Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "They certainly look unfit. The bottom line is that the money spent on the hurling team is madness. And if we remain in Division 4 this year we need to seriously reconsider the money being spent on the football team also."
Hurlers raised 20k just before Christmas. Saw that on facebook. When you have a incredibly small base to begin with , the levels of commitment wont be there. Employ one person to promote hurling and within 5 tears you would see change.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 48 - 12/02/2024 12:36:07    2525630

I'm a hurling man ,and am not ere to run leitrim down (where no kilkenny ourselves) but that result yday was brutal ,there was a lad playing that I thought retired years ago he has to b mid 40s!!!the leitrim minors have no management yet!!!competition starts in first week in April and I don't "think" they have a u20 team ,and if things continue in that fashion, even me would say yer n big terrible

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 279 - 12/02/2024 12:58:18    2525634

Replying To Timmy86:  "I'm a hurling man ,and am not ere to run leitrim down (where no kilkenny ourselves) but that result yday was brutal ,there was a lad playing that I thought retired years ago he has to b mid 40s!!!the leitrim minors have no management yet!!!competition starts in first week in April and I don't "think" they have a u20 team ,and if things continue in that fashion, even me would say yer n big terrible"
Hurling in leitrim is been ran by about 6 to 10 people in total. They need a full time gpo in the county similar to sligo.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 48 - 12/02/2024 13:24:29    2525643

Replying To Premier12345:  "Hurling in leitrim is been ran by about 6 to 10 people in total. They need a full time gpo in the county similar to sligo."
Yes I'd have no problem with a full time hurling gpo but the problem is in counties outside of the traditional counties the interest isn't there, maybe I'm wrong?

Hurling is a sport that requires serious levels of skill that takes years to master have we the population to have two serious inter-county teams?

We are struggling badly at football as it is and it is by far the number one sport in Leitrim. Leitrim is a football county the fact we only have two hurling clubs says it all.

Counties like Leitrim, Louth, Longford, Fermanagh etc should continue to participate but can it be done in a more cost effective way? Shorter season?

At the end of the day it's a hobby, and this lip service saying we put in as much effort as the Tipp's and Kilkenny's of this world it is nonsense and untrue.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 308 - 12/02/2024 13:54:56    2525654

Replying To Timmy86:  "I'm a hurling man ,and am not ere to run leitrim down (where no kilkenny ourselves) but that result yday was brutal ,there was a lad playing that I thought retired years ago he has to b mid 40s!!!the leitrim minors have no management yet!!!competition starts in first week in April and I don't "think" they have a u20 team ,and if things continue in that fashion, even me would say yer n big terrible"
Terrible result by hurlers against Fermanagh as was Ladies game. Big Leitrim hurling fan and do not want to disband Team as alleged by earlier post. Very committed bunch and I admire their efforts in a strong football County but it's costing a fortune and unless Croke Park steps in it will be a continuing drain on the County Boards resources. Don't know solution but the Fermanagh result is worrying after scoring 20 points against Warwickshire. As for our Sligo poster we have an excellent U20 squad this year and a strong Management in place. As this year the Championship is round robin can't wait to beat Sligo. Our Minors should also feature as we made the Final of Fr. Manning last year and won the U15 Humphrey Kelleher Cup against Cork.Looks like being a good year for us at under age.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 12/02/2024 14:50:57    2525674

Replying To Premier12345:  "Hurlers raised 20k just before Christmas. Saw that on facebook. When you have a incredibly small base to begin with , the levels of commitment wont be there. Employ one person to promote hurling and within 5 tears you would see change."
There was 1 person employed many years ago when there was 4 clubs... when the GPO was merged in with Sligo, that job went to 1 day a week (the GPO spends the other 4 days in Sligo) and now there's only 2 clubs in the county. It doesn't take a genius to figure out what happened there. It's not even about commitment, the lads are very committed but they've no support from the top table. If Croke Park are serious about developing the game of Hurling, they need to invest money in the weaker counties to help them increase participation levels. You can't do this if you have a GPO one day a week. In Leitrim we're very insolar about this believing that if we do anything to promote hurling it will take away from the football. What I would love to know is who made this proposal in the first place? They should be run out of the GAA and I suspect it was a proposal that came from the footballing side of the organisation... the kids of Leitrim should have the same access to learn how to hurl as the kids of Tipperary. In fairness to Tipp and the stronger hurling counties, they support our plight.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 886 - 12/02/2024 15:07:22    2525684

