Leitrim GAA thread

First of all a win is a win and fair play to the lads for grinding out a result.. London these days isn't an easy place to pick up a win.

I wasn't able to make the game but was able to listen in on ocean FM. Leitrim GAA could do with new person over twitter/Fb posts. They could have at least posted an updated team prior to kick off. The same yesterday for the hurlers when they started creating new hurling clubs in leitrim for the leitrim team sheets. Very poor.

I'll let people who were at the game correct me but it sounds like my previous concerns over leitrim still seems to be there. Goalkeeper and kick-outs still seem to be an issue. London down to 14 and we struggled to find the extra man on our own kickouts. Defensively we sounded better today but still some silly fouls. We have scored 47 points in 2 games which is unreal, however 23 points coming from one man is concerning.

Shane Quinn and R. O'Rourke seem to have a good game. Which is a positive. What happened to Conor Reynold that he was taken off? Tom prior is a very effective impact sub.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 05/02/2023 20:11:08    2456754

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Was at the game today and the big issue was our goalkeeper. London got the red card and sometimes strangely enough that can give a team a boost. Straight after the red card London scored 5 points in a row and nearly all came from poor kick outs. The London goal was a dribbly ball that broke between goalkeeper and full back which our keeper should've claimed in my opinion led to a tap in for the London is player. The defence blocked and tackled very well today. Forwards played well apart from missing a few easy scores. But 3-12 this week and 3-18 last week is great scoring. We struggled in the second half at times breaking out from our own defence which led to turnovers. First half we put great pressure on the London kickout that led to great reward but this pressure did wain in the second period. Paul Keanys performance was a bit disappointing considering the rave reviews he's been receiving from his sigurson performances in recent weeks. It was a massively physical game referee let a lot of stuff go but led to a very entertaining game. But I think Andy's main concern should be finding another goalkeeper before the end of this league campaign."
With respect the keeper is not the problem it's gaining primary possession from the kick outs. This failure allowed London to stay in the game. Every time we gained possession we opened their defence. Despite this flaw in our play Leitrim are scoring at an unprecedented high level. Young Maxwell deserves his place and can only grow in confidence while the loss of Aidan Flynn & Donal Casey is huge although Andy's defensive selection did remarkably well against a strong London attack. Yes we have problems but we are doing well so far. Two more points against Wexford will set us up nicely. While every game is different I can't see Wexford as strong as London but Andy & the team will be well prepared. Sort out the mistakes of London game ,keep scoring & We will be hard to beat.congratulations to our hurlers on a great win&well done @leitrimgaa for updates without which There would have been no coverage. Warwickshire signalled the importance of the game on their Twitter account and then choose to ignore the game not even a final score!So much for promoting hurling among the exiles.Great commentary & analysis on Oceanfm by Ray & Martin.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 05/02/2023 21:35:49    2456803

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Best of luck today lads. Nothing but a win will do. Big test today."
https://roscommonpeople.ie/jimmy-nail-back-with-a-flourish/

Absolutely love your name and you a Leitrim poster.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1760 - 06/02/2023 12:15:23    2456849

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "https://roscommonpeople.ie/jimmy-nail-back-with-a-flourish/

Absolutely love your name and you a Leitrim poster."
Has been my nickname for years and years unfortunately. Never will forget the day he scored that goal to beat us in injury time the most painful defeat I ever remember and I played in and lost county finals. Great start to the league for ye

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 06/02/2023 19:04:55    2456903

Obviously the next game in any sport is the most important One but this is surely the case with Leitrim now. The reason I'm saying this is if we get over Wexford I do think we will beat Carlow in Carrick. So matter what happens after that promotion will most likely be in our own hands going into the last game at home to Sligo. I think Sligo will
Win all remaining games up to the Leitrim game and I think Laois will beat everyone. That 16 point win v Waterford could be oh so crucial come the full time whistle against Sligo. Any word when Ryan o Rourke will be back? He is the most important player we have missing right now.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 07/02/2023 13:30:30    2457028

Anyone know how we're fixed for Wexford game Sunday? Any update on Ryan O Rourke and Donal Caseys fitness?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 15/02/2023 13:35:39    2458396

Let's hope he is fit to play some part. I assume Paul Keaney will prob not play a full part after the college final this evening and best of luck to him in that was well. Any update on Casey and Flynn after the Waterford game?

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 15/02/2023 15:21:27    2458418

Looking at the report Donal Casey played no part in last nights Sigerson final. Will hardly be back for the weekend I'd say.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 16/02/2023 09:53:07    2458467

Looks like Donal and Aidan Flynn out for another week at least although Donal is back running.Leitrim played a full second string team against against Longford last weekend and used 4 U20 players so it will be interesting to learn if he will make changes to the 26 for Sunday. Am hugely optimistic we will get a result in Wexford.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 17/02/2023 14:47:08    2458689

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Has been my nickname for years and years unfortunately. Never will forget the day he scored that goal to beat us in injury time the most painful defeat I ever remember and I played in and lost county finals. Great start to the league for ye"
What an evening...great weather - 2 teams going at it and Páirc Seán nearly full. We we had the beating of them but wasted a lot. I remember P McLoughlin blasting over the bar from close range to put us 2 up...and thinking..I hope we don't regret that.
And then this miserable awful ping pong ball shoots across our goal and ends up in the net.
That loss that day did A LOT of damage to Leitrim football - don't underestimate it.
I'm retraumatising myself here so I'll stop....
It was still a great night out in Carrick afterwards !

