually wonder does this poster even go to club games, as he doesn't seem to know a lot about his supposedly own club.

Every naomh conail player has played from U10 to Senior except one of our subs. All have naomh conail blood running through their veins.

But it doesn't bother any naomh conail supporter, when you are top people will always dislike you. But the real gaa men can appreciate what our club have done over the years. And appreciate the great footballers we have produced to represent Donegal.

It will not last forever our success, but we will back the club in success and failure.

2023 County champions Naomh conail

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 24/10/2023 14:01:56    2510068

Congrats to NC and the NC posters here. Really impressive performance on Sunday with the game effectively over after 20 mins. That said GD were poor I thought. I really hope NC can make another Ulster run. It won't be easy with that draw but they're as good now as they were a couple of years ago. On a side note I really hope Ethan O'Donnell stays around. I've always highly rated him and listening to him speak after the game on Sunday he's the type of character to build a culture around in the county set up with Jim back in charge.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2813 - 24/10/2023 14:12:04    2510070

Replying To panamasam:  "Congrats to NC and the NC posters here. Really impressive performance on Sunday with the game effectively over after 20 mins. That said GD were poor I thought. I really hope NC can make another Ulster run. It won't be easy with that draw but they're as good now as they were a couple of years ago. On a side note I really hope Ethan O'Donnell stays around. I've always highly rated him and listening to him speak after the game on Sunday he's the type of character to build a culture around in the county set up with Jim back in charge."
Yeah Ethan O'Donnell has always stood out any time I've seen him play for Naomh Conaill. I know he's been in county squads in the past, but for whatever reason he never really established himself as a starter. He's at a great age now to really push on and fully maximise his potential.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9535 - 24/10/2023 15:09:15    2510082