Lads, what's the story with Keith Beirne? Will he make an appearance this weekend v Wexford? Hoping to travel across to the game to support the yellow bellies but would love to see him in action again as i think he is one of the best around to kick a score. Also, Ryan O Rourke and Rooney will take some stopping.

gaapundit13 (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 12/02/2024 16:02:38    2525701

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Terrible result by hurlers against Fermanagh as was Ladies game. Big Leitrim hurling fan and do not want to disband Team as alleged by earlier post. Very committed bunch and I admire their efforts in a strong football County but it's costing a fortune and unless Croke Park steps in it will be a continuing drain on the County Boards resources. Don't know solution but the Fermanagh result is worrying after scoring 20 points against Warwickshire. As for our Sligo poster we have an excellent U20 squad this year and a strong Management in place. As this year the Championship is round robin can't wait to beat Sligo. Our Minors should also feature as we made the Final of Fr. Manning last year and won the U15 Humphrey Kelleher Cup against Cork.Looks like being a good year for us at under age."
Apologies and great to ear about yer underage ,especially u20 ,but ye don't have a u17 management which does go back to ye not having a full time gpo

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 279 - 12/02/2024 17:22:37    2525714

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Terrible result by hurlers against Fermanagh as was Ladies game. Big Leitrim hurling fan and do not want to disband Team as alleged by earlier post. Very committed bunch and I admire their efforts in a strong football County but it's costing a fortune and unless Croke Park steps in it will be a continuing drain on the County Boards resources. Don't know solution but the Fermanagh result is worrying after scoring 20 points against Warwickshire. As for our Sligo poster we have an excellent U20 squad this year and a strong Management in place. As this year the Championship is round robin can't wait to beat Sligo. Our Minors should also feature as we made the Final of Fr. Manning last year and won the U15 Humphrey Kelleher Cup against Cork.Looks like being a good year for us at under age."
I believe he was talking about minor hurling and u20 hurling. I have not heard if we have coaches or a panel in place for those teams.

Yes we have a good u20 football team but Sligo are one of the best teams in the country. I wouldn't be going around saying we will beat them cause if we do it would be a big upset.

It's great this year that u20 is being played off as round robin gives the lads more game time against top quality opposition. It's unfortunate for us that Connacht are probably one of the highest quality provinces at underage football (along with Ulster). I'd imagine our boys down the years would've had very decent runs if they were in the Leinster championship.

I was at the u20 challenge vs Longford at the weekend. We were cruising and up be about 10-12 points. After half time we changed the whole team and Longford came back to draw it.

Longford would be good at this level having reached the Philly McGuinness Cup final last year and with all the Clonguish and Killoe lads. After a good performance against Donegal and senior panelists McNulty, Casey, Foley to return for the u20 championship I'd be hoping for a decent run in the Connacht Championship. Picking up two wins should be the aim.

Pity there is no Philly McGuiness Cup this year for u20's as it was a good competition to get matches in against teams on a closer level to ourselves.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 12/02/2024 17:34:32    2525717

Replying To gaapundit13:  "Lads, what's the story with Keith Beirne? Will he make an appearance this weekend v Wexford? Hoping to travel across to the game to support the yellow bellies but would love to see him in action again as i think he is one of the best around to kick a score. Also, Ryan O Rourke and Rooney will take some stopping."
Keith has some personal issues off the field to contend with. I can't see him playing for Leitrim or mohill this year but we will wait and see. Whatever happens happens. i think it's best for all involved to leave it at that

Agree he is a class player and he'd walk on to any team in the country.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 653 - 12/02/2024 17:58:32    2525719

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I believe he was talking about minor hurling and u20 hurling. I have not heard if we have coaches or a panel in place for those teams.

