Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hopefully now the fans will come out in there numbers on Sunday week. This will be the last championship match in ballybofey before the Armagh championship match. Monaghan have been our bogey team there always difficult to play against. I would say the players and management will have last years match on there mind and how open we were at the back. So hopefully it'll focus everybody. I see Neil Mc gee played for gaoth dobhar yesterday but with the way Mc Cole's playing he'll find it hard to replace him but it's great to have options. Mc Cole has been outstanding and I'm delighted for him he stuck at it and deserves his place. Jeac Mc kelveys an interesting option I don't know what's his best position he seems very comfortable wherever he plays. The two o donnell are playing well Conor is a real handful and Shane for a lad so young has bedded in well he has a great style and very good on the ball. Hopefully niall can get a run of games because he is hugely important to us. . Huge few weeks coming up."
Yeah Monaghan are a dangerous team, they are a wee bit under-strength at the moment, but I expect them to get stronger with every passing week. I fancy them to take Tyrone in the Ulster Championship if Tyrone get by Derry.

I agree about McCole, despite criticism in the past few seasons about him being "Too nice" to be full back, he seems to have improved and is showing that he has what it takes, he seems to be at home against the bigger athletics forwards that most teams struggle against.

Ryan McHugh needs to show in the big games against the top teams why he deserves an automatic starting place, I was disappointed by him in the last couple of games. He is currently in the team because of his name, not on merit. Last year he looked great against a weak Down team who didn't pick him up, but was poor against Derry and didnt stand out against Tyrone, although he was better in that game than the Derry game.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1419 - 01/03/2022 13:37:35    2403246

Replying To Commodore:  "Getting tanked in Killarney seems to be the Catalyst for going on to win the All Ireland, this is Donegal's year."
Ha yeah sure it happened in 2012 as well ;)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9889 - 01/03/2022 13:55:55    2403249

Replying To Tyrion:  "One hundred percent correct Rory. I'd say if declan has one thing going against him he's too nice if you know what I mean. We've had plenty of heated arguments either on the sideline or over a pint but one thing I'll give him is he wudnt hold any grudges and takes all onboard. From the time he was there in 98 till nowadays he's seen some changes, in the first ulster final he managed there I say he'd only himself and a coach to manage his taughts, now there must be up to 12 or 15 in his ear never mind the team, every top county is the same trying to get that wee angle of a difference but it must wreck your head aswell. Not many can do it tbh.
I'm not saying everything he's doing is right by everyone but he's sticking at it so he must have a plan going forwards the last thing he'd do is anything detrimental to donegal football.
The messiah alot of people on here about got out when the going was good and there's another buck on the radio that should have done alot more for his county."
Correct me if I'm wrong but was there not 19 years of failure before the messiah arrived and we haven't been to a semi final since he left so accusing him of leaving the ship is a weird statement. We all know bonner a nice fella but it's not about that. He will get few autographs signed etc which is nice but it's his duty as county manager. But what happened sat night proved us all right.3 of most influential players in Gallen , o Donnell and Jason mcgee left on bench last year v Tyrone. Imagine what might have happened had they been brought on. I know some ppl on here have questioned ability of our players but sat proved me right if they are let play we can mix it with the best. Onwards and upwards hopefully

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 01/03/2022 21:14:22    2403335

Replying To marty234:  "Correct me if I'm wrong but was there not 19 years of failure before the messiah arrived and we haven't been to a semi final since he left so accusing him of leaving the ship is a weird statement. We all know bonner a nice fella but it's not about that. He will get few autographs signed etc which is nice but it's his duty as county manager. But what happened sat night proved us all right.3 of most influential players in Gallen , o Donnell and Jason mcgee left on bench last year v Tyrone. Imagine what might have happened had they been brought on. I know some ppl on here have questioned ability of our players but sat proved me right if they are let play we can mix it with the best. Onwards and upwards hopefully"
Oisin Gallen last year was struggling with injury, and was lucky to be on the bench at all,

Conor O'Donnell has shown glimpses of his abilities in recent games, he is still a work in progress and we haven't seen how he will perform when opposition teams start identifying him as a serious threat now, he won't get such a free run.

Jason McGee is finally going in the right direction, but isn't there yet and is behind Caolan McGonigle in my opinion for midfield starting position. He drifts in and out of games, and I felt he kinda lacks energetic drive of top quality midfielders. However his kick passing is outstanding and his point taking, he is one to watch.

