Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Bowser93:  "
Replying To leitrimlad15:  "What one am I missing so?

[B
North - 7
Melvin, Manor,Dromahair, Glenfarne, Dromahair, Drumkeerin, Ballinaglera

South - 17
Drumshambo, Leitrim Gaels, Kiltubrid, Fenagh, Aughnashellin, Balinamore, Aughwillian, Drumreilly, Carrigallen, Aughavas, Cloone, Gortlertagh, Mohill, Eslin, Bornacoola, Annaduff and Carrick

Never mind were all wrong...24"
Did they split Dromahair in two... about time..."]Ballinaglera be calling for the split after the weekend. To be fair I think it was Dromahair had 44 lads named on the panel when playing the semi final!

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 21/10/2021 15:25:16    2386667

Replying To Square_B:  "Lest you remind me about other counties championships? LOL. So what?

If anything that only reinforces Hyland's comments. People gave Hyland awful hassle over his comments. Only telling the truth. No one or no structure is beyond constructive criticism. Indeed there was 20 senior teams but that madness was squarely on the county board... they let that happen and I suspect for monetary reasons at the time. At least we now have 10 and I would argue it should further reduce to 8."
So what? So the level of competition is better than if you were playing a club team from Waterford, wexford, Carlow, Wicklow etc making it harder to win games in the provincial championship. No? Roscommon. Galway and Mayo have club team winning the competition or getting to the final. Do you understand? Hyland was going on about the standard being much higher in Cavan. Is it? Cavan club record is equally as bad as Leitrim's. Negativity out of Hyland from day one. It's refreshing to hear Andy Morans positivity.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 21/10/2021 16:28:23    2386686

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "What one am I missing so?

[B
North - 7
Melvin, Manor,Dromahair, Glenfarne, Dromahair, Drumkeerin, Ballinaglera

South - 17
Drumshambo, Leitrim Gaels, Kiltubrid, Fenagh, Aughnashellin, Balinamore, Aughwillian, Drumreilly, Carrigallen, Aughavas, Cloone, Gortlertagh, Mohill, Eslin, Bornacoola, Annaduff and Carrick

Never mind were all wrong...24"]Yeah dromahair are listed twice

23 adult men's clubs in the county

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 21/10/2021 17:09:25    2386700

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "So what? So the level of competition is better than if you were playing a club team from Waterford, wexford, Carlow, Wicklow etc making it harder to win games in the provincial championship. No? Roscommon. Galway and Mayo have club team winning the competition or getting to the final. Do you understand? Hyland was going on about the standard being much higher in Cavan. Is it? Cavan club record is equally as bad as Leitrim's. Negativity out of Hyland from day one. It's refreshing to hear Andy Morans positivity."
So you're saying that Hyland is wrong... hasn't a clue what he's talking about? He certainly has more of a clue than most. Only telling the truth... I can see how it put a fair few noses out of joint. We'll see what Moran does.... he certainly talks a good game for a chap who has done nothing at management level. We'll see what he does but as far as I'm concerned he'll be expected to match, if not improve on what Hyland achieved... otherwise what's the point bringing him in if he's not going to improve on the last man? And before you say, 'what about 2020 & 2021?', well as I've said before, Hyland was unlucky with Covid...you couldn't expect to rate the man's achievements or that of the team with the uncertainty of a pandemic. Moran should have a good pick of lads raring to go and perhaps a better team available than Hyland had. It won't be a training ground for finding his feet in management that's for sure.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 21/10/2021 17:20:30    2386702