Yes we have a good u20 football team but Sligo are one of the best teams in the country. I wouldn't be going around saying we will beat them cause if we do it would be a big upset.

It's great this year that u20 is being played off as round robin gives the lads more game time against top quality opposition. It's unfortunate for us that Connacht are probably one of the highest quality provinces at underage football (along with Ulster). I'd imagine our boys down the years would've had very decent runs if they were in the Leinster championship.

I was at the u20 challenge vs Longford at the weekend. We were cruising and up be about 10-12 points. After half time we changed the whole team and Longford came back to draw it.

Longford would be good at this level having reached the Philly McGuinness Cup final last year and with all the Clonguish and Killoe lads. After a good performance against Donegal and senior panelists McNulty, Casey, Foley to return for the u20 championship I'd be hoping for a decent run in the Connacht Championship. Picking up two wins should be the aim.

Pity there is no Philly McGuiness Cup this year for u20's as it was a good competition to get matches in against teams on a closer level to ourselves."
Yes I was referring to hurling at minor and u20 ,and I'm guessing I was right so, that ye don't have a u20 hurling team...

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 279 - 12/02/2024 18:06:15    2525721

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I believe he was talking about minor hurling and u20 hurling. I have not heard if we have coaches or a panel in place for those teams.

Pity there is no Philly McGuiness Cup this year for u20's as it was a good competition to get matches in against teams on a closer level to ourselves."
Would love an update on the U20s. Line-out, scorers etc.

Really excited to see them.

Is Jamie McGreal still U20?

In Barry McNulty, Jack Foley, Ben Guckian, Jack Casey, Paul Honeyman, Tom Plunkett, Paul Moran, Darren Cox, and Michael McBrien amongst others this is our strongest squad in a long long time.

Many of these will be the mainstays of the senior team in the next few years as some of the current players step away after long periods on the panel.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 299 - 13/02/2024 02:16:38    2525779

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Would love an update on the U20s. Line-out, scorers etc.

Really excited to see them.

Is Jamie McGreal still U20?

In Barry McNulty, Jack Foley, Ben Guckian, Jack Casey, Paul Honeyman, Tom Plunkett, Paul Moran, Darren Cox, and Michael McBrien amongst others this is our strongest squad in a long long time.

Many of these will be the mainstays of the senior team in the next few years as some of the current players step away after long periods on the panel."
Jamie is too old for u20. Fair play to him for getting himself into the senior team. I always thought he was a good footballer and works very hard. He probably was the least expected out of the group of players that came up last year to break through onto the senior squad. Hopefully he can now cement himself in the team. Great for the club of Ballinaglera also.

Also really excited to see them. Definitely our strongest squad on paper since the 2017. Good to hear Ryan Jones is in with them now. Hopefully they are given every opportunity to go and have a good run in Connacht. No one wants the same situation to occur as last year. Among those players you named there is also some excellent backs in the squad. Arek Oberwan (Allen Gaels), Tom Hughes (Manor) and Ryan Cunningham (Gortletteragh) are serious man markers and can get forward too. There is also great talent around half back midfield in Jake Tobin (Allen Gaels).

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 13/02/2024 08:45:40    2525788

My Leitrim u20 team open to opinions
1. Shaun Sheridan(Manor)
2. Ryan Cunningham (gortletteragh)
3. Tom Hughes ( Manor)
4. Eanna Mcnamarra (Aughavas)
5. Colm Mcloughlin (Fenagh)
6. Jack Foley (Kiltubrid)
7. Michael Mcbrien (Ballinamore)
8.Ben Guckian (St Mary's)
9. Barry Mcnulty(Manor)
10.Tom Plunkett (Aughawillan)
11. Darren Cox (Annaduff)
12. Jake Tobin ( Allen Gaels)
13. Paul Moran (Ballinamore)
14. Paul Honeyman (Ballinamore)
15. Jack casey (St Mary's)

What do people think?

