Donegal GAA thread

A gang of us heading to Killarney at the weekend staying Saturday and Sunday nite. Where best places to watch the games on TV and to head out in?

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 16/02/2022 17:31:02    2400754

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah Moynihan was a Rolls Royce player. He could have done a job in practically every position on the field - a super player.

It's amazing how many outstanding players Kerry have churned out over the years. Like Kilkenny in the hurling, what is it that they have down there that has enabled them to keep producing the players and teams to win so many titles?

I suppose a combination of tradition, competition (they play football practically all year round). coaching....

They're going through a fallow enough period at present with only one senior All Ireland in the last 10 years. They're very close and will be there or thereabouts again this year though. Jack O'Connor knows the craic and he wouldn't be going back again if he didn't think it was within reach."
Yeah lockjaw your 100% correct about the players they have being producing over the years, and you know if you have a while on Sunday and sit for a bit outside the gate you'll see them fellows still supporting county.
The only difference over the years well this past 30 yrs I see is every time we return up to the kingdom it's more noticeable the soccer pitches and rugby pitches appearing around their county, not forgetting their starting to make a bit of inroads with the wee ball as well. We were in dingle maybe 15yrs ago for a night before our game and the best say house we got late in was one Munster rugby supporters were coming back from a game in. Think Mick Galway has a lot to ans for. When they were going great in the 70s and 80s they didn't have them distractions.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 16/02/2022 17:34:01    2400756

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "As for your point on no other sport that you can think of could an individual or team gain an advantage. Well go back and look at the Namoh Conaill-Glenswilly game of 2014 where this exact same thing happened and Glenswilly were not punished what so ever.

I would like to ask you one simple question
have you seen the the team sheet that was handed over to the Ref/assistants at the start of Extra time?

The reason I ask is because from my knowledge the alleged player was named in this team instead of the black carded player and then came on 6-7 mins into extra time when the black card sin bin had completed. This is not a sub and therefore does not need to go the desk in the center and can enter from the dugout.

I am well aware this is the a rule breach but it is not the same facts that you are saying. I also have not seen the team sheet so this is solely my opinion and what I have been told."
The decision taken at the time of the Glenswilly - NC game in 2014 was truly shocking. But again it was the Donegal GAA CCC that made that terrible decision. This is my point. These kind of judgements to my knowledge do not happen in other sports. In other sportd, you break the rules you pay the price.
But as I keep stating to fellow poster AI_Maguire, we have to keep working off the facts and the rules to gain a clear picture of what happened.
The rule regarding black carded players states that if a player is black carded close to the end of normal time in a game and then the game goes to extra time then he has to see out the remainder of his punishment during extra time. He therefore has to be named in the starting team for extra time for this purpose. You can name a whole new other 14 players if you want to but he has to be named one of the fifteen.
So the NC black carded player had to be named as part of their starting 15 for extra time. Nobody can be named instead of him. So if the club are then not going to bring him back on, and they didn't in this particular case, then he has to be officially substituted just like any other player.
As regards team sheets etc. only the referee and CCC board(s) would have access to these. But in the decision of both CCC boards, they found that NC had used four substitutes in extra time. Now this extra sub had to have happened early in extra time. Why? Because by the time that the fourth NC substitute would have approached the substitute table to go on he would have been told by the fourth official that his club had already used their alloted three. But this didn't happen and so by the time that the referee handed in his match report there must clearly have only been the three substitute slips. The offficiating team for the final should certainly have picked up on this on the evening but didn't.
After the furore first broke out I got my hands on a copy of the livestream and watched the extra time. Around the time of the first double substitution the first change seems normal and following all protocols but the second certainly doesn't.
But the upshot of the whole thing is that it left very bad blood betwen both teams as could be seen at the end of the semi final in O'Donnell Park. It certainly did Kilcar no good as they never turned up in that semi and got turned over by NC and then NC in turn never got out of the blocks in the final. Not like them at all. Both teams left the door open and St. Eunans walked gratefully in. And now that they are there, they have a lot of good young hungry players and are going to be difficult to dislodge.

