Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To joeman123:  "What a brilliant post by a genuine supporter.
The standard of football on display was excellent and it was very entertaining. I thought Leitrim played some great football and while they will be disappointed to miss several goal chances and rue some turnovers which lead to scores they definitely showed they will be competitive in the League.

As for the usual whingers and begrudgers on this site they should go and have a talk with themselves.Ask themselves what can they do to improve Leitrim football. This panel has been doing gym work for the past 6 months.I am hopeful they will get there.

Once again well done for the post."
Nothing wrong with fitness and was praised last night, the gym work certainly shone through however the co-commentator Eamon Ó Hara pointed out what is required and he's no whinger and begrudger. Has a fair idea of Leitrim football having led Mohill to the county title and gave a very good account of themselves against All Ireland finalists St Brigids.

His point was that defensively is Leitrims main issue. Having some sort of system in place that makes Leitrim harder to score against. Conceded 2-18 last night it not even worth thinking what would be conceded against a full strength Galway. If you are scoring 1-17 you should be beating that Galway team by a few points to spare. The target should be to concede no more than 1-14 last night Éamon said.

Opportunity of a FBD final is gone so it's a case of moving on now. Leitrims aim should be promotion to Div 3 and can it be achieved by leaving the team wide open defensively?

Under Terry Hyland Leitrim gained promotion to Div 3. Having the team more organised defensively was key as conceded in those 7 games 13 points per game average.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 13/01/2024 12:19:49    2519971

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Nothing wrong with fitness and was praised last night, the gym work certainly shone through however the co-commentator Eamon Ó Hara pointed out what is required and he's no whinger and begrudger. Has a fair idea of Leitrim football having led Mohill to the county title and gave a very good account of themselves against All Ireland finalists St Brigids.

His point was that defensively is Leitrims main issue. Having some sort of system in place that makes Leitrim harder to score against. Conceded 2-18 last night it not even worth thinking what would be conceded against a full strength Galway. If you are scoring 1-17 you should be beating that Galway team by a few points to spare. The target should be to concede no more than 1-14 last night Éamon said.

Opportunity of a FBD final is gone so it's a case of moving on now. Leitrims aim should be promotion to Div 3 and can it be achieved by leaving the team wide open defensively?

Under Terry Hyland Leitrim gained promotion to Div 3. Having the team more organised defensively was key as conceded in those 7 games 13 points per game average."
Good post. I don't believe Leitrim will be as naive defensively when the league starts. It was an enjoyable game. I don't think there was a hard tackle made by either team so I wouldn't read to much into it. Few positive performances, I think Nevin O'Donnell has continued to improve in goals. Jamie McGreal impressed also. Fitness looked good for January.

I don't like Ryan O'Rourke being brought back into the half back line it worked against Tipp a few years ago but I would not be a fan of it. Ww need him up top he is our best footballer.
We need to be very defensive to get out of Div 4 especially if we haven't Keith Beirne.

Galway had some fine footballers on display that probably won't play much county football after this month.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 308 - 13/01/2024 14:42:51    2519996

Very enjoyable game, truthfully Galway were very lucky to get a result out of that one. Thought Leitrim played some good football and conditioned well that really showed as the game went on. I just felt Galway got in too easily defensively at times but a lot of positives for both sides after that.

Good luck for the rest of the season

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1618 - 13/01/2024 14:57:00    2519998

NY will be shaking in their boots

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 177 - 13/01/2024 15:06:11    2519999

Replying To ahsure.:  "Very enjoyable game, truthfully Galway were very lucky to get a result out of that one. Thought Leitrim played some good football and conditioned well that really showed as the game went on. I just felt Galway got in too easily defensively at times but a lot of positives for both sides after that.

Good luck for the rest of the season"
Fair comment

It was a very enjoyable game to watch

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 489 - 13/01/2024 20:03:40    2520051

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "NY will be shaking in their boots"
What you on about bout NY for??

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 13/01/2024 21:26:34    2520062

That Galway side are arguably better than any team we will face in division 4. I'm around long enough to know FBD serves a purpose but results are irrelevant. If Leitrim learn from their mistakes it's a worthwhile exercise. I'd rather lose and take something from the game than win and think everything is ok at this stage of the year.

Real action is in a few weeks- best of luck to Andy and the boys in the campaign

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 653 - 13/01/2024 21:49:14    2520069

Fbd is a joke comp and we have a 1 in 2 chance of winning it.
It's absolutely og no consequence to the remaining year.

None whatsoever

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1767 - 13/01/2024 23:55:40    2520074

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Fbd is a joke comp and we have a 1 in 2 chance of winning it.
It's absolutely og no consequence to the remaining year.