Leitrim1431 (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 13/02/2024 10:25:26    2525804

Replying To Leitrim1431:  "My Leitrim u20 team open to opinions
1. Shaun Sheridan(Manor)
3. Tom Hughes ( Manor)
9. Barry Mcnulty(Manor)

What do people think?"
Forgot to Include Arek Oberwan of Allen gaels would probaly have him in corner back for Eanna Mcnammara as Eanna is still very young

Leitrim1431 (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 13/02/2024 10:30:47    2525806

Replying To Leitrim1431:  "Forgot to Include Arek Oberwan of Allen gaels would probaly have him in corner back for Eanna Mcnammara as Eanna is still very young"
strong outfit in fairness.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 76 - 13/02/2024 10:57:23    2525815

1. Shaun Sheridan(Manor)
3. Tom Hughes ( Manor)
9. Barry Mcnulty(Manor)

What do people think?"
Very strong team

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 13/02/2024 11:51:47    2525824

1. Shaun Sheridan(Manor)
3. Tom Hughes ( Manor)
9. Barry Mcnulty(Manor)

What do people think?"
It shows my age when I have played against some of there fathers. Looks quiet a strong team and prob the strongest since Mark Plunketts era at u21 when they left themselves to much to do in the second half against Galway and if I'm not mistaking Ryan O'Rourke went off after a few mins. Getting the 4 games is huge

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 329 - 13/02/2024 14:05:31    2525857

Replying To lugdrum:  "It shows my age when I have played against some of there fathers. Looks quiet a strong team and prob the strongest since Mark Plunketts era at u21 when they left themselves to much to do in the second half against Galway and if I'm not mistaking Ryan O'Rourke went off after a few mins. Getting the 4 games is huge"
Some team that year. Very poor first half left us down by 18 points. Brought it back to 4 for a finish.

1. Jack Burke
2. James Mitchell
3. Keith Keegan
4. Liam Ryan
5. Donal Feely
6. Brian Leyden
7. Oisin Madden
8. Dean McGovern
9. Mark Plunkett
10. Jack Heslin
11. Conor Dolan
12. Conor Gaffney
13. Ryan O'Rourke
14. Keith Beirne
15. Robbie Cunningham

Subs Used
Conor Cullen
Niall McGovern
Pearce Dolan

As well as Darragh Rooney, David Bruen, Francis Flynn on the panel.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 13/02/2024 14:56:42    2525871

Replying To lugdrum:  "It shows my age when I have played against some of there fathers. Looks quiet a strong team and prob the strongest since Mark Plunketts era at u21 when they left themselves to much to do in the second half against Galway and if I'm not mistaking Ryan O'Rourke went off after a few mins. Getting the 4 games is huge"
That U20 game was such an amazing missed opportunity.
Really poor management for a lot of it. O'Rourke was risked when clearly not fit and our kickout was destroyed. Pearce Dolan and a few more were also injured which were huge losses.
I count up on 12 of that panel went onto play senior football with Leitrim which is a tremendous result. As the point in Underage teams is not to win but to produce players for the Senior team.

This years panel is just as strong in my opinion and they should have received better S&C and coaching over the last few years.

Personally, I have not heard as much hype about an underage footballer as Paul Honeyman has been receiving lately and from what I have seen his talent matches the hype.

Tom Plunkett was carrying Aughawillans forwards on his own last year the few times I seen them play in his first year at senior level, Darren Cox was easily the best intermediate footballer in 2023. Barry McNulty has two years senior Inter county experience, Paul Moran and Jack Foley have already made their Inter-county debuts. Jack Casey is in with the seniors aswell. Arek Oberwan was also on the Senior panel earlier this year.
Tobin from Allen Gaels is a lovely ball player.
Once Ben Guckian fills out he has tremendous potential and I'd expect him to really make an impact at all levels this year. Fenagh are also hoping that Colm McLoughlin will be the missing link for their seniors. Michael McBrien was arguably Ballinamores most consistent senior footballer in 2023 aswell .

So the talent is there.

The U20s and seniors are seemingly getting a lot of their work done together so hopefully that will elevate a lot of their games. Ryan Jones is a really interesting addition to things and a great idea by the management team/county Board.

Hopefully they can really make an impact now when their games begin.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 299 - 14/02/2024 01:09:49    2525958