Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To TheBishop:  "One of the best chances for Roscommon to reach an All Ireland final in a long time, the from line looks good with with been unbeaten in 3 games against Galway & Derry.

Bookies might be tipping Galway but have seen majority of neutrals rightly tipping Roscommon who have a great recent record in Salthill."
Aren't going to get many if any neutrals tipping Roscommon let's be honest and no offence to the Rossies on here.

Trying to beat a team twice in one year is tough doing it 3 times is very difficult. As for reaching AI final it would be nice to see Roscommon or Galway reaching it but i can't see it happening. If either are to reach the semi final it would be achievement itself and no guarantee that will happen as I'd expect Mayo or Tyrone will be possible quarter final opposition.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 16/05/2022 17:40:55    2417878

Roscommon only unbeaten team in Ireland bar Kerry and dubs prob best forward line ,have beaten Galway twice this year have not lost to Galway in last 3 Connaught finals in pearse stadium, it be a bit of a shock if Galway manage to pull a win out of it but I suppose they have. A chance if Kelly , conroy , comer and Walsh play well if not they have no chance and coukd get a trimming ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 831 - 16/05/2022 18:10:25    2417895

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I know people in Galway have been critical of PJ but this is his first proper year because of covid. I would say it was trickier on new managers like him who had yet to do a full year with the player's. They were efficient in their league campaign and did exactly what they needed to do. They then showed shrewdness of tactics to tweak their game for Mayo and pulled off a great win. They will be well prepared and motivated for us. Our management team will also need to be shrewd with their gameplan and hopefully the players will be fit and hungry to implement."
About the most sensible post in all the analysis of the upcoming Connacht final. Everyone trying to shadow box each other out of it. This is as 50/50 as you will get. Bookies off on this occasion in my view and if those odds are skewed because we have home advantage well then there is no credence given to the last two championship meetings in Salthill. Plus we have a better recent championship record in the Hyde than Salthill.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/05/2022 18:10:43    2417896

Replying To Kickitout:  "Roscommon only unbeaten team in Ireland bar Kerry and dubs prob best forward line ,have beaten Galway twice this year have not lost to Galway in last 3 Connaught finals in pearse stadium, it be a bit of a shock if Galway manage to pull a win out of it but I suppose they have. A chance if Kelly , conroy , comer and Walsh play well if not they have no chance and coukd get a trimming ,,"
The recent performance of Derry and the way Galway swatted them aside is one reason why Galway are strong favourites.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 16/05/2022 21:42:48    2417944

Sure we're all underdogs, Ted!
It's a 50:50 game. Nothing between them. Neither team would merit any kind of favourites tag and in any case such tags don't matter a damn to either set of players in the build up and certainly won't matter by the time the ball is thrown in. Galway and Roscommon both fancy their chances of winning, it's down to the performance and hunger on the day. Looking forward to a great day out in Salthill.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 897 - 17/05/2022 08:52:41    2417968

Replying To Kickitout:  "Roscommon only unbeaten team in Ireland bar Kerry and dubs prob best forward line ,have beaten Galway twice this year have not lost to Galway in last 3 Connaught finals in pearse stadium, it be a bit of a shock if Galway manage to pull a win out of it but I suppose they have. A chance if Kelly , conroy , comer and Walsh play well if not they have no chance and coukd get a trimming ,,"
It's one thing to downplay your chances of winning but you have gone completely O.T.T so much that your thread is ridiculous

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 17/05/2022 09:08:15    2417972

Replying To eoinog:  "It's one thing to downplay your chances of winning but you have gone completely O.T.T so much that your thread is ridiculous"
Ridiculous indeed. To repeat this is what that poster said before the Galway v Mayo game

-----------------------------

Looking at Galway team it's hard see anything but a mayo win by min 5 points

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 593 - 23/04/2022 09:31:04 2412420

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3738 - 17/05/2022 11:10:06    2418037

Good to see that Roscommon have a clean bill of health ahead of the Connacht Final. Richard Hughes is available for selection. It will be interesting to see what team starts. We will have a strong bench which is so important in today's game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 17/05/2022 18:11:18    2418224

Replying To The_analyser:  "Ridiculous indeed. To repeat this is what that poster said before the Galway v Mayo game

-----------------------------

Looking at Galway team it's hard see anything but a mayo win by min 5 points

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 593 - 23/04/2022 09:31:04 2412420"
He might have been a bit more sincere about his prediction for the Mayo game though.
Being straight about it, we are favourites for the Connacht final, although I do think the odds should be a bit tighter than they are.
The game could go either way and I'm expecting a very close battle. It could of course end up being a comfortable win for either side too. Both teams have the ability to do a lot of damage up front.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 18/05/2022 09:59:04    2418282

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He might have been a bit more sincere about his prediction for the Mayo game though.
Being straight about it, we are favourites for the Connacht final, although I do think the odds should be a bit tighter than they are.
The game could go either way and I'm expecting a very close battle. It could of course end up being a comfortable win for either side too. Both teams have the ability to do a lot of damage up front."
Ya totally agree. One team could just click on the day and destroy the other but more than likely it will be a close game. Haven't heard a thing out of either camp in the past couple of weeks. I'm sure both have played one or two challenge games and A vs B games and no word on any injuries which is good. Hopefully both teams have all available and best team wins.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1042 - 18/05/2022 10:52:45    2418310

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He might have been a bit more sincere about his prediction for the Mayo game though.
The game could go either way and I'm expecting a very close battle. It could of course end up being a comfortable win for either side too. Both teams have the ability to do a lot of damage up front."
About as sincere as any of his recent posts on this thread. He's a wum and not even a good one.

