Donegal GAA thread

Mac Niallas and McHugh gone? forget about it lads, we are going nowhere fast with the current set up, could be Murphs last year too, he should def be left in at the edge of the square form now on.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 05/01/2022 17:34:55    2393729

Thanks to Odhran and Eoin for their commitment over the past few years. Hope they both come back. Looking forward to seeing a few young lads on Friday night. Need to build the panel.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 05/01/2022 20:42:54    2393754

Obviously a lot can & will change between now & our championship opener against Armagh. But I'd be interested in what people would consider our strongest 15 as things stand. I'd be very much hoping that the likes of Oisin Gallen, Jason McGee, Conor O'Donnell(s), newcomers etc can really push hard in the League to make things as competitive as possible within the squad.

This would be my team.

1. Patton

2. McFadden-Ferry
3. McCole
4. McMenamin

5. Ban Gallagher
6. McFadden
7. McHugh

8. McGee
9. McGonagle

10. Thompson
11. Langan
12. N O'Donnell

13. McBrearty
14. Murphy
15. Gallen

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 06/01/2022 10:17:35    2393773

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Obviously a lot can & will change between now & our championship opener against Armagh. But I'd be interested in what people would consider our strongest 15 as things stand. I'd be very much hoping that the likes of Oisin Gallen, Jason McGee, Conor O'Donnell(s), newcomers etc can really push hard in the League to make things as competitive as possible within the squad.

This would be my team.

1. Patton

2. McFadden-Ferry
3. McCole
4. McMenamin

5. Ban Gallagher
6. McFadden
7. McHugh

8. McGee
9. McGonagle

10. Thompson
11. Langan
12. N O'Donnell

13. McBrearty
14. Murphy
15. Gallen"
Only one player from County Champions on that team. How did they win Championship.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 06/01/2022 12:01:19    2393785

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Only one player from County Champions on that team. How did they win Championship."
I would expect Caolan Ward to seriously push McCole for the full back slot. Has Shane O'Donnell been called into the panel?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 06/01/2022 12:48:25    2393798

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I would expect Caolan Ward to seriously push McCole for the full back slot. Has Shane O'Donnell been called into the panel?"
He has yes. Great potential.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 06/01/2022 13:44:30    2393811

Team I'd like to see tomorrow night.

Patton

Mc Colgan
Mc Cole
Grant

Mogan
Ethan O Donnell
Odhran Doherty.

Jason Mc Gee
Ryan Mc Fadden

Conor O Donnell
Shane O Donnell
Aaron Doherty

Oisin Gallan
Charles Mc Guinness
Jeaic Mc Kelvey.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 06/01/2022 17:00:31    2393841

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Team I'd like to see tomorrow night.

Patton

Mc Colgan
Mc Cole
Grant

Mogan
Ethan O Donnell
Odhran Doherty.

Jason Mc Gee
Ryan Mc Fadden

Conor O Donnell
Shane O Donnell
Aaron Doherty

Oisin Gallan
Charles Mc Guinness
Jeaic Mc Kelvey."
Yea an interesting team all right a lot of talented footballers. Are all these lads on the squad do you know. I think Mc kelvey if there will be given a man marking role like he done for n Conal on there run to the ulster final a few years ago.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 06/01/2022 18:13:57    2393852

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea an interesting team all right a lot of talented footballers. Are all these lads on the squad do you know. I think Mc kelvey if there will be given a man marking role like he done for n Conal on there run to the ulster final a few years ago."
Yeah Mc Kelvey is a man marker, not a forward.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 06/01/2022 21:28:28    2393877

€12 to stream the match is a bit steep is it not

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 07/01/2022 10:51:39    2393901

Why cant Donegal at least name their panel a day or two in advance of their games, not going to give any great advantage to opposition team and its the least the supporter's deserve to know who might be playing for the County, without the supporters the money to keep these teams going would be a lot less.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 07/01/2022 12:06:32    2393919

Not sure what to do now. The weather is cat & I'd have my two young kids with me. But it's been so long since we've been at a game I might chance it.

Just an FYI for others thinking of going, and if you haven't seen it, there is no payment being taken at the gate. You have to pay online before landing to the game. There's a link on the donegalgaa website for this.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 07/01/2022 12:30:46    2393926

I'd be slow to start a completely experimental team. A few experienced heads help a team. Hugh mcfadden was always a good man but he's not fit then. A few of mcgonagle, langan, mchugh, ward, ban, nod, Thompson, mcmenamin to also start.
Oh to have a bit tent to play it.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 07/01/2022 13:49:46    2393947

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Not sure what to do now. The weather is cat & I'd have my two young kids with me. But it's been so long since we've been at a game I might chance it.

Just an FYI for others thinking of going, and if you haven't seen it, there is no payment being taken at the gate. You have to pay online before landing to the game. There's a link on the donegalgaa website for this."
Enjoy the game Lock looking forward to your analysis after as I won't be heading nor paying the hefty €12 streaming price which is more than a little steep.