None whatsoever"
If it was played on proper pitches in real Stadia it would have some use.
But in the artificial setting of the Dome....pure useless apart from giving players some exercise.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 14/01/2024 10:26:34    2520087

Judging on who's available this would be my team to play Waterford

1. O'Donnell
2. Flynn
3. Casey
4. Renoylds
5. J Rooney
6. Diffley
7. McGloin
8. Dolan
9. Keaney
10. S Quinn
11. McNulty
12. D Rooney
13. Ryan O'Rourke
14. Sweeney
15. Jack Gilheaney (Sweeper)

Shane Quinn has played the sweeper role excellent over the last Number of years but with his long range kicking Leitrim need him further up the pitch. Obviously if Keith Berine Is available then he starts instead of Sweeney.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 329 - 14/01/2024 17:29:24    2520166

Replying To lugdrum:  "Judging on who's available this would be my team to play Waterford

1. O'Donnell
2. Flynn
3. Casey
4. Renoylds
5. J Rooney
6. Diffley
7. McGloin
8. Dolan
9. Keaney
10. S Quinn
11. McNulty
12. D Rooney
13. Ryan O'Rourke
14. Sweeney
15. Jack Gilheaney (Sweeper)

Shane Quinn has played the sweeper role excellent over the last Number of years but with his long range kicking Leitrim need him further up the pitch. Obviously if Keith Berine Is available then he starts instead of Sweeney."
What do other people think?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 489 - 14/01/2024 18:11:39    2520173

1. Nevin O'Donnell
2. Mark Diffley
3. Donal Casey
4. Adam Renoylds
5. Aidan Flynn
6. Mark Plunkett
7. Cillian McGloin
8. Pearce Dolan
9. Jack Gilheaney
10. Shane Quinn
11.Barry McNulty
12. Paul Keaney
13. Ryan O'Rourke
14. Evan Sweeney
15. Darragh Rooney

This is what I would go with. I'd be very worried with the backline but with the players currently in the squad we don't have too many options.

Is Conor Hackett from St Marys on the panel? I thought he really impressed in the club championship at wing back. An area we are really struggling with.

It seems like Moran is going to stick to his guns with O'Donnell in goals. Wouldn't be my first choice but he hasn't done much wrong to be fair.

At 6 Mark Plunkett was the stand out player in league and championship by a distance in this position in an average Aughawillan team and if he is fit I would be surprised if he wasn't played here. Its a position we have really struggled with in the last few years. Jack Gilheany and Sahne Quinn should offer plenty of protection as well.

We need Paul Keaney to really begin to show form for the county like he has done with his university. It would be a massive plus for the team if he can bring that form through. McNulty looks a really good prospect but there a lot of pressure being placed on a player thats still so young. If he has the required pace for Inter County football he could be a gem.

Without Keith Beirne we are going to need Darragh Rooney and Ryan O'Rourke to shoot the lights out. Both are fully capable of doing this.

I genuinely believe if we stay injury free and we can get a good defensive system in place that we will be promoted.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 299 - 15/01/2024 01:30:45    2520201

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "1. Nevin O'Donnell
2. Mark Diffley
3. Donal Casey
4. Adam Renoylds
5. Aidan Flynn
6. Mark Plunkett
7. Cillian McGloin
8. Pearce Dolan
9. Jack Gilheaney
10. Shane Quinn
11.Barry McNulty
12. Paul Keaney
13. Ryan O'Rourke
14. Evan Sweeney
15. Darragh Rooney

This is what I would go with. I'd be very worried with the backline but with the players currently in the squad we don't have too many options.

Is Conor Hackett from St Marys on the panel? I thought he really impressed in the club championship at wing back. An area we are really struggling with.

It seems like Moran is going to stick to his guns with O'Donnell in goals. Wouldn't be my first choice but he hasn't done much wrong to be fair.

At 6 Mark Plunkett was the stand out player in league and championship by a distance in this position in an average Aughawillan team and if he is fit I would be surprised if he wasn't played here. Its a position we have really struggled with in the last few years. Jack Gilheany and Sahne Quinn should offer plenty of protection as well.

We need Paul Keaney to really begin to show form for the county like he has done with his university. It would be a massive plus for the team if he can bring that form through. McNulty looks a really good prospect but there a lot of pressure being placed on a player thats still so young. If he has the required pace for Inter County football he could be a gem.

Without Keith Beirne we are going to need Darragh Rooney and Ryan O'Rourke to shoot the lights out. Both are fully capable of doing this.

I genuinely believe if we stay injury free and we can get a good defensive system in place that we will be promoted."
Without Keith Beirne I don't see Leitrim going up. Ryan O Rourke be lucky to string 2/3 games together. How many games did Keith win for us over the last 2 years? Don't see how Leitrim replace that

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 15/01/2024 13:23:40    2520291

Watched the game at home not sure if a FBD league game is worth €10 albeit it was a very exciting game. Good performance by the lads. Defensively we have been poor for a few years now. I honestly believe some of that comes down to goalkeeper giving the backs direction. I remember a few years ago under Hyland, Cathal McCrann was brought back in to nets mid way through the league. Himself and McKiernan were probably on a par for skill level with kick outs and general goalkeeping. But he had the upper hand on communication, barking at backs and telling them where they need to be. I remember speaking to one player and he said it was a massive difference with a vocal keeper in nets.

