I know its only a league game in February but the game this evening feels huge for Donegal, if we win we should be safe, lose and we are bang in a relegation dog fight. Add in the fact that there is a lot of negativity around the teams performances this has the feel of a big game for us. We could do with a positive performance regardless of the result. Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1917 - 26/02/2022 14:40:19 2402482 Link 2 |
Anybody else questioning the need for the County Chairman to be in the dugout? What the point? peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1265 - 26/02/2022 20:46:48 2402581 Link 1 |
There's ur big scalp with loads of regs missing Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 26/02/2022 21:26:00 2402590 Link 1 |
Delighted for Conor O'Donnell after the bad injury he overcame. Good to see shane O'Donnell running direct at Tyrone we need more of that. Great second half performance a lot of the lads stood up tonight. crnm (Donegal) - Posts: 101 - 26/02/2022 21:48:26 2402597 Link 2 |
Massive improvement in the second half. Hopefully see more of that going forward. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1265 - 26/02/2022 21:48:54 2402598 Link 4 |
Great win last night, even more important than the win was the urgency after a very poor opening 25 mins. We showed in the second half that when we play the game at pace and in the opposition half what a really good team we can be. Some great displays all round and real leadership from the younger brigade which was fantastic. totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1113 - 27/02/2022 08:30:35 2402613 Link 2 |
Great credit to the team and management last night, that really got the blood flowing! Much more like it. Maybe we grew up finally as a team last night without Murphy. So many leaders in that second half; Thompson, Mogan, Conor O'Donnell, Shane O'Donnell and much more grit in defence typified by Stephen McMenamin's shut down late in the game. Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 27/02/2022 09:33:28 2402619 Link 2 |
Charlie McGuinness is no more a top level county footballer than I am.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/02/2022 09:55:31 2402625 Link 0 |
A way better performance this week. I was very critical last weekend, but thar was much better. Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 27/02/2022 10:08:54 2402627 Link 2 |
Massive well done to the team and management, so many great individual performances, that victory meant so much and could mean so much for this young team as we get into the Summer, after Killarney it was so good to see that spirit from them last night, it done me a power of good as well tbh, lifted the heart and I'm full of hope again. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3338 - 27/02/2022 11:09:13 2402639 Link 1 |
Good performance. Only the league but we'll take the win and move on. Important not to read too much into the league, just like last week in Kilarney. We could end up in league final vs kerry yet and I think we will beat them if we want to. (2 weeks out from Armagh). TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 27/02/2022 11:32:32 2402643 Link 0 |
Great result last night, second half display is what we are capable off, high intensity, speed, and running at teams. No fear, and strong winning mentality. The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 27/02/2022 14:31:52 2402692 Link 2 |
Great second half last night lads.. I'm just thinking after last night and previous matches how do we leave out Conor ó Donnell and Oisin Gallen from the starting 15??? I'm thinking if everyone is fit you have half forward line of Langan, Thompson and Conor ó Donnell and full forward of Gallen, murphy and mcbrerty.. I think Niall ó Donnell and jamie Brennan have lost their places now.. What yous think? RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 193 - 27/02/2022 16:01:43 2402724 Link 0 |
It will be a quieter forum for the next few weeks. Fair play to them last night. They really showed heart and leadership in the second half after a poor first half and deserved the result. It was the somewhat unheralded players who stood up. Conor o'donnell didn't do everything right but he kept going and showed real moments of class. I thought shane o'donnell also really delivered in the second half when it mattered. They probably have to try and get him on the ball even more as he's a very clever footballer and playmaker. Farrah also did well when he came on. The point was very high quality and his though ball to mogan at the end was very classy. Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 27/02/2022 16:06:27 2402726 Link 0 |
Yes Jamie Brennan might be unlucky to lose out if he doesn't find fitness in time for championship but he's proven in Ulster too so it's a tough call once he's back in shape again. Niall O'Donnell is being slightly outshone by his brother currently. Niall is a good player too if he is on song. The main thing here is that it's great to be having this discussion about forward options. Conor O'Donnell is a really bright scoring threat now for the team and it's all needed. McBrearty was quiet last night but important on the goal and showed his class there. If he could really find form again too in time for summer then suddenly we will have a lot of potency. We would be better off having a front 6 who really go at teams for 50 mins non-stop and then bring in 2/3 subs to bring more fire. No need to be standing off, we should be probing, running hard and supporting the man on the ball as we did second half last night with more consistency now going forward.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 27/02/2022 16:14:05 2402729 Link 2 |
Oisin gallen had played about 10 mins so can't form a definite opinion on him yet. Though it was a very impressive few minutes last night. Jamie brennan is an underrated player. He generally hits a few points from play in every game. He also tends to work well in tight confines. Niall O'Donnell was very good last year against Derry and very good for eunans in the club championship. Though his brother is doing very well so far this year. I think he's a bit more of a powerful runner and well able to play as well. Mogan, Ryan McHugh, Jason McGee/caolan mcgonagle depending on what way they want to play also come into play. Though also based on experience it's very hard to see all players being fit. Niall O'Donnell will be our for a while. Jamie brennan, Michael Murphy and Michael langan aren't back yet. Caolan mcgonagle is out until at least the start of championship. Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 27/02/2022 17:22:03 2402759 Link 0 |
Yes I know he's only has 10 minutes this season but I'm judging my opinion on his performance over the last 2 years when fully fit.. I'm thinking the kerry game in Croker, the Tyrone game in ballybeofy and his form for mcCools in club championship.
RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 193 - 27/02/2022 17:51:27 2402768 Link 0 |
Great headaches to have. Play who is on form. Currently Niall isn't fit so hard to know come late April.
TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 27/02/2022 19:20:35 2402802 Link 0 |
Bit Harsh Muckross if you knew the lad you would know he is one of the most hard working players always trying to improve. He has only been playing senior level for 2-3 years before that was he a reserve player and he has worked hard to get where he is today and fully deserves to be in the donegal panel.
naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 28/02/2022 09:00:02 2402858 Link 1 |
I think thats a rule because its the same for club that the chairmen is to be there. Could be wrong also.
naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 28/02/2022 09:01:30 2402860 Link 0 |