fionmaccumhaill (Donegal) - Posts: 45 - 16/02/2022 17:34:48    2400757

A tough assignment coming up this weekend. Hard to go there at the best of times as Tyrone discovered last year before they turned their season spectacularly.
Nice to see the new blood coming through but its days like this that will take them on in laps and bounds.
We had Mayo the last day and let them go. Would be lovely to see McMenamin get more game time into the legs as I think that he and McCole together with maybe McFadden-Ferry would be make the kind of tough full back line that we need. McFadden-Ferry is tenacious but needs to ease back on the stupid scorable frees that he gives away.
Would be great to see big Hughie and Oísín Gallen start to gain some game time. One thing that we must avoid from the Mayo game is trying to reduce the game to a walking pace and inviting the other team on to you. Do that in Gaelic football and you're toast. Best of luck lads.

fionmaccumhaill (Donegal) - Posts: 45 - 16/02/2022 18:44:40    2400770

Replying To Tyrion:  "Yeah lockjaw your 100% correct about the players they have being producing over the years, and you know if you have a while on Sunday and sit for a bit outside the gate you'll see them fellows still supporting county.
The only difference over the years well this past 30 yrs I see is every time we return up to the kingdom it's more noticeable the soccer pitches and rugby pitches appearing around their county, not forgetting their starting to make a bit of inroads with the wee ball as well. We were in dingle maybe 15yrs ago for a night before our game and the best say house we got late in was one Munster rugby supporters were coming back from a game in. Think Mick Galway has a lot to ans for. When they were going great in the 70s and 80s they didn't have them distractions."
The small ball I believe is north Kerry (good farm land!) and think there's always been a keen interest there. It's just not a big enough area to make real inroads in getting to the next level. I don't think they've any large ball players from north Kerry at the minute and that's a significant population without a player. It's something I think they are looking at. No more than Donegal the very rural clubs also seem to be struggling for numbers. They do though have divisional clubs for senior championship and I suppose that gives a chance to players from smaller clubs.

Their fans are a demanding bunch and there'll be major disappointment if they don't land Sam this year. They did win the 5 minors in a row and have real quality players. Though maybe somewhat strangely none of them teams pushed on to win at under 20 or 21 level. Some of those teams did miss out on having O'Shea and Clifford on them. That maybe highlights how good they are as players but maybe that rest of the talent without them not that strong. Though logistics of players being all over the place for college wouldn't help either.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 895 - 16/02/2022 19:03:50    2400773

Team I'd like to see this weekend.

Patton

Mc Menamin (needs game Time. Ward has done well this year but get Mc Menamin in for game time.)

Mc Cole (test him on Clifford)

Ban. (looking more dangerous on the front foot this year)

Mogan. Plus one.

Conor O Donnell. An experiment. Played here for LYIT and did well. Scoring from play a lot and doing a good job defensively. A huge step up at inter County to play here. The lads well built, has pace and stamina, worth a shot here. Our half forward line is fairly stacked so this could be a spot for him.

Mc Fadden Ferry picking up O Shea at CHF. A real test for him. Difference in Size but he did well when faced with bigger lads in the past. (Gdore played Scotstown and he marked Hughes well)

Daire O B. (back in the panel this weekend. Needs games and a good test for him. With Ryan moving to half forward it seems there's a spot up for grabs back here)

Jason Mc Gee. Played well vs Kildare till he went off. A fine performance here and he could go a long way in the team.

Caolon Mc Gonagle. A work house. Vital in the team.

Langan. (managment have been experimenting with him this year as a half forward and he's kicked 4 scores in both games so far. Going well.)

Niall. (needs games. Back in, seems like he's bulked up a bit this hear.)

Thompson. (needs to find form. One of our most talented players. Should be OK after picking up a knock.)

2 men inside.

Mc Brearty.

Gallan. (back in the squad, let's throw him in and see what he can do.)

Ban

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 17/02/2022 10:20:19    2400814

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Team I'd like to see this weekend.

Patton

Mc Menamin (needs game Time. Ward has done well this year but get Mc Menamin in for game time.)

Mc Cole (test him on Clifford)

Ban. (looking more dangerous on the front foot this year)

Mogan. Plus one.

Conor O Donnell. An experiment. Played here for LYIT and did well. Scoring from play a lot and doing a good job defensively. A huge step up at inter County to play here. The lads well built, has pace and stamina, worth a shot here. Our half forward line is fairly stacked so this could be a spot for him.

Mc Fadden Ferry picking up O Shea at CHF. A real test for him. Difference in Size but he did well when faced with bigger lads in the past. (Gdore played Scotstown and he marked Hughes well)

Daire O B. (back in the panel this weekend. Needs games and a good test for him. With Ryan moving to half forward it seems there's a spot up for grabs back here)

Jason Mc Gee. Played well vs Kildare till he went off. A fine performance here and he could go a long way in the team.

