Longford GAA thread

Jamesie Martin, what a warrior

easycowboy (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 04/10/2023 10:54:00    2506899

Killoe need no more fuel than to beat the team that tried to ban them.

Revo (Longford) - Posts: 13 - 08/10/2023 14:10:10    2507335

Replying To Revo:  "Killoe need no more fuel than to beat the team that tried to ban them."
Killoe must be thrilled to have someone "from Mullinalaghta" supporting them the way you do.

Mixed weekend but ultimately as expected. The women came so close but Slashers showed their class and experience and pulled away. Very easy win for the minors today, far too easy. Not a good sign for Longford football

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 08/10/2023 18:54:33    2507396

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "Killoe must be thrilled to have someone "from Mullinalaghta" supporting them the way you do.

Mixed weekend but ultimately as expected. The women came so close but Slashers showed their class and experience and pulled away. Very easy win for the minors today, far too easy. Not a good sign for Longford football"
Fair play to the Slashers' ladies. Outstanding team and great achievement. They came good with big plays when they needed it. They are also a very strong team physically with powerful runners which is unusual for Longford teams. It will be a step up now going into the Leinster Senior. I hope they can compete with the Laois champs.

In fairness, I wouldn't say the minor result is bad for Longford football. An exceptional team like them come along every once in a while. All other age groups in Longford are well contested.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 08/10/2023 19:46:29    2507409

As I predicted on here some months ago, Clonguish win all three underage championship titles with absolute ease. Will continue winning some for a few years yet. Easily the most dominant club in underage in my lifetime, and beyond anything Granard achieved in 1990's at this point.

Granard won the Minor B title and Killoe won something which isn't A or B but is closer to A than B. It's getting like a leaving cert exam now.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 08/10/2023 19:50:45    2507412

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "As I predicted on here some months ago, Clonguish win all three underage championship titles with absolute ease. Will continue winning some for a few years yet. Easily the most dominant club in underage in my lifetime, and beyond anything Granard achieved in 1990's at this point.

Granard won the Minor B title and Killoe won something which isn't A or B but is closer to A than B. It's getting like a leaving cert exam now."
We are nothing like Granard. Granard won 7 minors in 9 years. We are currently nowhere near that. It's setting up to be but a lot of things change between u14 and minor.

Underage in Longford is at its least competitive that I can remember. While our lads are good, I would say our team in 1998 was much better

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 08/10/2023 20:57:56    2507429

Carey took a very heavy late hit by the amalgamation keeper at the end. Looked to be in serious pain and limped off. Was limping heavily in the village this evening. Could be a doubt for next Sunday. Looked like a dead leg and that will only be worse in the morning. Same injury kept Jamie Dorr out from starting today.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 08/10/2023 21:05:50    2507434

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "We are nothing like Granard. Granard won 7 minors in 9 years. We are currently nowhere near that. It's setting up to be but a lot of things change between u14 and minor.

Underage in Longford is at its least competitive that I can remember. While our lads are good, I would say our team in 1998 was much better"
I was talking across all underage, not just Minor. And there is no sign of it fading either, so they will easily outstrip the total number of underage championships won by Granard back in the 1990's. No disrespect to Granard at all, that was an amazing era. But the Clonguish underage factory right now is more dominant.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 08/10/2023 21:34:43    2507437

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "We are nothing like Granard. Granard won 7 minors in 9 years. We are currently nowhere near that. It's setting up to be but a lot of things change between u14 and minor.

Underage in Longford is at its least competitive that I can remember. While our lads are good, I would say our team in 1998 was much better"
I have to disagree with you there. I think this Minor team is better than the 98 one. The 98 team had possibly Longfords best ever player playing that day. We caught Granard on the hop in the final. From under 14 up in League and Championship, we had not beaten Granard. We were winning by 4-10 to 0-05 with about 20 minutes left. It finished 4-10 to 3-09. If it went on 10 minutes longer Granard would have won. Don't get me wrong, we had some good players on that team apart from Paul, but I still think this team was better. I would even say the 2003 team were better than the 98 team.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 09/10/2023 00:37:21    2507460

Replying To Revo:  "Killoe need no more fuel than to beat the team that tried to ban them."
This guy has been asleep under a rock for the last couple of years!!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 09/10/2023 07:31:07    2507469

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "I was talking across all underage, not just Minor. And there is no sign of it fading either, so they will easily outstrip the total number of underage championships won by Granard back in the 1990's. No disrespect to Granard at all, that was an amazing era. But the Clonguish underage factory right now is more dominant."
That Granard era still has far more titles than we currently have. Minor titles are all that counts when it comes to underage and underage counts for nothing as it's all about senior at the end of the day. Plenty of players are dominant at U14 due to size and a variety of factors and others catch up come minor. I'm not playing down the club, as I do think we will win at least another 3 minor titles in the next 4 years. The "factory" is coming to a close as this years U14 winning team is the end of the era. We are very weak after that

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 09/10/2023 09:16:31    2507479

Replying To Frank74:  "I have to disagree with you there. I think this Minor team is better than the 98 one. The 98 team had possibly Longfords best ever player playing that day. We caught Granard on the hop in the final. From under 14 up in League and Championship, we had not beaten Granard. We were winning by 4-10 to 0-05 with about 20 minutes left. It finished 4-10 to 3-09. If it went on 10 minutes longer Granard would have won. Don't get me wrong, we had some good players on that team apart from Paul, but I still think this team was better. I would even say the 2003 team were better than the 98 team."
Sorry Frank I meant to say 2003 not 1998! They were unlucky against Kilmacud in the first round of Leinster who I think went on an won it.

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 09/10/2023 10:21:02    2507493

I think the county final will be a tight affair with Killoe just shading it.

Rorty (Longford) - Posts: 12 - 09/10/2023 13:18:49    2507554

Killoe to shade it. They have a better balanced team and most importantly they seem hungry for it this year which has been a downfall in the past.
When was the last time they won it ? Covid year 2020 if my memory is correct.

In saying all that this clonguish team has surprised everyone geting to the final so it might just be written in the stars for them this year
What a story it would be.
The newtownforbes club is absolutely dominant at underage. This might be the start of a dominant few years at senior

honlongford (Longford) - Posts: 163 - 10/10/2023 10:23:01    2507678

Killoe to win game one in what will become a series in the next decade

easycowboy (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 10/10/2023 11:41:02    2507697

Replying To easycowboy:  "Killoe to win game one in what will become a series in the next decade"
I think Killoe will win and I think you are right in that it could be the start of a series. Not through any great brilliance of either team. It's a reflection of how other clubs have fallen. Slashers will always be there and from what I have seen Granard have a lot of nice underage players at the various grades if they can bring them through but every other club is way off

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 10/10/2023 12:45:53    2507709

Killoe to win Senior and Junior and I'm changing my mind on the Intermediate.
The way Kenagh dismantled us in the semi-final, I think they'll have enough to take down Connollys.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 10/10/2023 13:42:28    2507722

Clonguish and Ballymore to win Senior and Junior.
Connolly's to beat Kenagh.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 10/10/2023 13:43:46    2507724

I'm going for a draw in all 3 finals.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 10/10/2023 13:44:04    2507725

Finding it very difficult to call both finals.

Flip of a coin in both games in my opinion.

ball1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 13/10/2023 10:29:45    2508125