Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To yew_tree:  "Great win for da rossies…fair play to them. Looks like my bet is going up in smoke though. My own team Mayo are in huge trouble here."
Why is it you lads only perform against us or Kerry? A lot of work to do here!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 22/06/2024 19:26:34    2553713

Come on the lads and management!!! Thought they might have a performance in them! Records are there to be broken. Great effort from everyone. Daire Cregg and the forwards exceptional but big shout to Shane Cunnane, super work. And the backs, especially Higgins and Stack. We let Tyrone back into it in the second half and seemed to stop doing all the good we did from attacking point of view in the first half but probably not used to been in those positions. Let this be the start of a change in mentality. Won't be easy next week but let's go for it again. Hon the Ros!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 22/06/2024 19:29:05    2553714

Well done, great result, proper football county.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 200 - 22/06/2024 19:35:27    2553716

Fair play to ye, a big win to go up to Tyrone and get a result.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 22/06/2024 19:46:59    2553721

That looooong over due win against our bogey team Tyrone finally achieved today in Healy Park Omagh was no better place to do l.

Platform set with a fine 1st half performance where we fully deserved our 6 point lead. Tyrone was always going to come strong 2nd half and we stood strong. Two points winners and hold them to 0-12 on their home patch it's easily done by any team. Well done to all the players and management and roll on All Ireland Quarter final next weekend in Croke Park.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3861 - 22/06/2024 20:21:21    2553739

Well done rossies certainly the better team over the 70 plus minutes and best win since beating Mayo in MacHale Park last year. Managed to rediscovered that form at the right time, scheduling will be issue next week but can say it's bonus place Roscommon are in now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 22/06/2024 20:27:14    2553744

Great win for ye. The championship badly needed the table's to be turned upside down and put life and interest back into the championship

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 22/06/2024 20:39:18    2553748

Brilliant win today.. well worth the trip up north. Brilliant first half performance today and if we can repeat that first have and do it for 70 minutes we will give the likes of Donegal or Armagh a right go. Tyrone were very wasteful but I thought we got a bit closer to the shooters today and didn't make it easy for them. Looking forward to watching it back tomorrow morning with a sore head. Hopefully we can get a massive crowd to Dublin next weekend. Wouldn't if be brilliant if there was a two week break but unfortunately that's the way it is . Well done management and players .

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1126 - 22/06/2024 21:13:57    2553769

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "You ye of little faith. What a win and well deserved."
I wasn't confident at all we could win but absolutely delighted with the result. Plenty to improve on for next week but we will enjoy the weekend first and see who we get Monday

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1126 - 22/06/2024 22:06:36    2553811

Superb win for Roscommon. Well done to the squad and management team. Now push on and win that game next week. We need to win a championship game in Croke Park. When is the draw to find out our opponents. I'd fancy Donegal or Kerry tbh.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1105 - 22/06/2024 22:26:27    2553829

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "TG4 fair play to them show lots of Gaelic games.
Virgin is too busy being "ITV Eire" to know or care.

Anyway as for Saturday we of course are rank outsiders and deservedly so. 2 wins, a draw and 8 defeats so far gives little ground for optimistim.
Tyrone haven't set the world on fire either but will be fit and well organised. We won't be greatly organised whatever about fitness.
We have a porous non tackling defence and not hectic in midfield.

We'll have to perform at a level not seen since Dublin in May 2023.
Can we do so?
I'd love to believe we can and will.
Sin é."
We did!!!
Great performance, full of drive and spirit.
All about coming right when it matters.
Croker here we come

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 22/06/2024 22:38:46    2553837

Replying To moros:  "Superb win for Roscommon. Well done to the squad and management team. Now push on and win that game next week. We need to win a championship game in Croke Park. When is the draw to find out our opponents. I'd fancy Donegal or Kerry tbh."
I reckon we'd give Armagh plenty of problems. Hope the team can recover now. Great the game was today instead of tomorrow for that extra day of recovery if we are out next Sat. Any chance Ben would be involved? Have to say again, brilliant effort from all the team. Conor Carroll when long as well when in doubt. R Fallon I thought also stood up today. Someone said Tyrone missed a lot. So many of the shots came either under pressure or when forced into difficult positions. I think it was Davy Murray who flung himself at McCurry taking a shot at one stage.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 22/06/2024 22:44:18    2553842

Replying To superos:  "You have wasted your money. Sadly to say but we haven't a prayer today. I expect result to be a foregone conclusion before half time"
If Diarmuid had taken his goal chance, it could have been over at half time, you were right