Replying To Square_B:  "So you're saying that Hyland is wrong... hasn't a clue what he's talking about? He certainly has more of a clue than most. Only telling the truth... I can see how it put a fair few noses out of joint. We'll see what Moran does.... he certainly talks a good game for a chap who has done nothing at management level. We'll see what he does but as far as I'm concerned he'll be expected to match, if not improve on what Hyland achieved... otherwise what's the point bringing him in if he's not going to improve on the last man? And before you say, 'what about 2020 & 2021?', well as I've said before, Hyland was unlucky with Covid...you couldn't expect to rate the man's achievements or that of the team with the uncertainty of a pandemic. Moran should have a good pick of lads raring to go and perhaps a better team available than Hyland had. It won't be a training ground for finding his feet in management that's for sure."
Look the county final was good, but the two best teams were there and lets face it we had too many one sided championship games.
Terry Hyland did achieve at lot with Leitrim and the Castlebar debacle shouldnt take from his achievements. He put pride into the team before Covid and circumstances upended everything.
We should be getting behind Andy Moran instead of trying to position the whole project for failure. The reality is morale in the count was at a low ebb and players were disillusioned with themselves. Lets give them a chance and dont be afraid of positivity. It can become contagious.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 21/10/2021 17:48:06    2386708

Replying To Square_B:  "So you're saying that Hyland is wrong... hasn't a clue what he's talking about? He certainly has more of a clue than most. Only telling the truth... I can see how it put a fair few noses out of joint. We'll see what Moran does.... he certainly talks a good game for a chap who has done nothing at management level. We'll see what he does but as far as I'm concerned he'll be expected to match, if not improve on what Hyland achieved... otherwise what's the point bringing him in if he's not going to improve on the last man? And before you say, 'what about 2020 & 2021?', well as I've said before, Hyland was unlucky with Covid...you couldn't expect to rate the man's achievements or that of the team with the uncertainty of a pandemic. Moran should have a good pick of lads raring to go and perhaps a better team available than Hyland had. It won't be a training ground for finding his feet in management that's for sure."
I wouldn't run down Terry's achievement, promotion in 19 was brilliant. Covid hampered 20 and 21, I don't think there was buy in tho to improve fitness and S&C during the lockdowns. My only issue with Terry was he was negative, negative towards the standard of county player negative towards club football, (which I think is improving) comparing it to Cavan as if Cavan was the gold standard.
Ya would swear we were cave men in Leitrim he said it was all catch and kick, really putting the boot in. Unfair.
He was nearly making an excuses to cover himself. Andy Moran is a risk but a risk worth taking , the players seems to be very impressed with him and are rearing to go. I don't think it's in his nature to slate players or club football from what I see he is talking them up. Players will love that.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 21/10/2021 18:14:48    2386712

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "So what? So the level of competition is better than if you were playing a club team from Waterford, wexford, Carlow, Wicklow etc making it harder to win games in the provincial championship. No? Roscommon. Galway and Mayo have club team winning the competition or getting to the final. Do you understand? Hyland was going on about the standard being much higher in Cavan. Is it? Cavan club record is equally as bad as Leitrim's. Negativity out of Hyland from day one. It's refreshing to hear Andy Morans positivity."
History will be kind to Hyland in time as the most successful Leitrim Manager since O Mahoney.
He led a limited bunch of players out of Div 4 and yes he spoke his truth about the state of Leitrim club football.
It was hard to hear but sometimes the truth is hard to take when some one of us think that everything is wonderful.
Best of luck to Moran at the helm, at least with B Championship no more batterings (we hope)
Players always have a responsibility to show a bit more desire and bravery and pride in the Leitrim jersey and get us out of div 4.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 22/10/2021 08:49:50    2386740

Congratulations Dromahair on winning the intermediate title against Ballinaglera, and well done Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher, beating Eslin in the Junior A semifinal and becoming the last first team standing in that championship. Connacht beckons I believe!

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 25/10/2021 19:24:17    2387330

Hurling final today, Carrick vs Manorhamilton, 2.30 I think. Who's gonna win?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 30/10/2021 11:53:50    2387877

Hurling final today, Carrick vs Manorhamilton, 2.30 I think. Who's gonna win?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 30/10/2021 13:03:07    2387885

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Hurling final today, Carrick vs Manorhamilton, 2.30 I think. Who's gonna win?"
Congratulations to Cluainín!!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 31/10/2021 12:30:02    2387949