Declan Bonner is finally close to settling on his back six, as injuries are starting to finally clear up, and despite the short sighted analysis of the team so far, I think we could finally be about to see the full potential of this squad unleashed this summer.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1419 - 02/03/2022 09:42:16    2403373

I think we can win Ulster and the All Ireland this year.

I was looking at top teams, there is very little between the top 10 teams really, more so because Dublin have weakened and the other recent contenders like Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc don't appear to have strengthened from last year.
Yet despite the mixed National League results so far, I am looking at players who are to come back in to each of the top teams and this is where Donegal stand out.

Donegal have Michael Murphy, Jamie Brennan, Michael Langan, Caolan McGonigle and Neil McGee all set to return for Championship, and with Oisin Gallen, Patrick McBrearty, Niall O'Donnell, Ciaran Thompson, Conor O'Donnell, Jason McGee all ramping up in the coming weeks and our back six finally starting to take shape, I think we will finally have the strength across all positions and depth on the bench to go all the way.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1419 - 02/03/2022 09:50:00    2403378

Replying To marty234:  "Correct me if I'm wrong but was there not 19 years of failure before the messiah arrived and we haven't been to a semi final since he left so accusing him of leaving the ship is a weird statement. We all know bonner a nice fella but it's not about that. He will get few autographs signed etc which is nice but it's his duty as county manager. But what happened sat night proved us all right.3 of most influential players in Gallen , o Donnell and Jason mcgee left on bench last year v Tyrone. Imagine what might have happened had they been brought on. I know some ppl on here have questioned ability of our players but sat proved me right if they are let play we can mix it with the best. Onwards and upwards hopefully"
I've no problem replying to you atall marty 234.
The way I see it yeah Jim got us an all Ireland and another final and fair play to him I just felt he left that panel early especially with the group that was there and possibly the best player in Ireland this past 20 yrs coming to his peak he could of give us a bit more tbh. What happened in the yrs since is really irrelevant when we've only had 2 managers since 1 very negative football and the latest trying to change that damage. Before 12 or the 19yrs your chatting about we actually were beat in 13 finals for different reasons and mostly our own doing but we definitely had 2 top managers in that time in moran and mciver but they didn't get the respect they deserved.
Sure last sat was a step in the right direction even if we did only apply ourselves for 40 mins but if you look back Tyrone had loads of misses in the second half which on another day could have went for them. I'll say it again one swallow doesn't make a summed. Your right about the 3 fellas last sat night there great to see n hopefully stay injury free as fir last yrs championship they weren't even on the panel at that point and we had a bench In that match if memory serves me was mcmenmin oran eoin and brennan all could players as well. What I honestly believe happened in that game was the loss of our two most experienced players on the day. I'm not all pro bonner and nice fella and all that but it's what we've got so get on with it the one thing I'm critical of him at the moment is his relunctance to take off two fellas that to me are just going through the motions atm and not putting in the hard yards like the rest and I think it'd be no harm to leave them on the bench to get there hunger back because in the heat of championship if they're still going at it the way they are now we will be beat. And I whole heartily agree with you onwards and upwards and I loved to see the same pressure applied the next day against mon. Hope this ans any questions you have in my previous post.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 02/03/2022 10:22:23    2403388

No points in ifs and buts. Looking back will get us nowhere. Management play the players who are fit and showing good form in training.. if gallen Mc gee and o donnell were fully fit last year I've no doubt they would have seen game time against Tyrone. Bonner took in gallen and o donnell to the squad and have used them regularly when fit. As commodore said caolan Mc gonagle is ahead of Mc gee at the moment.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2644 - 02/03/2022 10:51:05    2403402

Replying To Commodore:  "I think we can win Ulster and the All Ireland this year.

I was looking at top teams, there is very little between the top 10 teams really, more so because Dublin have weakened and the other recent contenders like Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc don't appear to have strengthened from last year.
Yet despite the mixed National League results so far, I am looking at players who are to come back in to each of the top teams and this is where Donegal stand out.

