Well said Rorys. I am also certain that if he was to resign, the moaners would be the first on here paying tribute to him. Hypocrites the lot of them.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/02/2022 18:31:40 2402262 Link 1 |
One hundred percent correct Rory. I'd say if declan has one thing going against him he's too nice if you know what I mean. We've had plenty of heated arguments either on the sideline or over a pint but one thing I'll give him is he wudnt hold any grudges and takes all onboard. From the time he was there in 98 till nowadays he's seen some changes, in the first ulster final he managed there I say he'd only himself and a coach to manage his taughts, now there must be up to 12 or 15 in his ear never mind the team, every top county is the same trying to get that wee angle of a difference but it must wreck your head aswell. Not many can do it tbh. I'm not saying everything he's doing is right by everyone but he's sticking at it so he must have a plan going forwards the last thing he'd do is anything detrimental to donegal football. The messiah alot of people on here about got out when the going was good and there's another buck on the radio that should have done alot more for his county. Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 24/02/2022 20:54:30 2402276 Link 1 |
Your missing half the first choice team?? Really? Injuries? border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 920 - 24/02/2022 21:55:47 2402282 Link 0 |
It happens without fail almost every year. A few iffy performances in the league and it's all doom and gloom from certain quarters. When the ground is harder and we have everyone available it'll be a different story. The margins are thin at the top level. Had Murphy buried that penalty last summer we had a 5 point lead and 15 men. We all know what happened instead, with Tyrone ultimately going on to win the All Ireland. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9884 - 25/02/2022 08:59:29 2402288 Link 2 |
To answer this question Rory, Charles McGuinness was on the bench last Sunday and wasn't used. He wasn't bad in the McKenna Cup, and was worth 20 minutes at least on Sunday. And although not in the 26 at the weekend, J Bradley-Walsh is training with the squad, and is exactly the type of player you refer to.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 836 - 25/02/2022 09:37:57 2402291 Link 0 |
Nothing against Mc Guinness he got amble game time and didn't put his hand up. We need a target man that can guarantee us possession whether it's a high low or any kind of ball a Tony Boyle or a m Murphy and at the moment we have nobody within a distance of that. Very well saying stick Mc Guinness or Bradley-Walsh up but this is top. Tier football. Hopefully these two lads can make it but at the moment it seems to be too big an ask..
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 25/02/2022 09:59:00 2402298 Link 0 |
We had big Hugh on the pitch as well. Granted it was his first game of the year but all the more reason to leave him inside if he was getting a bit jaded out around the middle. He's played in there for Killybegs before and given his size would be a nightmare to curtail. Sometimes a little thinking outside the box is required. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1265 - 25/02/2022 09:59:12 2402299 Link 0 |
Totally agree with you 100 percent. Easy being critical. Sitting at home. Was told this morning of an ex county player writing into the democrat giving out about management and calling for a review after the league. Paper going down a dangerous road. I'm told too he is an uncle of Michael Carroll .
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 25/02/2022 10:03:24 2402303 Link 0 |
If you think Rochford has very little say in how the team sets up and if he's dismayed with how they are playing ... why is he still around. Doesn't say much about him, hanging around if he has no input.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 710 - 25/02/2022 11:02:33 2402315 Link 1 |
Just posted same on the Roscommon thread. Does anyone know the time and venue for the under twenties game against Roscommon tomorrow? Cannot find any info online so far. Any info greatly appreciated. panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2883 - 25/02/2022 12:26:30 2402335 Link 0 |
The certs who are missing. Murphy, Langan, Mc Gonagle, Jamie Brennan and prob Neil Mc Gee. Add in Niall O Donnell and Mc Menamin who only played 15 mins the last day as both are injured and that's half a team. Arguments for another few that didn't start vs kerry to be a starter come championship. Gallan, I Baoill etc but wouldn't classify these as regulars. TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 25/02/2022 13:15:15 2402344 Link 0 |
From what I see, Rochford leads all the pre match warm up routines. So I'd be he probably leads the actual training sessions as well.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 836 - 25/02/2022 14:39:31 2402361 Link 0 |
Fair enough I take your point and if this was just league related it wouldn't be as concerning. I know the league isn't that important apart from trying things out against the best teams in the country in div 1, avoiding relegation etc and getting ready for Ulster, but the way we have folded in big games this last few years seems endemic under the current management, that is my concern and I suspect a lot of other peoples too. We had Mayo on the ropes in Sligo but as soon as they upped their intensity we folded again and were lucky to come away with the draw. Hopefully we get a big response tomorrow night and as long as we play to win the game I won't be too worried, going out trying not to lose is a different mindset. I take the point that that wasn't our ideal starting 15 playing in Kerry, but we had 15 very good players on the field and more on the bench, we have a very experienced manager on the line and he's standing looking at them playing the ball sideways and backways with a gale force wind at their back, that just baffles me tbh, I don't think Kerry could believe the way we played that second half. Anyway looking forward to welcoming the All Ireland Champions to Mac Cumhaill Park, hope it's a better night weather wise and result wise for us. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3338 - 25/02/2022 16:15:39 2402373 Link 0 |
https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/752953/venue-confirmed-for-donegal-s-u-20-clash-with-roscommon.html Saturday, 2pm Castlerea according to that greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 710 - 25/02/2022 21:19:54 2402421 Link 0 |
No team news again from Donegal and most other Counties with main exception of Mayo and maybe Dublin and Kerry. Croke Park should make a rule for teams or at least 26 man panel to be announced 48 hours before a game. How are Radio Stations and newspaper reporters supposed to give time to Gaelic Games if they are not given basic information, also supporters deserve to know whats happening with their teams. Then we complain about Rugby and Soccer getting more publicity on the Airwaves and Print Media. jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 26/02/2022 09:51:19 2402430 Link 2 |
Good luck to Declan Stephen paddy and the lads tonight. Get behind the team from the off, too much negative stuff going on it helps nobody. This is our county team who train hard and are real professionals in every aspects of life bar getting paid for it. Come out and show them the respect they deserve.. rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 26/02/2022 10:08:08 2402433 Link 3 |
@Rory, Good luck Donegal! Need a lot of luck after that S….. show in the 2nd half last week. 30 meter passes back to keeper with gale force wind will get it done. Management stink! How nice it was to hear Anton Carroll come out and say the obvious. By the way Rory, for a a guy that so consumed by Donegal football u had to be TOLD that Anton was Michaels uncle. That right there tells me u know nothing bout Donegal football. thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 26/02/2022 12:04:21 2402457 Link 0 |
So you need to know every players uncle and aunt now to know anything about football. You are really scraping the barrel. Your lack of knowledge of Donegal football is well known. The biggest laugh I got on here a few years ago is when you put up a list of players who should be on the panel some of them were lucky to make there club senior team last year you wudnt by any chance put them up again lol. Hope you enjoy the tv coverage tonight you and your fellow keyboard friends
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 26/02/2022 13:01:00 2402467 Link 0 |
This is the comment from Anton Carroll you are referring too, glad to see someone of his calibre speaking out about it, it will be interesting to see how we play with the wind advantage tonight, surely they won't play the same way again. http://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/751679/anton-carroll-one-of-donegal-s-first-ever-ulster-champions-slams-inept-showing-against-kerry.html Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3338 - 26/02/2022 13:30:45 2402472 Link 2 |
Main objective now is about staying up. Tyrone have been playing with a champions hangover so far, if we lift two points off of them tonight to go with the 3 we have already you'd have to say we'll retain our Div 1 status. From there we'll nurse everyone back to health and please god we'll be right as rain for championship. papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 26/02/2022 13:35:03 2402474 Link 1 |