This leads on to why Gaffey hasn't been starting. He is a great goalkeeper but he hasn't really spent much time in a GAA goals. He has limited time playing Gaelic football down through the years as he spent most his youth playing soccer. I've seen and heard that he isn't very vocal and his decision making on the ball is not up to county level. I think it would be beneficial for him to be dropped from the panel to allow him to play Spring league with St Marys to gain more experience. A great talent for the future but right now he needs as much gametime as possible and sitting on the bench for St Mary's and Leitrim he isn't going to get much experience.

Also I don't understand why people here think Jack Gilheany is going to be our great saviour. He never really blew the lights out playing for Leitrim before and only had an ok club season.. He's a very physical player but in my opinion he's poor on the ball and his decision making isn't the best. Yes he will be a good addition to the panel but wouldn't consider him a starter.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 15/01/2024 13:42:27    2520298

One would have thought Mickey Graham would bring the defensive to Leitrim after managing an ulster team. Maybe Andy Moran Just went man to man as it's a pre season indoor game and won't really replicate the white heat of league and also for new players too see how they perform going man on man

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 329 - 15/01/2024 15:39:36    2520325

I think the latter is true. I don't think anyone should give much notice to it other than it being a exhibition game. Reality is Leitrim will play plenty of challenge games before the League starts how they go will really show where we are.

In 2013 we won FBD and then got beat by London in Connacht and got hammered in our first qualifier game against Armagh. In 2014 we won FBD and the same happened with Roscommon and Down as the year previous. In both years we failed to qualify from division 4. It is of no real value.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 15/01/2024 17:38:38    2520346

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I think the latter is true. I don't think anyone should give much notice to it other than it being a exhibition game. Reality is Leitrim will play plenty of challenge games before the League starts how they go will really show where we are.

In 2013 we won FBD and then got beat by London in Connacht and got hammered in our first qualifier game against Armagh. In 2014 we won FBD and the same happened with Roscommon and Down as the year previous. In both years we failed to qualify from division 4. It is of no real value."
In 2014 we beat Roscommon in the FBD league final. Then they subsequently got promoted to division 2 of the NFL and we finished mid table in division 4.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 653 - 15/01/2024 20:26:08    2520363

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I think the latter is true. I don't think anyone should give much notice to it other than it being a exhibition game. Reality is Leitrim will play plenty of challenge games before the League starts how they go will really show where we are.

In 2013 we won FBD and then got beat by London in Connacht and got hammered in our first qualifier game against Armagh. In 2014 we won FBD and the same happened with Roscommon and Down as the year previous. In both years we failed to qualify from division 4. It is of no real value."
I remember both years and in particular getting beaten by Waterford in Dungarvan ,when we were very much favourites.Paul Brennan was playing and later transferred to Bundorn and Donegal.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 489 - 15/01/2024 21:21:30    2520365

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Watched the game at home not sure if a FBD league game is worth €10 albeit it was a very exciting game. Good performance by the lads. Defensively we have been poor for a few years now. I honestly believe some of that comes down to goalkeeper giving the backs direction. I remember a few years ago under Hyland, Cathal McCrann was brought back in to nets mid way through the league. Himself and McKiernan were probably on a par for skill level with kick outs and general goalkeeping. But he had the upper hand on communication, barking at backs and telling them where they need to be. I remember speaking to one player and he said it was a massive difference with a vocal keeper in nets.

This leads on to why Gaffey hasn't been starting. He is a great goalkeeper but he hasn't really spent much time in a GAA goals. He has limited time playing Gaelic football down through the years as he spent most his youth playing soccer. I've seen and heard that he isn't very vocal and his decision making on the ball is not up to county level. I think it would be beneficial for him to be dropped from the panel to allow him to play Spring league with St Marys to gain more experience. A great talent for the future but right now he needs as much gametime as possible and sitting on the bench for St Mary's and Leitrim he isn't going to get much experience.

Also I don't understand why people here think Jack Gilheany is going to be our great saviour. He never really blew the lights out playing for Leitrim before and only had an ok club season.. He's a very physical player but in my opinion he's poor on the ball and his decision making isn't the best. Yes he will be a good addition to the panel but wouldn't consider him a starter."
Agree 100%.jack is a big block of a man. Stick him centre back and let him hit anything that moves

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 15/01/2024 22:49:02    2520371

Will Leitrim bring many supporters to Waterford. Dungarven has been a place where we struggled down through the years to get a result however Waterford seemed to be on a huge decline in football terms and it is vital we get off to a good start here especially with an improving London team coming to town the following weekend which is also a much win game

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 329 - 17/01/2024 09:42:39    2520607