My point is, the U20s were deemed to be such an integral part of the senior team, that the seniors were unable/unwilling to field without them. Based of the result last evening with the Galway FF scoring 1-09, and based on the margin of defeats suffered in the League to date, I am wondering what awaits when they play a team that could in Theory be NFL DIV 1 Champs by then, a crown they held just 2 seasons ago. How are U20s (from any county) expected to cope with a hardened division one senior team. In terms of S&C alone, it seems to me it would be a bad decision if they were asked to play in this fixture. It is simply wrong. For all their real or perceived failings the county board do not (I hope) pick the squad, panel or team.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 540 - 20/03/2025 11:38:43 2597443 Link 2 |
Yes indeed , too much unwanted focus on young lads preparing for first round match. Not ideal run up to this fixture and hope they are cut a bit of slack. Fermanagh suffered a similar loss and former finalists/winners Down experienced a bigger deficit last night. Onto the next match and wishing them luck.
Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 602 - 20/03/2025 11:53:04 2597451 Link 2 |
Well done to Barry McNulty and Tom Prior on making the Sigerson team of the year. Two fine footballers. I would have included Matthew Whittiker from Westmeath in the team but his team did not progress far enough. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 702 - 20/03/2025 12:11:08 2597455 Link 3 |
from twitter i think it was the 2 pointers that done for us, if this rule was not in place it would have been a relatively close game in terms of scoring. of course Galway are the better team, they go out every year with a plan of winning all irelands whereas we are just happy when we win, Poacher is right in saying our mentality is weak but I d not agree conceding a competitive game was the right call. I would not lose hope for this U20 team yet there is still 3 more games and a shield competition. The seniors, i would not watch in my front garden. gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 606 - 20/03/2025 12:28:08 2597457 Link 0 |
Agree completely, They've had this squad of 38 together since November and that was what they had to offer. No defensive shape to be seen, relying on individual skill to create chances, kickout strategy??? Too many players on the panel means the better players aren't getting challenged and then when the real challenge comes they can't flick the switch. I'm just looking forward to the excuses… anon3 (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 20/03/2025 13:01:52 2597462 Link 0 |
another test tomorrow night in Cloone for the minors, who again, everyone has high hopes for. but i really fear for them, the state of Leitrim football is at the lowest point ever, whats the answer, i honestly don't know. our academy procedures need to be looked at. i don't think we're doing enough there. also the U17-18 even numbers at underage debate, we are one of the few who hasn't gone back to U18 and we are the ones miles behind, has that something to do with it, it is a coincidence ? it was voted down by the county board because they didn't want the hassle of overlapping fixtures with adult football, very narrow minded and short sighted. meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 158 - 20/03/2025 15:14:54 2597499 Link 0 |
Academy structures aren't the problem, they've reached the last 2 Father Manning Finals, losing one by a point and winning the other. Fair enough they weren't playing full counties but they beat any regions that would have had a similar playing population. So maybe the issue is when they are given over to appointed management teams??? Once a week sessions isn't enough but then clubs will be giving out that they don't have their best players for training, even though they could spend the time improving their average players. Or the fact the underage club competition is so poor, just look at the winning margins. But clubs won't vote to change it. anon3 (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 20/03/2025 21:46:49 2597556 Link 0 |
Actually the 2nd last time they were in the Fr. manning it was the last time there was full counties . Longford GAA in 2023 allowed Galways and Mayos to enter half teams.
Marzo_louglin94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 8 - 20/03/2025 23:03:53 2597566 Link 0 |
Very disappointed in the U20 result. We seem to get carried away too easily here with groups of young lads and they are the best group we have had in years.. I think how we rate players is clearly flawed and maybe because the standard and expectations is so low we think they are much better than they are, the reality is Galway, Roscommon and Mayo are miles ahead of us. harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 21/03/2025 06:55:30 2597580 Link 2 |
Best of luck to the minors tonight against Galway. Hopefully we can salvage some pride tonight. meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 158 - 21/03/2025 13:30:13 2597643 Link 1 |
No more than last year - Galway won't have a hectic minor team this year: Leitrim have a decent chance of winning this one. . galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1303 - 21/03/2025 18:39:39 2597697 Link 0 |
Galway 3:19 Leitrim 2:11 FT
Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 116 - 21/03/2025 20:29:03 2597712 Link 1 |
Another hammering... when will it stop
harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 22/03/2025 07:39:44 2597740 Link 0 |
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 277 - 22/03/2025 13:06:09 2597783 Link 3 |
No Team so far named on county X page. Just the final score from the hurling, Leitrim 0-7 Warwickshire 4-14.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 540 - 22/03/2025 15:48:41 2597804 Link 0 |
WHAT??? How did that happen? Shocking capitulation.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1157 - 22/03/2025 18:47:52 2597827 Link 0 |
13 thumbs up in the WhatsApp group, hopefully get two more by the morning
Hatchetman76 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 22/03/2025 18:56:04 2597828 Link 2 |
This aged poorly.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 337 - 22/03/2025 18:59:19 2597830 Link 2 |
Thought the hurlers were holding their own this year, unlucky loss cost them promotion as they were unbeaten until then, they most have been missing players or just played an experimental team as game was a dead duck
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 606 - 22/03/2025 19:49:02 2597835 Link 0 |
The misfortunes of the past week has impacted severely on the hurlers obviously. A shame really but at least they fulfilled the fixture. Fair play to (both) clubs involved. All in all a week that won't be forgotten too readily unfortunately. Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 733 - 22/03/2025 21:02:40 2597854 Link 0 |