Replying To ThePowerhouse: "That would take some joined up thinking and planning. The ideal scenario is that, regardless of who's in charge of our various teams, the S&C aspect remains a constant. The people with real knowledge of football in the county would be able to make a good stab of our minor team 5 years from now. I can guarantee you that none of that prospective team have ever been approached by anyone in our COE with regard to S&C or nutrition, never mind organising games or training for them. Like it or not, this is the age where it should start. One of the advantages of our small player base is that its not that difficult to identify the talent. Granted, the harsh reality is that some of those will be there to make up the numbers. Some of those will develop, some of them will plateau. At the very least we should be giving them the best chance to fulfill their potential. Undoubtedly there will be crys of elitism. So be it. If your son isn't good enough or doesn't put in the required work that's tough. That's life. Obviously the S&C would be age appropriate. As it stands our "academies" structure consist of lads being flogged for 2 or 3 months leading into an under 15, 16, 17 campaign. All under the guise of S&C. It takes years to build this up. As I said, this aspect should be a constant and shouldn't suffer or pause because there's a change in management or no management! We are light years behind in so many areas. This is an easy fix." 100%.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 393 - 24/03/2025 14:44:57
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "That would take some joined up thinking and planning. The ideal scenario is that, regardless of who's in charge of our various teams, the S&C aspect remains a constant. The people with real knowledge of football in the county would be able to make a good stab of our minor team 5 years from now. I can guarantee you that none of that prospective team have ever been approached by anyone in our COE with regard to S&C or nutrition, never mind organising games or training for them. Like it or not, this is the age where it should start. One of the advantages of our small player base is that its not that difficult to identify the talent. Granted, the harsh reality is that some of those will be there to make up the numbers. Some of those will develop, some of them will plateau. At the very least we should be giving them the best chance to fulfill their potential. Undoubtedly there will be crys of elitism. So be it. If your son isn't good enough or doesn't put in the required work that's tough. That's life. Obviously the S&C would be age appropriate. As it stands our "academies" structure consist of lads being flogged for 2 or 3 months leading into an under 15, 16, 17 campaign. All under the guise of S&C. It takes years to build this up. As I said, this aspect should be a constant and shouldn't suffer or pause because there's a change in management or no management! We are light years behind in so many areas. This is an easy fix." All well and good to say that's tough to a player and then for them to reply the same when they are approached again as players of potential walk away as is their right to go travelling etc...and the team in question is short on lads for a panel
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 24/03/2025 15:12:23
Replying To PeterQ92: "After losing nearly a full panel of players from last year you have to feel for current squad and management battling against the odds. Whilst I'll never understand a situation where U20 management are allowed to pull players from a senior NFL game I just hope you can get a few lads back for Tailteann and next year. Keep up the good fight." Because they are u21 players and if they played that game they would not have been eligible to play the game v Galway. Not u21s managements fault at all.
reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 377 - 24/03/2025 16:08:19
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "All well and good to say that's tough to a player and then for them to reply the same when they are approached again as players of potential walk away as is their right to go travelling etc...and the team in question is short on lads for a panel" I've no idea what any of that word salad means.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 24/03/2025 16:32:29
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "All well and good to say that's tough to a player and then for them to reply the same when they are approached again as players of potential walk away as is their right to go travelling etc...and the team in question is short on lads for a panel" I've no idea what any of that word salad means.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 24/03/2025 16:51:48
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "I've no idea what any of that word salad means." You tell a player that's tough, we don't want you anymore. One day that player might say that's tough, I don't want to join when asked to join a panel.
Enjoy your salad
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 24/03/2025 18:04:29
Replying To reffingmad: "Because they are u21 players and if they played that game they would not have been eligible to play the game v Galway. Not u21s managements fault at all." Not the case, that rule was done away with years ago. The senior management were planning to have the u20s in the middle of an injury crisis and then the 20s were pulled day before the game. Tail was wagging the dog.
PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 24/03/2025 19:43:56
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "You tell a player that's tough, we don't want you anymore. One day that player might say that's tough, I don't want to join when asked to join a panel.
Enjoy your salad" That's better. Well done.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 24/03/2025 20:30:04
i suppose at least the weekly match reports/history lesson from the travelling supporter have stopped. every cloud has a silver lining.
meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 158 - 24/03/2025 21:47:44
Replying To meathbasedfan: "i suppose at least the weekly match reports/history lesson from the travelling supporter have stopped. every cloud has a silver lining." 100%. If there was ever delusion on a page, it was right there. The 'pity us' attidute has to stop from our supporters. It makes a mockery of the whole thing we're trying to achieve... higher standards.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1231 - 25/03/2025 09:19:53
What higher standards? We criticised managers that actually achieve promotion and then when we have a manager that has the worst record I can remember then its the players and CB's fault. The CB don't sit down with the players at the start of the year and lay out the plans. Thats the managers job. Do we really think that highly educated guys cant see past a bluffer. Why would they commit their time to someone who is undoing 3 years work at S&C and development. We are naturally going to be slower at catching up but we will never catch up as long as guys that we currently have keep getting jobs. We love to blame everyone except who is the actual problem. We have an S&C programme in place the past 3 years and is currently doing great work but how are we supposed to get some continuity when we get a change in manager and he loses 3/4 of the team. Hardly the S&C's fault. Interesting to see Monaghan and Offaly both gaining promotion. Our current head of S&C was over Offaly perviously and worked with Mayo. But hey lets not blame the manager!