Caolon Mc Gonagle. A work house. Vital in the team.

Langan. (managment have been experimenting with him this year as a half forward and he's kicked 4 scores in both games so far. Going well.)

Niall. (needs games. Back in, seems like he's bulked up a bit this hear.)

Thompson. (needs to find form. One of our most talented players. Should be OK after picking up a knock.)

2 men inside.

Mc Brearty.

Gallan. (back in the squad, let's throw him in and see what he can do.)

Ban"
Is gallen back be great if he was. But from reading reports he's not due back till end of league. I agree that Mc Cole should pick up Clifford but he's unmarkable if he's getting the supply we need to cut out good ball into him. Easier said than done. Kerry look to hit him with every ball. Dublin played man to man and hung Davy Byrne out to dry.. looking forward to the trip , love going to a real gaa county and meeting real gaa people.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 17/02/2022 10:59:38    2400823

Replying To rorysboys:  "Is gallen back be great if he was. But from reading reports he's not due back till end of league. I agree that Mc Cole should pick up Clifford but he's unmarkable if he's getting the supply we need to cut out good ball into him. Easier said than done. Kerry look to hit him with every ball. Dublin played man to man and hung Davy Byrne out to dry.. looking forward to the trip , love going to a real gaa county and meeting real gaa people."
Rorysboys is your day job out in the council offices, just thinking you've a bit of time on your hands this month.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 17/02/2022 15:23:27    2400874

Replying To Tyrion:  "Rorysboys is your day job out in the council offices, just thinking you've a bit of time on your hands this month."
You don't need to be a council worker lad to go to Killarney ha. My working days are gone it's Time to enjoy. Hope to see a few of my fellow posters in Scott's Saturday night. Be nice to meet lowball Marty and reminisce about Donegal football . But that lad is probably busy out in Australia.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 17/02/2022 16:12:08    2400881

Replying To rorysboys:  "Is gallen back be great if he was. But from reading reports he's not due back till end of league. I agree that Mc Cole should pick up Clifford but he's unmarkable if he's getting the supply we need to cut out good ball into him. Easier said than done. Kerry look to hit him with every ball. Dublin played man to man and hung Davy Byrne out to dry.. looking forward to the trip , love going to a real gaa county and meeting real gaa people."
Its not impossible. A college team kept Clifford scirwless from play and pretty ineffective last night. Whether we have the nouse on the line to do that only time will tell.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1263 - 17/02/2022 16:50:56    2400889

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Its not impossible. A college team kept Clifford scirwless from play and pretty ineffective last night. Whether we have the nouse on the line to do that only time will tell."
Believe you me it's impossible if this lad gets the right supply it's damage limitations my friend. If we don't contain Clifford sure we can blame Bonner, rochford and paddy Campbell and if we do we can praise his man marker. One true saying in gaa is your only as good as the supply you get so the one and only way to keep Clifford quiet is not to let quality ball into him. Simple as that if only.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 17/02/2022 17:13:41    2400894

Replying To rorysboys:  "You don't need to be a council worker lad to go to Killarney ha. My working days are gone it's Time to enjoy. Hope to see a few of my fellow posters in Scott's Saturday night. Be nice to meet lowball Marty and reminisce about Donegal football . But that lad is probably busy out in Australia."
There's a gang of us heading to killorgan this time for a change so if you fancy a bit of clubs banter come on over rorysboys.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 17/02/2022 18:45:38    2400905

Will game go ahead. It's not looking good. They will need to make a decision early tomorrow.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 18/02/2022 11:39:35    2400962

Replying To rorysboys:  "Believe you me it's impossible if this lad gets the right supply it's damage limitations my friend. If we don't contain Clifford sure we can blame Bonner, rochford and paddy Campbell and if we do we can praise his man marker. One true saying in gaa is your only as good as the supply you get so the one and only way to keep Clifford quiet is not to let quality ball into him. Simple as that if only."
Yeah if there's one thing Kerry aren't shy about is kick passing early into their dangermen. If the right ball is provided to Clifford there are few if any defenders in the country that can handle him. The key will be to disrupt the service into him initially, and then if he does get possession ensure that whoever is marking him isn't isolated.

I'd love to see what kind of job we'd have done on him in the peak McGuinness years.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9874 - 18/02/2022 12:21:21    2400976

See there's chat Clifford might be rested on Sunday. He has played a lot of football this year. Killian Spillane to replace him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9874 - 18/02/2022 16:35:13    2401005

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah if there's one thing Kerry aren't shy about is kick passing early into their dangermen. If the right ball is provided to Clifford there are few if any defenders in the country that can handle him. The key will be to disrupt the service into him initially, and then if he does get possession ensure that whoever is marking him isn't isolated.