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 209 - 23/06/2024 00:19:16    2553870

Absolutely fantastic. One of the days that we will always remember. Determination, discipline, skill, hunger, composure. Some of the best football we have played in years in that first half. Second half was all about keeping Tyrone at arms length, we showed so much character to keep finding a score when we needed it. After the way the season has gone, it would have been very easy for these boys to wilt when Tyrone got back to within a point and had us under the cosh but they stood up and were not going to be beaten. A lot of excellent performances, Dolan, Diarmuid, Daire, Brian, Ultan but for me, the MOTM was Donie. His work rate, his control of things and his scores were of the highest order. The ball he turned over down the sideline in the last few minutes was unreal! A pleasure to have been there on a famous day! Roll on next weekend, I feel like this group have completely rid themselves of any pressure and can go into the next game with complete confidence and their heads held high and after we seen what they are capable of…who knows! Best of luck lads and well done today!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 209 - 23/06/2024 00:28:08    2553872

Replying To eoinog:  "Great win for ye. The championship badly needed the table's to be turned upside down and put life and interest back into the championship"
No tables turned upside down. Ross won an even match. Good luck in next round . Was looking forward to Armagh but not too be. Now OShea out too so good luck Ross.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2123 - 23/06/2024 03:49:31    2553884

Delighted with a win I hadn't expected. It's great to be in the draw in the morning. Great to be in Croke Park next weekend. There are good players on this Roscommon team so we should be there. Dara Cregg outstanding yesterday and what a prospect. Hope we don't lose him to Aus. I always thought Shane Cunnane had potential and we're seeing it now. We won't get carried away though. Tyrone were wasteful yesterday and they're a long way off the team that were champions three years ago. So it's Armagh, Kerry or Donegal up for us next. I suppose Armagh would be the best draw but we'll be underdogs against any of them. Our first quarter final since the replay defeat to Mayo in 2017.If we win, we'd be into our first All Ireland semi final in 33 years. We're still standing anyway.A mention from yesterday for Donie Smith. I had thought he was past his best and that he should be coming on rather than starting. He kicked four points yesterday. Outstanding contribution to a memorable day for Roscommon.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 23/06/2024 08:02:24    2553896

Still on such a bloody high after that game, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The biggest result I've seen from our seniors outside Connacht.

Our first quarter since 2017, was that super 8s? I'm struggling to remember our last knock out quarter final, was it cork in 2010?

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 23/06/2024 08:16:02    2553897

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I reckon we'd give Armagh plenty of problems. Hope the team can recover now. Great the game was today instead of tomorrow for that extra day of recovery if we are out next Sat. Any chance Ben would be involved? Have to say again, brilliant effort from all the team. Conor Carroll when long as well when in doubt. R Fallon I thought also stood up today. Someone said Tyrone missed a lot. So many of the shots came either under pressure or when forced into difficult positions. I think it was Davy Murray who flung himself at McCurry taking a shot at one stage."
I think Ben's year is over for Roscommon unfortunately. He's a huge loss but massive credit to the lads who put in a great shift yesterday. Momentum is a great thing and hopefully that continues onto next weekend. In delighted for all the players and management. They've had to put up with a lot of stick this year but in fairness they've kept at it and plugged away. I felt after the Mayo game that we were slowly but surely improving and I think yesterday was further proof of that. Keep it going now lads and who knows what happens? I often wonder if we had Ciaran, Cian, Eddie and Conor D this year what could this team achieve? Hopefully next year we can hold onto all players in current squad and get those other lads back. Ros Comáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 120 - 23/06/2024 08:59:40    2553908

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Still on such a bloody high after that game, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The biggest result I've seen from our seniors outside Connacht.

Our first quarter since 2017, was that super 8s? I'm struggling to remember our last knock out quarter final, was it cork in 2010?"
Ye played mayo in a knockout quarterfinal in 2017

Sean-15 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 23/06/2024 09:13:08    2553917

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Still on such a bloody high after that game, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The biggest result I've seen from our seniors outside Connacht.

Our first quarter since 2017, was that super 8s? I'm struggling to remember our last knock out quarter final, was it cork in 2010?"
No, Super 8s came in in 2018. 2017 was knockout after we won Connaught title in Salthill. Should have beaten Mayo the first day but paid a heavy price in the replay on Bank holiday Monday!!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 209 - 23/06/2024 09:22:03    2553926