Replying To joeman123:  "Look the county final was good, but the two best teams were there and lets face it we had too many one sided championship games.
Terry Hyland did achieve at lot with Leitrim and the Castlebar debacle shouldnt take from his achievements. He put pride into the team before Covid and circumstances upended everything.
We should be getting behind Andy Moran instead of trying to position the whole project for failure. The reality is morale in the count was at a low ebb and players were disillusioned with themselves. Lets give them a chance and dont be afraid of positivity. It can become contagious."
The county final was good......??? High on drama, yes, high on excitement, yes, good play by both teams, no. I wasn't keeping check but I would estimate that the amount of unforced errors in the game had to be over 40. Both goalkeepers kick outs were very poor, were they getting over 60% to their teammates?? I would seriously doubt it. Andy Moran's appointment will appease those who liked him as a player, sadly his playing days are over and he isn't in a free transfer to play for Leitrim. Leitrim had as a good a manager as they could hope to get in Hyland but because he called it as he saw it he seemed to upset some players and supporters who are blind to the current state of football in the county. They think that Andy Moran is Keith Barry!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 31/10/2021 21:57:54    2388024

Replying To totalrecall:  "The county final was good......??? High on drama, yes, high on excitement, yes, good play by both teams, no. I wasn't keeping check but I would estimate that the amount of unforced errors in the game had to be over 40. Both goalkeepers kick outs were very poor, were they getting over 60% to their teammates?? I would seriously doubt it. Andy Moran's appointment will appease those who liked him as a player, sadly his playing days are over and he isn't in a free transfer to play for Leitrim. Leitrim had as a good a manager as they could hope to get in Hyland but because he called it as he saw it he seemed to upset some players and supporters who are blind to the current state of football in the county. They think that Andy Moran is Keith Barry!"
I do agree on people being blind to the state of football in the county and not liking Hyland calling it out.

When you watch the Tyrone semi-final on RTE on Saturday, the gulf between the quality in that game and our own county final, was colossal. As you say, the game had everything from an entertainment standpoint but aside from Keith Beirne's scoring , there wasn't too much in the line of high quality play but there was a lot of unforced errors and as you said kickouts were woeful, thankfully neither of those men will be the starting keeper for the county.

Only thing I don't agree on is laying the boot in with Moran, Hyland was walking away anyway and we aren't exactly an enticing opportunity for any manager, lets just wait and see what happens with Moran before giving out about him before a ball is kicked.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 01/11/2021 09:51:41    2388035

Any idea when fixtures will be notified for the league? How is it going to be run for 2022? Assume back to 7 games?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/11/2021 11:39:23    2388144

Replying To Square_B:  "Any idea when fixtures will be notified for the league? How is it going to be run for 2022? Assume back to 7 games?"
oh you will be waiting til February of next year for the masters fixtures list!
but pending no further lockdowns causing a more condensed season, yes assume e will go back to full league schedules, some teams only had to play 2 games to get to a final cos of conceded games.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 02/11/2021 12:52:36    2388150

Any word on Moran holding trials yet or has this been done? If so any new exciting additions to look out for?

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 02/11/2021 13:47:19    2388162

Replying To gaelsboy:  "oh you will be waiting til February of next year for the masters fixtures list!
but pending no further lockdowns causing a more condensed season, yes assume e will go back to full league schedules, some teams only had to play 2 games to get to a final cos of conceded games."
I'm talking about the National League... I would expect fixtures in the next few weeks but god knows what the GAA have in mind...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/11/2021 17:18:47    2388203

Replying To Champotime18:  "Any word on Moran holding trials yet or has this been done? If so any new exciting additions to look out for?"
I heard that there was, not massive numbers due to recent county finals but a respectable turnout

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 03/11/2021 12:55:45    2388269

Replying To Champotime18:  "Any word on Moran holding trials yet or has this been done? If so any new exciting additions to look out for?"
A provisional panel has been picked.He done a good interview with Breffni here
https://twitter.com/LeitrimGAA/status/1455916532228370434?t=6h8OP6NBfiS2F6QC6UkgYw&s=08

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 04/11/2021 13:23:51    2388384

Lucan have a good Leitrim footballer 3-3 is some scoring

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 06/11/2021 19:44:34    2388586