I'd love to see what kind of job we'd have done on him in the peak McGuinness years."
Look back to the job they done on James O'Donoghue in the 2014 final if memory serves me he was held scoreless from play and maybe subbed off in that game? maybe my memory isn't a 100% on that one,
One thing we can learn from Kerry for sure is to give the ball in quick to the frontmen, Paddy and Michael if he's in there are well capable of winning their own ball and in this age of the forward mark it seems a no brainer to me, don't have to it every time but mix it up a bit, this stupid endless hand passing and then getting turned over is pointless as well as being rubbish to watch.
I see on the Kerry thread someone mentioned they might rest David Clifford on Sunday, I'll believe it when I see it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3323 - 18/02/2022 18:33:20    2401021

If you put two men on Clifford the whole game. One in front and one marking then you'll probably curtail him enough to do though then someone like geaney or Killian Spillane or Sean O'Shea could get you. The 2019 super 8 game was a little like that.
Though he could still get you from turnover ball. He only needs a second and is generally very accurate. So you can't be making silly mistakes coming out with the ball from the back.

Assuming it's all ok Sunday I'd be interested to see who starts up front with mcbrearty. No Murphy, gallen, Brennan or nod. Cod started some McKenna cup matches. He's not an inside forward though. Assuming fitness team something like Patton, ban, mccole, ward, mcff, mcgonagle, langan, Thompson, mchugh, cod, mcbrearty, Mogan. And 3 from mcmenamin, p Brennan, McFadden, j magee, obaoill, mcclenehan, sod, McGuinness, depending on fitness and match sharpness in training.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 895 - 18/02/2022 19:54:15    2401037

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Tá mé go breá KingdomBoy, grma. Tú fhéin?

Yeah I was thinking after I posted that the lads from Na Gaeil were back alright, I only got to see a wee bit of the Dublin game and couldn't fully remember. Seán O'Shea is a cert for CHF so. I can see Paul Brennan tasked with picking him up. He's very physical but will need to watch the fouling or O'Shea will punish him.

I'd say Murphy won't be risked given what happened last year when he returned from injury too early. Ciaran Thompon has been injured as well and there are always wee knocks and niggles to contend with. The game might come too soon for the likes of Oisin Gallen, Jamie Brennan & Stephen McMenamin. It's a pity because we're a bit too reliant on Paddy McBrearty in the inside forward line. Plus it would be great to see a fully fit Stephen McMenamin renew hostilities with David Clifford. They had a right old battle in the drawn super 8 game a few years back. Unfortunatley McMenamin has been cursed with injuries but hopefully will get a clear run at it later in the year.

I remember that drawn game in Killarney a few years back. Ye nicked it at the end, but if I remember rightly there was a double hop in the buildup which the ref missed? Paddy McBrearty & Odhran MacNiallais were superb for us that day. Odhran isn't involved anymore as he has stepped away from the county scene."
Tá mé go maith lockjaw, We're riding out the end of the storm, it's a dirty old day down here and tomorrow isn't going to be much by all accounts.

Looks like both teams will be missing a few lads tomorrow, we'd all pay big money to watch Murphy and Clifford but unfortunately we'll see neither by the looks of it.

I'm a big fan of Oisín Gallen it's a pity he's so injury prone, I'd love to see him get a run of games.

Looking forward to the game and I hope all ye Donegal lads have a great night in the kingdom.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/02/2022 15:38:26    2401090

Terrible weather up here today game's going to be a lottery, hope no more injuries.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 20/02/2022 12:48:51    2401255

We could have clifford, Murphy and the Gooch in full forward for donegal and we would still not use them to full effect. Donegal football is destroyed with possession possession possession at all cost, and are afraid to take a man on, and god forbid kick the ball in. Its all club teams do now in donegal. The result is very few players are used to taking on there man and actually beating them, and are afraid to have a go at a score from outside the 14 yard line.
Mcguinness played defensive football, however when they counter attacked, we attacked at speed and had strength and courage to have a go at a score.
This donegal side is the most frustrating side i have watched in years, and i believe we have great footballers so the management and coaching need to get there act together.
This is not just about todays game, the same issues have been around this past few years, and we are not learning from our mistakes.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 20/02/2022 14:33:36    2401292