Donegal GAA thread

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Was he player manager of them in 1999?

Aside from his managerial achievements you have to admire the man's dedication to his club during his stint as senior county manager acting as chairman. Added to that he even played a few games in goals in his early 50s just to make sure they would field when numbers were tight.

Fair play to him."
Bonner is a great GAA man no doubt about it for club and county, big game on Sunday, I predicted a NC win on the other thread but I'd love to see GD lift the cup again for the likes of Neil McGee etc, they have there Ulster club medals anyway regardless.
I think GD know themselves they are underdogs for this but with the players they have they have the potential to win it if things go well for them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3066 - 20/10/2023 15:44:02    2509486

Replying To rorysboys:  "Was told by a shrewd man last night, that with na rossa winning the junior championship last weekend that bonner has managed teams to win junior, intermediate and senior championships. Did any other manager achieve this I would love to know. Must admit I can't see to many."
Might have to wait a while for that to be a fact. I just read that moville have submitted an appeal because Na Rossa had 16 players on the pitch for a critical part of the game when it was tight? Doubt it will be a replay but who knows.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 260 - 21/10/2023 00:50:25    2509528

Replying To rorysboys:  "Was told by a shrewd man last night, that with na rossa winning the junior championship last weekend that bonner has managed teams to win junior, intermediate and senior championships. Did any other manager achieve this I would love to know. Must admit I can't see to many."
Looks like that fact could be in question after the news that came out last night. Watched the game on the stream that the county board put on and I remember the game being stopped as there was thought to be an extra man on but Ferry and Devenney remarked that there had been a mistake and the player was already off. Either way it had no material effect on the game as the play was stopped and ball thrown up.

Anyone have any idea if there is anything to this or if it will get to replay of the game stage? Personally I can't stand the mentality of appeal, appeal, appeal and think it absolutely reeks of a sore loser. I think it reflects badly on Moville that they are trying to win in this way but maybe I would think differently if I was in their position. Anyone have any opinions or updates on this?

donegalforsam11 (Donegal) - Posts: 104 - 21/10/2023 03:58:24    2509532

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm the same. Absolutely no slight at all on the Naomh Conaill club, they have reaped the rewards from all their hard work over the years. But it'd be nice to see another team win the county title to freshen things up and offer encouragement to other clubs fighting to get up to the required level. Ideally you'd like the senior championship to become a bit like the Intermediate in being very hard to predict. Maybe in the not too distant future there will be a big 6 - NC, St Eunans, GD, Kilcar, Four Masters and MacCumhaills?"
The gap is widening. There's a big two and that's it.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1194 - 21/10/2023 12:06:32    2509544

Replying To TheRock2121:  "The gap is widening. There's a big two and that's it."
Hi TheRock2121: Should St Eunans even be mentioned in the big 2 now after what we have seen from them this year and last.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 676 - 21/10/2023 13:45:56    2509558

Replying To donegalforsam11:  "Looks like that fact could be in question after the news that came out last night. Watched the game on the stream that the county board put on and I remember the game being stopped as there was thought to be an extra man on but Ferry and Devenney remarked that there had been a mistake and the player was already off. Either way it had no material effect on the game as the play was stopped and ball thrown up.

Anyone have any idea if there is anything to this or if it will get to replay of the game stage? Personally I can't stand the mentality of appeal, appeal, appeal and think it absolutely reeks of a sore loser. I think it reflects badly on Moville that they are trying to win in this way but maybe I would think differently if I was in their position. Anyone have any opinions or updates on this?"
Didn't Na Rossa have a player playing in the final that appealed his red card from the semi??

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/10/2023 14:58:26    2509563

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Didn't Na Rossa have a player playing in the final that appealed his red card from the semi??"
Big difference I would say in appealing a red card to get a player off than appealing the result of a game. From being at the game the substitute that came off was limping coming off and did not have any impact on the game. Sad really if they can't win it on the pitch, forget about it..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2579 - 21/10/2023 16:22:14    2509567

Replying To Whateveryourhavingyourself:  "I'd say your as happy as larry to ignore the double standards.
But ultimately these things catch up with both people and clubs.
Good luck to the two teams tomorrow. I think I'll head over to Killygordan and might even see you and peileadoir20 there, I'll know you because you'll have your blinkers on."
Larry is happy this evening that's for sure. Fair play to Convoy for doing their talking on the field.