Donegal have Michael Murphy, Jamie Brennan, Michael Langan, Caolan McGonigle and Neil McGee all set to return for Championship, and with Oisin Gallen, Patrick McBrearty, Niall O'Donnell, Ciaran Thompson, Conor O'Donnell, Jason McGee all ramping up in the coming weeks and our back six finally starting to take shape, I think we will finally have the strength across all positions and depth on the bench to go all the way."
I want to believe you but I feel like I've been scarred too many times at this stage ha, I think until I see us get through a proper battle in the heat of championship against someone outside of Ulster I'll just not believe we can do it.

The reason I say outside of Ulster is that I think for one, Ulster championship can just be a different beast and secondly as I said previous, we've never had problems getting up for a match against Tyrone for example. So it'd not surprise me at all if we win Ulster this year, and I would enjoy every second of it if we do (I have been on these forums many times talking about how few Ulsters we have) - it's the next step to Sam that I really doubt at the moment. If we meet Mayo this year for example, no matter how we've played up to that point, I wouldn't be confident of beating them.

I thought we had turned a corner in 2020 when we beat Tyrone in that god awful day in Ballybofey only to lose to Cavan in the final. I think they were gearing themselves up for the Dubs in the semi and took their eye off the ball and have struggled to recover from that between injuries and all the rest. But the question marks are still there about mentality, I don't doubt our talent and while I get frustrated at some decisions at times I do think the management team and Declan are good enough and smart enough to get us to Sam - it's just the mentality side of things I would question most.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/03/2022 11:09:54    2403406

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I want to believe you but I feel like I've been scarred too many times at this stage ha, I think until I see us get through a proper battle in the heat of championship against someone outside of Ulster I'll just not believe we can do it.

The reason I say outside of Ulster is that I think for one, Ulster championship can just be a different beast and secondly as I said previous, we've never had problems getting up for a match against Tyrone for example. So it'd not surprise me at all if we win Ulster this year, and I would enjoy every second of it if we do (I have been on these forums many times talking about how few Ulsters we have) - it's the next step to Sam that I really doubt at the moment. If we meet Mayo this year for example, no matter how we've played up to that point, I wouldn't be confident of beating them.

I thought we had turned a corner in 2020 when we beat Tyrone in that god awful day in Ballybofey only to lose to Cavan in the final. I think they were gearing themselves up for the Dubs in the semi and took their eye off the ball and have struggled to recover from that between injuries and all the rest. But the question marks are still there about mentality, I don't doubt our talent and while I get frustrated at some decisions at times I do think the management team and Declan are good enough and smart enough to get us to Sam - it's just the mentality side of things I would question most."
I would second that and you can draw a lot of parallels with where we're at now and where we were pre-McGuinness I think. The talent was undoubetdly there - we could always give teams a good game e.g. beating Tyrone, Galway, Meath, Derry, drawing with Dublin but were never realistic All Ireland contenders until McGuinness basically drilled it into them that they were. Then we went and beat Tyrone, won Ulster and beat Kildare in that 2011 game when in other years we would have folded under the pressure. The confidence that was derived from the 2011 campaign (even if we did bow out to Dublin) was crucial in what we went on to do in 2012. The players by that point had fully bought into their own potential and had the ambition to match.

IF we do win Ulster and find ourselves in the quarters against a Mayo or who knows a Dublin, and we can beat them in a good Championship battle then I'll start to believe. But until then I'd have my doubts that we could go all the way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9889 - 02/03/2022 12:15:38    2403433

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I want to believe you but I feel like I've been scarred too many times at this stage ha, I think until I see us get through a proper battle in the heat of championship against someone outside of Ulster I'll just not believe we can do it.

I thought we had turned a corner in 2020 when we beat Tyrone in that god awful day in Ballybofey only to lose to Cavan in the final. I think they were gearing themselves up for the Dubs in the semi and took their eye off the ball and have struggled to recover from that between injuries and all the rest. But the question marks are still there about mentality, I don't doubt our talent and while I get frustrated at some decisions at times I do think the management team and Declan are good enough and smart enough to get us to Sam - it's just the mentality side of things I would question most."
I don't agree regarding Mayo, they lack inside forwards, which is why I think they really always fail at the final hurdle, because you need one or two inside forwards on All Ireland final day getting you 1-02 or 1-03 each.
Mayo catch a lot of team enroute to the All Ireland final, because they are never really the big prize that teams get pumped up for. I think at full strength we have the beating of them, we are nowhere near full strength at the moment.