Wishing everyone a happy new year and looking forward to maybe getting to a few games this year. Shame about the two lads not committing, wish them every success in whatever they get up to instead. Is it possible Odhran might be heading overseas to play again? He was in London to play there but cut short by covid. He will certainly grace any team he plays for just a shame its not with Donegal even though I feel we got plenty of options where he plays. Wishing the team and management a successful year and delivering on their undoubted talent by at least having a good league and run in Ulster and getting to at least the last 4 in the AI series which should be the minimum aims. Happy to see a return to the qualifier system and AI quarter final series which was never anything that needed fixing. While the Super 8's showed there was appetite for change I didn't really like it especially giving an extra security blanket for the likes of Dublin and Kerry after coming through weaker provinces.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 07/01/2022 14:05:34    2393954

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Not sure what to do now. The weather is cat & I'd have my two young kids with me. But it's been so long since we've been at a game I might chance it.

Just an FYI for others thinking of going, and if you haven't seen it, there is no payment being taken at the gate. You have to pay online before landing to the game. There's a link on the donegalgaa website for this."
You'd wonder why they can't take payment at the gate, it's time this oul nonsense was put a stop to, you can go in to any shop beside the pitch and pay at the till for whatever you want,
There could be 20 fellas in the jacks there at half time, shoulder to shoulder, no masks, but somehow paying for the ticket online is keeping us 'safe'
I'd rather pay on the day anyway, you can make up you mind on the day and if something comes up and you can't go then you haven't wasted your money.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/01/2022 14:45:26    2393965

Decided to chance it. Feck it, stuck in the house long enough over the last 2 years or so.

Looking forward to it.

I'll post starting 15 if I can, and also anything significant I see or hear at the game.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 07/01/2022 16:58:32    2394000

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Decided to chance it. Feck it, stuck in the house long enough over the last 2 years or so.

Looking forward to it.

I'll post starting 15 if I can, and also anything significant I see or hear at the game."
Good man Lock, listening to it on Ocean Fm, going ok from the bits I can hear, internet is crappola.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/01/2022 20:53:13    2394026

The internet is bad so manged to get it tuned in in the radio, it turns out the bad internet was only part of the problem, your man Paddy McGill on commentary pauses for a second or more between his words, mother of God, how did that man get a job commentating on sport? Donegal are playing poor enough, Bonner will be happy enough either way, bally...bo...fey Don..e...gal, feel like putting my boot through the radio.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/01/2022 21:07:48    2394029

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Decided to chance it. Feck it, stuck in the house long enough over the last 2 years or so.

Looking forward to it.

I'll post starting 15 if I can, and also anything significant I see or hear at the game."
Well you made the right choice in going to it as stream was a disaster in the first half. I'm fed up with streams acting up in matches. it's not good enough.
I can't say I'd be happy with the performance but it is only the first game. Some poor shot selection and skill execution. That down second goal is not acceptable at any level. Funnily enough Jamie grant looked really good in his little cameo at the end. Won a dirty ball and looked showed nice skill and balance getting out of the tackle. Also nice to see mcclenehan sticking with it. Took his goal very well.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 07/01/2022 21:26:09    2394035

Well firstly it was just great to be at a game again. I honestly can't remember the last county match I attended. I'm not sure what the attendance was, but there was a decent enough wee crowd at it. Hopefully to God the Covid situation will allow full normal crowds in the weeks & months ahead. I'm thinking that Tyrone at home in the league, and obviously Armagh in the championship would have bumper crowds if allowed.

On to the game and it was great to see some new faces involved. One small quibble I'd have is with the match program. How hard can it be to get the player's names & club right? Eunan Doherty was listed as Eamon Doherty from St. Eunans for example.

There were a lot of mistakes from both sides in terms of coughing up possession and taking the wrong option in the final third. But that was to be expected for the time of year and it looked to be a very slippy ball.

The work rate was good & I didn't feel that any of the newcomers looked out of place. Shane O'Donnell & McGuinness combined for a nice score in the first half. McGuinness had a good goal chance & maybe panicked a bit. I felt he was a bit unlucky to be hooked at half time, but maybe he'd suffered a knock.

Some other observations:

McClenaghan - very solid outing & took the goal well. Really hope he can stay fit & push for a championship place. He is teak tough & would bring added physicality to the HB line.

Conor O'Donnell - very lively player & not afraid to go for his scores. Off target with a few last night but can be very happy with his outing.

Caolan Ward - good in the FB line, made a nice few interceptions and broke well. He'll feel that 2022 is his time to be an automatic starter.

Jamie Grant - nice wee cameo. He is very aggressive coming out with the ball. Made one wee burst last night with a couple of body swerves that Keith Earls would have been proud of & won a free. Drew some appreciative applause from.the crowd.

McGonigle - very solid from the big Buncrana man. When he gets on the charge he is hard to stop. I know there is a bit of a clamour to see Jason McGee get more game time but in fairness McGonigle has been one of our best players these past couple of years. Not sure what Hugh McFadden's fitness will be like, but good to have the McGee option. I didn't see him there last night though.

Mogan was very lively too. His pace & decision making are very good. Definitely will offer options in a variety of positions.

O'Hagan is a classy corner forward for Down. Up there with the best in Ulster in my opinion.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 08/01/2022 09:57:44    2394055