The odds are what they are. The punters don't see us beating Galway 3 times in one year. Beating Mayo in MacHale Park and Derrys championship performances thus far would play into the punters thinking considering Galway hammered Derry on their home patch and we only drew with them in Hyde Park.

Of course it could go either way. If the margin of victory above 6 points I'd believe its a case of the loser playing well below what they are capable of on the day. That was the case in the replay 2016 and the 2017. The 2018, 2019 Connacht finals was in the balance going into injury time the same as the recent NFL final in Croke Park.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3738 - 18/05/2022 14:43:54    2418426

Replying To The_analyser:  "About as sincere as any of his recent posts on this thread. He's a wum and not even a good one.

The odds are what they are. The punters don't see us beating Galway 3 times in one year. Beating Mayo in MacHale Park and Derrys championship performances thus far would play into the punters thinking considering Galway hammered Derry on their home patch and we only drew with them in Hyde Park.

Of course it could go either way. If the margin of victory above 6 points I'd believe its a case of the loser playing well below what they are capable of on the day. That was the case in the replay 2016 and the 2017. The 2018, 2019 Connacht finals was in the balance going into injury time the same as the recent NFL final in Croke Park."
Most people in Galway expected us to lose to Mayo. We were of course hopeful they'd prove us wrong, which they did thankfully.
Most people I've spoken to expect us to beat Roscommon, but they're well aware it could easily go pear-shaped. We have enough recent experience of that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 18/05/2022 16:01:12    2418467

Fair play to our ladies footballer Lisa O'Rourke who is into world championship final. Hopefully she can bring home the gold but she has done the county proud so far.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 18/05/2022 16:20:01    2418476

Spot on. Not sure about terrace tickets but it looks like the main stand is selling out fast. Are ye expecting big Galway support?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 762 - 18/05/2022 19:49:39    2418533

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Spot on. Not sure about terrace tickets but it looks like the main stand is selling out fast. Are ye expecting big Galway support?"
I had a look yesterday and they are selling alright. To be honest, I'm expecting us to be outnumbered as is the case with a lot of our championship matches, but I'd hope it'll be a closer split.
There are plenty football people in Galway who need to get in and support the lads. As supporters, we've let the team down in recent years. It goes both ways and I do think if we can get good support it will push them even further.
We have a promising group of players and some excellent footballers. They're putting in a huge effort, so it's time more supporters did a bit of the same.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 19/05/2022 10:36:38    2418609

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I had a look yesterday and they are selling alright. To be honest, I'm expecting us to be outnumbered as is the case with a lot of our championship matches, but I'd hope it'll be a closer split.
There are plenty football people in Galway who need to get in and support the lads. As supporters, we've let the team down in recent years. It goes both ways and I do think if we can get good support it will push them even further.
We have a promising group of players and some excellent footballers. They're putting in a huge effort, so it's time more supporters did a bit of the same."
I have family from Williamstown area and all play football and involved in the club but for some reason they go to all the hurling games and very rarely go to Galway football. They are going Sunday week but I think that's the first Galway football game they probably have went to all year. I know it's an expensive thing to be going to all games when ye are good at both codes but always thought if you are from probably a more football playing club then you would be inclined to go to football games rather than hurling.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1042 - 19/05/2022 12:35:56    2418661

Replying To dave1988:  "I have family from Williamstown area and all play football and involved in the club but for some reason they go to all the hurling games and very rarely go to Galway football. They are going Sunday week but I think that's the first Galway football game they probably have went to all year. I know it's an expensive thing to be going to all games when ye are good at both codes but always thought if you are from probably a more football playing club then you would be inclined to go to football games rather than hurling."
It's very true. I know a lot of people who are football mad, go to club games regularly but have been to very few county games in the last decade.
There are a few reasons, such as the Pearse stadium vs Tuam situation, as well as a bit of apathy which has built up over the years.
I think people should just get on with it now.
The same people who complain about performances could actually play a part in improving it. A good atmosphere and crowd support can make a big difference to a player's mentality.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 19/05/2022 13:04:56    2418681

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Fair play to our ladies footballer Lisa O'Rourke who is into world championship final. Hopefully she can bring home the gold but she has done the county proud so far."
Fantastic achievement by Lisa and hopefully she can land Gold this evening. As well as a good footballers shes also good at basketball,Soccer a very talented lady

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3738 - 19/05/2022 16:19:43    2418761

Connacht final is the most 50:50 game there could be.
No idea how we can be 1/2 and Ros 2/1 for that game. Crazy.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1230 - 19/05/2022 21:42:24    2418824

Congratulations to Lisa Rourke (Roscommon GAA Footballer) on becoming a World Boxing Champion tonight. What a fantastic achievement. Her high leaps on winning both the semi-final and final also secures her mid-field position on the Roscommon ladies team for years to come. The fact that before today only three Irish boxers of world standard (Katie Taylor, Kellie Harrington, Michael Conlon) secured gold medals at the World boxing Championship puts this achievement into perspective. The fact that Katie and Kellie also went on to win Olympic Gold medals shows the standard that Lisa has reached. It is hard to believe that she is World Champion having just turned 20 and fighting in her first senior tournament.
Congratulations again Lisa, all us Rossies are so proud of you and your sister Aoife who no doubt contributed to your win. Well done also to Amy Broadhurst who also won gold for Ireland tonight. Some night for the Irish boxing team!

Hopefully we will get to see you still togging out for the Rossies, and that we all get to see that GOLD MEDAL in Pearse Stadium in the Connacht final on Sunday week. (Over to you County Board Officials)

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 487 - 19/05/2022 22:01:56    2418828