Also if you look at where we fell short since 2018

2018 - Lost to Tyrone in Ballybofey - A relatively inexperienced Donegal team let Tyrone back into in 2nd half, but in truth Tyrone physically dominated us and it took its toll. Tyrone made it to All Ireland final that year, runners up to a powerful Dublin team.
2019 - Lost to Mayo in Castlebar - Injuries didn't help, Jason McGee started and had to come off early, Paddy McGrath's career ended that day, and Mayo physically bullied us that day.
2020 - Lost to Cavan in Armagh - Had one eye on Dublin two weeks later and rumour has it that training preparation were fully geared to have us peak against Dublin. Problem was that we looked lethargic and sluggish and Cavan bossed us.
2021 - Lost to Tyrone in Enniskillen - Heat wave, Neil McGee injured in 4th minute, Murphy missed penalty and then got sent off before half time. It was miracle that we stuck with Tyrone and were level on 60th minute, but percentages caught up with us in the final 15 minutes and Tyrone pulled away. I think circumstances took this game away from us, yet tactically we seemed to be setup well.

NOTE
If we are to beat the top sides, I don't think playing Ryan McHugh or Peadar Mogan as wing backs will cut it, it leaves us defensively weak, especially against more physical sides like Mayo, who bring on Aidan O'Shea etc in 2nd half.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1419 - 02/03/2022 15:19:37    2403490

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I would second that and you can draw a lot of parallels with where we're at now and where we were pre-McGuinness I think. The talent was undoubetdly there - we could always give teams a good game e.g. beating Tyrone, Galway, Meath, Derry, drawing with Dublin but were never realistic All Ireland contenders until McGuinness basically drilled it into them that they were. Then we went and beat Tyrone, won Ulster and beat Kildare in that 2011 game when in other years we would have folded under the pressure. The confidence that was derived from the 2011 campaign (even if we did bow out to Dublin) was crucial in what we went on to do in 2012. The players by that point had fully bought into their own potential and had the ambition to match.

IF we do win Ulster and find ourselves in the quarters against a Mayo or who knows a Dublin, and we can beat them in a good Championship battle then I'll start to believe. But until then I'd have my doubts that we could go all the way."
McGuinness made the difference and added that X factor that was missing, we have had great footballers in Donegal all down the years and I'm following them a long time, what we always lacked was belief and motivation I think,
McGuinness changed all that and what he achieved was fantastic considering where Donegal were when he took over, I think he left too soon too and his foray into the soccer world is regrettable from a Donegal GAA perspective but for himself I suppose he has done well out of it, I will always be thankful and proud of what he done for the county regardless.
I was delighted to see the way Donegal played in the second half the last night, it's very encouraging and with some of the established players yet to come back it looks like a very strong panel for the Championship which is fast approaching.
Declan has given a lot to Donegal and I hope for his sake that he can get us to at least a semi final this year, I think we have the potential to win Sam but we need a good injury free campaign and a bit of luck along the way, and to be able to win the big games when it's really put up to us.
I think Declan should only play the players that are in form, starting fellas because of who they are and what they done in the past is not good for the squads togetherness, I seen that happen in club football and it's not good for morale.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3340 - 02/03/2022 15:36:34    2403496

Replying To Commodore:  "I don't agree regarding Mayo, they lack inside forwards, which is why I think they really always fail at the final hurdle, because you need one or two inside forwards on All Ireland final day getting you 1-02 or 1-03 each.
Mayo catch a lot of team enroute to the All Ireland final, because they are never really the big prize that teams get pumped up for. I think at full strength we have the beating of them, we are nowhere near full strength at the moment.

2018 - Lost to Tyrone in Ballybofey - A relatively inexperienced Donegal team let Tyrone back into in 2nd half, but in truth Tyrone physically dominated us and it took its toll. Tyrone made it to All Ireland final that year, runners up to a powerful Dublin team.
2019 - Lost to Mayo in Castlebar - Injuries didn't help, Jason McGee started and had to come off early, Paddy McGrath's career ended that day, and Mayo physically bullied us that day.
2020 - Lost to Cavan in Armagh - Had one eye on Dublin two weeks later and rumour has it that training preparation were fully geared to have us peak against Dublin. Problem was that we looked lethargic and sluggish and Cavan bossed us.
2021 - Lost to Tyrone in Enniskillen - Heat wave, Neil McGee injured in 4th minute, Murphy missed penalty and then got sent off before half time. It was miracle that we stuck with Tyrone and were level on 60th minute, but percentages caught up with us in the final 15 minutes and Tyrone pulled away. I think circumstances took this game away from us, yet tactically we seemed to be setup well.