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 18/02/2023 21:19:16    2458930

London's final ball let them down the last day.
We seemed to be at 6s and 7s when they went down to 14 and scored 5-6 unanswered points.
The goal they got to level it wasn't unlike Jimmy Nails for Ros against Leitrim on THAT evening...must do better as we know. When in doubt, pull on it and drive it back towards Wales. The player will know that now.
Great character to find the scores to reclaim the lead and finish out.
Did not get sucked into to London roughing it up towards the end.

Great Liatroim crowd out in london.

THere was fantastic support in Carlow last year outnumbering the home support.

Hoping for similar tomorrow.

See ye there

Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 18/02/2023 21:24:47    2458934

Best of luck today lads, will be a tough game but we're capable of winning it and absolutely vital we do. Safe travels to our supporters hope to see a good Leitrim crowd there.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 19/02/2023 10:54:00    2458972

What's another year!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 19/02/2023 15:39:46    2459029

Any consolation, sligo b staying with ye

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 269 - 19/02/2023 15:46:48    2459033

I'm afraid we may forget about promotion after that. A game we had to win. It's so disheartening. Hard to see how we'd be able to win any of our remaining games.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 19/02/2023 16:00:34    2459036

Bad defeat hard to see us recovering from this needed to win today. Fair play to Wexford deserving winners I'd say only 4 wins will do now for promotion can't see it to be honest.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 19/02/2023 16:58:13    2459071

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm afraid we may forget about promotion after that. A game we had to win. It's so disheartening. Hard to see how we'd be able to win any of our remaining games."
We've been beaten despite leading halfway through the second half - Wexford had the home venue and made better use of whatever breeze there was. If you're saying we aren't capable of beating Carlow, Wicklow, Sligo and Laois you may throw your cap at it. It's D4, we haven't been parachuted into D1 or D2. A reversal beyond a doubt and it takes our fate out of our own hands somewhat but we can still do it. It would have been remarkable we're we to blitz our way through the 7 games. Have faith but as the saying goes it the hope that kills you.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 19/02/2023 18:57:47    2459148

Fair play Wexford easily better team in all aspects of the game today and never looked like losing.. Same old same old for Leitrim. Can't depend on one forward to get scores and defensively we were sixes and sevens. I would start T.prior against carlow. Outside of beirne, he's probably our best forward currently.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 19/02/2023 19:09:24    2459161

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm afraid we may forget about promotion after that. A game we had to win. It's so disheartening. Hard to see how we'd be able to win any of our remaining games."
For God's sake! Relax.

The scenario actually hasn't changed that much at all, just a bit less wriggle room.

For me its 2 from Laois, Leitrim, Wexford, Sligo, with Wicklow and Carlow more in the 'spoiler' roles. Laois clearly the look the best at the moment.

We gave 4 home games (for a change) and probably always needed to win those anyway regardless of today. We've dropped 2 points; Sligo have dropped 2 points; Wexford have dropped 3 points;. Sligo and Wexford have both played Laois, but we have yet to play them - however we play them second last and there is even a possibility they may already be promoted if 3rd place team is more than 4 points away, beside we have them in Carrick, 3 of our 4 remaining are in Carrick.

Then Sligo have yet to play Wexford, so loser of that is beginning to struggle.

Completely 'game on' here for Sligo and Wexford......and us.

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 19/02/2023 19:25:00    2459171

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "We've been beaten despite leading halfway through the second half - Wexford had the home venue and made better use of whatever breeze there was. If you're saying we aren't capable of beating Carlow, Wicklow, Sligo and Laois you may throw your cap at it. It's D4, we haven't been parachuted into D1 or D2. A reversal beyond a doubt and it takes our fate out of our own hands somewhat but we can still do it. It would have been remarkable we're we to blitz our way through the 7 games. Have faith but as the saying goes it the hope that kills you."
I said at the start of the season that we'd be well capable of promotion but having seen the London game, I thought we were very poor in some stretches and certainly made hard work of it in the end. I certainly didn't expect a loss today. We'll probably beat Carlow but Wicklow certainly won't be an easy game and after today they'll be back in the mix if they get a result against us and Sligo. A bit like last year with Tipperary... did all the hard work beating Tipperary and left it all behind loosing to London. There's serious pressure on the management team & the players to recover from this given last year. I hope it's not deja vu.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 19/02/2023 19:59:49    2459187