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 25/03/2025 10:51:58
Replying To Willies24: "What higher standards? We criticised managers that actually achieve promotion and then when we have a manager that has the worst record I can remember then its the players and CB's fault. The CB don't sit down with the players at the start of the year and lay out the plans. Thats the managers job. Do we really think that highly educated guys cant see past a bluffer. Why would they commit their time to someone who is undoing 3 years work at S&C and development. We are naturally going to be slower at catching up but we will never catch up as long as guys that we currently have keep getting jobs. We love to blame everyone except who is the actual problem. We have an S&C programme in place the past 3 years and is currently doing great work but how are we supposed to get some continuity when we get a change in manager and he loses 3/4 of the team. Hardly the S&C's fault. Interesting to see Monaghan and Offaly both gaining promotion. Our current head of S&C was over Offaly perviously and worked with Mayo. But hey lets not blame the manager!" I am not for one minute defending Poacher. In fact, I haven't been allowed say exactly what I think here on this forum so make what you want of that. The higher standards just doesn't apply to the county team. It applies across the board, from the grassroots up and led by the County Board. The money spent on Moran and this current management team could have been spent on a full time S&C coach to implement a plan at all levels.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1231 - 25/03/2025 11:09:04
Replying To Willies24: "What higher standards? We criticised managers that actually achieve promotion and then when we have a manager that has the worst record I can remember then its the players and CB's fault. The CB don't sit down with the players at the start of the year and lay out the plans. Thats the managers job. Do we really think that highly educated guys cant see past a bluffer. Why would they commit their time to someone who is undoing 3 years work at S&C and development. We are naturally going to be slower at catching up but we will never catch up as long as guys that we currently have keep getting jobs. We love to blame everyone except who is the actual problem. We have an S&C programme in place the past 3 years and is currently doing great work but how are we supposed to get some continuity when we get a change in manager and he loses 3/4 of the team. Hardly the S&C's fault. Interesting to see Monaghan and Offaly both gaining promotion. Our current head of S&C was over Offaly perviously and worked with Mayo. But hey lets not blame the manager!" Previous manager didn't stay on so not much we could do about that.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 25/03/2025 11:30:36
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "I've no idea what any of that word salad means." Reflection on you, not him.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 450 - 25/03/2025 14:47:20
Replying To ORIELMAN85: "Reflection on you, not him." You can lead a horse to water etc
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 25/03/2025 18:45:51
Replying To Square_B: "I am not for one minute defending Poacher. In fact, I haven't been allowed say exactly what I think here on this forum so make what you want of that. The higher standards just doesn't apply to the county team. It applies across the board, from the grassroots up and led by the County Board. The money spent on Moran and this current management team could have been spent on a full time S&C coach to implement a plan at all levels." Yes I would agree, we have a full time S&C working but from minors up. I am unsure if his remit covers anything under the minors. Would be great to get his expertise at all ages.
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 26/03/2025 06:30:58
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "That would take some joined up thinking and planning. The ideal scenario is that, regardless of who's in charge of our various teams, the S&C aspect remains a constant. The people with real knowledge of football in the county would be able to make a good stab of our minor team 5 years from now. I can guarantee you that none of that prospective team have ever been approached by anyone in our COE with regard to S&C or nutrition, never mind organising games or training for them. Like it or not, this is the age where it should start. One of the advantages of our small player base is that its not that difficult to identify the talent. Granted, the harsh reality is that some of those will be there to make up the numbers. Some of those will develop, some of them will plateau. At the very least we should be giving them the best chance to fulfill their potential. Undoubtedly there will be crys of elitism. So be it. If your son isn't good enough or doesn't put in the required work that's tough. That's life. Obviously the S&C would be age appropriate. As it stands our "academies" structure consist of lads being flogged for 2 or 3 months leading into an under 15, 16, 17 campaign. All under the guise of S&C. It takes years to build this up. As I said, this aspect should be a constant and shouldn't suffer or pause because there's a change in management or no management! We are light years behind in so many areas. This is an easy fix." Jaysus, You're saying there's no s and C consistency but Darragh Finn has been overseeing it for the last 2 years. The u20 S and C reports to him and Darragh designs the programmes for the academies that's then implemented by the GDAs.
Also how can lads be flogged when they only train on a Saturday morning?
Agree that no talent is really missed, agree we could do with more than a session a weak but as I said before the clubs will complain
anon3 (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 26/03/2025 11:25:09
Replying To anon3: "Jaysus, You're saying there's no s and C consistency but Darragh Finn has been overseeing it for the last 2 years. The u20 S and C reports to him and Darragh designs the programmes for the academies that's then implemented by the GDAs.