NOTE
If we are to beat the top sides, I don't think playing Ryan McHugh or Peadar Mogan as wing backs will cut it, it leaves us defensively weak, especially against more physical sides like Mayo, who bring on Aidan O'Shea etc in 2nd half."
Think it has to be remembered that the penalty Murphy missed should never have been a penalty in the first place. It was given for a last man tackle even though there were 2 defenders still infront of Murphy. The penalty miss only cancelled the fact that it should not have been given in the first place.

Think in 2020 Donegal managed Murphy wrong they had him playing games that he wasnt needed even when he wasnt fully fit. When they did need him he wasnt able to be at 100% and you could see the frustration in him when he lashed out.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 280 - 02/03/2022 15:56:37    2403505

Yeah you need a bit of luck along the way for sure. In 2012 I can only remember one injury that might have hurt us and it was when Neil McGee went off against Tyrone in the Ulster semi final early on. Thankfully we got over that match and Neil remained fit for the rest of the campaign.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9889 - 02/03/2022 16:16:52    2403510

Replying To Commodore:  "I don't agree regarding Mayo, they lack inside forwards, which is why I think they really always fail at the final hurdle, because you need one or two inside forwards on All Ireland final day getting you 1-02 or 1-03 each.

NOTE
If we are to beat the top sides, I don't think playing Ryan McHugh or Peadar Mogan as wing backs will cut it, it leaves us defensively weak, especially against more physical sides like Mayo, who bring on Aidan O'Shea etc in 2nd half."
Well, two things - I don't think you are giving Mayo enough credit generally although this current team is without a doubt weaker than that great team they had in the 10s that came up against Dublin. They missed an inside forward yes, Cillian O'Connor was really their only scorer for a long time but now they seem to have unearthed one or two more in O'Donoghue and Conway. However I don't think they are as strong overall as they were.

Second thing - I'm not talking about All-Ireland final day. If we met Mayo in an All-Ireland quarter final they would rightfully be favourites and I'd doubt our ability to overturn them. That's purely down to how we've (mis)handled the big games over the last few years. There are definitely caveats with all of the championship exits and the one thing I really wish we'd seen from this side is a do-or-die game in Croke Park with the fast ground in the height of summer - but as I said until I see us actually get over the line in one of those matches I will still doubt whether we can really do it.

Another thing, at full strength yes I think talent wise at full strength we have a really excellent team. But the reality is we are not and have not been full strength for a long time. There always feels to be one or two missing, and key men at that, whether it's McBrearty's cruciate, EBG's horror injury, Murphy being rushed back - every step of the way you think "Jeez if only we had everyone we'd give anyone a rattle". I think it's something we need to stop because the nature of it, the likelihood of getting an injury free run at Sam is tiny.

I do agree with you that last year against Tyrone we seemed well set up and fought really well considering all the conditions and the sending off, although again, I may be repeating myself but getting motivated and battling against Tyrone isn't really what I'm worried about.

I love your optimism and I think it is wide open this year so there is an opportunity there, for lots of counties and us included in that. Here's hoping this is the year they make me start believing again!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/03/2022 17:46:02    2403531

NOTE
There is a lot of interesting points here. You could add the mcbrearty injury to 2018 and eoin ban and neil mcgee injury to 2019. The mcbrearty injury in 2018 was particularly frustrating given his form. You could also say super 8s was not good for a team like donegal with a smaller panel. If super 8s weren't in place the quarter finals opponents would likely have been roscommon and meath.
Though ultimately it's excuses for losing and some of them games had to be won , they weren't and there are questions about mental toughness.

I'm not pessimistic as I'm sure nobody knows this better than the management and the team and no doubt they are he'll beant on proving themselves.