Wonder when we'll hear from your Tyrone buddy again.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/10/2023 17:56:53    2509575

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi TheRock2121: Should St Eunans even be mentioned in the big 2 now after what we have seen from them this year and last."
We'll soon see tomorrow.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1194 - 21/10/2023 21:16:57    2509599

comon Inniskeel

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 110 - 22/10/2023 00:39:02    2509609

Big day is here.

Still going with my glenties by 3. They know how to grind out results. It makes no difference if gdore go 3/4/5 up. Glenties will claw it back. 2019 in extra time they went 3 down and inside 4minutes all square.

Hopefully we'll have a good reserve final to get us ready for the big one. Will it be a battle of the two 40+ full forwards. Stick ward 25 years ago kicked 1-4 and MOTM in senior final. Will he do the same today for Aodh Ruadh reserves?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 22/10/2023 10:49:30    2509617

Looking forward to the match today, great day for it. Glad Gweedore are in the final as well, they bring great support and good banther. Finals are won on the day regardless of who is favorites. May the best team win on the day.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 22/10/2023 12:55:30    2509623

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Larry is happy this evening that's for sure. Fair play to Convoy for doing their talking on the field.

Wonder when we'll hear from your Tyrone buddy again."
Well done to Convoy's reserve team defeating Robert Emmet's seniors.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 22/10/2023 17:31:58    2509644

Obviously delighted with the result today and hope we represent the county well in a few weeks. Full respect to Gweedore who brought great support to the final today and it just wasn't their day. A great club and loyal supporters.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 22/10/2023 18:45:06    2509657

An outstanding performance from Naomh Conaill of defending and attacking football. 7 titles since 2005 makes them the best team in the county in the recent times. I hope they give Ulster a good rattle.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 22/10/2023 19:05:36    2509659

Well County champions again, beat all the top teams to get there, and won the final in style today.
Surely posters that have criticized this great club and team in the past can now admit they are an excellent team and club.
Everything has been fired at this team, to defensive, opposition had men missing, referee destroyed the game. Well what will these certain posters excuse be now.
As good a display off football as I have seen in a county final, well done Naomh conail, what a joy it is to be from there.
Hard luck to Gweedore, played on and never gave up. Just wasn't there day, but will be back.

County champions 2023 Naomh conail

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 22/10/2023 19:17:32    2509663

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah it'll be interesting to see what the starting 15's are. I think Naomh Conaill's might be easier to predict than Gaoth Dobhair's. I wouldn't believe anything that is written or said, right up until the throw-in the starting 15 might not be decided. If McBride is fit he'll probably be on the edge of the square, with Eamon McGee and Harkin beside him. They're all big men so it would certainly make Naomh Conaill think. Then you have the running power of Carroll if he's fit too. No doubt Gaoth Dobhair will be keeping their cards close to their chest on those lads.

But Naomh Conaill are so well versed on county final day now I'm sure they'll not panic too much either way. They trust in their process and to be fair it has served them so well over the years. It should be another very tight battle and could come down to whichever team is more clinical on the day. If Gaoth Dobhair can score a goal or two they won't be far away, and in recent games they've shown they're well capable of that. Getting them against the NC machine is a different story though."
Naomh Conaill not that easy to predict, we can play any way depending on what team we play against? 11 different scorers from play!!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 22/10/2023 21:04:54    2509674

Replying To rorysboys:  "Calm down lad it's only an opinion. If you're happy singing after a game fair enough. I have nothing against n Conal absolute fantastic what they have done. My problem is the way they set up you were very vocal when donegal played the same way but its brilliant when your own club plays like it. Enjoy your week on the road."
The problem was that Donegal had no Plan B. Naomh Conaill can play any way they choose depending on the opposition.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 22/10/2023 21:11:12    2509676

Replying To rorysboys:  "Take off your blinkers lad it was a horrible game . Am I not allowed to have an opinion on anything. Yesterday wasn't Gaelic football it was a borefest from start to finish. I admire the n Conal team great lads to keep it going year in year out. But as for your supporters there the reason people don't like yous no doubt you're included. That silly singing after the game, it's gaa lad not soccer.. of course I want gweedore to win sure the whole county do apart from n Conal. Ha"
We are always blamed if a match between us and any opposition is defensive and boring. We can play any way we wise depending on the opposition. Our Manager deserves great credit for changing tactics for the County Final against Gweedore.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 22/10/2023 21:17:22    2509677

Magnificent performance from our lads today. Surprised Gweedore with our change of tactics. Great credit to our Manager and players. 7 finals in a row, 4 won out of the last 5. Great to be around to witness this incredible achievement from such a wonderful buch of players.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 22/10/2023 21:56:10    2509680