Also how can lads be flogged when they only train on a Saturday morning?
Agree that no talent is really missed, agree we could do with more than a session a weak but as I said before the clubs will complain" Way too late to be starting at minor or even u15. The u13 Division 1 championship final was on the 26th of October 2024. Assuming some of those players are now over age and will be playing u15, the u15 division 1 league starts on the 31st of March. Five and a half months. The u13 league is a week later.
What effort has been made to approach the talent involved at those age levels? None. Yes, they're playing other sports but surely at some point during that period some kind of effort could have been made to identify the talent and at least establish some kind of contact.
Having had direct experience of the people that you'd assume would be tasked with this role it doesn't surprise me that this is just another failure and epitomises the lack of professionalism. Not only is it evident to parents, more importantly its more than evident to prospective players. An 11 or 12 year old can identify this and the days of having a captive audience that we assume will play for the jersey are long gone. They've plenty of options. I've said before that there's no need to be paid to act professionally. If you are being paid then you've no excuse.
As for flogging players? My very recent direct experience is that there was a complete overload of training and challenge matches leading into a championship campaign. The period before that was deathly quiet.
I've said before that where we're falling down is in the production of ordinary inter county players. Players that are, at the very least, at their optimum in terms of S&C and are able to compete physically at inter county level. Stuff that takes no talent. We are not doing that and this year is all the proof anyone needs. It takes years to build up properly.
It needs to be rolled out much earlier. Get the talent on board at 12 or 13 years of age. As i said earlier, age appropriate. We have a unique set of circumstances and we need to harness what we have instead of hoping for a "great" minor team to come along once every generation. Being a talented footballer is of no use if you can't win your own ball or you can't hold onto the bloody thing if you go into contact.
As for the clubs complaining? There can be no argument that our existing model doesn't work. The vast majority of clubs are only interested in winning any kind of a trophy so they can drive around the parish yahooing. Player development is not their concern. Again, if you want proof then look at recent results.
Set higher standards. Show the players and their parents that it is being done properly. I've no reason to dispute the ability of Darragh Finn to do so or anyone else that is suitably qualified.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 26/03/2025 13:50:56
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "Way too late to be starting at minor or even u15. The u13 Division 1 championship final was on the 26th of October 2024. Assuming some of those players are now over age and will be playing u15, the u15 division 1 league starts on the 31st of March. Five and a half months. The u13 league is a week later.
What effort has been made to approach the talent involved at those age levels? None. Yes, they're playing other sports but surely at some point during that period some kind of effort could have been made to identify the talent and at least establish some kind of contact.
Having had direct experience of the people that you'd assume would be tasked with this role it doesn't surprise me that this is just another failure and epitomises the lack of professionalism. Not only is it evident to parents, more importantly its more than evident to prospective players. An 11 or 12 year old can identify this and the days of having a captive audience that we assume will play for the jersey are long gone. They've plenty of options. I've said before that there's no need to be paid to act professionally. If you are being paid then you've no excuse.
As for flogging players? My very recent direct experience is that there was a complete overload of training and challenge matches leading into a championship campaign. The period before that was deathly quiet.
I've said before that where we're falling down is in the production of ordinary inter county players. Players that are, at the very least, at their optimum in terms of S&C and are able to compete physically at inter county level. Stuff that takes no talent. We are not doing that and this year is all the proof anyone needs. It takes years to build up properly.
It needs to be rolled out much earlier. Get the talent on board at 12 or 13 years of age. As i said earlier, age appropriate. We have a unique set of circumstances and we need to harness what we have instead of hoping for a "great" minor team to come along once every generation. Being a talented footballer is of no use if you can't win your own ball or you can't hold onto the bloody thing if you go into contact.
As for the clubs complaining? There can be no argument that our existing model doesn't work. The vast majority of clubs are only interested in winning any kind of a trophy so they can drive around the parish yahooing. Player development is not their concern. Again, if you want proof then look at recent results.
Set higher standards. Show the players and their parents that it is being done properly. I've no reason to dispute the ability of Darragh Finn to do so or anyone else that is suitably qualified." I'm curious to know if we are utilising bio-banding at County underage?
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 393 - 26/03/2025 20:41:20
Replying To ThePowerhouse: "Way too late to be starting at minor or even u15. The u13 Division 1 championship final was on the 26th of October 2024. Assuming some of those players are now over age and will be playing u15, the u15 division 1 league starts on the 31st of March. Five and a half months. The u13 league is a week later.
Set higher standards. Show the players and their parents that it is being done properly. I've no reason to dispute the ability of Darragh Finn to do so or anyone else that is suitably qualified." Yes lets get 12 year old kids on S&C plans. No birthday parties, sweets or fizzy drinks. We need to get them on diet plans, creatine and protein.
You clearly don't have kids. Cop on.
southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 27/03/2025 08:28:00