The injuries this year have also given real game time to the likes of mccole, mcff, cod, sod, jason mcgee, (mcceillbhui on Sunday) and that builds depth and confidence. Cod plays for a junior club, covid has held back player development and injury and the minor age change curtailed him at underage. Playing senior intercounty football is like a completely different game and it takes time to adjust. He's done great and no doubt there is more room for more improvement. Without the injuries I'm not sure sod would have started any match and now would you drop him. Against Tyrone he scored a point assisted on four and his running with the ball was very impressive. Hopefully gallen will maintain fitness and get a good run as well. And they will start coming in for more attention and that has to free up other players.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 904 - 02/03/2022 20:17:43    2403548

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I would second that and you can draw a lot of parallels with where we're at now and where we were pre-McGuinness I think. The talent was undoubetdly there - we could always give teams a good game e.g. beating Tyrone, Galway, Meath, Derry, drawing with Dublin but were never realistic All Ireland contenders until McGuinness basically drilled it into them that they were. Then we went and beat Tyrone, won Ulster and beat Kildare in that 2011 game when in other years we would have folded under the pressure. The confidence that was derived from the 2011 campaign (even if we did bow out to Dublin) was crucial in what we went on to do in 2012. The players by that point had fully bought into their own potential and had the ambition to match.

IF we do win Ulster and find ourselves in the quarters against a Mayo or who knows a Dublin, and we can beat them in a good Championship battle then I'll start to believe. But until then I'd have my doubts that we could go all the way."
I just have to make a comment here. When mcguinness came in donegal were at a much lower ebb than now. I would have 100 percent laughed at you if someone would have said they'd win the next two ulsters and the all ireland in 2013. They conceded 1-27 (27 points has to be some sort of record) in the quarter final in 2009 against cork. Funnilly enough Murphy was great that day. And a year later there was the no show in Crossmaglen. That turnaround really creates the jim mcguinness aura.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 904 - 02/03/2022 20:28:02    2403551

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi south of the gap: What happened in the tunnel?"
Donegals tails were up just before half time. Paddy Mc, Hughie and Ryan McHugh from what I recall were chirping at the referee. They were complaining about a line ball that went Tyrones way. So the verbals were going as they approached the tunnel. Most Tyrone players stood back. From what I could see then, Hughie was giving a bit, and you could hear a bit of commotion. Around half way through the break, a Donegal man, who would have access all areas, arrived and said that there had been a little bit going on, and that the Tyrone Co Board Secretary had to be removed from the referees room.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 838 - 02/03/2022 21:26:21    2403555

Replying To kevin03:  "

NOTE
Think it has to be remembered that the penalty Murphy missed should never have been a penalty in the first place. It was given for a last man tackle even though there were 2 defenders still infront of Murphy. The penalty miss only cancelled the fact that it should not have been given in the first place.

Think in 2020 Donegal managed Murphy wrong they had him playing games that he wasnt needed even when he wasnt fully fit. When they did need him he wasnt able to be at 100% and you could see the frustration in him when he lashed out."
I agree about the Penalty, I actually think Murphy wasn't fully fit in 2021 either, his late challenge was a sign of that.

I do think as these remaining key players return and if we can keep the group fit, we can pose a serious threat this year. Declan Bonner has been getting a lot of flack in the last 2 seasons for never reaching All Ireland SF stage, but I think there were a lot of factors that left us weakened or below par, apart from 2018 when I think we just weren't ready or as physically imposing as Tyrone in Ballybofey.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1419 - 02/03/2022 21:58:35    2403559

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I just have to make a comment here. When mcguinness came in donegal were at a much lower ebb than now. I would have 100 percent laughed at you if someone would have said they'd win the next two ulsters and the all ireland in 2013. They conceded 1-27 (27 points has to be some sort of record) in the quarter final in 2009 against cork. Funnilly enough Murphy was great that day. And a year later there was the no show in Crossmaglen. That turnaround really creates the jim mcguinness aura."
We were at a lower ebb but in terms of player talent and potential there are definite parallels. This is no slight on John Joe Doherty either, he is a brilliant Donegal Gael. But it's fair to say that when McGuinness came in and introduced the successful u21 side to the fold thing started to rapidly improve.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9889 - 03/03/2022 09:49:28    2403571

Our chairman slams the keyboard warriors in the democrat today. Fair play to him he must have taken a look at Facebook twitter and the hogan stand. They don't know if the ball is stuffed or blown up had to laugh at that. He's right but

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2644 - 03/03/2022 10:30:52    2403579